Tebes wrote:McReggae wrote:alma wrote:It all sounds so noble of the doctors, changing the "system". but lets be honest...morality and money don't usually go hand in hand.
Lets not have a strike and claim its for "the country". You want a pay rise and that's it. Hii ingine ya working 20 years to make 500k ni upus. I sell charcoal and will never make that money in 600 yrs.
So doctor's please. You have gone on strike for money.
As you do so, some people are dying. The gov't will use that against you and the strike will come to naught.
Do it better please....like all of you move to botswana or something like that. If you are that good, you don't need the kenyan gov't.
...so very true, today if their salary demands are met without a single facility improvement they would all run back to work!!!!
I conquer with that. On the other hand some of them would like the status quo on that end since if the facilities are improved they will loose business (their clinics are direct beneficiaries of the poor facilities at the government hospotals.
I never refuted Doctors have gone on strike for money. But money alone will not sort out the problem more so for the Government employees. Lets say Govt only increases the money and never delivers on the promises to improve facilities what will happen is an exodus from govt to private hospitals which have to provide over and above what gover provides to get and retain staff. Ps note that your precious company insurance will also go up and your company profits will go down hand in hand.
Health insurance is not cheap.
The problem poor people face are a lot and health care services in kenya year in and year out decimate poor peoples savings. Imagine a father of 8 in homabay takes his wife to get treated for hypertension and she is admitted. The bill comes back a paltry 400sh per day for 4 days(1600) for hospital stay, drugs total up to 2000 shillings and since the hospital is under staffed the patients require unofficially of course a minder who get paid.
This guy has been saving for years to raise 5000K so that he can buy a new boda boda and hire it out but in one instance the guy has gone from soon to be business man to a pauper.
The government has taxed this guy since the medical drugs should be available and cheaper at government facilities, Nurses should suffice and this need for relative and minders in hospitals is nonsense since they should be working.
This is the nonsense that has to stop.Doctors are not morticians to oversee death and also we are not slave to work for free and peanuts.
This strike is definitely about money for doctors and the system.