wazua Fri, Nov 22, 2024

10 Pages«<78910>
First Lady's Half Marathon 2015
#161 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2016 2:19:08 PM

Did my best 21kms, lost my phone in the extreme disorganization at the finish line!!!!

that finish line was chaotic!!! terrible!! I usually carry nothing... not even a 10bob!! a tshirt, shorts ( +underwear), shoes (+ socks) ONLY!! hiyo safari ni mrefu sana to have encumbrances
#162 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2016 2:29:05 PM

Did my best 21kms, lost my phone in the extreme disorganization at the finish line!!!!

that finish line was chaotic!!! terrible!! I usually carry nothing... not even a 10bob!! a tshirt, shorts ( +underwear), shoes (+ socks) ONLY!! hiyo safari ni mrefu sana to have encumbrances

Actually it was the 1st time I carried my phone coz I had parked a bit far, any managed a best time of 2:09 for the half marathon, still hoping I will manage sub 2hrs one of these fine days!!!
#163 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2016 2:50:22 PM

Actually it was the 1st time I carried my phone coz I had parked a bit far, any managed a best time of 2:09 for the half marathon, still hoping I will manage sub 2hrs one of these fine days!!!

pole sana kaka!!
WalterWhite
#164 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2016 5:32:29 PM

Love this country so much that you should believe that this country IS a country of the rights of the poor and the rich AT THE SAME LEVEL.

I ain't going to go for this PR NONSENSE.

If you want to solve Kenyan problems. Stop these stupid corruption nonsense.

I have said my peace. Now continue running for a foundation who's owners you don't know, ran by the people you don't know, just because...one person has been running.\

Motherf***ers, I walk every day those miles to get a job for 100 bob, just because I voted for my stupid tribe.

Anyway....run Forest RUN.

Alma, you are right on the money! Let's say the marathon is a good idea to get Kenyans moving and sensitize them to the health benefits of exercise. Perhaps it also fosters national unity. That's about it.
So who are the participants? They are the middle to upper class or wannabes who just want to show off. We don't even get a breakdown of how much money this marathon generates vis a vis how much is lost by the road closing, how is the money spent? etc.
Those mobile clinics FLORK is trying to get are mere containers that are refurbished and equipped with very basic health equipment, which cannot lower maternal mortality per se. The major cause of maternal mortality in Kenya is haemorrhage. Do these mobile clinics have the one thing that will treat this issue ie a blood bank? No. Does it have an operating theater for emergent cs or hysterectomy? Nope! So what's the point of this? Kenyan mothers and kids need proper hospitals with staff and all the necessary equipment and drugs. The rest are just shortcuts to placate their conscience. Meanwhile, we have major looters of our national treasury parading themselves (Ruto et al), laughing at us like the fools WE ARE!
#165 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2016 5:34:48 PM

WalterWhite wrote:
Love this country so much that you should believe that this country IS a country of the rights of the poor and the rich AT THE SAME LEVEL.

I ain't going to go for this PR NONSENSE.

If you want to solve Kenyan problems. Stop these stupid corruption nonsense.

I have said my peace. Now continue running for a foundation who's owners you don't know, ran by the people you don't know, just because...one person has been running.\

Motherf***ers, I walk every day those miles to get a job for 100 bob, just because I voted for my stupid tribe.

Anyway....run Forest RUN.

Alma, you are right on the money! Let's say the marathon is a good idea to get Kenyans moving and sensitize them to the health benefits of exercise. Perhaps it also fosters national unity. That's about it.
So who are the participants? They are the middle to upper class or wannabes who just want to show off. We don't even get a breakdown of how much money this marathon generates vis a vis how much is lost by the road closing, how is the money spent? etc.
Those mobile clinics FLORK is trying to get are mere containers that are refurbished and equipped with very basic health equipment, which cannot lower maternal mortality per se. The major cause of maternal mortality in Kenya is haemorrhage. Do these mobile clinics have the one thing that will treat this issue ie a blood bank? No. Does it have an operating theater for emergent cs or hysterectomy? Nope! So what's the point of this? Kenyan mothers and kids need proper hospitals with staff and all the necessary equipment and drugs. The rest are just shortcuts to placate their conscience. Meanwhile, we have major looters of our national treasury parading themselves (Ruto et al), laughing at us like the fools WE ARE!

Even alma is not as ignorant as you are @WalterWhite.
WalterWhite
#166 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2016 5:56:50 PM

47 Mobile clinics ni kitu kidogo sana. One 40ft container is only 300K. With 15 of my friends we can finance this thing very comfortably and quietly over one year, let alone the 2+ years she's been trying to do this, plus the hullabaloo and PR. To whom much is given much is also expected; unfortunately, philanthropy is not their forte. Someone of her caliber and position should aspire to greater health care reforms, but first and foremost do not abuse our intelligence! A vital element of a country's healthcare infrastructure should not be at the mercy of the first family's beneficence, especially for Kenya which is a very rich country despite what they tell you.
#167 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2016 6:10:09 PM

of course we are all experts!
#168 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2016 6:11:18 PM

WalterWhite wrote:

47 Mobile clinics ni kitu kidogo sana. One 40ft container is only 300K. With 15 of my friends we can finance this thing very comfortably and quietly over one year, let alone the 2+ years she's been trying to do this, plus the hullabaloo and PR. To whom much is given much is also expected; unfortunately, philanthropy is not their forte. Someone of her caliber and position should aspire to greater health care reforms, but first and foremost do not abuse our intelligence! A vital element of a country's healthcare infrastructure should not be at the mercy of the first family's beneficence, especially for Kenya which is a very rich country despite what they tell you.

Again...ignorance is manifest
#169 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2016 6:23:56 PM

WalterWhite wrote:

The ultimate ignorance is the rejection of something you know nothing about.

Am not sure what those containers of yours would help with since what the beyond zero campaign have are mobile clinics (yaani magari yanayo tumika kubebea kliniki). The mobile clinics come fully equipped.

Beyond Zero Foundation was formed to partner with the government in reducing maternal and child mortality. Spearheaded by The First Lady of the Republic of Kenya, Her Excellency Margaret Kenyatta, the Beyond Zero Campaign is part of the initiatives outlined in her strategic framework towards HIV control, promotion of maternal, new born and child health in Kenya.

With the same distorted thinking you could also tell your church/mosque to stop giving hand outs and shelter to the poor, ask Kenya Red Cross to stop interfering at accident scenes, tell the likes of World Vision to pack their bags and go to wherever they came from, and last but not least ask Wazuans never to contribute to any worthy cause since it is also not their forte, their caliber and positions should aspire them to greater country changing reforms. A vital element of a country's development should not be at the mercy of midro crass beneficence.

Tenda wema nenda zako, if you feel nothing for this campaign priss, MOVE ON sio lazima. A mother somewhere will be saved, a child somewhere will live to see a new Kenya wewe utabaki hapo na criticism zako.

WalterWhite
#170 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2016 7:59:45 PM

Kratos wrote:

Am not sure what those containers of yours would help with since what the beyond zero campaign have are mobile clinics (yaani magari yanayo tumika kubebea kliniki). The mobile clinics come fully equipped.

Beyond Zero Foundation was formed to partner with the government in reducing maternal and child mortality. Spearheaded by The First Lady of the Republic of Kenya, Her Excellency Margaret Kenyatta, the Beyond Zero Campaign is part of the initiatives outlined in her strategic framework towards HIV control, promotion of maternal, new born and child health in Kenya.

With the same distorted thinking you could also tell your church/mosque to stop giving hand outs and shelter to the poor, ask Kenya Red Cross to stop interfering at accident scenes, tell the likes of World Vision to pack their bags and go to wherever they came from, and last but not least ask Wazuans never to contribute to any worthy cause since it is also not their forte, their caliber and positions should aspire them to greater country changing reforms. A vital element of a country's development should not be at the mercy of midro crass beneficence.

Tenda wema nenda zako, if you feel nothing for this campaign priss, MOVE ON sio lazima. A mother somewhere will be saved, a child somewhere will live to see a new Kenya wewe utabaki hapo na criticism zako.

