wazua Mon, Apr 20, 2026

The Son of Jomo: Do the Maths
#1 Posted : Monday, March 14, 2011 5:10:49 PM

on Sato UK hired all Thika Matatus... and for good measure roped in all those from the environs of Thika i.e Murang'a, Nyeri, garissa et al..
event was 'formation of a mt. Kenya matatu association'...with question marks

Going to those sides was more expensive than hitching a flight to Uganda...

A kanyoni in the grapevines tells me that there are 800 matatus on thika rd. and each matatu was paid a full days wages
i.e 10k for gasoline
5k to the owner
1.5k to the driver
na konkodi ngiri yake pap!!

thats 17,500 per motorgari...
my mind mind and hands cant let me do the maths as to how much was spent on saturday..too boggling for my small brain.

Matatu men being who they are..kulad that money and still ferried those they were hired for, and still managed to move the masses(at exhorbitant prices) from NBI to Thika.

Burning Spear
#2 Posted : Monday, March 14, 2011 5:46:55 PM

on Sato UK hired all Thika Matatus... and for good measure roped in all those from the environs of Thika i.e Murang'a, Nyeri, garissa et al..
event was 'formation of a mt. Kenya matatu association'...with question marks

Going to those sides was more expensive than hitching a flight to Uganda...

A kanyoni in the grapevines tells me that there are 800 matatus on thika rd. and each matatu was paid a full days wages
i.e 10k for gasoline
5k to the owner
1.5k to the driver
na konkodi ngiri yake pap!!

thats 17,500 per motorgari...
my mind mind and hands cant let me do the maths as to how much was spent on saturday..too boggling for my small brain.

Matatu men being who they are..kulad that money and still ferried those they were hired for, and still managed to move the masses(at exhorbitant prices) from NBI to Thika.

This is incorrect statement.
Get the facts right before you rumour monger !
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
Apple Bees
#3 Posted : Monday, March 14, 2011 8:36:34 PM

@ Burning Spear, please tell us the correct position because I thought @poundfoolish under-quoted the amounts dished out
For Sport
#4 Posted : Monday, March 14, 2011 9:22:55 PM

Apple Bees wrote:
@ Burning Spear, please tell us the correct position because I thought @poundfoolish under-quoted the amounts dished out

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly :- hii sasa ni uchokozi.
Tommy
#5 Posted : Monday, March 14, 2011 10:17:58 PM

as u get the right story, what do u think he intended to achieve with all this?
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
#6 Posted : Monday, March 14, 2011 10:51:57 PM

hearsay!!!!
#7 Posted : Monday, March 14, 2011 11:43:04 PM

what is the moral of this story? am sorry i was rather slow, after being off wazua for some time now.
#8 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 12:46:17 AM

Whats wrong with anyone dishing out his/her money? @pound, I see u joined in 09. Such threads ruled stockskenya b4 the bloodletting began. Truth be told, we r now back in 2005! Nxt yr will b 2007 reincarnate. Throw in ICC n a perfect "nail bomb" dangles over our pathetic heads.
Sigiriri
#9 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 9:28:54 AM

@simon - manze u r becoming so anti-ICC - and what's with all the alarmist attitude?

things will happen and am not sure as Kenyan citizens we will be the ones to influence the decision - our politicians and world leaders are going to drive this - each with their own interests in mind.

whichever way this goes, Kenyan citizens can play their role - DUMISHA AMANI!
#10 Posted : Tuesday, March 15, 2011 10:23:22 AM

@Kabz, some guys said there will be violence should the suspects be named by Ocampo. They were named and there was no violence. Some say there will be violence should the suspects be indicted and trial begins, my take is there will be no violence. Some think there will be violence in 2012 if nothing happens to the suspects, here I concur.