wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Yahoo mail......hii ni nini?
#1 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 1:03:01 PM

My yahoo mail is spamming those on my address book and sending them some funny forex link bla bla ....How does this happen?Sad..Is someone in control of my account?? ...Is it possible to close the damn mail account and move on to something else?

Thanks Willing and Frank for bringing this out!.It's inadvertently regrettablesmile
Money Whisperer
#2 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 1:06:23 PM

Change your password asap. somebody has hacked into your email and sending emails to your address book.
"Money never sleeps"
#3 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 1:36:56 PM

Money Whisperer wrote:
Change your password asap. somebody has hacked into your email and sending emails to your address book.

Ahsante.Will do that right away.Can the link lead me to the idiot?.Nitusi yeye kidogo tuuSad
akowally
#4 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 2:12:03 PM

It did that to me sometime back. Someone hacked into my yahoo, sent mail to everyone about some "awesome" Chinese online store, then deleted all my contacts.

It is not a problem with yahoo but rather hackers. I received another mail from an aunt requesting for financial support which she was to pay back. She lives in the UK. It was one of the most humble and honest mails I had received. Almost transferred money to her only to be informed by an uncle that all relatives make a follow-up call in case of financial need. And this was the world's number one gmail account.

Therefore just change password and forget it. You'll never catch those guys.
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
runjam
#5 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 2:32:20 PM

lol...mine was hacked too and spam mails on sex boosters were sent to all my adresses! Changing the password will do.
accelriskconsult
#6 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 2:51:44 PM

Money Whisperer wrote:

Ahsante.Will do that right away.Can the link lead me to the idiot?.Nitusi yeye kidogo tuuSad

And as a general rule avoid the following when creating a password;
(1) English words - hacking algorithms crack these very quickly.
(2) Dates on their own - same as 1 above
(3) Names

A sentence in a mixture of Kikuyu,English and Kiswahili could be a great password eg

password - njoi ino ni tamu very much =nj011n0n1tamuv3rymuch$ (requires a very sophisticated piece of code and a lot of time to crack this)
alustaadh
#7 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 3:03:31 PM

change your password. include alpha numerical characters. avoid using public computers. upgrade your PC security software.
It is humiliating to be associated with thieves and murderers.
#8 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 3:16:06 PM

Thanks all.Changed and i have changanyad kabisa,i doubt that idiot has a chance.....Ahsanteni saaaana!
#9 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 3:27:56 PM

Thanks all.Changed and i have changanyad kabisa,i doubt that idiot has a chance.....Ahsanteni saaaana!

True the idiot has no chance, but what about yourself - will you remember it this evening?Laughing out loudly
#10 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 4:30:43 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:

True the idiot has no chance, but what about yourself - will you remember it this evening?Laughing out loudly

Didn't think about that!!...what the...!!Pray Pray smile...hii uzee ni chida tupu.
DtheK
#11 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 4:33:24 PM

na hii iwe funzo kwa wengine; using your wife's/daughter's name as password is just asking for troublesmile .Seriously though a mother tongue name,one special xter+(kina*#)+ one or two numbers will do.@alustaadh what does pc software have to do with web based email?
minima
#12 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 5:49:45 PM

accelriskconsult wrote:
Money Whisperer wrote:

And as a general rule avoid the following when creating a password;
(1) English words - hacking algorithms crack these very quickly.
(2) Dates on their own - same as 1 above
(3) Names

A sentence in a mixture of Kikuyu,English and Kiswahili could be a great password eg

password - njoi ino ni tamu very much =nj011n0n1tamuv3rymuch$ (requires a very sophisticated piece of code and a lot of time to crack this)

Having a complex password is not all. Most hackers use spyware to steal passwords. The damn thing will record the sites you visit and the data you enter on the log-in forms. So having a good anti-virus/anti spy-ware is vital
Yes! Jesus loves me
Prime
#13 Posted : Thursday, September 29, 2011 1:32:07 PM

Njung'e, apart from changing the password, do the following. check Options>vacation response and disable the "Enable auto-response during your vacation" check button. delete anything that may have been typed there!!! just check because your account may still be spamming!!! ha!
#14 Posted : Thursday, September 29, 2011 4:53:26 PM

Prime wrote:
Njung'e, apart from changing the password, do the following. check Options>vacation response and disable the "Enable auto-response during your vacation" check button. delete anything that may have been typed there!!! just check because your account may still be spamming!!! ha!

Tena??...Sad ...Will do that and thanks.
#15 Posted : Thursday, September 29, 2011 5:12:36 PM

Prime wrote:

Tena??...Sad ...Will do that and thanks.

Hii communication imekuwa shida tupu. Don't you just long for the days of East African Posts and Telecommunications?