wazua Mon, Dec 2, 2024

Syokimau....how not to invest in property
maina20
#1 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 10:06:45 AM

http://www.ktnkenya.tv/n..._id=1&id=2000041768
..desire to succeed is always fighting with fear of failure..
For Sport
#2 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 10:38:13 AM

Wetlands? Are we looking at demolitions - again?

Points to Check before buying a plot

4. Check with the Meteorological department.
Check to see if the land sits on a wetland. Some land can be actually on a dried up seasonal river , lake or swamp. If you are not careful, once the rains start, the whole plot gets submerged or the building gets swept by the river floods.
Areas such as Runda and Membley estate, Thika road are prone to such plots. With a good structural design, the building can be raised with collumns to a level above the flood water level.

How do you do this (practically)?
jamplu
#3 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 11:07:41 AM

For Sport wrote:
Wetlands? Are we looking at demolitions - again?

Points to Check before buying a plot

4. Check with the Meteorological department.
Check to see if the land sits on a wetland. Some land can be actually on a dried up seasonal river , lake or swamp. If you are not careful, once the rains start, the whole plot gets submerged or the building gets swept by the river floods.
Areas such as Runda and Membley estate, Thika road are prone to such plots. With a good structural design, the building can be raised with collumns to a level above the flood water level.

How do you do this (practically)?

There are some plots near Athi river just next to the bridge seriously i don't know what whoever allocated them and worse those who bought them had smoked!! i remember during the elnino sometimes back the place was so flooded over the last two years people are building estates there sijui hii tamaa yetu niya nini.
mungaits
#4 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 1:09:43 PM

This just alarmist reporting, whatever they said we already knew. Plus this stuff happens in all Nairobi environs or satellite settlements, so why single out Syokimau.

Someone launch a sting operation! (think PLO)
#5 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 1:17:21 PM

That kaplot in Siokamau under the debate I'm told is owned by one senior Mpig who was once usered and now back to the kambinet!

addidaskawembe
#6 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 2:24:20 PM

That kaplot in Siokamau under the debate I'm told is owned by one senior Mpig who was once usered and now back to the kambinet!

@impunity..Is't not a secret, everyone in Syokimau knows that plot in question is owned by Hon. Wetangula - the Minister of Foreign Affairs (MP for Sirisia)

unfortunately this is impunity at it's highest level...
Ali Baba
#7 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 2:32:45 PM

That ka-plot was bought with proceeds from Tokyo embassy deals???!!! He,he,he....
For Sport
#8 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 3:55:30 PM

mungaits wrote:
This just alarmist reporting, whatever they said we already knew. Plus this stuff happens in all Nairobi environs or satellite settlements, so why single out Syokimau.

Just because a practice is prevalent doesnt make it right. Its like a thief who has been arguing "the rate of crime is high, there are hundreds of thieves out there, why catch me?"
I appreciate being informed.
JkMwatha
#9 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 4:43:24 PM

For Sport wrote:
mungaits wrote:

Just because a practice is prevalent doesnt make it right. Its like a thief who has been arguing "the rate of crime is high, there are hundreds of thieves out there, why catch me?"
I appreciate being informed.

ditto