Market
Review
Samsung duos...It's a nightmare.
I bought a Samsung Duos for my daughter two months back be she has had no time to enjoy the gadget.I took it back to the dealer for repairs(Fonexpress) and only picked it last week on Friday.As i post,the damn thing is as dead as a dodo .Don't i deserve a replacement or is the dealer going to keep on repairing the damn thing to eternity?.Have Samsung phones become crap? Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Rank: Member Joined: 4/25/2011 Posts: 368 Location: Nairobi
@Njunge,
I would never touch anything from Fonexpress from my past experience.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/9/2010 Posts: 894 Location: Nairobi
I have never trusted anything Duo sim. I have never been convinced that the genuine fone company's have ever produced a duo sim phone. @Njung'e pole sana. Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
tassia wrote:@Njunge,
I would never touch anything from Fonexpress from my past experience. @Tassia, Share with me.You might save me the pain of chasing them around but they should honor the warranty.....ama? @Tommy, Thanks. Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Pole @Njung'e. If it is any consolation, my Thatcher also bought a Samsung (cant remember the model but its touch screen) and the thing just goes off on its own, erratically without warning.
Rank: New-farer Joined: 5/14/2010 Posts: 84 Location: Nairobi
Tommy wrote:I have never trusted anything Duo sim. I have never been convinced that the genuine fone company's have ever produced a duo sim phone. @Njung'e pole sana. @Tommy it depends on whether the phone was genuine or fake. I've had a Samsung D980 dual sim touchscreen phone for the last 4 years, it's still OK up to now, one thing though, it's abit delicate and needs careful handling. Always confirm if the gadget is genuine before buying to avoid disappointments later.
@Kawembe, Fonexpress sells genuine origino phones. @GG, Mine is comical.It will indicate it's charging even when it's unplugged...BK! Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Njung'e wrote:@Kawembe, Fonexpress sells genuine origino phones.
@GG, Mine is comical.It will indicate it's charging even when it's unplugged...BK!
inaona marudurudu.. Have u made noise to them indicating that u want a replacement? threaten them that ul shame them on wazua...
@GG, Mine is comical.It will indicate it's charging even when it's unplugged...BK!
Ceitani! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Member Joined: 1/22/2011 Posts: 193 Location: nairobi
The worst customer experience i have ever had was with Fonexpress!!!
I would never recommend anyone to visit them especially the one at Nakumatt Lifestyle, My experience was with a laptop.
about Samsung phones, i bought mine at Safcon centres and it has had all the problems described above. even after taking it back for repair, it come back sicker.
Simply avoid any Samsung phone.
Rank: New-farer Joined: 6/27/2011 Posts: 18 Location: Nairobi
This is misinformation. I have owned a Samsung DUOS D880 for the past 4 years and it has not had any major issue.. Look unto me, and be ye saved, all the ends of the earth: for I am God, and there is none else. Isaiah 45:22
Ustadh Ongige wrote:This is misinformation. I have owned a Samsung DUOS D880 for the past 4 years and it has not had any major issue.. This one is not the D-Series.It's chat@322. @Querry, Don't say it.I actually bought this one from Nakumatt Lifestyle Monrovia street . @Chemos, Wacha tuu....this one is dead kabisa! Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
I have never bought anything from Fone express but from what I've heard I walk so far from their shop you'd think they have a court order against me for harassment. BBI will solve it :)
Safcom centres the best place for phone purchases, they even give you a phone to use as they sort out the problem if there is!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
McReggae wrote:Safcom centres the best place for phone purchases, they even give you a phone to use as they sort out the problem if there is!!! I agree. If you have to buy a phone, go to a Safaricom Care Center. Nowadays, no one goes to those shops on Luthuli, Moi Ave and Tom Mboya to buy phones. Many of those phones shops closed down or are closing down. I think FoneExpress, Tuscom etc are having the same problem, so they cannot afford to replace a broken phone, or will actually sell you a dysfunctional or "not genuine" phone to improve sales. Set out to correct the world's wrongs and you will most certainly wind up adding to them.
McReggae wrote:Safcom centres the best place for phone purchases, they even give you a phone to use as they sort out the problem if there is!!! Nyet. There is a complainant in the Standard today (pp 17) about a Samsung malfunction and endless unproductive trips to Safcon.
jguru wrote:McReggae wrote:Safcom centres the best place for phone purchases, they even give you a phone to use as they sort out the problem if there is!!! I agree. If you have to buy a phone, go to a Safaricom Care Center. Nowadays, no one goes to those shops on Luthuli, Moi Ave and Tom Mboya to buy phones. Many of those phones shops closed down or are closing down. I think FoneExpress, Tuscom etc are having the same problem, so they cannot afford to replace a broken phone, or will actually sell you a dysfunctional or "not genuine" phone to improve sales. With the removal of taxes on comp & phones no one should go to "shady places" to acquire these gadgets. The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
I love Samsung phones. I have used two of their flagship touch screen models and incidentally bought one from fonexpress and another from saf. Like any other phone, samsung wave, Galaxy s2 or even the duo, is bound to have probs at one time or another. They are delicate and need to be taken care of and MAINTAINED. Now, the reason your phone keeps indicating its charging when it is not connected to the charger is not saitani :)...its because you have been handling that phone like a mechanic's spanner. Hiyo micro usb port ni chafu! Its got some dirt which in the presence of humidity will act as a conductor. That will result in "erratic" behavior. The easiest way to deal with this is: Buy a good contact cleaner or Iso propyl alcohol. Switch off the phone and take out the battery (Hii ni muhimu sana!).. then using a toothpick or tiny brush clean the micro usb port thoroughly. Use ONLY a little contact cleaner. Let it dry well, then replace your battery. Your phone should be ok.
Gordon Gekko wrote:McReggae wrote:Safcom centres the best place for phone purchases, they even give you a phone to use as they sort out the problem if there is!!! Nyet. There is a complainant in the Standard today (pp 17) about a Samsung malfunction and endless unproductive trips to Safcon. ......in the standard????..I smell competition!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Market
Review
Samsung duos...It's a nightmare.