Treasury Bills and Bonds
#1081 Posted : Wednesday, December 05, 2018 3:37:17 PM

wukan wrote:
chickens coming home to roost

The refinancing risk

Data from the Central Bank of Kenya (CBK) shows the 30-year bond stood at a high of 10.284 percent on November 27 before easing to 10.014 percent and 9.8 percent last Thursday. The issue first traded in the open market on February 23 at a yield of 8.021 percent, meaning the high reached last week amounts to an increase of 2.263 percentage points.

The 10-year bond has seen its yield rise to 9.071 percent compared to 7.07 percent when it was launched into the market on February 23. Yields on bonds issued in 2014 have also risen.

The Treasury is seeking Sh40 billion through a 10-year bond whose coupon or interest rate will be determined by the market.

The Central Bank of Kenya (CBK), acting on behalf of the Treasury, said it is upon the market to determine the rate it wants to buy the bond thereby opening the way for investors to ask for higher compensation.

The sale takes five working days with the closing day set as December 11. Analysts have already expressed pessimism on the subscription, citing its length and constrained market liquidity.
https://www.businessdail...1156-f8t9bpz/index.html

No resting... They should just allow we quote 15% they get 40 Bn in full.... 10 years from now maybe we will be dead....

When they get that 8 year syndicated loan they are seeking to repay the maturing Eurobond, Gava will have a breather.
Ebenyo
#1082 Posted : Wednesday, December 05, 2018 3:44:59 PM

[quote=wukan]chickens coming home to roost

The refinancing risk

Data from the Central Bank of Kenya (CBK) shows the 30-year bond stood at a high of 10.284 percent on November 27 before easing to 10.014 percent and 9.8 percent last Thursday. The issue first traded in the open market on February 23 at a yield of 8.021 percent, meaning the high reached last week amounts to an increase of 2.263 percentage points.

The 10-year bond has seen its yield rise to 9.071 percent compared to 7.07 percent when it was launched into the market on February 23. Yields on bonds issued in 2014 have also risen.

The Treasury is seeking Sh40 billion through a 10-year bond whose coupon or interest rate will be determined by the market.

The Central Bank of Kenya (CBK), acting on behalf of the Treasury, said it is upon the market to determine the rate it wants to buy the bond thereby opening the way for investors to ask for higher compensation.

The sale takes five working days with the closing day set as December 11. Analysts have already expressed pessimism on the subscription, citing its length and constrained market liquidity.

No resting... They should just allow we quote 15% they get 40 Bn in full.... 10 years from now maybe we will be dead....
[/quote

....................................................................................................................................................
i have applied for this one.Hope i will succeed as my bid is non competitive.And if i die before it matures,my child will inherit it.
Towards the goal of financial freedom
#1083 Posted : Wednesday, December 05, 2018 4:54:26 PM

Ebenyo wrote:

The refinancing risk

[/quote

....................................................................................................................................................
i have applied for this one.Hope i will succeed as my bid is non competitive.And if i die before it matures,my child will inherit it.

How much have you placed?
I hope not 100K and you talk about your children inheritance!

And did you quote 13% or a wierd figure like 16%?

#1084 Posted : Wednesday, December 05, 2018 4:55:07 PM

Ebenyo wrote:

The refinancing risk

The days of missing a non competitive bids are over... You will def get...

[/quote

Ebenyo
#1085 Posted : Wednesday, December 05, 2018 4:58:43 PM

Ebenyo wrote:
[quote=maka][quote=wukan]chickens coming home to roost

The refinancing risk

[/quote

How much have you placed?
I hope not 100K and you talk about your children inheritance!

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Let me wait the auction results first!
#1086 Posted : Wednesday, December 05, 2018 8:10:29 PM

@maka please guide on the pricing tafasali smile
#1087 Posted : Wednesday, December 05, 2018 8:37:36 PM

Kwani umeblockiwa CBK website? Ama wewe ni wale hawajui hata kubadilisha bulb.. 😜

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
#1088 Posted : Wednesday, December 05, 2018 9:01:52 PM

Kwani umeblockiwa CBK website? Ama wewe ni wale hawajui hata kubadilisha bulb.. 😜

Am asking about bidding on tranche not smokies.
#1089 Posted : Wednesday, December 05, 2018 9:15:00 PM

Hwaking Smokies in a 787smile smile smile
#1090 Posted : Wednesday, December 05, 2018 9:26:57 PM

Kwani mpole lea oby

#1091 Posted : Wednesday, December 05, 2018 10:46:27 PM

Kwani mpole lea oby

Ana itwa @Angelica

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
#1092 Posted : Thursday, December 06, 2018 9:34:01 AM

10 year currently trading around 12.65.... So around those levels.... Maybe upto 12.75%
shadowinvestor
#1093 Posted : Thursday, December 06, 2018 10:00:58 AM

10 year is around 12.27%-12.37%, I see this going to Tap again

10 year currently trading around 12.65.... So around those levels.... Maybe upto 12.75%

#1094 Posted : Thursday, December 06, 2018 2:13:06 PM

shadowinvestor wrote:

With the tax,it still comes below IFB.

Ebenyo
#1095 Posted : Thursday, December 06, 2018 2:22:44 PM

[quote=Angelica _ann]@maka please guide on the pricing tafasali smile

10 year currently trading around 12.65.... So around those levels.... Maybe upto 12.75%[/quo

..........................................................................................................................................................
In my first paper FXD2/2014/5,it was written that i will get 12.404%,but the interest amount i get in my account is 10%.
#1096 Posted : Thursday, December 06, 2018 3:47:34 PM

Ebenyo wrote:

10 year currently trading around 12.65.... So around those levels.... Maybe upto 12.75%[/quo

..........................................................................................................................................................
In my first paper FXD2/2014/5,it was written that i will get 12.404%,but the interest amount i get in my account is 10%.

For gaaament securities whose tenures are less than 10 years,the haircut is usually 15%,thus 85% of 12.404 is some 10.x%
Any tenure above 10 years the haircut is 10%.
For IFB however,there is kinyozi,just grow full rastas!
smile smile

shadowinvestor
#1097 Posted : Friday, December 07, 2018 2:25:09 PM

Opus Dei has been very strict with his yields this year, but being the last bond of the year(calendar year) and need to attract people's cash from being spent in Mabatha and put chums with serikali- maybe weka a higher discount push average yield in the 12.45%-12.55% region

shadowinvestor wrote:

Wondergirl
#1098 Posted : Friday, December 07, 2018 2:51:36 PM

Ebenyo wrote:

For gaaament securities whose tenures are less than 10 years,the haircut is usually 15%,thus 85% of 12.404 is some 10.x%
smile smile

Haki si you explain to us in simpler words,I think its time I diversified into these things, and I have no clue.Sad Pray
tandich
#1099 Posted : Friday, December 07, 2018 5:16:46 PM

Ebenyo wrote:

Withholding Tax?
#1100 Posted : Saturday, December 08, 2018 12:15:16 AM

Wondergirl wrote:
Ebenyo wrote:

smile smile

Haki si you explain to us in simpler words,I think its time I diversified into these things, and I have no clue.Sad Pray

Hit my inbox wondergal.
Point correction though: "for IFB,there is no kinyozi"