Fully equipped with WHAT? What exactly do these containers-on-wheels come with that will deliver the touted "reduction of maternal deaths?" Ha! Do you have any idea what it takes to set up a health care system that effects real change? Also, what's up with the 1 mobile clinic per county thing? Lack of maternal access is most dire in the remote parts of the country, so if they really want to bring those numbers down, shouldn't they allocate more resources there, to at least level the playing field?
FLORK is not your average NGO on the ground, given that her pet project can bring the entire capital to a stand still, many times over! Kenyans need proper hospitals, like Mama Lucy Kibaki's (yaani brick and mortar), with trained staff, state of the art equipment .. all these require policy changes from the top (ie President). And yes, we have the money to do that. Our public hospitals should be so excellent even waheshimiwa can take their wives there. How many of us can agree to take our loved ones to these mobile clinics? If you can't, then you're nothing but a damn hypocrite. Spare us!
tom_boy
#171 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2016 8:16:22 PM

WalterWhite wrote:
Kratos wrote:

Fully equipped with WHAT? What exactly do these containers-on-wheels come with that will deliver the touted "reduction of maternal deaths?" Ha! Do you have any idea what it takes to set up a health care system that effects real change? Also, what's up with the 1 mobile clinic per county thing? Lack of maternal access is most dire in the remote parts of the country, so if they really want to bring those numbers down, shouldn't they allocate more resources there, to at least level the playing field?
FLORK is not your average NGO on the ground, given that her pet project can bring the entire capital to a stand still, many times over! Kenyans need proper hospitals, like Mama Lucy Kibaki's (yaani brick and mortar), with trained staff, state of the art equipment .. all these require policy changes from the top (ie President). And yes, we have the money to do that. Our public hospitals should be so excellent even waheshimiwa can take their wives there. How many of us can agree to take our loved ones to these mobile clinics? If you can't, then you're nothing but a damn hypocrite. Spare us!

Walter uko on point kabisa. Hizo FLORK activities ni shenanigans ambazo hazina maana. They will die immediately the FLORK ness ceases and there will be ZERO impact on society. We dont need silly mobile clinics. We need well equiped, well manned healthcentres with good road network and serviceable ambulances. Mama atafanyiwa emergency ceasarian kwa mobile clinic? In
any case many ngo' s already do mobile clinics without raising noise about it.
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
#172 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2016 8:24:36 PM

tom_boy wrote:
WalterWhite wrote:
Kratos wrote:

Walter uko on point kabisa. Hizo FLORK activities ni shenanigans ambazo hazina maana. They will die immediately the FLORK ness ceases and there will be ZERO impact on society. We dont need silly mobile clinics. We need well equiped, well manned healthcentres with good road network and serviceable ambulances. Mama atafanyiwa emergency ceasarian kwa mobile clinic?

Hizi zenyu zinaitwa heartburn. If just one life is saved due to the impact of these "shenanigans" it will have achieved its objectives. It is not the responsibility of FLORK to provide health care but if her efforts to supplement what the government is supposed to be doing then shida iko wapi. The mobile clinics have been handed over to county governments so if they die as you say point a finger at your governor(s). Like i said, no one has forced you to contribute, run or even like, tenda wema nenda zako.

tom_boy
#173 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2016 8:44:25 PM

Kratos wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
WalterWhite wrote:
Kratos wrote:

Walter uko on point kabisa. Hizo FLORK activities ni shenanigans ambazo hazina maana. They will die immediately the FLORK ness ceases and there will be ZERO impact on society. We dont need silly mobile clinics. We need well equiped, well manned healthcentres with good road network and serviceable ambulances. Mama atafanyiwa emergency ceasarian kwa mobile clinic?

Hizi zenyu zinaitwa heartburn. If just one life is saved due to the impact of these "shenanigans" it will have achieved its objectives. It is not the responsibility of FLORK to provide health care but if her efforts to supplement what the government is supposed to be doing then shida iko wapi. The mobile clinics have been handed over to county governments so if they die as you say point a finger at your governor(s). Like i said, no one has forced you to contribute, run or even like, tenda wema nenda zako.

I have a right to comment. Their running for a silly, zero impact cause had an impact on my Sunday morning with their road closures. Do you know how many doctors could not get to work to various hospitals on the marathon route that Sunday morning. You mess my morning and I have a right to voice my opinion. Otherwise, go run in turkana or Ngong forest for all I care.

The fact that these clinics are handed to county goverments just shows the flawed strategy in all this. Why should county gava allocate resources to maintain a mobile clinic they did not ask for in the first place.

These are just silly politics from a gava that has run out of ideas.
They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
#174 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2016 8:49:40 PM

Amref Health Africa will train over 400 health workers for mobile clinics donated by the First Lady of Kenya, Margaret Kenyatta, to counties across Kenya.

