wazua Tue, Mar 4, 2025

8 Pages123>»
Wheelchair.....help
specky
#1 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2011 1:03:12 PM

Hi Wazuans,

I live in Thika and there's this blind crippled begger i have been seeing near a supermarket in Thika town,yesterday as i was going home i saw him and he must have been going 'home'also,his wheel chair had broken down and he was seating on the road as he somehow tried to make some repairs with a plastic paper -joining one end to the other.
I know there are organisations that assist the needy with wheelchairs,does any Wazuan know of any...this man needs a wheel chair.
sanity
#2 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2011 1:51:16 PM

@specky,I'm sure if you make an appeal to the Wazuan community,we can contribute and buy him a whhel chair.All we need is a target and a coordinator. ama?
Hope is not a strategy
Leylah
#3 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2011 2:50:08 PM

You can buy wheelchairs at the Association for the Physically Disabled of Kenya (APDK) showroom on Waiyaki way. They also give orthopedic rehabilitation to people(esp. kids) with disabilities.
#4 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2011 5:45:48 PM

Hey Specky,
good move but it is actually derogatory to call someone a 'cripple'. The term that is not demeaning is 'person with disability' and you can even go further to be specific about the disability........
About the wheelchair,there would be many factors to consider if you really want to help him for example,a durable wheelchair meant to cater for his impairments ( seating posture,modifications etc),a foldable wheelchair so that it is not cumbersome when he needs to get into public transportation.........this means that he would need an assessment from a professional. Most of the wheelchairs we see around are not meant for outdoor use and would not last more than few months......my 2 cents

Mtublack
#5 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2011 6:32:12 PM

famooz wrote:
Hey Specky,
good move but it is actually derogatory to call someone a 'cripple'. The term that is not demeaning is 'person with disability' and you can even go further to be specific about the disability........
About the wheelchair,there would be many factors to consider if you really want to help him for example,a durable wheelchair meant to cater for his impairments ( seating posture,modifications etc),a foldable wheelchair so that it is not cumbersome when he needs to get into public transportation.........this means that he would need an assessment from a professional. Most of the wheelchairs we see around are not meant for outdoor use and would not last more than few months......my 2 cents

APDK have a workshop and professionals who access you so they are able to make a wheelchair customized to ones needs. I know for kids they sometimes have donors but I dont know about grownups.

Yes dont call someone a cripple its a bit derogatory.
Some you win some you lose
Drunkard
#6 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2011 11:43:10 PM

...... when you come up with a way, let me know, I will donate Kshs 10,000, infact I challenge anyone who has ever attack me or correct my very bad writing to donate Kshs 10,000 lets see who has heart and money.
specky
#7 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 12:06:03 PM

Thanks guys....and again thanks for the correction.

About the type of a wheelchair the guy may need hapo sijui,what i have seen him with is the small foldable one.
#8 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 12:58:07 PM

famooz wrote:
Hey Specky,

and I thought a wheelchair was so simple...
#9 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 1:22:15 PM

Drunkard wrote:
...... when you come up with a way, let me know, I will donate Kshs 10,000, infact I challenge anyone who has ever attack me or correct my very bad writing to donate Kshs 10,000 lets see who has heart and money.

Things don't work like that young man.If your right hand is to give,the left should not know,let alone shouting from the roof top.Sad
#10 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 1:47:45 PM

Drunkard wrote:

Eish............ Not talking Brick wall Speak to the hand

Noble
#11 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 1:55:39 PM

Hi Wazuans,

We should should buy this disadvantaged man a wheelchair. Vision 2030 and Leona should be able to manage our donations. We entrusted them with other projects and did't disappoint.
sanity
#12 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 2:01:50 PM

Drunkard wrote:

@drunkard,This is not a contest of who has what and who hasn't!! Anyway I also pledge to donate.
Hope is not a strategy
Mtublack
#13 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 3:47:24 PM

A wheelchair or tricycle can go for approx 20k in APDK clinic in westlands

Some you win some you lose
#14 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 3:59:49 PM

famooz wrote:
Hey Specky,

and I thought a wheelchair was so simple...

I also thought the same. Kumbe nothing is what it seems.
#15 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 4:03:57 PM

Im in.
#16 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 4:43:05 PM

Joining Thimioni.
specky
#17 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 5:42:56 PM

Thanks again and again wazua guys....i will speak to APDK kesho,get some quotes and we can then see the best way forward.

God bless.
Drunkard
#18 Posted : Thursday, September 29, 2011 5:12:38 PM

Drunkard wrote:

Things don't work like that young man.If your right hand is to give,the left should not know,let alone shouting from the roof top.Sad

Too much talks too few action, thats how Kenyans roll, if someone is talking too much, we should be able to know how much he/she can back up their talks by officially stating how much they can contribute otherwise if someone is just talking acting smart and they're broke, I believe they should be shut up!
Ms Mkenya
#19 Posted : Thursday, September 29, 2011 5:59:59 PM

@Specky, Let us know what you come up with.
....above all, to stand.
Tommy
#20 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 3:18:14 AM

Drunkard wrote:

Too much talks too few action, thats how Kenyans roll, if someone is talking too much, we should be able to know how much he/she can back up their talks by officially stating how much they can contribute otherwise if someone is just talking acting smart and they're broke, I believe they should be shut up!

Weee, come slowry
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956