wazua Tue, Dec 3, 2024

of e-CON-omics and the $ at 100
ProverB
#1 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 8:36:17 AM

Pardon me, I wasn't the smartest in the class..but just suffer me this once.

Now.. forex is actually an auction, right?

Now... traders..importers transact using US Dollars?

..and these US Dollars are obtained from commercial banks and forex bureaus?

..so, supply of the US dollars..to common "mwananichi" trader/importer is technically controlled by bureaus and commercial banks?

(I know CBK is the motherload, but technically...)

..if these bureaus and commercial banks work in concerto to withhold on US Dollars stocks they have.. and the traders/importers..desperate for business targets will keep offering higher rate to get em US Dollars..isn't what is happening the most feasible outcome?

..Now, these banks..with quarterly profits in the billions..thanx to Gvt thirst for cash and high interest rates..if the CBK actually managed to float a Euro Bond at rate less than 6 % over a term of 30-50 years..it means banks will lose biggest customer..hence >10% interest income on bonds... right? ..especially the 45Billion Kenya is seeking for to bridge budget deficit by Jan 2012

..and for treasury to float that Euro Bond..it is a requirement that our forex market be free of Gvt intervention right?

..so..it is possible..banks could be manipulating US Dollar...to force CBK to intervene..hence disqualify probability of Euro Bond?

. ThiEVes!! worse than mungiki. NKT! Pthuu!

this Geoffrey Irungu..who seems to have been more attentive in class than I was has this link..
http://allafrica.com/stories/201106291436.html
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
ProverB
#2 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 8:49:01 AM

please do not quote newspapers...especially business daily..unless it's Jaindi Kisero's article. the rest are blubbering idiots.
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
ProverB
#3 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 9:00:34 AM

what do u know! the Irungu dude does write in the business daily!

Geoffrey Irungu-BD wrote:

CBK warns over dubious deals that destabilise shilling http://www.businessdaily.../-/5otquxz/-/index.html

seems my thoughts aren't so far off.
#4 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 9:07:01 AM

Lets be more logical here, forget this nonsense reporting.

Dollars enter our economy through exports, tourism and diaspora inflows. They sell dollars for shillings. The bank then sell these dollars to importers.

Look at the numbers...inflows are being eclipsed by importers...Its simple!
the deal
#5 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 9:07:34 AM

LOL I see you are back Proverb...this time with a consipirancy...on which one can write a thesis on...i think Euro bond is a tall order now..if u look at the deteriorating Kenyan finances I.e widening deficit...worsening debt to gdp..slowing economy...etc...who r the culprits??? I think CBK is main culprit here...first they misread the economic cycle and kept interest rates very low I.e whats the logic in keeping CBR at 6.25% while inflation is 13%??? Then CBK started chasing demoms...ati speculators...drought (the weather man said there will be drought in Kenya long time ago)...then CBK engaged in a futile liquidity battle...hehehe look at the latest pressor from CBK then u will realise theyr useless..also check my articles on the Shilling/CBK...banks are in the business to make money and make their shareholders happy....thats all!! smile
ProverB
#6 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 9:15:53 AM

Lets be more logical here, forget this nonsense reporting.

Dollars enter our economy through exports, tourism and diaspora inflows. They sell dollars for shillings. The bank then sell these dollars to importers.

Look at the numbers...inflows are being eclipsed by importers...Its simple!

Thanx. told you i wasn't the smartest of the bunch.
Even so... there is no one day in kenya's history that exports exceeded imports..not one day.
..hence..importers demand for US Dollar has always outstripped available stock..
..now..my little logic..if u play the supply side..create fake scarcity..in a world where highest bidder gets it..isn't what happening just that?
#7 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 9:20:59 AM

Just see how much the import bill is overtaking exports...that may shed some light...the gap is huge.
ProverB
#8 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 9:23:05 AM

the deal wrote:
LOL I see you are back Proverb...this time with a consipirancy...on which one can write a thesis on...i think Euro bond is a tall order now..if u look at the deteriorating Kenyan finances..

been here..half the time speechless with people almost swearing on there mother's grave that stocks are turning around.. LOL!

Anyway.. simplify for me.. demand and supply..
cannot manipulate demand side of Dollars.. but supply side is controlled by commercial banks..who as eat-fun points out.. are receiving all these tourist cash and diaspora send ins.

here's the thing..no doubt more cash is coming in thanx to the falling shilling..if u were abroad and sending fee to ur siblings..or investing here..these are really gud times.. so were is all that cash going?? our overall imports are still the same.. if the chinese aren't shipping tarmac in! smile
#9 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 9:26:00 AM

ProverB wrote:
the deal wrote:
LOL I see you are back Proverb...this time with a consipirancy...on which one can write a thesis on...i think Euro bond is a tall order now..if u look at the deteriorating Kenyan finances..

been here..half the time speechless with people almost swearing on there mother's grave that stocks are turning around.. LOL!

cannot manipulate demand side of Dollars.. but supply side is controlled by commercial banks..who as eat-fun points out.. are receiving all these tourist cash and diaspora send ins.

here's the thing..no doubt more cash is coming in thanx to the falling shilling..if u were abroad and sending fee to ur siblings..or investing here..these are really gud times.. so were is all that cash going?? our overall imports are still the same.. if the chinese aren't shipping tarmac in! smile

Kenya’s spending on oil imports has increased 29.38 per cent in the 12 months to November 2010, making it the single biggest import item, according to a report by the banking sector regulator.

