wazua Sun, Apr 28, 2024

Pumwani blood suckers
#1 Posted : Monday, May 23, 2011 9:03:59 PM

Shame on pumwani and avenue hospitals.to give birth there u have 2 pay 2k at avenue hospital and donate blood too.link ntv
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
#2 Posted : Monday, May 23, 2011 10:28:37 PM

'user' wrote:
Shame on pumwani and avenue hospitals.to give birth there u have 2 pay 2k at avenue hospital and donate blood too.link ntv

What has become of men: GREED GREED GREED EVERYWHERE!!!! Isn't it one of the cardinal sins!

Kenyans go to Pumwani not because it's the best but because that is where they can afford. Poor souls, only to find vampires waiting to not only suck their blood but also empty their pockets!Sad Sad Sad indeed.
jhonie
#3 Posted : Monday, May 23, 2011 11:39:33 PM

I have been wondering with this avenue hospital,every time I have listen to classic 105 there seem to be SOS for blood.Now I can add up 1+1= syndicate.
#4 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 7:01:55 AM

1. Giving a pint wouldn't kill you.
2. They are not taking it for drinking - it is to save a life
#5 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 7:23:23 AM

@GG, so right indeed. The blood is not for their breakfast. And the life they save could be yours or a close relative's. Stop the whining.
#6 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 7:29:22 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:

Isn't blood donation voluntary?

Why force the patients to pay 2k after donation?
#7 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 8:10:38 AM

radio wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:

Isn't blood donation voluntary?

Why force the patients to pay 2k after donation?

I was going to ask the same.

I am usually skeptical of those who want to make me feel guilty enough to do something, or who want to control my conscience in one way or another.

I dont like that.
specky
#8 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 8:27:00 AM

I mean dont this guys just want to kill the patients......after a woman has delivered how on earth does she even have blood to donate?
mnjoro
#9 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 10:47:35 AM

Impunity impunity .this monster will destroy our country.Thought by now Avenue should have issued a statement.Seriously this is serious.
Ms Mkenya
#10 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 11:50:40 AM

When a person is going to theatre or they are anaemic, the relatives will be asked to donate blood to replace what the client has used. Even Nairobi Hospital does that. The charge for any blood donation goes to the actual blood drawing and the materials used. And yes it comes to about 2k. Why you are never charged when you donate blood with

I think NTV blew this out of proportion. The hospital must always have blood to use when there is an emergency and hence the need to replace by those able to.
....above all, to stand.
Buster
#11 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 1:23:06 PM

Robinhood and gordon geko

Are you guys serious? Since when were you told to pay 2k in order to donate blood? Since when were you given a cell phone number to call in order to donate blood? Since when, when asked to donate blood for your patient were you told the donation will be done at a different centre kilometers away? And why would a GAVa hospital send you to a private one when we have a national body that deals with blood donations?
#12 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2018 4:19:54 PM

Sansa
#13 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2018 7:45:02 PM

These hospital really jokes with peoples lives. How do you keep a pregnant woman who is in pain waiting endlessly like that?
#14 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2018 7:51:46 PM

Are these guys human beings? No feelings at all kabisa!!!
#15 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2018 8:44:02 PM

Gosh! This is so sickening. Where did our humanity go to? These thugs feel nothing for the babies who died. They feel nothing for the mothers. And they sleep and snore at night?
#16 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2018 10:10:17 PM

Are these guys human beings? No feelings at all kabisa!!!

Unbelievable. Just....no words....

#17 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2018 10:24:34 PM

Saw the news item. Seems sonko was just causing drama.
What pumwani authorities said is that pumwani doesnt have a morgue or cold room, so the dead babies and foetuses are placed in a holding room for collection by relatives and those that arent are delivered to city mortuary every mon, wed and friday. It is this holding room that sonko stormed while streaming live. The babies he saw are those that had accumulated since last trip to city mortuary on friday. The hospital promised to be delivering the dead babies to city mortuary every day. Of course they would still need to remove them from the wards and place them somewhere before the daily trip to the morgue.

This is the problem of sonko running the county via social media. When he got that photo of babies wrapped in paper bags he should have enquired from the doctors why that was the case. But when he stormed the hosi he didnt want to listen to any explanation, all he wanted was to see the babies that someone sent him on whatsapp.

What sonko should do as gabana is to build a morgue at pumwani. Not firing the staff who havent been provided with the necessary facilities to preserve the dead infants on site.
#18 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2018 10:27:05 PM

What pumwani authorities said is that pumwani doesnt have a morgue or cold room, so the dead babies and foetuses are placed in a holding room for collection by relatives and those that arent are delivered to city mortuary every mon, wed and friday. It is this holding room that sonko stormed while streaming live. The babies he saw are those that had accumulated since last trip to city mortuary on friday. The hospital promised to be delivering the dead babies to city mortuary every day.

So 12 babies died since Friday? 12 babies died on Sat and Sun? Sonko went there because he received a video of a man taking those kids from the ward to the holding room. Are you saying the hospital was holding those children in the wards for 3 days while they were dead?
#19 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2018 10:36:13 PM

What pumwani authorities said is that pumwani doesnt have a morgue or cold room, so the dead babies and foetuses are placed in a holding room for collection by relatives and those that arent are delivered to city mortuary every mon, wed and friday. It is this holding room that sonko stormed while streaming live. The babies he saw are those that had accumulated since last trip to city mortuary on friday. The hospital promised to be delivering the dead babies to city mortuary every day.

So 12 babies died since Friday? 12 babies died on Sat and Sun? Sonko went there because he received a video of a man taking those kids from the ward to the holding room. Are you saying the hospital was holding those children in the wards for 3 days while they were dead?

Even if 12 babies died whole of last week, that is still a very high number that should be a concern to authorities. Still there is that feeling of negligence on the part of people concern plus i don't care attitude. Hurts really bad.
#20 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2018 10:51:31 PM

Dr. Bosire has shed light on the issue.

https://www.standardmedi...wani-maternity-hospital

Facts about Pumwani maternity hospital

Pumwani has no morgue. Never has. All bodies of deceased mothers, newborns and stillbirths are collected by the city mortuary morticians in the morning. Before, this happened daily, nowadays it happens Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays.

For little angels who pass on before birth or in the new born units due to complications, the families have the option of taking them to bury or they can give them up and the hospital then has them buried. This happens in both public and private sector, permissible by law.

There are no body bags to keep the deceased in before transfer to the morgue. Hospital staff have to make do with what's available. Carton boxes and plastic disposal bags are the most available temporary storage for these little angels.

Every deceased person, irrespective of age, is registered in the death notification register provided by the registrar of persons (births and deaths). Each of these little ones is moved to city mortuary with an attached notification. They are not just statistics.

Pumwani has accounted for 6 deaths in the period between Friday 14th to Sunday 16th. Only 6 deaths are listed. This number is against 156 deliveries conducted in the said period. Being a referral hospital receiving complicated cases, this is not uncommon.

But did Sonko bother to find out this? Nope. He chose to call it sinister because he did not understand it. He proceeded to suspend the team without investigation.