wazua Wed, Dec 31, 2025

Earning a coin or two
#1 Posted : Thursday, December 08, 2011 9:24:22 AM

Good people of Wazua, i need to tap on your experiences and knowledge.

What activities do you give your children to help them learn to "earn" their money? More specifically 8-10 years of age?
QW25081985
#2 Posted : Thursday, December 08, 2011 9:27:06 AM

What activities do you give your children to help them learn to "earn" their money? More specifically 8-10 years of age?

wapeleke kona mbaya ...art of muggin 101 ! lol.
#3 Posted : Thursday, December 08, 2011 9:36:51 AM

they should wash their socks.
wash their plate and cup
their room should be neat and bed well spread

the above akuna malipo
Kutengeneza mezani ksh kaburuu
Burning Spear
#4 Posted : Thursday, December 08, 2011 9:45:36 AM

carygoh wrote:

wash their plate and cup

the above akuna malipo

Dont pay them for doing what they are supposed to do.Infact if they refuse,discipline them.
When we were young,about 35 years ago,we did all the work and were beaten every evening coz our parents said we were doing it in a hurry to go and play.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
#5 Posted : Thursday, December 08, 2011 10:56:43 AM

Burning Spear wrote:
carygoh wrote:

wash their plate and cup

the above akuna malipo

Dont pay them for doing what they are supposed to do.Infact if they refuse,discipline them.
When we were young,about 35 years ago,we did all the work and were beaten every evening coz our parents said we were doing it in a hurry to go and play.

@QW let me know which class yours is, i'll ask the administration there to put him in the same class Think

@Cary & BS You are very right.... I also dont intend to reward his responsibilities.... but then again isn't it in order to get them learn the value of hardwork and that hard work pays?

I was thinking of something like washing the car (not that i expect car-wash standard) but they could earn some money from that because i would still pay someone to do it. Was also thinking of paying say 10 bob for open the gate when i get home in the evening... i ordinarily do it myself and i don't like it much.... i wouldn't mind paying for that little help. But i do need variety otherwise he'll get bored within no time.
#6 Posted : Thursday, December 08, 2011 10:59:52 AM

Why and when was @QW usered?
#7 Posted : Thursday, December 08, 2011 10:59:56 AM

Burning Spear wrote:
carygoh wrote:

wash their plate and cup

the above akuna malipo

@QW let me know which class yours is, i'll ask the administration there to put him in the same class Think

@Cary & BS You are very right.... I also dont intend to reward his responsibilities.... but then again isn't it in order to get them learn the value of hardwork and that hard work pays?

I was thinking of something like washing the car (not that i expect car-wash standard) but they could earn some money from that because i would still pay someone to do it. Was also thinking of paying say 10 bob for open the gate when i get home in the evening... i ordinarily do it myself and i don't like it much.... i wouldn't mind paying for that little help. But i do need variety otherwise he'll get bored within no time.

oh and i forgot to ask .are you giving him the money literally? get him/her piggy bank
#8 Posted : Thursday, December 08, 2011 11:02:42 AM

bkismat wrote:
Why and when was @QW usered?

on that note am not commenting on airport and planes again
#9 Posted : Thursday, December 08, 2011 11:19:22 AM

Burning Spear wrote:
carygoh wrote:

wash their plate and cup

the above akuna malipo

No one should be paid for doing house work. (and that includes kufungua gate) . I imagine you really want them to learn how money works not necessarily them earning money. I am thinking in the lines of teaching them how to split incomes into saving,spending, how investing grows money etc. A game like Monopoly would do well then gradually introduce them to the simple cashflow game. (Someone was selling it here sometime back).

But the greatest effect will be tagging them along to your investment meetings and those many plots you have bought and explaining to them why you did it. Even tell them the mistakes. You will be shocked how much they learn when they ask you deep questions three months on. Never underestimate the value of apprenticeship. Look at the Asians, the second to third generation are now the wealthiest men having learnt from going to the father's business after school and sitting at the till.
#10 Posted : Thursday, December 08, 2011 11:28:24 AM

carygoh wrote:

oh and i forgot to ask .are you giving him the money literally? get him/her piggy bank

he has one. he wants to save "to buy shares"... to use his own words. He initiated the discussion on what he can do to earn money.
#11 Posted : Thursday, December 08, 2011 11:31:59 AM

I'd suggest that you give him a few lessons on how banks operate and how people are supposed to relate with them. Then let him run his account as he deems fit while you nudge him slowly towards enterpreneurship by being a model.
mnjoro
#12 Posted : Thursday, December 08, 2011 11:34:49 AM

@ Wendz
Are these your grandchildren?Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Kumbe you are on our league.Have a second opinion of @Guka and @Njung'e.
Having said that whatever payment you are to do,don,t give them the cash instead let them know they have earned something and they record.
You can later discuss on what to do.
#13 Posted : Thursday, December 08, 2011 11:35:27 AM

bwenyenye wrote:

No one should be paid for doing house work. (and that includes kufungua gate I will reconsider that.... I might as well honk it out ... seriously) . I imagine you really want them to learn how money works not necessarily them earning money I do want them to learn how money works.... and how to earn it.... he has a piggy bank that i have been feeding and was thinking its time he starts understanding that money doesnt come "from the bank".... you have to earn it.... practically..... I am thinking in the lines of teaching them how to split incomes into saving,spending, how investing grows money Doesnt it sink more if done pratically? that's what i thoughtetc. A game like Monopoly would do well then gradually introduce them to the simple cashflow game. (Someone was selling it here sometime back).

