wazua Mon, Apr 27, 2026

9 Pages«<6789>
Cambridge Analytica- Changing face of politics?
Ngalaka
#71 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2018 12:17:09 PM

Too much hullabaloo about nothing!

Now that NASA zones were known prior, down to the specifics of turn out data based on history, - then come 8817 they hardly dissapointed, - were they also influenced by the 'genius' of Analytica!!
Bear in mind that out of over 15m votes cast what separated the two main contestants is just over 1m votes.

In any case weren't we told that Raila actually won but his votes were stolen!!

While at it, let people decide which is which;
as

ION

Norman Magaya has petitioned the West to rein in on Cambridge Analytica!
Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
#72 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2018 12:23:39 PM

@Tycho has started a thread with 65 posts?Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

Wakanyugi
#73 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2018 12:29:07 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
So, are we saying UK wasted 500M since CA was useless/ineffective and local radio stations did more?

Perhaps they created the content for the stations?

I can answer this one.

No they did not.

The messages that vernacular radio carried in Mt Kenya were not crafted during the elections. They were restatements of themselves that had been trending since back in 2013/14.

For instance that 'Uthamaki' campaign that seems to have so scared NASA bloggers was actually first crafted against Kidero way back in 2014 when it was used to encourage strategic voter registration. The message was "we need to retake the Nairobi sit. You voters in Kiambu, Muranga, Nyeri have nothing to defend over there and you should register here to help bring back Uthamaki to the city."

We saw a similar strategy used for Nixon Korir in Langata, what is Uthamaki in Kale?.

I don't mind you guys giving credit to a mzungu if it makes you feel better. After all Baba seems to think all our problems can only be solved by white men, including holding credible elections.

But my fren, CA says they ran Uhuruto campaigns in 2013 and 2017. I think you're scared the white man was running Tyranny and you bought it hook, line and sinker. LOL

Scared?

You think Jubilees win somehow means less now that a Mzungu is claiming credit for it? Please. If it did why do you guys want a share of it?

The real disaster, as I see it is NASA's 2017 incompetence as compared to 2013 and the predictable disaster they have since become. It didn't need a Mzungu to beat Raila in 2017. His own flaws, dumb advisers, and Ruto's 'mzee wa kitendawil' rants were more than enough.

Many of us said NASA was on a loosing streak from the word go and RAO was the weakest link. But of course you let hope triumph over sense yet again. And now you want to use a Mzungu to make yourself feel better? Be my guest.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#74 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2018 4:20:39 PM

@Wakanyugi, if there is a science of studying and controlling human behavior then data would be a resource.

There is in fact, such a science. And though psychology and psychiatry have so far failed to get this science, it's fragments or even its reality has been with us since time immemorial.

The CA guys may not be using this science but that doesn't mean 'as if they knew' doesn't work.

You are right that some of these techniques have been in use from the past. But so has social media been used from the past.

Twitter, fb and the rest are social media channels but the meeting of persons and culture is the essence of social media.

So the critical question is can an increase in channels have an effect on an individual's behavior even with respect to channels that the person doesn't have access to?

The answer is in the affirmative. Eg. It's highly probable that a sizeable portion of our wanjiku's who don't have smart phones know of 'Samantha'.

In the case of the past elections, we can't for sure say that CA were effective, but we can't also say that their interference therefore will always be negligible.
#75 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2018 4:23:36 PM

@Tycho has started a thread with 65 posts?Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

Hahaha
Wakanyugi
#76 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2018 5:29:51 PM

@Wakanyugi, if there is a science of studying and controlling human behavior then data would be a resource.

There is in fact, such a science. And though psychology and psychiatry have so far failed to get this science, it's fragments or even its reality has been with us since time immemorial.

The CA guys may not be using this science but that doesn't mean 'as if they knew' doesn't work.

You are right that some of these techniques have been in use from the past. But so has social media been used from the past.

Twitter, fb and the rest are social media channels but the meeting of persons and culture is the essence of social media.

So the critical question is can an increase in channels have an effect on an individual's behavior even with respect to channels that the person doesn't have access to?

The answer is in the affirmative. Eg. It's highly probable that a sizeable portion of our wanjiku's who don't have smart phones know of 'Samantha'.

In the case of the past elections, we can't for sure say that CA were effective, but we can't also say that their interference therefore will always be negligible.

Tycho: It is not hard to manipulate people and even you can do it if you were ruthless enough. And you can bet that even a half baked politician or pastor wannabe has more ruthlessness in his small finger than you'll probably ever muster.

People are desperate to have someone do the hard work of thinking and managing life for them. All you have to do, to have them eating out of your hand, is to make promises, you don't even have to keep them and find a convenient bogeyman or two to blame for their failure to think. Yaani, the same strategy that a village witch doctor uses.

So yes, you are right recent technological and social changes have offered more opportunities for the likes of CA and assorted manipulators to do their thing and make out like bandits when they are at it. But it is certainly not new.

I simply hesitate to give CA credit for an election result that went exactly as level heads had predicted. If they had somehow got Jubilee that 3 million margin of victory that they were dreaming of I would start to be impressed. They did not.

The voting patterns and margin of victory for the presidential vote were largely the same in 2017 as in 2013, if you allow for demographic changes. Even the predictable post electoral whining barely changed in either tune or timing_____kiliibiwo tena, those people are thieves, Uhuru must go, bla, bla, bla!

Let us agree that CA waliangukia. Good for them.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
PeterReborn
#77 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2018 5:32:10 PM

We all need to watch this TED TALK
Consistency is better than intensity
#78 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2018 6:08:48 PM

So, did CA have an effect in the American elections?
#79 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2018 6:10:20 PM

PeterReborn wrote:

Yes...
#80 Posted : Wednesday, March 21, 2018 6:17:13 PM

PeterReborn wrote:

Yes...

Thank you @peterReborn... this really helped to clarify the CA stuff!
9 Pages«<6789>