Wajir is the only county that has received a second mobile clinic in the entire forty seven counties due to success in its utilization. The mobile clinic is equipped to level three hospital with pharmacy, consultation office, laboratory and maternity section. The first mobile clinic reached over eight thousand adult, 11,657 children, 9054 HIV tested individuals, 33 deliveries, 214 nutrition cases and over 1000 pregnant mothers.

Lives saved, lives changed....objectives achieved. Hiyo ingine ni pangángá

#175 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2016 8:50:58 PM

tom_boy wrote:
Kratos wrote:
tom_boy wrote:
WalterWhite wrote:
Kratos wrote:

I have a right to comment. Their running for a silly, zero impact cause had an impact on my Sunday morning with their road closures. Do you know how many doctors could not get to work to various hospitals on the marathon route that Sunday morning. You mess my morning and I have a right to voice my opinion. Otherwise, go run in turkana or Ngong forest for all I care.

The fact that these clinics are handed to county goverments just shows the flawed strategy in all this. Why should county gava allocate resources to maintain a mobile clinic they did not ask for in the first place.

These are just silly politics from a gava that has run out of ideas.

The usual opposition cliche...Who do you want to be when you grow up? Kalonzo Raila of Weta?
Mike Ock
#176 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2016 8:58:37 PM

Mike Ock wrote:
OK, now that the hype and brouhaha has died down, can someone please explain to me why people don't find it silly that the First Lady runs an NGO? Especially for something as basic as maternal deaths? Isn't that a damning indictment of the capabilities of the husband to provide basic healthcare?

How does it differ from the "lets move campaign"?

Michelle Obama's "Let's move" campaign is targeting obese kids. Those are not gava problems. "Beyond Zero" targets maternal deaths. Preventing maternal deaths is one of the most basic healthcare problems. It's a service all government hospitals should be able to provide in a serious country. It's a complete joke that the First Lady has to step in with a privately funded NGO to try tackle this problem. It's even worse that we cheer her on without analysing the irony.
#177 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2016 9:22:13 PM

Mike Ock wrote:
OK, now that the hype and brouhaha has died down, can someone please explain to me why people don't find it silly that the First Lady runs an NGO? Especially for something as basic as maternal deaths? Isn't that a damning indictment of the capabilities of the husband to provide basic healthcare?

Michelle Obama's "Let's move" campaign is targeting obese kids. Those are not gava problems. "Beyond Zero" targets maternal deaths. Preventing maternal deaths is one of the most basic healthcare problems. It's a service all government hospitals should be able to provide in a serious country. It's a complete joke that the First Lady has to step in with a privately funded NGO to try tackle this problem. It's even worse that we cheer her on without analysing the irony.

Obesity is not a health issue? All hospitals can provide maternal health, the issue is how far in-between are these facilities? That is the problem she is trying to solve. A good number of your countrymates cannot afford that fare to check in and out of hospital because of A. distance, B the unavailability of enough resources(docs included) C. Illiteracy. Govt should focus on increasing the number of taxpayers (currently at about 40%) because those coins you pay as tax, do go too far even without corruption.

Even Letsmovecampaing is privately funded.

You name one NGO that has solved the issue it works on
#178 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2016 9:26:34 PM

Mike Ock wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly unaishi kenya? Kenya is a poor, corrupt 3rd world country - kwani hujui?
#179 Posted : Monday, March 07, 2016 10:36:42 PM

Mike Ock wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly unaishi kenya? Kenya is a poor, corrupt 3rd world country - kwani hujui?

Mike, let her run.

She's actually made a difference to a lady somewhere in a gishagi.

So let her to what she knows she can do.

As to the why she has to do it. Let that be left to historians like "Mutahi Ngunyi".

For now what she's doing is saving a life. Somewhere.

Her husband's history is not her history.

Mike Ock
#180 Posted : Tuesday, March 08, 2016 12:13:12 AM

The cycle of corruption goes like this:

1. Retreat to tribal cocoon to win votes
2. Eat majority of tax money
3. Seek donor funding to at least get some visible project done
4. Economy, and currency destroyed. Basic problems of starvation, unemployment, infrastructure persist, but no worries. Just revert back to step one, rinse and repeat.

It seems Margaret Kenyatta has found a way to "help" the husband with step 3. I for one will not participate in perpetuating the cycle. I firmly believe that if African governments were starved of donor funds, our self destruction would be so much more pronounced that we'd be forced to change within record time.