wazua Thu, Apr 25, 2024

will tribalism ever end in kenya?
#1 Posted : Tuesday, January 17, 2012 9:51:49 PM

I have just noted mohammed kuti has appointed ibrahim haji as kenya meat commission md. does this raise any eyebrow?kibunja.ministers are just giving their tribesmen jobs
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
#2 Posted : Wednesday, January 18, 2012 4:04:18 AM

it will take thousands of years. not unless a law is passed to make marrying from one's tribe illegal. as with racism in the west, it's a difficult vice to kill
Sure
#3 Posted : Wednesday, January 18, 2012 8:49:57 AM

'user' wrote:
I have just noted mohammed kuti has appointed ibrahim haji as kenya meat commission md. does this raise any eyebrow?kibunja.ministers are just giving their tribesmen jobs

The only time it will end is when you start by ending tribalism in your heart, I follow suit and it becomes infectious. But before that, Kibaki and Raila have to stop consulting over which clansman, tribesman or friend should take over what. That is when tribalism will be dealt a death blow.

Note: Kibaki does not favour Kikuyus, he favours Kikuyu elite, Meru elite, Embu elite, Kamba elite.

Raila favours his close relatives and Luo elite.

Who is more tribal? None, they are both into chronism.

Lets say you are a Luo, has he assisted you or your uncle get a job in the government? Assume you are a Kikuyu, have you seen Kibaki give a government Job to a Meru while you are left out or your over qualified uncle goes for ten years without a job? Think.
Wisdom to detect when share prices hit rock bottom.
When interest on bonds keep going up, you know the bear run is on high street. When interest on bonds start leveling, the bear has met the bull and they have hit rock bottom. When the interest rates on bonds start coming down, the bull has overpowered the bear and you better be riding the bull.
Kihangeri
#4 Posted : Wednesday, January 18, 2012 9:52:02 AM

Sure wrote:

Raila favours his close relatives and Luo elite.

Who is more tribal? None, they are both into chronism.

Lets say you are a Luo, has he assisted you or your uncle get a job in the government? Assume you are a Kikuyu, have you seen Kibaki give a government Job to a Meru while you are left out or your over qualified uncle goes for ten years without a job? Think.

Good point. How did Raila's sister get a Job in KR?

The chairperson of the Board of Trustees of the Kenya Railways Staff Retirement Benefits Scheme is set to appear in court to answer charges of unlawful acquisition of public property.

Beryl Okumu Odinga failed to appear in court alongside three others charged with abuse of office and wilful failure to comply with the law.

Senior principle magistrate Lucy Nyambura issued the summons Tuesday following a request from state counsel Daniel Karori after Ms Odinga, who is Prime Minister Raila Odinga’s sister, failed to present herself to court.

We need to expose Kibaki also. Has he got sisters and brothers in high office, like the chairperson of NCBK.
By inference, the man is all that Mr Phantom is not: an untrustworthy radical, divisive, too many enemies, a dictator, and a persistent liar...
Gaitho dialogues.

#5 Posted : Wednesday, January 18, 2012 12:20:22 PM

Strange
sihingwa
#6 Posted : Wednesday, January 18, 2012 3:08:45 PM

Strange

@ Taz nothing strange ...think if you were in the shoes of Rao or Baks, would you leave your kin at to fend for themselves ?

Put in another way...when you were a prefect some 30 years ago, did'nt you favour your siblings in school?

Or, you are a HOD where u r employed and are looking for graduate trainees, would'nt you push for your niece to get through ?

What am driving at is that all this favorism / nepotism / cronyism / tribalism /clanism and other bad 'isms' are inborn or learnt.
#7 Posted : Wednesday, January 18, 2012 3:32:28 PM

sihingwa wrote:
Strange

@ Taz nothing strange ...think if you were in the shoes of Rao or Baks, would you leave your kin at to fend for themselves ?

Put in another way...when you were a prefect some 30 years ago, did'nt you favour your siblings in school?

Or, you are a HOD where u r employed and are looking for graduate trainees, would'nt you push for your niece to get through ?

What am driving at is that all this favorism / nepotism / cronyism / tribalism /clanism and other bad 'isms' are inborn or learnt.

Do they do the same in other countries or this is in Kenyan genes?

Those who have widely travelled?
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
sihingwa
#8 Posted : Wednesday, January 18, 2012 3:48:20 PM

Those who have widely travelled in google like me;
sample this
Kaka M
#9 Posted : Wednesday, January 18, 2012 5:38:15 PM

There are various factors to consider in this issue as follows;

You appoint someone who will ensure that you get the tender to supply packaging material, diaries calenders T-shirts and then invoice at inflated prices etc.

