wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

Riat hills Kisumu, Did i pay too much?
Rapudox
#1 Posted : Friday, December 31, 2010 12:32:47 PM

Hey Everybody,
After many months of following the very interesting discussions & analyses, I finally registered. I have come to the conclusion that this is one of the most informative sites for kenyan investors, esp. in the diaspora! I also finally decided to risk & invest in Land. I managed to get 0,5 acres at Riat hills a month ago with a very beautiful view of the lake & the city for 2M Kshs, clean title. After reading many forums on the internet i started getting the gut feeling that i could have been overcharged. What do you guys think, was it overpriced or was this amount reasonable for a place like Riat hills?
I will be grateful for any input. Happy new new yr.
The Merchant
#2 Posted : Friday, December 31, 2010 1:08:01 PM

If you like it and the view of the lake then you were not overcharged. Surely if the pice of land attracted your attention and you paid that much for it then someone else will find the same value in it. Brush of that buyer's remorse and have a great new year!
My 2 cents
#3 Posted : Friday, December 31, 2010 1:21:43 PM

I think you got a good deal.
wairegi
#4 Posted : Friday, December 31, 2010 2:01:01 PM

Depends on so many others issues.. nearness to the roads, water, Sewarage line, electricity e.t.c

but that much would have given you an acre
peep
#5 Posted : Friday, December 31, 2010 4:04:34 PM

Also depends on how far away you are from that slum. i.e. Riara Road at the Kawangware end is not equal to the St Hannahs School end.
Rapudox
#6 Posted : Friday, December 31, 2010 4:37:56 PM

Thanx Guys,
Actually its not near a slum. There are only new big houses and villas in that area. The road is rudimentary. Being on the hill, there is no sewage or piped water but there is an electric pole in the area up the hill.@Wareigi: have u been to Riat hills before? why do you suppose i may have been able to get an acre?
#7 Posted : Friday, December 31, 2010 5:49:48 PM

peep wrote:
Also depends on how far away you are from that slum. i.e. Riara Road at the Kawangware end is not equal to the St Hannahs School end.

@peep, Riat is not near Ongwaro!

money maker 2
#8 Posted : Friday, December 31, 2010 6:44:44 PM

Based on location, you got a good deal.Think of it as an investment .The price you paid a month ago will have increased in a year.Sometimes you have to buy high to get the location that you desire.
HARD WORK BEATS TALENT WHEN TALENT FAILS TO WORK HARD
Dod
#9 Posted : Friday, December 31, 2010 6:48:29 PM

peep wrote:

Riat is in Kisumu City..

The current rates are about 800k per quarter acre on the higher side.
The rich have money working for them; the poor and the middle class are going to work for money.
wairegi
#10 Posted : Friday, December 31, 2010 7:02:07 PM

....@Wareigi: have u been to Riat hills before? why do you suppose i may have been able to get an acre?

have been working in kisumu and had interest plots and e.t.c. Still in contact with people selling and can tell for sure that the rate is as indicated elsewhere 800K for 0.25 of a ac. But not matter how much youpay for land it is never too much.

Tommy
#11 Posted : Sunday, January 02, 2011 8:27:14 AM

wairegi wrote:
....@Wareigi: have u been to Riat hills before? why do you suppose i may have been able to get an acre?

have been working in kisumu and had interest plots and e.t.c. Still in contact with people selling and can tell for sure that the rate is as indicated elsewhere 800K for 0.25 of a ac. But not matter how much youpay for land it is never too much.

@wairegi, u r telling our friend that somebody milked him 400k or more. but its intresting how you try to make him feel better Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
jerry
#12 Posted : Sunday, January 02, 2011 10:42:01 AM

@Tommy. It's 'ELSEWHERE THE RATE IS 800k'. The rate is as indicated ... Here Wairegi means if said the market price. Sawa? Read again!
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#13 Posted : Sunday, January 02, 2011 12:00:08 PM

@Rapudox,
You have no recourse even if you were ripped.Move on!

BTW,you sound like someone i know.

@Wairegi,
What would be the prices around Kotekni?
Rapudox
#14 Posted : Sunday, January 02, 2011 6:45:32 PM

Thx to everyone for the input. @Njunge, am a young investor, so i think its good to learn from the mistakes and be wiser. Of course i hv no recourse but i need to know if there was a rip off. Why would think you know me from the way i sound?
#15 Posted : Monday, January 03, 2011 11:20:59 AM

Rapudox wrote:
Thx to everyone for the input. @Njunge, am a young investor, so i think its good to learn from the mistakes and be wiser. Of course i hv no recourse but i need to know if there was a rip off. Why would think you know me from the way i sound?

smile The world is a small place.Does the name Godffrey ring a bell?
XSK
#16 Posted : Monday, January 03, 2011 12:34:52 PM

Rapudox wrote:

Wewe @njung'e wacha hii mambo. You will give the guy/lady a heart attack!!

Reason someone knows that he has been ripped off big!
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
Amir
#17 Posted : Monday, January 03, 2011 1:03:17 PM

Rapudox wrote:

So Njung'e's atha name is Godffrey...."The world is a small place"Applause Applause Applause

The Brave may not live forever - but the cautious do not live at all: Richard Branson
#18 Posted : Monday, January 03, 2011 1:21:08 PM

Amir wrote:
So Njung'e's atha name is Godffrey...."The world is a small place"Applause Applause Applause

@njunge cant be because he has spelt it wrong (it is one f, not two f's) - you cant misspell your own name!!!
#19 Posted : Monday, January 03, 2011 1:34:12 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Amir wrote:

@njunge cant be because he has spelt it wrong (it is one f, not two f's) - you cant misspell your own name!!!

There are people whose parents mispelt their name upon birth. They carry on with the wrongly spelt name forever. Have come across several cases.

A good example........ Is it 'Waithera' or 'Waithira'?
#20 Posted : Monday, January 03, 2011 1:39:57 PM

mwenza wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:
Amir wrote:

There are people whose parents mispelt their name upon birth. They carry on with the wrongly spelt name forever. Have come across several cases.

A good example........ Is it 'Waithera' or 'Waithira'?

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Some folks even make it worse.There was this ol' man (RIP) in my home village whom everyone referred to as Inyathiu....His real name was Ignatiussmile