wazua Sat, May 4, 2024

5 Pages«<2345>
What was your best stock move of the year?
#61 Posted : Saturday, August 27, 2011 7:23:34 PM

none. bloody portfolio this one I have
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
hisah
#62 Posted : Saturday, August 27, 2011 7:33:56 PM

the deal wrote:
HEHEHEHE...THE AWARD FOR the worst move of the year..GOES TO @QW..the runner up is Mr Yasser Big Caps a.k.a YBC...

By Dec 2011, will YBC qualify for the opposite...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
QW25071985
#63 Posted : Saturday, August 27, 2011 7:41:02 PM

hisah wrote:
the deal wrote:
HEHEHEHE...THE AWARD FOR the worst move of the year..GOES TO @QW..the runner up is Mr Yasser Big Caps a.k.a YBC...

By Dec 2011, will YBC qualify for the opposite...

@deal nkt nkt nkt. just coz u did a flukie with car and gen doesnt mean you are now a contrarian investor...lol
the deal
#64 Posted : Saturday, August 27, 2011 7:42:52 PM

the deal wrote:
Best Move in 2011:

Buying C&G @ 38 in 2010 Selling it at 68
Buying Uchumi @ 10 Selling it at 13.5
Buying Kenol @ 9.30 and still holding

Worst move of 2011

Buying Eqty at 26 only to sell it at 23
Buying C&G at 42 only to sell at 38
Finally sold Safcon earlier this year after buying at 5.90...worst move/buy of my life...

@the deal waaah, have you made any money overall?

Yet to make my best move. Sold my trading positions late last year.

Now buying... Safcom, kcb, centum, kk. possibly bamburi in a few weeks

Yep the moves were executed at different intervals of the year...i.e C&G in Feb...Kenol in May...Uchumi just recently...i'm the type who never re invests profits and dividends.although I ventured into some computer business were I almost got wiped...waaah I remember paying a bribe of 5K just to have the business registered...Kenya is one hell of a jungle...
underweight
#65 Posted : Saturday, August 27, 2011 8:21:00 PM

Buying KK at 8.65 took div and sold at 12.00, buying sasini at 9.50 and selling at 12.50, buying Kplc @17.00 and selling a 19.75, buying Centum a 16.75 and selling a 19.00. Buying KQ at 32.75 and selling at 42.00. Worst moves buying Uchumi at 9.00 and still holding. Just realised am a trader n not an investor. Rem most I did wen CSFS had a 1% commission!
"A bad decision made now is beta that a good one made later!!"
MoG
#66 Posted : Saturday, August 27, 2011 11:27:47 PM

underweight wrote:
Buying KK at 8.65 took div and sold at 12.00, buying sasini at 9.50 and selling at 12.50, buying Kplc @17.00 and selling a 19.75, buying Centum a 16.75 and selling a 19.00. Buying KQ at 32.75 and selling at 42.00. Worst moves buying Uchumi at 9.00 and still holding. Just realised am a trader n not an investor. Rem most I did wen CSFS had a 1% commission!

you've still done great!
Cde Monomotapa
#67 Posted : Saturday, August 27, 2011 11:35:58 PM

Hey people.

Please consider the cause and effects of the following as we go back to business on Monday.

Banking Circular No 9 of 2011: Guidelines on the Management of Liquidity through the CBK Discount Window and Cash Reserve Ratio

26 August 2011

http://www.centralbank.g...rs/banking/BC012009.pdf

Cheers.

#68 Posted : Sunday, August 28, 2011 3:35:00 PM

Panafric: bought at 100, now selling at BOGO.

QW25071985
#69 Posted : Sunday, August 28, 2011 3:55:06 PM

ouch !!
#70 Posted : Sunday, August 28, 2011 5:01:21 PM

Were you the guy who bought mine at 98? That must be a damn cold monkey.
QW25071985
#71 Posted : Sunday, August 28, 2011 5:06:45 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:

Were you the guy who bought mine at 98? That must be a damn cold monkey.

atleast he helped the stock reach an all-time high !!!!!!!!!!!!!! am sure guys at Panafric are greatfull for that ...lol
Muthawamunene
#72 Posted : Sunday, August 28, 2011 7:30:40 PM

stop loss application.

Got into the market on 1st jan with kq, coop, and saf. later ditched saf taking +12% with me and put it on kGN.

wen things started lookin slim I droppd kila kitu taking - 17% with me n went on holiday with a very very very extremely accomodating miss.

it was either that or take -35% to the crapper. Sasa summer's over, its back to work.
Afroblk
#73 Posted : Monday, August 29, 2011 7:09:16 AM

Bought huge chuck of KK @9.10, got dividend and made an exit @12.
Knowledge is contagious...Infect truth!
#74 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2011 1:40:10 AM

KK - And waiting for the interim dividend... and more dividends in 2012 & 2013...
Genghis Khan
#75 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2011 9:20:46 AM

Selling HFCK, BBK early in the year
"I'd rather be lucky than clever... every time!" - ME
"The problem is not what we don't know... it's what we know for sure that just ain't!" - MARK TWAIN
"Space we can recover... time never!" - NAPOLEON BONAPARTE
#76 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2011 12:06:25 PM

Selling out of all my counters in March... except for Jubilee which has held up extemely well (I think its down 2% for the year after bonus issue)!!! I thank the Lord for such foresight.. smile
mwakamoja
#77 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2011 1:48:50 PM

Best:
1.Selling Mumias@12.15(bought@12.40)to buy KCB rights@17.00
2.Selling all my KCB @23.75 before downfall

Now i have over 300K awaiting re-investment.

Do i still wait or go back for the lion @19.00?
Jamani
#78 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2011 2:15:02 PM

Started stock investment in the mid 90s. I have made only 4 sells from then, i.e KCB, KQ, Kengen and Nation all proceeds reinvested back, I purchase on average, after every 2 months.
Looking forward to start selling in 2013 - 2015 or there about.
Cde Monomotapa
#79 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2011 2:44:21 PM

Raising div.yields on total capital to 7% next year 10%+ thanks to KCB, KK and with this prolonged bear presents even more room for growth.
kaifastus
#80 Posted : Tuesday, August 30, 2011 2:48:26 PM

safc bought at
3.6 sold at 4.7 late 2010 worst sank 200k in cop,och.uch april but sold evrth after a momth!lost 10%.