wazua Tue, May 7, 2024
Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

Bond Trading 101
qw25041985
#1 Posted : Wednesday, March 09, 2011 7:29:08 PM

IN THE ALTAR OF THE MARKET…….
WHERE BONDS AND CURRENCY VOWS..UNTIL DEATH DO THEM APART.

heheheheh……am always amazed over how bond investors really are…currency traders ..but little do they know themselves as such…to be precise what is a bond literary… …?

What is featured in a bond is actually a currency …not apples, bananas…or oranges…

So when you buy a bond..You are actually buying a currency because a bond is a certificate indicating the asset (currency) you have purchased, over what period, and for what returns …

However as many of you know, I’ve been trading currencies in the Forex market for years now. I’ve made a career out of pairing the euro with the dollar, the Japanese yen with the euro, and the Swiss franc with the euro…among other currency pairs.

But even though I’m a traditional Forex trader and I’m constantly checking the bid and ask prices for my favorite currency pairs, I’m still always looking for other currency opportunities around the globe…even the more obscure, “unsung” currency plays.

Take foreign bonds for instance. Investors, even American investors have been able to buy foreign bonds for decades. Yet, few foreign bond investors really think of themselves as “currency investors.” The reason? They don’t realize a foreign bond is also a “currency play” too.

The irony of all this? Foreign bonds are actually one of the most intriguing currency plays in the market today.no wonder when bonds of a country falls the currency also do.

If you choose the right one, you can actually profit in three different ways…from capital gains (assuming you buy a bond below par), yield, and currency appreciation if the dollar drops against the currency your bond is denominated in.

In that way, this “unsung” currency play is actually a profit trifecta…if you can choose the right one.