wazua Mon, Dec 29, 2025

77 Pages«<6970717273>»
2017 Election results
#1401 Posted : Tuesday, August 15, 2017 2:10:27 PM

Let's wait and hear what Baba has for us today.

I foretell that he will declare himself president and Orengo will swear him in as president.

You got humour
Fyatu
#1402 Posted : Tuesday, August 15, 2017 2:17:19 PM

I posted this post in a wrong thread...i skived work in mid-morning and nikaingia kwa local..

Why are dumb,rogue and irresponsible journalists from KTN,NTV and Citizen trying to push the narrative that "half" the populace did not vote for Uhuruto 2022 yet even class one kids know that the dynamic duo won by 54% + 1? I have just watched one KTN journalist interviewing the secretary of Mombasa council of elders and the dumb young man went on and on about half the country voting against jubilee. When did 44% become the mean in normally distributed data? Don't they teach rudimentary arithmetic/stats in class five anymore?
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
Bree
#1403 Posted : Tuesday, August 15, 2017 2:18:37 PM

Sad....

Poor 1st Lady. I wonder where she'll be getting treatment from after burning one of her clinic d'oh!
#1404 Posted : Tuesday, August 15, 2017 2:21:12 PM

I automatically attributed RAO's call for people not to go to work on Monday and await pronouncements on tuesday as a gauge to how much influence he still has and if people were willing to go on the long haul with him. But he had miscalculated! His people are town people... town people need to go to work and don't have savings for 2 weeks bila food! Last week business was poor... So he finds himself at a crossroad!!

Next move RAO!
#1405 Posted : Tuesday, August 15, 2017 2:36:33 PM

I automatically attributed RAO's call for people not to go to work on Monday and await pronouncements on tuesday as a gauge to how much influence he still has and if people were willing to go on the long haul with him. But he had miscalculated! His people are town people... town people need to go to work and don't have savings for 2 weeks bila food! Last week business was poor... So he finds himself at a crossroad!!

Next move RAO!

Edit
Ever wondered where the expression... UTAONA CHA MTEMA KUNI came from? it was the story of that guy "TEMAing" KUNI and had to flee up the tree he was cutting
#1406 Posted : Tuesday, August 15, 2017 2:41:04 PM

T-Bag
#1407 Posted : Tuesday, August 15, 2017 3:40:28 PM

Shak wrote:
timuka2 wrote:
Let's wait and hear what Baba has for us today.

I foretell that he will declare himself president and Orengo will swear him in as president.

There is a "leaked" concession speech going round on the social media sphere. Wonder whether it turns out true or false

Fellow Kenyans, my colleagues in the struggle, my worthy opponents, ladies and gentlemen

For more than three decades, I have dedicated my life to fighting for a free, just, and democratic Kenya. For my efforts, I was ridiculed, trailed by the security forces, intimidated, harassed, tortured and detained without trial. My family suffered lack, isolation and ridicule. I could not even attend my own mother’s funeral. My health suffered because of being locked in darkened and cold cells without basic amenities.

I thank God for keeping me alive. Some of my compatriots did not live to tell the story.

In the course of this journey, I learnt to become a better human being, my resolve to fight for justice and equity only became stronger and my vision became clearer. Kenya has become a lot better not just because of me, but also because of the great men and women who suffered alongside me and the many Kenyan people who have stood by us to date. I thank you all.

In 1990, we transitioned from a single party dictatorship to multiparty democracy. It was not easy. It took sweat, blood and tears for this dream to come true.

We did not stop there. In 1997, I ran for President for the first time, hoping to bring better governance, social justice and economic prosperity to our nation. I was not successful.

In 2002, the entire opposition rallied behind former President Mwai Kibaki. If you asked me about my best moments of the past twenty years, the day I made the clarion call “Kibaki Tosha” would easily make the top five. That was the best moment for Kenya. We had failed in previous years largely because of opposition disunity but also because the entire electoral system was tilted in favour of the then ruling party, KANU. It was virtually impossible to defeat the KANU leadership without unity in our ranks.

The day Kibaki was declared President was ecstatic for Kenyans. Rightly so. For the first time in fourty years, we had succeeded in removing a dictatorship and replacing it with an inclusive democratic government.
Sadly, we lost it when a few people, driven by greed and having conveniently forgotten why we fought for so long, ganged to frustrate the dreams of Kenyans.
I ran again for President in 2007. You all know what happened and I do not wish to remind you of the painful memories. But suffice it to say a new constitutional dispensation was birthed in the post 2007 debacle.

I ran for the third time in 2013. We did not agree with the results but we accepted the Supreme Court ruling and returned to the drawing board.
2017 marked the fourth time I was running for President. I have some serious grievances with the manner in which the election was managed. We brought these to the attention of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission at different stages during the election. We are not totally satisfied with the way they handled our complaints. The NASA team will, in due course share its report with the relevant institutions and the Kenyan people if only to better our democracy.

