wazua Thu, May 2, 2024

8 Pages«<45678>
Poultry Farming Section
PATTIE
#101 Posted : Wednesday, December 28, 2011 7:58:28 PM

hi wazuans
anybody with turkey/geese eggs for incubation to sell?
pls, quote price and location
IDP
#102 Posted : Thursday, December 29, 2011 3:27:51 PM

There is this new vaccine that was to come into the market for 50/=. Which company is marketing it and where can it be found?
Goliath
#103 Posted : Wednesday, January 18, 2012 7:45:41 PM

I just thought I share this. I have been rearing layers since Feb 11 todate and have used unga with no issues until oct/nov when my kukus 'ate' each other quite seriously. A vet from unga visited my place and 'advised' i buy iron and vitamins, which I did, i felt cheated as kenchick guys always discourage pple from trying anything but unga. Anyway that prompted me to try out other feeds and I moved to Legorn in Thika. I have been pleasantly surprised that i do not even need to buy vitamins at all and production is better than before. this is the catch, the cost of 1 gunia for the thika guys is more than 400 bob cheaper. I have reduced my costs considerably considering my kukus consume a bag a day.
formerfarmerno1
#104 Posted : Wednesday, January 18, 2012 9:28:48 PM

Goliath wrote:
I just thought I share this. I have been rearing layers since Feb 11 todate and have used unga with no issues until oct/nov when my kukus 'ate' each other quite seriously. A vet from unga visited my place and 'advised' i buy iron and vitamins, which I did, i felt cheated as kenchick guys always discourage pple from trying anything but unga. Anyway that prompted me to try out other feeds and I moved to Legorn in Thika. I have been pleasantly surprised that i do not even need to buy vitamins at all and production is better than before. this is the catch, the cost of 1 gunia for the thika guys is more than 400 bob cheaper. I have reduced my costs considerably considering my kukus consume a bag a day.

Same thing happened to my layers during the month of Nov while on Unga. I changed to Legorn after losing 8 birds. Unfortunately Legorn is not working for me when fed alone (eggs are too small) and have to mix with other feeds (Pembe, Farm feeds)
Goliath
#105 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2012 8:51:22 AM

@formerfarmer#1 that is interesting becasue i do not give any vitamins to mine with the legorn feeds. have u contacted the vet(immediately after my issue i was advised to give iron supplement for a short while), there may be other issues as well since i have decided to stick to one type for a while so i can assess each on its own. I suggest you try one feed at a time. all the best.
dijkstra
#106 Posted : Friday, January 20, 2012 3:36:23 PM

Bei ya mayai iko yuuu; kwani mliuza kuku?
Goliath
#107 Posted : Saturday, January 21, 2012 9:51:32 AM

@dijkstra ni kweli watu wengi waliuza kuku when food prices hit the roof. hata sasa its a very capital intensive venture where 70-80% ya turnover ni costs. but it is still a viable biashara if you go largescale and are patient.
Hunderwear
#108 Posted : Saturday, February 18, 2012 9:04:17 AM

am looking for 100 3month old chicks to buy*(layers) anyone?three monthhs to six months is okey...hunderwear at gmail dt com
Goliath
#109 Posted : Saturday, February 18, 2012 12:55:46 PM

@Hunderwear whereas i can guess your strategy.. i would not recommend you buy older chicks initially reared by someone but yourself, the final output will be the sum of all you do from when they are day old chicks.. so you may end up with chicks that are stunted in growth and you may realise this when its too late, if the seller had not correctly fed, given vaccines etc.. in any case the serious feeding begins at month 3.5 to 4.5... anyway good luck in your search.
Hunderwear
#110 Posted : Sunday, March 04, 2012 9:10:06 PM

Goliath wrote:
@Hunderwear whereas i can guess your strategy.. i would not recommend you buy older chicks initially reared by someone but yourself, the final output will be the sum of all you do from when they are day old chicks.. so you may end up with chicks that are stunted in growth and you may realise this when its too late, if the seller had not correctly fed, given vaccines etc.. in any case the serious feeding begins at month 3.5 to 4.5... anyway good luck in your search.

Got some 190 birds in my village and just crossn my fingers coz he hadnt vaccinated yet they were 3months old....Anyway a wil vaccinate them and see how it goes.Now panning to dispose some batch of 500 this week any takers@350 per bird talk to me
Hunderwear
#111 Posted : Sunday, April 01, 2012 6:33:20 PM

how much are you buying the layers per bag?
Hunderwear
#112 Posted : Sunday, May 27, 2012 7:56:01 PM

where are the farmers!!!egg prices slowly edging up
mnthuo
#113 Posted : Thursday, August 23, 2012 1:38:25 PM

Hi farmers, I am looking for market for my 3 months hybrid kienyeji hens and cocks. Anybody willing to rear can reach me on mnthuo@gmail.com
samsa
#114 Posted : Tuesday, August 28, 2012 4:43:33 PM

Hey Wazuans,

I see you are simply the best. The information contained in this thread is so informative and valuable. I love you!

I am now contemplating to change my original business idea to poultry farming even though I will be required to wait a little bit longer to get first fruits and to to realize profits.

Asanteni sana wakenya. Mko yuuuu!
madhaquer
#115 Posted : Wednesday, September 05, 2012 11:51:34 AM

Hello All,

I'm considering a few kienyeji about 30 just for my consumption of eggs and meat.
Is it a good idea to start with month old chicks ?

Thanks.
mnthuo
#116 Posted : Friday, September 14, 2012 10:46:35 AM

Hi,

I have three months old hybrid kienyeji chicks-kenbro that you can rear for your consumption of eggs and meat. Call 0733 285830. Thanks
mungaits
#117 Posted : Tuesday, September 18, 2012 6:00:29 PM

@mnthuo, how much are you selling the kukus and where are you based?
mnthuo
#118 Posted : Wednesday, September 19, 2012 9:49:18 AM

mungaits, I am selling at Ksh 600 each and based in Nairobi,msa rd.
wairegi
#119 Posted : Tuesday, October 16, 2012 10:33:12 AM

Have sunflower seed cake..let me know if anybody would be interested. gikungu at gmail dot com
mungaits
#120 Posted : Tuesday, October 23, 2012 8:37:41 AM

@all anyone with kienyeji kukus for sale around Nairobi, preferably one month or older.

Asanteni