But the greatest effect will be tagging them along to your investment meetings and those many plots you have bought and explaining to them why you did it Trust me, he can navigate some areas better than a GPS...smile . Even tell them the mistakes. You will be shocked how much they learn when they ask you deep questions three months on. Never underestimate the value of apprenticeship. Look at the Asians, the second to third generation are now the wealthiest men having learnt from going to the father's business after school and sitting at the till.

#14 Posted : Thursday, December 08, 2011 11:39:39 AM

mnjoro wrote:
@ Wendz
Are these your grandchildren?
Kumbe yyou are on our league.Have a second opinion of @Guka and @Njung'e.
Have said that whatever payment you are to do,don,t give them the cash instead let them know they have earned something and they record.

Wacha siasa kijana.... these are my daughter's children we are talking about....

noted on the highlight... now list here some ideas on what they need to do to earn that money they will be recording....
#15 Posted : Thursday, December 08, 2011 11:48:22 AM

bwenyenye wrote:

No one should be paid for doing house work. (and that includes kufungua gate I will reconsider that.... I might as well honk it out ... seriously) . I imagine you really want them to learn how money works not necessarily them earning money I do want them to learn how money works.... and how to earn it.... he has a piggy bank that i have been feeding and was thinking its time he starts understanding that money doesnt come "from the bank".... you have to earn it.... practically..... I am thinking in the lines of teaching them how to split incomes into saving,spending, how investing grows money Doesnt it sink more if done pratically? that's what i thoughtetc. A game like Monopoly would do well then gradually introduce them to the simple cashflow game. (Someone was selling it here sometime back).

Quick suggestion. Buy from him/her some of your daily purchases. e.g Milk. Let them find out how much it cost in the neighbourhood kiosk. Let them buy it using their cash ( saving) then you buy it back when you get home. With a margin of no more than 5%. That way they see how 50 bob becomes 55 bob and keeps growing everyday.

But the greatest effect will be tagging them along to your investment meetings and those many plots you have bought and explaining to them why you did it Trust me, he can navigate some areas better than a GPS...smile . Even tell them the mistakes. You will be shocked how much they learn when they ask you deep questions three months on. Never underestimate the value of apprenticeship. Look at the Asians, the second to third generation are now the wealthiest men having learnt from going to the father's business after school and sitting at the till.

mnjoro
#16 Posted : Thursday, December 08, 2011 11:49:49 AM

mnjoro wrote:
@ Wendz
Are these your grandchildren?
Kumbe yyou are on our league.Have a second opinion of @Guka and @Njung'e.
Have said that whatever payment you are to do,don,t give them the cash instead let them know they have earned something and they record.

Wacha siasa kijana.... these are my daughter's children we are talking about....

noted on the highlight... now list here some ideas on what they need to do to earn that money they will be recording....

With the current share trend,i would not advise they buy shares.Their souls are too young for disappointment.
The best i find working is you as the mother/grandmother bollowing the funds at a profit.That way you instill sense of saving and them trusting in you.
In future once you build that trust they will be consulting you in any endeavour they have.Mine are on the same league usijali.Mimi sio kijana ndi Muthuri wa mburi ungituma uge mbu.
kimiri
#17 Posted : Thursday, December 08, 2011 12:15:21 PM

Reminds me when we were kids. We used to rear rabbits and actually make some money out of it. Besides sale of animals, I used to have a big male that I hired out for breeding at a fee of 1 to 2 shilling each time.
mnjoro
#18 Posted : Thursday, December 08, 2011 1:10:27 PM

kimiri wrote:
Reminds me when we were kids. We used to rear rabbits and actually make some money out of it. Besides sale of animals, I used to have a big male that I hired out for breeding at a fee of 1 to 2 shilling each time.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly.And repeat job was chargeable.
#19 Posted : Thursday, December 08, 2011 1:23:31 PM

mnjoro wrote:
kimiri wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly.And repeat job was chargeable.

Reminds me too,in Londokwe , as herdsboys we used to tie a piece of skin under the belly of male sheep when taking them to have water at the dams.When a neighbour's she-sheep wanted an 'injection', we would untied the skin at a fee(several 10 cents ).
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
kimiri
#20 Posted : Thursday, December 08, 2011 2:17:06 PM

@user. Awesome! Making money kwa kuvalisha mbuzi makobosto.