wazua Sat, May 4, 2024

5 Pages<12345>
What was your best stock move of the year?
ProverB
#41 Posted : Wednesday, December 22, 2010 8:11:42 AM

Best Moves;
DTK average cost 89.00
Kakuzi..average cost is 75.00
HFCK average cost 18.00
EaaGards... this was just the LOL!! Eh!
Coop average cost 15.00
worst moves
Bamburi..got in at 210..regret seriously
Ignored CFC despite Mukiha's comments
BBK..got in at 58..watched it fall to 48..got out at 52..watched it rise back up.. but atleast used money on DTK and coop! smile
Centum..got in too late..ave cost 22.50..means i have to hold longer crap!
Stanchart..i ignored.. Sad

All in all..awesome year..looking forward to the best.. specialising on financials,investment(centum) and agric.. the rest zikae! smile

..kwanza KQ!! ABK!!.. 2 years worth of good returns before i buy the crap. smile

Happy Holidays.
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
Sasha
#42 Posted : Wednesday, December 22, 2010 9:24:18 AM

Worst: Got Mumias at 12.40 and still hold (I don't know why!) and sold Scangroup at 62.

Best: Got Eaagads at 48 and sold at 77; Got DTB at 68 and sold at 135; and the very best, got CIC at 26!
#43 Posted : Wednesday, December 22, 2010 11:07:29 AM

+
Sold all my kplc @30 and bought back at 21.5
Sold off KK @10.8 and re-bought @9.6

-
Had to sell off Kenya Re at a loss for kplc now looking for cash to buy Kenya Re at the current price.

All in all, a great year for me.

maligumu
#44 Posted : Wednesday, December 22, 2010 12:30:26 PM

Best move;buying a good chunk coop at ksh 9.00.
still holding them in my portofolio. Worst move,revising sell order(being greedy) for SAFCOM from 5.80 to 5.90, the rest is history no hiyo ingine mutasoma kwa magazeti. Drool
Peace be with you
Gatheuzi
#45 Posted : Wednesday, December 22, 2010 12:58:28 PM

Best moves: Sold Scom @5.4 had bought at 3.45. Bought Scan @ 26 and sold at 54 in under 6 months (although it moved higher, I had already met my target). Bought DTB at 112 and still holding.

Worst moves: Bought Ugali at 14 only to sell at 12.90.

Overall with >100% gains I am not complaining.
Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
Tommy
#46 Posted : Wednesday, December 22, 2010 2:22:34 PM

qw25041985 wrote:
@ Apple Bees . lol . you really donot know technical analysis.you shld learn though !~ Mumias cannt go below 9.00 . if it breaks 9.00 next top is 6.00 which is out of sync w/ its good fundermentals.
Here's my advice to you.Buy again at 9.00 before January.i am pretty confident 9.00 is a strong support and it cannt go any lower !!!!!I am planning to dip in at 9.00 to bring my average down to 10.00 .

@qw, i agree that the fundamentals of this company are good, but something is wrong. i am surprised by the way you defend mumias.
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
mwasjd
#47 Posted : Wednesday, December 22, 2010 2:53:11 PM

Best:
Selling Safaricom at 5.85 just before price wars started.
Buying Co-op at 16, selling at 20 within 2 months.

Worst:
Having a balanced portfolio (Mumias, Kengen and KQ negating gains from HFCK, Equity & Coop).
Selling Scangroup at 32.75 (had bought at 26) just before the mother of all rises Sad
KIRTI
#48 Posted : Wednesday, December 22, 2010 3:19:16 PM

My BEST BEST BEST VERY BEST move is KPLC. Bought 3000 share last year between 117 to 128. Sold 2900 share In Oct.10 @ 238. & invested in DTB @119, Jubilee @ 187 & KQ @ 43.50. Recently sold some DTB @131 & KQ @45.75 & apply for 19000 addtional right of KPLC.
mzeekijana
#49 Posted : Wednesday, December 22, 2010 3:46:06 PM

KIRTI wrote:
My BEST BEST BEST VERY BEST move is KPLC. Bought 3000 share last year between 117 to 128. Sold 2900 share In Oct.10 @ 238. & invested in DTB @119, Jubilee @ 187 & KQ @ 43.50. Recently sold some DTB @131 & KQ @45.75 & apply for 19000 addtional right of KPLC.

