wazua Tue, Dec 3, 2024

Introduction to Zimbabwe and the Zimbabwe Stock Exchange.
Cde Monomotapa
#1 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 7:29:12 AM

@Nabwire et all..as follow up...

Please go through the following report which gives a boot-camp intro into Zimbabwe's economy and how it makes its living and also an over-view of the whole ZSE done by the pan-African investment bank group, Imara Holdings [www.imara.co]

Download report here; http://www.imara.co/uplo...abwe_Book.printing_.pdf

Cheers.
Nabwire
#2 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 8:29:48 PM

Thanks CDE, alot of info there.
If you would pick out 3 stocks, which ones would you recommend? Its kinda hard judging companies that you have never heard of. Better still, which companies are you invested in?
the deal
#3 Posted : Thursday, September 22, 2011 8:47:16 PM

Nabwire wrote:
Thanks CDE, alot of info there.
If you would pick out 3 stocks, which ones would you recommend? Its kinda hard judging companies that you have never heard of. Better still, which companies are you invested in?

Nosense now you want @Cde to do the donkey work for u and u call yourself an investor...wannabe....what happened to do your research?
Cde Monomotapa
#4 Posted : Friday, September 23, 2011 5:45:07 AM

Most welcome @Nabwire but have U read the report yet?and I mean all of it?
Cde Monomotapa
#5 Posted : Friday, September 23, 2011 5:48:38 AM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Most welcome @Nabwire but have U read the report yet?and I mean all of it?

Show an understanding of the macro economic side of things 1st before we get to specific stocks
Nabwire
#6 Posted : Saturday, September 24, 2011 12:02:09 AM

LOL CDE kwani ni test? so kama sielewi macroecon sitaambiwa stock picks?? hahaha remember i am the Finance major and you are the lawyer. To be honest i skimmed thru the report, its way toooo long, i am used to reading charts, tables and graphs.i will though some time, i may venture into Zim in 2015 so kuna time
Cde Monomotapa
#7 Posted : Saturday, September 24, 2011 1:55:43 AM

By macro economics I simply mean ID what the country does for a living. Is it mining, agric, tourism e.t.c thereafter, u narrow on a sector u prefer/understand then pick the stocks to derive value. 2015? That'll be 4 years of missed growth IMO, the valuations on these things are so low reminds me of the NSE in '03. Chukua hatua!
Cde Monomotapa
#8 Posted : Saturday, September 24, 2011 1:58:30 AM

I'd prefer u have a general understanding about what U are getting into. That's all smile
Nabwire
#9 Posted : Saturday, September 24, 2011 11:44:42 PM

OK thanks, I will look into it. My thinking was to get into their bluechips ie their EABL, KCB, JUB etc etc, but nitachukua hatua, I may have to visit there. 2015 coz I dont want to get myself too spread out, mtaka yote hukosa yote. By the way what are your reasons for choosing Zim? I thought Botswana is a better catch or even Ghana, why Zim?
Cde Monomotapa
#10 Posted : Sunday, September 25, 2011 12:54:29 AM

Now we are making progress smile their EABL is called Delta, KCB is Comm.Bank of Zim, CBZ, their JUB is First Mutual, FML. Though Zim's financial sector is highly developed with a lot more listed but those are IMO the closest parallels.
Cde Monomotapa
#11 Posted : Sunday, September 25, 2011 1:04:37 AM

Why Zim & not Bots or Ghana? Well, it is attributable to a "grass to grace" investment style. That way I increase my chances of success. On the macro level, Zim has much more natural wealth than most African states combined. From its 42 different minerals (no Dutch Disease), vast domestic & export agric. the brightest/educated Africans, a full value chain manufacturing/industrial capacity, great tourism (Victoria falls) e.t.c
Cde Monomotapa
#12 Posted : Sunday, September 25, 2011 8:07:32 AM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:
Well, it is attributable to a "grass to grace" investment style. That way I increase my chances of success.

I expect to do the same in America & or Europe 8 years from now. Happy recess.
Nabwire
#13 Posted : Tuesday, September 27, 2011 11:32:20 PM

Did a quick search, was only able to get stats for Delta, hizo zingine Yahoo na Bloomberg zimekataa. I'm too tired to do exhaustive searches, so nitangojea 2014 nianze research.
For the last time, recessions ( atleast in America) do not last 10 years, sijui nitakuconvince aje. Believe it or not, the 2007 recession actually ended ( atleast on Wallstreet, coz people made money) and we are now headed back into another recession. If its a Depression, then your theory would hold, but to wait 10 years for a recession to end, utakula vumbi tu. I would say start buying after October, though the market has been uncharacteristically up the past few days. Being that next year is an election year and Republicans are in bed with all the major companies, the stock market will do well going into the election and may continue a run if a person favorable to Wallstreet is elected.
Cde Monomotapa
#14 Posted : Wednesday, September 28, 2011 1:34:17 AM

Sorry, FML was renamed to Afre. The Jub like is called Fidelity Life Ass. Co. FLAC. Use google to find the Co. Websites and find out what and how the biznas do. Drop the technical stuff kiasi Ms. Finance as its been only 2yrs under the USD so what U get might be old ZWD stats smile
msaliti7
#15 Posted : Thursday, September 29, 2011 1:32:27 AM

http://english.aljazeera...unt&utm_term=tweets

@Cde..this sort of paints a dull picture on Zim outlook,I would have bought it only that the journalist probably has never stepped a foot in SSA...
msaliti7
#16 Posted : Thursday, September 29, 2011 2:40:43 AM

it is important to note that this is not an expropriation as the companies are being sold at current valuations by unwilling sellers and willing 'black' buyers....@Nabwire is this arms length:)
Cde Monomotapa
#17 Posted : Thursday, September 29, 2011 7:14:46 AM

msaliti7 wrote:
http://english.aljazeera.net/programmes/insidestory/2011/09/2011928907739448.html?utm_content=automateplus&utm_campaign=Trial6&utm_source=SocialFlow&utm_medium=MasterAccount&utm_term=tweets

@Cde..this sort of paints a dull picture on Zim outlook,I would have bought it only that the journalist probably has never stepped a foot in SSA...

A lot of the mines both big and small have already complied and this programme is encouraging more listings on ZSE & ESOPs and also being executed through Community Ownership Schemes SPVs, Qualified Empowerment partners like local pension funds, employee schemes e.t.c the oversight Board is called NIEB and they recently appointed both local & foreign financial advisers & financers to assist in the capital raising for the programme. This programme is being done in an extremly orderly fashion.
Cde Monomotapa
#18 Posted : Thursday, September 29, 2011 7:22:52 AM

Personally, I am a 100% behind I&E in mines. See, what the foreign press won't tell u is that it costs btwn USD15M - 1B to set up a mine that is sitting on several more hundreds of millions & billions worth of ZIMBABWEAN NATURAL WEALTH. Thus, as the rest of Africa keeps getting screwed off their natural wealth, I will be happily invested in a country where 51% of mining earnings are retained in the country. MEGA DOMESTIC consumer & capital base.
Cde Monomotapa
#19 Posted : Thursday, September 29, 2011 9:05:59 AM

The best investments are found where reality differs from perception. Zim fits the bill perfect Laughing out loudly
Cde Monomotapa
#20 Posted : Thursday, September 29, 2011 9:23:11 AM

Economic growth targets achievable: AfDB

THE African Development Bank says Zimbabwe's economy is still on a positive growth path, despite challenges that need to be addressed to achieve set targets.

The country's economy is expected to expand by 9,3 percent this year buoyed by increased production in mining and agriculture.

http://www.herald.co.zw/...:business&Itemid=133