KQ dream
#21 Posted : Thursday, December 15, 2011 8:00:39 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Does Naikuni have any shares in KQ?
NO. According to the last Annual Report. Says a lot does it not.

Yeah it does...
#22 Posted : Friday, December 16, 2011 8:42:48 AM

QW25081985 wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:
@Aguytrying, how sure are you that KQ is paying for the ads? Remember that the dreamliners are running three years late and Boeing had to pull stops to ensure that KQ doesnt revert back to Airbus.

lol. boeing to pay for ads ...hiyo haiwezekani ...

It is a normal business practice where an interested party pays for adverts of a associate using their product.

If you look at those adverts, they praising both KQ and Boeing. My first assumption would be that Boeing are paying...to appease KQ... Remember Naikuni had hinted that they are getting tired of waiting for these planes that are now 3yrs behind schedule - he mentioned they had opened discussions with Airbus
hisah
#23 Posted : Friday, December 16, 2011 9:15:47 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Does Naikuni have any shares in KQ?
NO. According to the last Annual Report. Says a lot does it not.

Yeah it does...

Salalaa...! The other bluechip is mpesa... Hmmm... Which other bluechips?
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
luttz
#24 Posted : Friday, December 16, 2011 9:15:49 AM

@ Mukiha and GG, absolutely right. Boeing is doing all it can to retain the market already threatened by delays. Aviation industry structure calls for such moves; see what the Brazilian company Embraer, Canadian Bombardier and Chinese COMAC are doing as they try to compete for the single isles narrow aircraft segment from the industry giants (BOEING & AIRBUS).
"You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."
#25 Posted : Friday, December 16, 2011 10:27:09 AM

At least KQ is not Air Zim

http://talkzimbabwe.com/?p=2260

Air Zim is afraid to fly outside of Africa (to London) or even within Africa like South Africa...
Cde Monomotapa
#26 Posted : Friday, December 16, 2011 1:19:09 PM

Air Zim is afraid to fly outside of Africa (to London) or even within Africa like South Africa...

Yup... Air Zim has major issues to address..especially fleet & a huge debt-overhang. However, some Chings are being courted to JV. Could be Air Zim's inflection point.
#27 Posted : Friday, December 16, 2011 2:00:41 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:

Yup... Air Zim has major issues to address..especially fleet & a huge debt-overhang. However, some Chings are being courted to JV. Could be Air Zim's inflection point.
Well, not if mugabe has his wang in the pie...
#28 Posted : Friday, December 16, 2011 2:10:03 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:

Just don't know how old the picture in the link is. That is either a 737-100 or 737-200 (you know from the long Pratt & Whitney engine). Later 737s i.e -300, -400, -700, -800 have CFM56 engines (shorter and more stout - zimestunya). -100 and -200 are 1965 kites...
#29 Posted : Friday, December 16, 2011 2:57:05 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:

Just don't know how old the picture in the link is. That is either a 737-100 or 737-200 (you know from the long Pratt & Whitney engine). Later 737s i.e -300, -400, -700, -800 have CFM56 engines (shorter and more stout - zimestunya). -100 and -200 are 1965 kites...

Usicheze na wazee wa wazua... wanujua kila kitu!
Burning Spear
#30 Posted : Friday, December 16, 2011 3:45:37 PM

contrary to those comments demonising the advert about KQ and Boeing Dreamliner, I would refer them to the objectives of marketing. What did the two companies wanted to achieve if not an impact about their products and services. KQ's objective is to create an impression that they are the best airline with the latest equipment coz they know Jetlink and Fly 540 can never come up with such a move.They can only advertise Bombardier CRJ 100, 200 or Fokker planes. Remember if you look at KQ financials,you realize they get more profit from local,Entebbe (and entire East African region) and West African routes than European ones which would be served by the dream liner.

Some wazuans wanajua sana mpaka wanaharibu and maybe they have never got a ride in an aeroplane.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
Cde Monomotapa
#31 Posted : Friday, December 16, 2011 4:11:38 PM

mukiha wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:
Cde Monomotapa wrote:

Usicheze na wazee wa wazua... wanujua kila kitu!

Amen.
#32 Posted : Friday, December 16, 2011 4:12:05 PM

Burning Spear wrote:
contrary to those comments demonising the advert about KQ and Boeing Dreamliner, I would refer them to the objectives of marketing. What did the two companies wanted to achieve if not an impact about their products and services. KQ's objective is to create an impression that they are the best airline with the latest equipment coz they know Jetlink and Fly 540 can never come up with such a move.They can only advertise Bombardier CRJ 100, 200 or Fokker planes. Remember if you look at KQ financials,you realize they get more profit from local,Entebbe (and entire East African region) and West African routes than European ones which would be served by the dream liner.

Some wazuans wanajua sana mpaka wanaharibu and maybe they have never got a ride in an aeroplane.

Gatheuzi
#33 Posted : Saturday, December 17, 2011 5:23:30 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:

Well, not if mugabe has his wang in the pie...

....."AIR Zimbabwe has suspended all its flights to South Africa with management concerned that creditors might try to impound its planes landing at OR Tambo International Airport."

would they impound the crew as well??? d'oh! d'oh!
Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
#34 Posted : Saturday, December 17, 2011 7:09:25 PM

when is ethiopian airline getting their's they advertised today that dreams will be turned into flight.
#35 Posted : Saturday, December 17, 2011 9:25:55 PM

kyt wrote:
when is ethiopian airline getting their's they advertised today that dreams will be turned into flight.

ET are ahead of KQ, they put in their order in 2005, KQ put in the initial order for six in 2006, so ET should take delivery first. Further, ET has taken some pilots through the conversion course - actually when the 787 went to Bole it was flown by an Ethiopian. I suspect KQ havent even identified pilots.
#36 Posted : Sunday, December 18, 2011 12:10:06 AM

gg, when this thing landed in nairobi. it was flown by one captain mwangi. dir of flight operations. FYI.
Aguytrying
#37 Posted : Sunday, December 18, 2011 8:35:16 AM

Getting new planes, that's all nice and dandy. Now to the stuff that really matters, return on investment. Could this be the next stock to watch? Once the rights issue and planes are purchased last quarter 2013, when all that dust settles. Could this stock replicate what it did 5 yrs ago?
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
#38 Posted : Sunday, December 18, 2011 10:14:25 AM

Kq is a stock for 2016
#39 Posted : Sunday, December 18, 2011 1:55:14 PM

kyt wrote:
gg, when this thing landed in nairobi. it was flown by one captain mwangi. dir of flight operations. FYI.

Thanks @kyt. My facts seem wrong, I thought Capt Mutungi (Koki's father) was the Dir of Flight Ops?
Bree
#40 Posted : Sunday, December 18, 2011 7:02:17 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
kyt wrote:

Thanks @kyt. My facts seem wrong, I thought Capt Mutungi (Koki's father) was the Dir of Flight Ops?

Capt. Paul Mwangi has been the @flight Ops director for couple of years, I think his predecessor was one capt Paul Okello...