The oil import bill soared by Sh50.5 billion ($608 million) to Sh224.1 billion ($2.7 billion), only second to the total spending on machinery and transport equipment which went up by Sh51.8 billion ($624 million) to $3.7 billion.

The Central Bank of Kenya (CBK’s) monthly economic review dated December shows total imports increased by $1.8 billion to $12 billion in the one year to November 2010.

http://www.businessdaily.../-/5p3hfqz/-/index.html

Dont believe all the hogwash out there...someone somewhere didn't do his job and is looking to share blame.
the deal
#10 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 9:42:35 AM

ProverB wrote:
the deal wrote:

Blame CBK once again...CBK created a liquidity crunch by hiking that discount window rate rate to over 20+%...at the height of the liquidity crunch the interbank lending market almost frooze...Deposit to advance ratio in Kenya is 70%...meaning Kenyan banks are sitting on very low cash reserves considering the top 5 banks are a monopoly with 70+% market share...so whats happening now is that when CBK comes into the market to raise some funds they have to inject some liquidity (cash) into the market...CBK calls them *reverse repos* thus increasing the supply of the shilling in the market which in turn puts pressure on the Shilling...couple that with the scarce dollars like @Kularaha has said above then you have a weak currency....
ProverB
#11 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 9:47:34 AM

Kenya’s spending on oil imports has increased 29.38 per cent in the 12 months to November 2010, making it the single biggest import item, according to a report by the banking sector regulator.

The Central Bank of Kenya (CBK’s) monthly economic review dated December shows total imports increased by $1.8 billion to $12 billion in the one year to November 2010.

http://www.businessdaily.../-/5p3hfqz/-/index.html

Dont believe all the hogwash out there...someone somewhere didn't do his job and is looking to share blame.

I see your point.As pointed out..we import more than we export..always.. nothing special about that.

CASE: if the proposed 45Billion Euro Bond is floated..at a rate less than 6%...which is about half what Treasury is able to afford in domestic debt..potential impact on profits of banks that are really enjoying the money hungry treasury's thirst for cash?

if Treasury found an alternative source of funds... interests fall overnight..to detriment of banks

As deal points out...its just business. If you were a bank.. you would not mind the euro bond idea staying dead.. if you could contribute in some way..eg..get CBK to intervene in liberalized FOREX market..thereby disqualifying the possibility of the Euro bond indefinitely..you would exercise that option won't you?

ProverB
#12 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 9:52:45 AM

the deal wrote:

..when CBK comes into the market to raise some funds they have to inject some liquidity (cash) into the market...CBK calls them *reverse repos* thus increasing the supply of the shilling in the market which in turn puts pressure on the Shilling...couple that with the scarce dollars like @Kularaha has said above then you have a weak currency....

Think
True.
My point is someone is playing the scarcity.
ProverB
#13 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 12:04:38 PM

wow... shilling actually has actually touched a low of 120 this morning!!!..... sasa hio ndio trend beating coz projections were set at 110 by the weekend. smile
#14 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 12:11:43 PM

aaiii 120/= is too much to swallow.Its chocking .

So what do we expect of petrol? 155/= per litre .
And Unga (diesel propelled )200 /=?

and my salary?Sad Sad Sad
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
cnn
#15 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 12:32:18 PM

ProverB wrote:
wow... shilling actually has actually touched a low of 120 this morning!!!..... sasa hio ndio trend beating coz projections were set at 110 by the weekend. smile

We could get there at the rate the shilling is falling and a clueless CBK,but 120 today??.
#16 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 12:36:11 PM

120???.....a jump of 20.50 as at close of Friday?????....Iko chida!!!!
ProverB
#17 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 12:42:33 PM

120???.....a jump of 20.50 as at close of Friday?????....Iko chida!!!!

Courtesy of Larry Madowo.. PM Live... going on currently... interestingly they seem to think the on going trade fare is more important. smile
Mainat
#18 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 1:36:40 PM

The lowest the rate has been this morning is 100.606. labda hiyo ni ya Eastleigh
Sehemu ndio nyumba
ProverB
#19 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 1:45:35 PM

Mainat wrote:
The lowest the rate has been this morning is 100.606. labda hiyo ni ya Eastleigh

well.. waiting for clarification. i think instead i'm learning all about business opportunities in agriculture!!..wish there was a way to get the forex ticker! Sad
#20 Posted : Monday, September 26, 2011 1:58:14 PM

Now at 101.70 despite CBK selling dollars....