wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

M-Pesa Phenom in S.A
PuthyKrasha
#1 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2011 12:29:39 PM

Its Spreadn all AfricaApplause Applause
If i showed you where i live, you would think that i was hiding.
#2 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2011 1:27:21 PM

And it started right here
Barrywhite
#3 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2011 2:10:57 PM

Penetration has been slower in SA though. Forecasts were at 4 million subscribers by end of Year 2; the numbers are at 100,000 at end of Year 2. This I think can partly be attributed to banking penetration is SA, which is much higher than Kenya, and which is the void Mpesa has successfully filled.
The laudable is more often than not rendered laughable by overclaim
milken
#4 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2011 2:26:47 PM

While banking penetration in Kenya may not compare with SA's I think that the convenience Mpesa offers attracts people with access to banks as well. Who wants to queue for two hours at Memba Bank to withdraw 3K and queue for another two hours at the Kingdom bank to deposit while you could have walked to an Mpesa agent deposited and sent the money in 15 minutes max? Perhaps Vodafone SA need to change the marketing strategy.
Itari muting'oe ihuragwo ngi ni Ngai
Barrywhite
#5 Posted : Monday, June 27, 2011 4:04:19 PM

@Milken Totally agreed. Although Mpesa is still in initial stages of rollout; so widespread integration with banks has not happened yet; just like it took time in Kenya for the banking industry to allow integration. Having said that, l think with integration and robust marketing, the numbers could increase significantly.
The laudable is more often than not rendered laughable by overclaim
#6 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 4:14:51 PM

did they have to use the name PESA. May be the PESA bit is doing the firm a let down in SA since i doubt whether S.A people know what PESA is. Why not try M-RAND or RAND PAP! or something of the sort?

keke2
#7 Posted : Wednesday, June 29, 2011 4:37:12 PM

M-Madi!
KenSaf
#8 Posted : Tuesday, July 05, 2011 3:24:33 PM

Majority in SA are Bantus. Was surprised to learn that Hakuna matat means the same in Zulu and Swa
Doors of opportunity don't just open , they have to be unlocked & it's up to you to turn the knob.