wazua Sat, Apr 20, 2024

Putting up 2 Bedroom flats on a 1/8 acre
mjuaji wa stocks
#1 Posted : Saturday, February 12, 2011 10:57:19 AM

2 BEDROOM FLATS ON A 1/8 ACRE

HI wazuans;

I managed to get 1/8 of an acre and planning to put up flats. The plan is as follows;

1. 2 bedroom apartments self-contained; master bedroom ensuite

2. 4 Floors.

QUESTIONS.

1. How many of the above 2 bedroom apartments can fit into 1 floor??

2. What is the floor area for such a 2 bedroom apartment??

3. How much will be the approximate cost of construction??

4. Am thinking of financing the building myself though sina pesa mob saaana ..... what options of financing do i have???

NB: Am to rent out the houses na mimi pia nikue land lord smile smile smile

Your contributions are highly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

Ceinz
#2 Posted : Saturday, February 12, 2011 11:51:17 AM

Well for the start 1/8 of an acre is around 5000 square feet. Normally from planning perspective the development covers a portion of the plot, ur architect/ contractor will advise. So assumming the development covers 75 % of this we will be looking at around 3800 sft. From experience similar units would occupy a space of between 900 to 1500 square feet depending on how spacious u want them to be. So there u go, if u choose to be conservative u will be looking at 4 units or 2 units if u are looking for spacious ones.

“small step for man”
mjuaji wa stocks
#3 Posted : Saturday, February 12, 2011 12:26:45 PM

Thanks alot Cienz.

Now how much does construction per unit cost???

Sample these;

25000 (Per square ft) * 900 sq ft = 22.5M

Is that right 22.5m per house ama kwani nafanya maths wrongly???

Tht cost seems unrealistic!!!

i pray give me a breakdown;

Wapi pablo; A4architect and other construction gurus
God gave me the power to make wealth ... Blessed the work of my hands & enabled be A SELF MADE BILLIONAIRE ...... TO GOD THE FATHER OF MY LORD JESUS CHRIST; BE THE GLORY NOW & FOREVER MORE!

#4 Posted : Saturday, February 12, 2011 12:36:44 PM

Ceinz wrote:
Well for the start 1/8 of an acre is around 5000 square feet. Normally from planning perspective the development covers a portion of the plot, ur architect/ contractor will advise. So assumming the development covers 75 % of this we will be looking at around 3800 sft. From experience similar units would occupy a space of between 900 to 1500 square feet depending on how spacious u want them to be. So there u go, if u choose to be conservative u will be looking at 4 units or 2 units if u are looking for spacious ones.

Are you sure these estimates are correct? I have seen people building 4 spacious 2 bedroom houses per floor on a 50 * 50 plot.

Or I am the one who is mistaken? @ceinz, @mjuaji or someone else, clarify on this.
Ceinz
#5 Posted : Saturday, February 12, 2011 2:56:39 PM

@ Mjuaji, u are wrong. The cost should be about Kshs. 1800 Psf but can go higher depending on ur finishes.

@ Maich, u r right. Mjuaji can do more on that land, but look at what he wants: 2 bedrooms master ensuite. Def a good architect can try and come up with 5 or 6 units but at the cost of planning and size of the units.
“small step for man”
story teller
#6 Posted : Saturday, February 12, 2011 8:16:16 PM

Ceinz wrote:

@Ceinz, Pablo and others..is this feasible? what about the parking area for tenants who might have cars?

Also what would be the total cost per unit of a 900 sq feet 2 bedroom apartment with average finishings in shillings for us laymen assuming land with good soil? You guys are the experts in this field and we truly appreciate your feedback.
It's not hard to make decisions when you know what your values are.
Ceinz
#7 Posted : Saturday, February 12, 2011 10:22:27 PM

story teller wrote:

@Ceinz, Pablo and others..is this feasible? what about the parking area for tenants who might have cars?

Also what would be the total cost per unit of a 900 sq feet 2 bedroom apartment with average finishings in shillings for us laymen assuming land with good soil? You guys are the experts in this field and we truly appreciate your feedback.

If u want to provide parking you will have to sacrifice some units on the ground floor. On the cost aspect the answer is in my previous post.
“small step for man”
Eddy
#8 Posted : Sunday, February 13, 2011 6:46:17 PM

mjuaji wa stocks wrote:
Thanks alot Cienz.

Now how much does construction per unit cost???

Sample these;

25000 (Per square ft) * 900 sq ft = 22.5M

Is that right 22.5m per house ama kwani nafanya maths wrongly???

Tht cost seems unrealistic!!!

i pray give me a breakdown;

Wapi pablo; A4architect and other construction gurus

From previous posts, the cost per square metre is between 14K and 25K. The 900 square foot = 83.612 736 square meter(between 1.2m and 2.1m)the 22.5 could build you 18 - 11 units!
Pablo
#9 Posted : Sunday, February 13, 2011 10:19:55 PM

Eddy has put it right. My experience of 14k per sq meter is accurate, could be less for multiple units such as apts.

