wazua Thu, May 2, 2024

EQUITY BANK SUSPENDED AS A CDA
ruby
#21 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2009 2:21:00 PM

Apparently CMA has revoked the suspension,so tomorrow morning they are back trading...

Ruby
jokes
#22 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2009 2:22:00 PM

CMA has overturned the suspension. hii ni wivu tupu. it means equity is on to something good

Mzee Kobe Alimushinda Sungura.
ruby
#23 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2009 2:23:00 PM

Apparently CMA has revoked the suspension,so tomorrow morning they are back trading...

Ruby
Donedeal
#24 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2009 4:03:00 PM

You can fool some peoples sometime but you can't fool ALL pips ALL the time....... Be warned; chuma chenu ki motoni!

The opportunities lie in the challenge. Go for the challenge.
#25 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2009 4:18:00 PM

where there is smoke there is fire... we want to know WHY...?

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
Kata
#26 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2009 5:50:00 PM

Is it why or the un-why? suspended...or is it not. This is capitalism the kenyan way. EB is in biz so are the brokers. Yote ni siasa tu tho' EB is giving the brokers a run for their money

Wisely and slow; they stumble that run fast
jerry
#27 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2009 7:34:00 PM

Some-1 should answer the shareholder. I'm interested. 2ndly,who fixes the 70%:30% CDA:BROKER commission sharing? This Should be reviewed to 50:50!

Ecs 11.2 Give portions to seven,yes to eight,for you do not know what disaster may come upon the land.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
Mainat
#28 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2009 8:00:00 PM

Kularaha-the 100m Safcom amount rings a bell. But brokers were complaining that Citi owed them this. Had did it end up That Equity owes the same? Did brokers misunderstand their relationship with Equity? Play fair mboys...

CDSA on its part- I smell siasa za m-o-1 yani,its being used to fight Equity by proxy. I can't imagine 47m is a lot of cheddar for Equity.

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
dsktop
#29 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2009 8:06:00 PM

Equity used broker desperation against them.They pegged the 70:30.Now the brokers want a larger share so possibly 50:50.But it will be in the longterm interest of equity to acquire one and get over and done with because they will always want to feel like they can also call the shots(power play kenyan style)
wajinga wakierevuka........
But seriously equity suspended ......major PR coming up.

its never good till its gone!!!!
BAAK
#30 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2009 9:18:00 PM

One thing you can be sure&hellip;CMA will stand by EB on this&hellip;.the primary objective of the stock market is to facilitate wealth creation and promote business&hellip;it is not about income for brokers&hellip;.EB is doing a great job to realise this NOBLE objective and CMA knows they should not be stopped&hellip;Further,EB has been doing shares trading for the last three years or so with full knowledge and thus approval of CMA,CDSC and NSE&hellip;there is no way someone can suddenly wake up and fault the arrangement after all these years&hellip;otherwise if CMA agrees there is an issue then HEAT will turn on them&hellip;where have they been as market watchdogs all this long&hellip;and indeed this would be an admission of incompetence on the part of CMA&hellip;

Really,if anyone has legitimate concerns regarding the current arrangement,then they should consult CMA for arbitration. Stopping EB from trading is not an option. EB has SIMPLY come too far to go back as far as shares trading is concerned.
Mainat
#31 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2009 9:27:00 PM

Slight diversion,but it looks like Mwangi@ Rencap is going to run the custody business at Equity. Ama? If so,it'll be a great catch for Equity because he has a lot IB experience.

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
Tusker Baridi
#32 Posted : Wednesday, April 08, 2009 11:13:00 PM

I'm curious as to what suddenly triggered all this,was it the statement by Mwangi at the AGM regarding being the largest player in CDS business? Ama it retaliation for Mwangi's request that all its customers to transfer their shares from their stockbrokers to Equity?
jerry
#33 Posted : Thursday, April 09, 2009 3:47:00 AM

And what brought about fixing of minimum stake of a seat at NSE?

Ecs 11.2 Give portions to seven,yes to eight,for you do not know what disaster may come upon the land.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
ogutuwalwanga
#34 Posted : Thursday, April 09, 2009 4:55:00 AM

AS long as MK is the head of state and UK in the tresury EB is 100% safe,whoever was trying to undermine it had to resind the decission within the day acting on orders from above.

ogutu
#35 Posted : Thursday, April 09, 2009 5:00:00 AM

Looks like the big Mboys wanted this elephant out of the room........Hawawesmek.....!!

Guka wa bijuti...
#36 Posted : Thursday, April 09, 2009 7:47:00 AM

Ogutu.......

You would be suprised how wrong you are?

life is too short to blend in
Donedeal
#37 Posted : Thursday, April 09, 2009 9:05:00 AM

EB is fighting a loosing battle with the SB. They will soon learn you should never ever burn your bridges. The die has been cast. Tuesday will be 'May day'.....bail out while you can,the bubble has trully gone burst!

#38 Posted : Thursday, April 09, 2009 9:20:00 AM

@ donedeal,which bubble,n what is happening on tuesday? Kindly elaborate.

Truest proverb: Mwenda pole hajikwai
Donedeal
#39 Posted : Thursday, April 09, 2009 9:23:00 AM

@Simonkabz,am sorry but you simply have to keep up! The dye is cast....

stockyt
#40 Posted : Thursday, April 09, 2009 9:39:00 AM

@ donedeal,do you mean that brokers will withhold all demand and avail all equity supplies come tuesday????