Also, like happens with so many people, when one son/daughter from a locality gets into an able position, all relatives neighbours and friends go for financial assistance etc.
Some cases are usually genuine and since you can't go dishing out money everytime you find a permanent solution which is getting your neighbour, friend's son or relative a job.
Being January pple who travelled to the villages over holidays came back with requests of ukisikia job here is my CV.
#10 Posted : Wednesday, January 18, 2012 11:25:56 PM

when political elitism and favoritism starts rotting from the head and the head falls off, that would be a good start. even a patriotic transplant would not help, the numbers are too many.
#11 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2012 12:13:07 AM

'user' wrote:
sihingwa wrote:
Strange

Do they do the same in other countries or this is in Kenyan genes?

Those who have widely travelled?

it does but carefully crafted and only qualified peoples. nepotism and all those other favourisms can cost a big guy his/her jobski

Kihangeri
#12 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2012 9:26:19 AM

sihingwa wrote:

Those who have widely travelled in google like me;
sample this

"In presidential politics, the victor always gets the spoils, and chief among them is the vast warren of offices that make up the federal bureaucracy. Historically, the U.S. public has never paid much attention to the people the President chooses to sit behind those thousands of desks. A benign cronyism is more or less presumed, with old friends and big donors getting comfortable positions and impressive titles, and with few real consequences for the nation".

And that is where you miss the point by comparing Kenya and US political establishments.

In US, the party is already established and the machinery that appoints one of their own to run for high office still run the show. In other words, the Democrats are not about Obama. The Democrats are an institution by themselves and play a key part in having the right ppl in the right places to support their candidate before and after elections and ensure the government implements its promises and takes the country to the next level as democrats would want to be in power for continues 20 yrs or more (Very practical as they become the darling of the masses). So, you see, its not about the President choosing his men, its about Democrats making up the government and protecting their reputation, failure to which Republicans gain favour ang get elected. So, you cannot screw up such a case by electing your Sister through the rear end into high office while she has nothing to show except sticky fingers and thieving tendencies.

Come to Kenya.

Raila has every other sister, brother, son inlaw, brother in law and anything called relative into the governmnent as either ambassador, chairman, head, driver and everything else in between. Most do not have the qualification for the Job dished out and their thieving tendencies outpace their diligence.

That is why I wonder what ails Kibaki because I heard his brother died a poor man, sijui his sister in law is still a small time farmer, another brother still takes his milk to the market on a bicycle etc. And someone still thinks Kibaki is a tribalist. Cronyism yes, but nepotism, no.
By inference, the man is all that Mr Phantom is not: an untrustworthy radical, divisive, too many enemies, a dictator, and a persistent liar...
Gaitho dialogues.

#13 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2012 10:30:30 AM

kifaki gives jobs to people who CAN do them, being closer only gives one an added advantage, and a very big one at that....

RAO gives jobs to anyone / everyone closer to him, irrespective of competence....

there lies the difference between the two. tupeni mawe sasa!!!
#14 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2012 10:51:01 AM

kingfisher wrote:
kifaki gives jobs to people who CAN do them, being closer only gives one an added advantage, and a very big one at that....

RAO gives jobs to anyone / everyone closer to him, irrespective of competence....

....and these are???
#15 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2012 10:54:19 AM

How do we expect it to end when we classify tribalism from our kinsmen as ok but from other tribes as bad.....surely it then can't end!!!!
#16 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2012 10:55:23 AM

kingfisher wrote:

....and these are???

@jah man... wewe unajua, hapana jifanya mchinga

on other matters.... umelipwa ndugu? hebu sambasa fombe ya kesho. m-mbeca yangu bado inafanya kazi. mimi nita revenge baadaye.

na mimi sijasema tribalism ya kibaki ni mzuri kulio ya raila... nimetofautisha tuu!
#17 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2012 10:55:33 AM

'user' wrote:
I have just noted mohammed kuti has appointed ibrahim haji as kenya meat commission md.

What if this Haji guy is the best candidate for the job?
Anyway in politics it's not about what's right but what is perceived to be right by the majority and no matter how right this appointment may be, it is wrong.

Nandwa
#18 Posted : Friday, March 16, 2018 10:15:06 AM

RAO installed John Badi as National Assembly Minority leader much to the chargrin of Wiper who were left feeling cheated.
Right now he is pulling machinations to jettisson Wetangula out as the Senate minority leader and in his place install James Orengo;

https://www.nation.co.ke...3562-jk3v0hz/index.html

In the meantime RAO ni mweupe kama pambad'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic
#19 Posted : Friday, March 16, 2018 11:11:30 AM

Nandwa wrote:
RAO installed John Badi as National Assembly Minority leader much to the chargrin of Wiper who were left feeling cheated.
Right now he is pulling machinations to jettisson Wetangula out as the Senate minority leader and in his place install James Orengo;

It's called tyranny of numbers. Let odm get what they rightfully deserve. That is what we call democracy.
#20 Posted : Friday, March 16, 2018 11:12:36 AM

Nandwa wrote: