wazua Fri, Dec 5, 2025

Are Kenyans The Saddest African Specie ?
young
#1 Posted : Saturday, October 10, 2009 6:16:00 PM

Sadness Or Joy is a state of mind either way is negative or positive.

Please pardon me if I am wrong,I seem to see the East African giants in this forum and most of those I have interacted as people

- That have lost hope in their great country

- Have negative perception about the political future of Kenya.

We as foreigners and outsiders have a completely different opinion about Kenya. We look at Kenya as a great nation without visionary leaders for now,but with renewed optimism that things will improve for the better in future.

But Kenya is is not worst off than other black african countries,I believe it is patriotic for the citizens especially the younger generation of 18 - 45 age bracket who forms the majority in this forum and in Kenyan population not to lose hope in their wonderful country,Kenya.

Let the citizens think positive of their country notwitstanding the current and future challenges. Rather pray for Kenya rather than pass negative remarks about your country.

I am from Nigeria,country with the worst negative perception in Africa. Talk of corruption,fraud,419 scams. My response is always that this is true but not completely true. Not completely true because not all Nigerians are con men,I always defends that out of 1the 150 million Nigerians,it is only 1% (1.5 Million) Nigerians that are giving us bad name. I for one I am proud to be a Nigerian and I am an honest Nigerian. There are thousands of honest Nigerians in the world more than the bad ones. I have not lost faith in Nigeria. The level of corruption and poor leadership in Nigeria is worse than Kenya,but we still hope for a better Nigeria. We have this slogan Nigeria good people,great nation,even if we are not there yet,we hope to be there some time,even if it is not in my life time as I am already 47*,so there is hope. We avoid washing our negative linens in the public. This is my opinion

Kenya is a blessed nation,a great nation with a lot of good potentials I want African nations to think more of their strengths and improve on their weaknesses. Evey country have its negative side but most often that side is always concealed..

It is well with Kenya,the giant of East Africa.

AFRICAN INVESTOR
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
The Real Shaft
#2 Posted : Sunday, October 11, 2009 8:49:00 AM

look at this...

Nigerian fo-fo... talking ill about Kenyan ugali......

food is food.....

whether you call it rabbit-meat or poultry....

is this all about being young....???

take care of your Delta...

before you meddle in matters...

you have no clue about.....

yam fo-fo.....

I'm the real Massey F.....shut your mouth
I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
Kamaa
#3 Posted : Sunday, October 11, 2009 1:14:00 PM

@ young

while i agree with you on some issues,e.g. Nigeria is more corrupt than Kenya,i beg to disagree that we have lost hope in our great country and that we have negative perception on political future of Kenya

on the contrary,more than ever,the current breed of Kenyans are very optimistic with our nation and this is very evident when the leadership act ultra vires and the mwananchi do everything to oppose the bad governance... if we are pessimists & desolated then we could not do anything to quell the excesses of the leadership...

young,i think you should be in a position to distinguish when mwananchi is policing and when they lost hope...

When you run so fast to get somewhere,you miss the fun of getting there... Life is not a race,so take it slowly....
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
#4 Posted : Sunday, October 11, 2009 5:42:00 PM

I do not think it has gone this far Mr Young...
itz
#5 Posted : Sunday, October 11, 2009 10:59:00 PM

kenyans are eternal optimists and very hopeful about their future and country.That said,they have lost total confidence in their leadership today and they are fighting hard to get rid of bad/poor leadership which i think you interpreted as being hopeless.Kenyans know what they want,they know what this great nation is capable of achieving but they feel terribly let down by this goons called politicians who dont take responsibility for anything. Kenyans will keep fighting hard until they get what they deserve and envision for their country.I meet very many economically challenged kenyans including my relatives upcountry and they still smile,laugh,are very kind and still very optimistic.They have not lost their souls despite the challenges,their will and enthusiasm is very alive.
#6 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2009 3:19:00 AM

@young,thanx 4the post. Makes some of us awaken with a start...fm a very bad dream!

Can silence be misquoted?
Brewer
#7 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2009 6:23:00 AM

Somebody please fish out the discussion on ''najivunia kuwa mkenya''.
Mwafrikah
#8 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2009 6:23:00 AM

spot on kenyans and our diabolique pessissm towards a great nation amidst constant abeyance visionless politicians keeping them glued to empty rhetorics...kenyans will always complain of almost everything but hardly provide solutions...at the same time we vote in bad leadership but we still complain about it

The fool folds his arms and consumes his own flesh. Better is one handful with tranquility than two with toil and a chase after wind!
#9 Posted : Monday, October 12, 2009 1:57:00 PM

@ Young,

I agree only a small proportion of Nigerians give the entire country a bad name.

Unfortunately the 80-20% principle applies,meaning this 20% are so good at their job they paint the entire 80% Nigerians with their negative brand! what are the 80% doing about it?

The trouble with Kenya is the docility,meekness,utaratiiibu of its citizenry.

Ponder these instances:

1) 1 litre of Petrol was in the not-too-distant past increased from 65/= to 110/= and only a

whimper was heard,after that business as usual. In India,indeed closer

home Nigeria,a mere unwarranted 2/= rise in price per ltr is enough to collapse an

entire govt

2) MPigs increase their own salaries,perks,etc - we do nothing except a brief howl

3) MPigs refuse to surrender cars,enter corrupt deals - we do nothing

4) No firm action taken on corruption suspects ala Pattni and his ilk - we do nothing

(actually here we do something - we let him start a Church which we faithfully attend)

5) Upto today all PEV masterminds have gotten away - we do nothing,until

bwana Ocampo and Annan come in

6) Food prices surge,Budalangi floods will return,people die of starvation - we do zeet

7) So what Al Shabaab is a threat - we'll do nothing except tell the world we have 'beefed up security'

ad nauseam!

we need to be more pro-active,huh?!

..there's nothing,absolutely nothing really,that I can't do if I put my mind to it.