wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

TATA-NANO 'the peoples car
danny6
#1 Posted : Tuesday, April 07, 2009 1:49:00 PM

At Ksh 180,000 (brand new)this car is arguably the cheapest car on earth,very comfortable,doom shaped,enviromental friendly and with adequate space..where are the orders?

'When one door closes another door opens; but we so often look so long and so regretfully upon the closed door,that we do not see the ones which open for us'.
#2 Posted : Tuesday, April 07, 2009 2:11:00 PM

That manufaturers cannot meet even the order in China which stands at 500,000 yet they can only produce 50,000 in one year!!!!

Make money.....then you will enjoy all the fine things in life!!!
#3 Posted : Tuesday, April 07, 2009 2:21:00 PM

@Mcreggae,

India....Not China......and that damn thing they calling a car.Tis a contraption.....No radio,a/c,airbags and it's chiefly of plastic and glue.....If you don't like safety,you buy it but driving that thing on Kenyan roads is more riskier than crossing Uhuru highway during peak hours with a blindfold.........anyway,going by it's demand in the Orient,it won't be here until 3020.......

Guka wa bijuti...
JkMwatha
#4 Posted : Tuesday, April 07, 2009 2:30:00 PM

doom shaped? ..... Dome....?

Motobex.
#5 Posted : Tuesday, April 07, 2009 6:30:00 PM

So which is the better deal? A tuktuk or this thing?
#6 Posted : Tuesday, April 07, 2009 6:45:00 PM

It looks 'cute' and unlike the nyayo car,the nano works!

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
redice
#7 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2009 6:16:00 AM

@n'junge
ever been to India?? I dont think so.. those roads are 1000 times busier then our roads... and the Tata Nano has been proven safe for use there... so what is Uhuru Highway??
it not having all the luxuries that you talk of is what makes it cheaper....
Its a car for the people not for THE PEOPLE...
#8 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2009 7:23:00 AM

I should go buy shares of Kenol & Total coz that would boost consumption to crazy levels coz @180,000 it cheaper than buying furniture @ Nakumatt (150,000 sofa sets)

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#9 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2009 7:34:00 AM

@Reddice,

I dude who tested the car confesses that the Nano is not your intercity car.......basically given it's defficiency in safety terms.Come to think of it,it's targeted for the Asian market of 4 wheel car dreamers......it's far much better than taking your two kids to school on a scooter........The newly launched Indian version cannot conform to safety requirements in Europe and US......Thus they have come up with the CX and LX models.....This might have airbags,powersteering and hopefully an auto transmission.......

Guka wa bijuti...
#10 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2009 11:41:00 AM

I am in Kenya... AFRICA... where most people do not own a bicycle. So the Nano is great for Kenyans. EXCEPT (as someone commented) the roads in Kenya are lousy. Lakini as a in-city car it might be cheaper to drive (fuel consumption) and park (less space needed).

#11 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2009 11:43:00 AM

When is the earliest that this car will hit Kenyan shores?

#12 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2009 12:32:00 PM

Vision 2030!!!

Make money.....then you will enjoy all the fine things in life!!!
#13 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2009 12:43:00 PM

By vision 2030 we will have a competitor to the nano. The baks car - takes ages to start then max speed is 10kms/hr. Or the RAO car - it whines & whines & uses old carpet on the floor. The ka-loser car - It takes a miracle for it do anything.

#14 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2009 12:44:00 PM

or when Kenyans learn about life priorities .. look at he cars on our roads..big and they are getting bigger..to us the bigger the guzzler the higher the status..and soo many of us are trapped in this kind of thinking,i wld rather drive a 4x4 n spending too much on oil,maintance and all that..at the end of the day,investments are left out...but am thinking theres a certain group of pple..the ones stuck with marshals......guka and his age group..lol..............

muthomi mugi aiikagia maitho kabere...
aristocrats
#15 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2009 1:25:00 PM

@all,this Ksh180k price is before you've given 'Ceaser' Waweru what belongs to Ceaser Waweru. Well,I dont see anything to be excited about.

I dont know,therefore I ask.
danny6
#16 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2009 1:31:00 PM

good for family outings,adequate breathing space na haikunywi mafuta mingi,5 litres and you may find youself in hellsgate

'When one door closes another door opens; but we so often look so long and so regretfully upon the closed door,that we do not see the ones which open for us'.
chi20
#17 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2009 1:40:00 PM

have a feeling some respondents arent driving at the moment,and coud be excited of owning the first cars! be advised that cost isnt the final thing,but the value of the machine. Indians are good inventors,but their vehicles are amiss. think of mahindra,brand new cars that never lived long to their 1st anniversary,these other buses that were banned from the kenyan road the other day. the famous new motorbikes fancied for boda boda,they hardly live more than 3 years. tuk tuk are an improved version of motorbikes and dont necessary originate from india.

mwana wa kahii. . . .
danny6
#18 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2009 2:01:00 PM

factors constant this is a better deal to Njunge's 'bijuti',at least you dont need to carry a jerrican of water to switch off the engines

#19 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2009 2:11:00 PM

Seriously... it is only 180,000. Dont expect a mercedes. More like a tuk-tuk but better looking! And taxi fares can drop in Nairobi coz even boda boda owners can afford it.

#20 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2009 2:18:00 PM

@Danny,

Wacha tuu.....There was this day the brakes failed and am going down hill......Weeeeee...!!!...I could only wave through and shout,...'Tokeni ninakuja....!!'...One idiot left his ka-110........Hey....!!!...Kalinyorothwo.....i came out of the bijuti laughing...!!....110 ended in jua kali kwa body builder lakini bijuti??....uH..!!...soap and wax...!!!

Guka wa bijuti...