UN Security Council finally agrees to defer case?
Leo ndio siku ya personal positions? Heads must be rolling somewhere. Hata Ruto anakuja na yake baadaye. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
I wouldn't like the ICC to find the President guilty or innocent. Either way is of little benefit to us, I believe.
Consider the case of Ratco Mladic. A hero remains hidden from the ICC till political pressure and EU entry are used to force his arrest. Has this helped to heal his people? His 'enemies'? Either way the world wasn't anywhere near solving or healing the problems faced by the people.
I'd prefer that the President, and his deputy, and former Coalition partners 'take responsibility' for what happened in our country. And return to the common man, the confidence and power of his vote by increasing the time and opportunity to exercise the vote, and facilitate the creation of robust voting and election systems that are continuously interactive, and broad ranged, through their personal wealth, and networks.
By 'taking responsibility' they should cooperate with investigations that will work with grassroots level 'reconciliation' courts that will maximize on media coverage.
And have a week long ritual of atonement all over the country to cap it all.
That way, we'll all get a good deal. Even the Americans. And Somalis. And Justice, I believe, would be served.
If, we negotiate with the ICC tactfully, we can avoid making this a chest thumping competition and come with a real solution to and for the common man.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,823 Location: Nairobi
TAZ wrote:masukuma wrote:Mimi nasema asiende... Quote me! Hii sarakasi tunaona kwa TV is a waste of time. His trial should proceed however! Kwani kazi ya rais nikukaa kwa kiti the whole day? He does not add value to this farce of a case. 3 weeks ameketi huko? Kwendeni huko... He should engage the court at his own terms ama watu wafly kites... He is president and they are not. I agree, the case should proceed but hii mambo ya kusema he has to be physically present at the ICC throughout his trial ndio nimekataa. As a sitting President who has already demonstrated that he is willing to co-operate with the court he should be excused from continuous presence during his trial. I think the the mandatory sessions should be during the opening/closing of the trial and delivery of judgment. That application is still pending, i just hope the ICC judges will see some sense in that..... indeed a sitting president sitting here where we gave him a job and not sitting pretty bored and yawning at the Hague. TUKO NA KAZI YAKUFANYA and we are not subject to the whims of the international civil servants. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
You mean to Politely say @Kabz is a night runner, watchman ama? Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God..
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,823 Location: Nairobi
tycho wrote:I wouldn't like the ICC to find the President guilty or innocent. Either way is of little benefit to us, I believe.
Consider the case of Ratco Mladic. A hero remains hidden from the ICC till political pressure and EU entry are used to force his arrest. Has this helped to heal his people? His 'enemies'? Either way the world wasn't anywhere near solving or healing the problems faced by the people.
I'd prefer that the President, and his deputy, and former Coalition partners 'take responsibility' for what happened in our country. And return to the common man, the confidence and power of his vote by increasing the time and opportunity to exercise the vote, and facilitate the creation of robust voting and election systems that are continuously interactive, and broad ranged, through their personal wealth, and networks.
By 'taking responsibility' they should cooperate with investigations that will work with grassroots level 'reconciliation' courts that will maximize on media coverage.
That way, we'll all get a good deal. Even the Americans. And Somalis. And Justice, I believe, would be served.
If, we negotiate with the ICC tactfully, we can avoid making this a chest thumping competition and come with a real solution to and for the common man.
there is a difference between the ICTY and the ICC All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
tycho wrote: If, we negotiate with the ICC tactfully, we can avoid making this a chest thumping competition and come with a real solution to and for the common man.
How do we negotiate with the ICC tactfully? I like your thoughts but you can't simply get in and out of international obligations when you discover they are somewhat manipulated. Diplomatic pressure has to be brought to bear and with no economic clout we only have the AU membership to legally(safely) make this point.
Am wrote:You mean to Politely say @Kabz is a night runner, watchman ama?  mimi sijasema kitu. Lakini in Mombasa some funny paraphernalia was discovered recently. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
masukuma wrote:tycho wrote:I wouldn't like the ICC to find the President guilty or innocent. Either way is of little benefit to us, I believe.
there is a difference between the ICTY and the ICC Yes. There's a difference. I should have used 'ICTY' instead of ICC in Mladic's case. Thank you. Fortunately my argument still remains.
alma wrote:Leo ndio siku ya personal positions? Heads must be rolling somewhere. Hata Ruto anakuja na yake baadaye. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Am wrote:Mukiri wrote:Mr. Sulu wrote:@Am, m pesa the cash?  *following closely to see if someone is a man of his word or a mouse* Pastor and @Sulu. We have agreed here not to be believing Gutter Press. Hiyo Picha Inangea?? And for the record, I am a man of my word. @AM, tuma pesa, wacha story mingi Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
UN Security Council finally agrees to defer case?