Kirti.. hapo nimekubali....beautiful moves ..I like it..Applause
#50 Posted : Wednesday, December 22, 2010 4:41:17 PM

mzeekijana wrote:

@Guru..This is not what I expected from you as compared to your excellent contribution and analysis hereSad ...Out of 4 picks only one was a Green and the rest Red!! Hata hiyo HFCK everyone got a Green..u have to pull up ur ....any way I love ur analysis keep up the cool work...How did Mumias "con" you?..Unga jee??Laughing out loudly kumbe tuko wengi...

@mzeekijana HFCK was not my only good move..

I also got into KQ at 19.5 sold at 52

Got into KPLC at 125 still holding

Bought kengen at 10.5 and sold at 15

Bought jubilee at 160 and still holding..

Bought KCB at 18 and sold at 23
#51 Posted : Wednesday, December 22, 2010 4:44:07 PM

Muramati at 5bob smile
mzeekijana
#52 Posted : Wednesday, December 22, 2010 7:07:09 PM

@Guru...I know Guru what you posted is just a tip of the IceBerg...smile I admire the way you analyse a stock b4 u pick it...m currently digging some books so as to improve ma performance in this wiered game...I admire some of us who make money no matter which way the market goes..It needs a good understanding of the market.
#53 Posted : Wednesday, December 22, 2010 10:06:20 PM

stocksmaster wrote:
My best and worst are well documented under the now year long thread 'Playing the market, a new year resolution'. Got lucky with Mumias, KCB,Stanchart and DTB on my speculative portfolio this year.
My long term portfolio has a huge chunk of Equity Bank which i bought at listing.It also has Uchumi..............
Happy hunting
Not lucky lakini akili...
Ericsson
#54 Posted : Thursday, December 23, 2010 10:17:57 AM

Buying EABL at 130
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
ProverB
#55 Posted : Thursday, December 23, 2010 10:41:12 AM

Ignoring qw25041985's tirades of BUY!!!BUY!!BUY!! and SELL!!SELL!!SELL!! ..was one of the most prudent of things out of this year..made people really think hard about his claims.. his fantasy portfolio was not much an encouragement either..

and so..
..for making wazua fraternity smarter and wiser to do due diligence..i do..sincerely, celebrate QW. Honest.Drool
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
the deal
#56 Posted : Thursday, December 23, 2010 12:32:07 PM

HEHEHEHE...THE AWARD FOR the worst move of the year..GOES TO @QW..the runner up is Mr Yasser Big Caps a.k.a YBC...
holycow
#57 Posted : Saturday, August 27, 2011 3:16:28 PM

Tommy wrote:
qw25041985 wrote:
@ Apple Bees . lol . you really donot know technical analysis.you shld learn though !~ Mumias cannt go below 9.00 . if it breaks 9.00 next top is 6.00 which is out of sync w/ its good fundermentals.
Here's my advice to you.Buy again at 9.00 before January.i am pretty confident 9.00 is a strong support and it cannt go any lower !!!!!I am planning to dip in at 9.00 to bring my average down to 10.00 .

@qw, i agree that the fundamentals of this company are good, but something is wrong. i am surprised by the way you defend mumias.

Some of these old threads make interesting reads.
#58 Posted : Saturday, August 27, 2011 5:01:52 PM

holycow, way to go! This is a blast from the past... I wish the archives went as far as 2006. They only go back to 2009. They would offer great insight on investor psychology and how Kenyan NSE investors react to different scenarios. A goldmine of information! But sadly lostSad
the deal
#59 Posted : Saturday, August 27, 2011 6:20:48 PM

Best Move in 2011:

Buying C&G @ 38 in 2010 Selling it at 68
Buying Uchumi @ 10 Selling it at 13.5
Buying Kenol @ 9.30 and still holding

Worst move of 2011

Buying Eqty at 26 only to sell it at 23
Buying C&G at 42 only to sell at 38
Finally sold Safcon earlier this year after buying at 5.90...worst move/buy of my life...

#60 Posted : Saturday, August 27, 2011 7:12:42 PM

the deal wrote:
Best Move in 2011:

Buying C&G @ 38 in 2010 Selling it at 68
Buying Uchumi @ 10 Selling it at 13.5
Buying Kenol @ 9.30 and still holding

Worst move of 2011

Buying Eqty at 26 only to sell it at 23
Buying C&G at 42 only to sell at 38
Finally sold Safcon earlier this year after buying at 5.90...worst move/buy of my life...

@the deal waaah, have you made any money overall?

Yet to make my best move. Sold my trading positions late last year.

Now buying... Safcom, kcb, centum, kk. possibly bamburi in a few weeks