wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Kahama Hotel Mombasa - give opinions
#1 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 1:18:00 PM

I have been seeing their ads in the press with some entising deals... under 2k pp[sharing]... From their website, they appear to be part of the K1/K2 group [I guess K could stand for Kahama, even though it also stands for Klub]

Any way; has anyone ever stayed there? When at Mombasa for business I usually go to Royal Court. How does this Kahama compare?
#2 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 1:31:59 PM

mukiha wrote:

Any way; has anyone ever stayed there? When at Mombasa for business I usually go to Royal Court. How does this Kahama compare?

I stayed here for 8 days with the family.You'll love their services....cheap services but mzuri by any standard.Check out their rates here although they do go up during pick seasons.

http://www.kahamahotel.co.ke/rates.html

DEEBO
#3 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 1:45:14 PM

Decent place, only problem I had was noise from the Sports Bar. And no beach access.
#4 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 1:45:14 PM

kahama hotel... me thot you have moved from hotel!!
limanika
#5 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 1:48:42 PM

No direct beach access as they are on 2nd row. But you can use a public access road just next to access the beach
#6 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 1:57:30 PM

I have stayed there for three days. Good service and as someone else has said the beach is a stone throw away and if you need there is a Maasai soldier to escort you there.

A great sports bar too especially on weekends... the rooms to the extreme end from the reception are not noisy at all.

And you can book from Nrb.
incognito
#7 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 3:30:35 PM

Then there is that splendid Mombasa roots band in the sports club. Truly worth it. Especially that lead singer (Think she is called Esther) ;)
Excelsior
#8 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 3:36:13 PM

Splendid

The ads don't do them justice. I happened to stay at there for 2 weeks and I can't go anywhere else. The service is excellent and the workers are more than helpful for watu we bara.

Warning though, since its mombasa, talk to a staff member before you get too inebriated and land yourself somewhere in mtwapa with someone you just bought a drink.....hehe.
#9 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 3:38:41 PM

I just got an idea for soon!!!
#10 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 3:53:03 PM

Splendid

The ads don't do them justice. I happened to stay at there for 2 weeks and I can't go anywhere else. The service is excellent and the workers are more than helpful for watu we bara.

Warning though, since its mombasa, talk to a staff member before you get too inebriated and land yourself somewhere in mtwapa with someone you just bought a drink.....hehe.

@Alma I just knew this would bring you out. Where have you been?
#11 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 4:29:04 PM

@elder niko kabisa na wewe uko vipi
Burning Spear
#12 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 4:30:56 PM

mukiha wrote:
I have been seeing their ads in the press with some entising deals... under 2k pp[sharing]... From their website, they appear to be part of the K1/K2 group [I guess K could stand for Kahama, even though it also stands for Klub]

Royal court is the best for business.located at the heart of town.Their services are ok apart from swiming pool on 6th floor which is too shallow to dive. They are very strict when you show up with a an additional guest.They once sent my bill to our company with the charges of additional guest.

"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
#13 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 4:33:33 PM

Burning Spear wrote:
sent my bill to our company with the charges of additional guest.

BS: You are lucky haikuwa jini!!!
#14 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 4:44:51 PM

Jah Man kuna jini humo.

I once got on a bus and near Voi some mzee sat next to me. Kufumba na kufumbua the guy was gone. I asked everyone in the bus they denied seeing him.

Hawa jini wamo.
Burning Spear
#15 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 4:47:56 PM

Burning Spear wrote:

Haikuwa Jini
after a long tiresome day,I decided to take away some chips (singular) from Bella Vista Club near Mombasa Uni plaza to work on my tired muscles heheh.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
#16 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 4:58:03 PM

Burning Spear wrote:
[quote=mukiha]Their services are ok apart from swiming pool on 6th floor which is too shallow to dive. They are very strict when you show up with a an additional guest.They once sent my bill to our company with the charges of additional guest.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly We know what you did last summerPray ....as for the swimming pool,they can always demolition slab above fifth to give diving roomsmile
keraka
#17 Posted : Wednesday, October 05, 2011 5:02:02 PM

Burning Spear wrote:

Haikuwa Jini
after a long tiresome day,I decided to take away some chips (singular) from Bella Vista Club near Mombasa Uni plaza to work on my tired muscles heheh.
Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Kumbe tuko wengi.I bealive you kept on checking the whole nite just to be sure sio Jini.

The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.
#18 Posted : Thursday, October 06, 2011 4:15:08 PM

Splendid

Iko chida mwingi.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

The last time I spend over there was last Spring, they are worth what they are charging although only a few of their rooms have bath tabs (so flying over water is limited.)

That weekend the lady Esther played a very memorable song by Harry Kimani, the song called Hiyaa-Haiyaa-Haiyaaaaaa-wemotheru something like that.

#19 Posted : Thursday, October 06, 2011 4:50:04 PM

Burning Spear wrote:

I am told unaangalia macho straight up. Jini will not allow you to see she has no soul!!!! Otherwise utajipata umelala juu ya mti ndethe!
jaribu
#20 Posted : Thursday, October 06, 2011 5:35:53 PM

Kahama is a nice hotel loved because it's fairly affordable and loved by many local indigenous Kenyans. It's owned by the same guys behind K1 and K2.

But the problem for me is that it can get rowdy due to it's famous sports bar and we all how crazy Nairobians (who are mostly there) can get. Kahama have great nyama choma too and affordable Tusker.

Lakini as someone said above, they are NOT next to the beach, but 2nd row, walking distance of about 50 metres. If you don't mind Nairobians causing drama at the Coast, then book it!

But if you are like me and want a quiet time, relax and something totally different, then try somewhere else. I would recommend Bamburi Beach Resort, which is priced same as Kahama, but it's right next to the beach with a big swimming pool and bar. (Don't confuse this tiny paradise with much classier and more expensive Bamburi Beach Hotel)

Bamburi Beach Resort has Makuti cottages dotted all over the compound, very relaxing. They serve nice breakfast if you book bed and breakfast at an extra cost. You eat your breakfast as you watch the sea right in front of you! It's hidden somewhere between Travellers on the right and Kenya Bay hotel on the left.

You can still walk to Kahama from there and watch a few matches or take a ma3 and join crazy Nairobians at Bobs near Kobil.

I have been to Bamburi Resort several times with my buddies. We did self catering coz they have fridges and cookers placed outside every room. We did shopping for the groceries at Nakumatt Nyali which is just 30 bob away using a ma3.

Try their website, if you want something different with a twist and adventure. I highly recommend it. Another hidden gem for best nyama fry and the biggest screen for matches in Kenya has to be Mastersin Bamburi, 1km past the cement factory on your left. But that's a story for another day!

Click and have a look at their "photo gallery" and admire those bamboo makutis.

http://www.bamburiresort.com/