SA: Seizing land from white farmers
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
Wacha nichukue bakora nielekee msikitini...  quot;  quot;
AlphDoti wrote:What I meant yestrday is, we have a people, an arrogant pple, who proclaim themselves to be the chosen of the Lord God. They say we are the elite of mankind and all the rest of mankind are inferior to us... They believe, they have an ordained mission to civilize the world. Their attitude claiming to be superior to all the rest of mankind and claiming to have a mission to civilize the word of mankind. And that is what they did!
This is modern Western civilization led by the wh1te man! You see the arrogance?
These are the people who yearn to tramp others on their way... They take their lands... they ignite wars... they take their resources...
None of other explorers and traders did grabbed lands of others... I agree. And with that comes a brainwashed version of what is success. Whereas there are those who assume we are better off because we were colonized, I beg to differ. Life should be measured in terms of quality of enjoyment derived, not by quantity of possessions. Modern life is based on comparisons based on possessions. A great tragedy. That is why fake economists cry foul when there is no money to fund tenderpreneurs, speculators and mitumba traders and cry to IMF to lift rate caps. They must find it difficult....... those who have taken authority as the truth, rather than truth as the authority. -G. Massey.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,823 Location: Nairobi
tycho wrote:@Masukuma, it's good to acknowledge that you're making stuff up. Now what remains is to ask why you are interested in this kind of narrative. Could it be because you claim that humans are grabbers and 'takers' by nature and compulsion?
Once you agree with the word 'trade' then I think your argument of 'taking' loses the weight you've given to it.
Humans don't just take eggs from Chicken because they simply can. They take the eggs because they believe it's their due given the investment and implicit contract between them and chicken.
Do you know how expensive slaves were? You think they were free? Someone said that in today's dollars it would be close to $130,000! that's 13M bob!  Do you think a farmer in the south looked at a slave running away as someone getting "free" or a huge cost!! Getting labour out of them was 'their due given the investment and implicit contract between them and the Slaves' All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
tom_boy wrote:AlphDoti wrote:What I meant yestrday is, we have a people, an arrogant pple, who proclaim themselves to be the chosen of the Lord God. They say we are the elite of mankind and all the rest of mankind are inferior to us... They believe, they have an ordained mission to civilize the world. Their attitude claiming to be superior to all the rest of mankind and claiming to have a mission to civilize the word of mankind. And that is what they did!
This is modern Western civilization led by the wh1te man! You see the arrogance?
These are the people who yearn to tramp others on their way... They take their lands... they ignite wars... they take their resources...
None of other explorers and traders did grabbed lands of others... I agree. And with that comes a brainwashed version of what is success. Whereas there are those who assume we are better off because we were colonized, I beg to differ. Life should be measured in terms of quality of enjoyment derived, not by quantity of possessions. Modern life is based on comparisons based on possessions. A great tragedy. That is why fake economists cry foul when there is no money to fund tenderpreneurs, speculators and mitumba traders and cry to IMF to lift rate caps. I agree with you 100%... Western thinking of success is possessing a lot of material things. Not really. This thinking motivates greed.
So today, because of our study of historical injustices, we say you are arrogant people. So let the SA people tell them, Get out! You are arrogant. And arrogance will be allowed in Africa!
AlphDoti wrote:So today, because of our study of historical injustices, we say you are arrogant people. So let the SA people tell them, Get out! You are arrogant. And arrogance will be allowed in Africa!
Your posts on this thread confirm one thing, you are a racist. Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
masukuma wrote:tycho wrote:@Masukuma, it's good to acknowledge that you're making stuff up. Now what remains is to ask why you are interested in this kind of narrative. Could it be because you claim that humans are grabbers and 'takers' by nature and compulsion?
Once you agree with the word 'trade' then I think your argument of 'taking' loses the weight you've given to it.
Humans don't just take eggs from Chicken because they simply can. They take the eggs because they believe it's their due given the investment and implicit contract between them and chicken.
Do you know how expensive slaves were? You think they were free? Someone said that in today's dollars it would be close to $130,000! that's 13M bob!  Do you think a farmer in the south looked at a slave running away as someone getting "free" or a huge cost!! Getting labour out of them was 'their due given the investment and implicit contract between them and the Slaves' Yes, and that's what my argument has been. Or rather sub-urgument. Because the main thing here is about whether the 'Western capitalist' system as presented was in fact necessary and that Africans could do the same thing given the circumstances in the past, present, or future. Not that there were no slaves in ancient Africa! In fact, let me say something that may appear to be controversial. There will most of the time, some people who'll for one reason or another, submit to slavery, willingly. Or even by force. For me that's quite painful. But I must accept the human condition as it is. But what if I have slaves? Do I have to deal with them the way mzungu did? There were people who chose to give most state administrative jobs to slaves, for example. Conditions alone never dictate human choice.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,823 Location: Nairobi
tycho wrote:masukuma wrote:tycho wrote:@Masukuma, it's good to acknowledge that you're making stuff up. Now what remains is to ask why you are interested in this kind of narrative. Could it be because you claim that humans are grabbers and 'takers' by nature and compulsion?
Do you know how expensive slaves were? You think they were free? Someone said that in today's dollars it would be close to $130,000! that's 13M bob!  Do you think a farmer in the south looked at a slave running away as someone getting "free" or a huge cost!! Getting labour out of them was 'their due given the investment and implicit contract between them and the Slaves' Yes, and that's what my argument has been. Or rather sub-urgument. Because the main thing here is about whether the 'Western capitalist' system as presented was in fact necessary and that Africans could do the same thing given the circumstances in the past, present, or future. Not that there were no slaves in ancient Africa! In fact, let me say something that may appear to be controversial. There will most of the time, some people who'll for one reason or another, submit to slavery, willingly. Or even by force. For me that's quite painful. But I must accept the human condition as it is. But what if I have slaves? Do I have to deal with them the way mzungu did? There were people who chose to give most state administrative jobs to slaves, for example. Conditions alone never dictate human choice. Perhaps we need to define what the "western capitalist" system is. To me it's just the "capitalist" system! out of all the economic systems tested it has been responsible for the greatest growth we know. it's literally raw evolution at an ideas and work level. The only short coming is that if you jump on the wagon late after guys took off years ago - you are kinda screwed unless you get some shit below the ground that costs you nothing but you can sell for exorbitant prices. It's really a beautiful system on it's own. The only weakness it has is that because it sustained itself first in areas of the world where people had pale skins - those people grew a superiority complex. In reality it's a system that any bunch of people embrace - it works for them. It's a system of rewarding/'incentifizing' work - The is this beautiful scene in the movie schindler's list The dude had skills but if he was motivated/'incentifized' with being the greatest beneficiary of his efforts... it would have been different. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
@Masukuma,I believe 'western capitalism'is essentially a strategy for playing the political-economy with the aim of increasing and protecting power at the expense of other players.
It is a strategy that bears a specific cultural flavor that's different from other cultural flavors. That's why for example, the colonialists had to have an assimilation policy.
Now if it's a strategy then it's a contingent. And indeed strategies depend on moments and many other variables that prevent us from making inferences in your post.
Nandwa wrote:AlphDoti wrote:So today, because of our study of historical injustices, we say you are arrogant people. So let the SA people tell them, Get out! You are arrogant. And arrogance will be allowed in Africa!
Your posts on this thread confirm one thing, you are a racist. If "arrogance" is a race... My words are "And arrogance will NOT be allowed in Africa!"
SA: Seizing land from white farmers