Construction
On one eighth using 75% utilization on the plot you have 3500 sq ft or 325SqM. A good 2 br apt is about 100 - 125 sqm so you can fit 3 per floor for 5 floors (ground - 4th Flr) that's 15 flats or a built up area of 15 * 100 = 1500SqM.

Financials
Approx Cost = 1500 x 14,000/- = 21M (Excl. infrastructural costs). To have sufficient parking you may have 12 rather than 15 units.

Depending on where this is built 2br apts would yeild about 15k rent. So total rent expected could be upto 225k p.m. At current interest rates of approx 14%, 225k can support a 18M loan meaning if you have 3M and a 1/8th plot, you ar just sitting on you A** rather than getting paid!!
Wa_ithaka
#10 Posted : Sunday, February 13, 2011 10:42:08 PM

A 2br apartment costs Ksh2m
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
Ceinz
#11 Posted : Sunday, February 13, 2011 11:02:42 PM

Well put Pablo, but for rental units u would be better to maximise on space as I suggested above. 83.6 Sqm/ 4 units. Waithaka cost is not equal to price.
“small step for man”
mjuaji wa stocks
#12 Posted : Monday, February 14, 2011 8:16:50 AM

Thanks alot everyone for your contributions!!

Hivyo inaonekana lazima niwe na 3M besides the 1/8 ili niweze kujenga .....

@Pablo .... wewe ni noma tu sana! smile smile

@ Eddy N Ceinz ....... Yes indeed ..... i would want my customers to have parking for each 1 house; then ........

Suppose i change frm Master bedroom ensuite ..... to normal 2 bedroom self contained ......does it change the cost of construction??? ..... By how much??

How much will be the cost per house???? .....

Thanx again all ..... keep up the spirit of wazua!!

Tito44
#13 Posted : Monday, February 14, 2011 9:09:01 AM

Does the issue of 75% utilization on the plot also apply for commercial plots? Commercial plots seem to take up 100% of the space. I have even seen some residentials that take up 100% of the space (based on what i see). How is this percentage determined?
fresher2010
#14 Posted : Monday, February 14, 2011 10:45:24 AM

Please get professionals to do this work for you, trying to cut costs will always hurt you in the long run..get an architect, engineer and quantity surveyor..

@tito44 the utilization of the plot depends on the plot ratios and plot coverages set out by the council depending on your zone...
Jamaa wa mjengo
#15 Posted : Monday, February 14, 2011 12:50:03 PM

fresher2010 wrote:
Please get professionals to do this work for you, trying to cut costs will always hurt you in the long run..get an architect, engineer and quantity surveyor..

@tito44 the utilization of the plot depends on the plot ratios and plot coverages set out by the council depending on your zone...

You need to look knowledgeable and able to understand when figures are dropped on you by the professionals. So this is where this forum comes in. The people here are so knowledgeable and some talk from experience that it would be unwise to engage professionals without the kind of background information that you get here. If information you get here comes from a professional in his office, it will cost you an arm and a leg and that's before he starts his work. Read @young's footer.
Ceinz
#16 Posted : Monday, February 14, 2011 1:04:08 PM

@ Fresher, nobody is bypassing any professional. Its always good to have an idea before making other steps. After all, we are the professionals.
“small step for man”
Pablo
#17 Posted : Monday, February 14, 2011 2:41:16 PM

For fresher2010 such posts are personal.
From his previous posts he is a QS so understand him when he posts.
Ceinz
#18 Posted : Monday, February 14, 2011 3:25:55 PM

Pablo wrote:
For fresher2010 such posts are personal.
From his previous posts he is a QS so understand him when he posts.

He is still a student, he should be chasing after knowledged'oh! and not critisising what others are doing.Shame on you
“small step for man”
mzeekijana
#19 Posted : Monday, February 14, 2011 4:03:44 PM

fresher2010 wrote:
Pls get prfsonls to do this work for you, trying to cut costs will always hurt you in the long run..get an architect, engineer & quantity surveyor..

can u Pls. guide a dummy like me where to start? Is it advisable to involve these professionals when purchasing Land or only when starting construction? Who should come first and who's next?
fred8
#20 Posted : Monday, February 14, 2011 4:30:00 PM

@mzee kijana

Before purchasing land, it would be advisable to consult an architect and an engineer.
- The architect may be able to advise you on how much of the land area you may build on and how high your structure can go based on sity regulations in the locale of the plot.He can also advise you on the maximum andm ost efficient use of your plot for development.
- The engineer may be able to advise you on the soil composition ie. black cotton soil, red soil etc, depth till foundation rock.