Ladies and gentlemen, every time I ran for office, I did not do it to acquire power and wealth for myself or just to prove a point. I had an agenda for Kenya. I wanted to transform this country to be one of the greatest in this part of the world. I did it for the Kenyan people. You have and will always be my priority. I am devastated that during the past few days, police have used brutal force to put down innocent citizens who came out in the streets to express their displeasure, a right guaranteed in the constitution.

I say pole to all who have lost loved and those who have suffered injuries. I urge the police to exercise utmost restraint because one day they will be individually held accountable. At the same time, I urge all my supporters and others aggrieved with the outcome to keep the piece, return to work and improve their own lives and those of their communities.
Fellow Kenyans, my colleagues and supporters, I have played my part on the political stage. I have made my contribution.

I am particularly excited about devolution and a new constitutional dispensation. And as the Wise Man once said, there is a time for everything. After consulting with my family, my colleagues and Kenyans from across the divide I have made the difficult decision to exit the political stage. Difficult because there is so much still to be done. The bad governance, runaway plunder of our commonwealth and discrimination of some Kenyans in their own country remains a serious problem in spite of us having a progressive constitution in place.

I hope Kenyans will rally together around these causes and not allow the country to be destroyed as you watch in silence. Governments by their very nature must be held accountable. That is why we talk of eternal vigilance. If you perpetually sing its praises, it will weaken you and eventually destroy you.

I thank you Kenyan people. I thank the millions who braved adverse weather conditions to cast their votes for me. It was not in vain. I thank my Co-principals for bringing energy into the campaign and for believing in me. Steve, Musalia, Moses and Isaac, you have been wonderful. I am grateful that you stood by me through it all.To the entire supporting team, the secretariat, those who supported us financially and those who prayed for us and wished us well, I am grateful.

I wish you well. God bless you. God bless Kenya

You wish. He said it's not over yet and his supporters should not relent.

NASA Statement

Owing to the urgency, complexity and delicate nature of issues NASA Summit is handling, our consultations are on-going and progressing well.
We regret that the consultations are taking longer than anticipated and NASA will therefore not address Kenyans as projected today.
NASA will issue a comprehensive statement to the nation tomorrow.

Hon. Musalia Mudavadi, EGH
NASA National Campaign Committee
I AM trust in GOD, I AM belief in THYSELF
timuka2
#1408 Posted : Tuesday, August 15, 2017 4:11:57 PM

In political boardroom coverage always look at what is NOT said

1. They have disagreed on what next

2. There is a push to have a Nasa statement not a Raila statement

3. Proposals were tabled...there was no plan

4. There has been no meeting to decide what next before today
livie
#1409 Posted : Tuesday, August 15, 2017 4:30:30 PM

Form 34A bado zinaingia
If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
limanika
#1410 Posted : Tuesday, August 15, 2017 4:31:05 PM

timuka2 wrote:
In political boardroom coverage always look at what is NOT said

1. They have disagreed on what next

2. There is a push to have a Nasa statement not a Raila statement

3. Proposals were tabled...there was no plan

4. There has been no meeting to decide what next before today

That's Rao for you. You promise whole world on national tv to make earth shaking announcement only for us to now learn that he hadn't quite thought thro. Now they have to manage the expectations, or damage control if you like.
#1411 Posted : Tuesday, August 15, 2017 4:51:08 PM

But all form 34As are on the IEBC website. Also i thought on 9/8 when baba complained about "the rigging" he said he had tallied all the 34As and was leading with 8.1m vs ohurus 7.2m? Kwani what happened to his forms?
#1412 Posted : Tuesday, August 15, 2017 5:10:20 PM

T-Bag wrote:

NASA Statement

Owing to the urgency, complexity and delicate nature of issues NASA Summit is handling, our consultations are on-going and progressing well.
We regret that the consultations are taking longer than anticipated and NASA will therefore not address Kenyans as projected today.

so what does that mean for people who didn't go to jobo? waendelee kukaa home?
#1413 Posted : Tuesday, August 15, 2017 5:20:21 PM

Clueless....rudderless....
thuks
#1414 Posted : Tuesday, August 15, 2017 5:20:34 PM

T-Bag wrote:

NASA Statement

so what does that mean for people who didn't go to jobo? waendelee kukaa home?

Wewe ndiye unawakumbuka. The 'delicacy matters' are not for them d'oh!
I care!
#1415 Posted : Tuesday, August 15, 2017 5:32:13 PM

thuks
#1416 Posted : Tuesday, August 15, 2017 6:04:52 PM

Weighty matters, the UN has 'skirted' analysis proposal DN online
I care!
#1417 Posted : Tuesday, August 15, 2017 6:19:23 PM

thuks wrote:

They did not expect such a quick rejection hence the postponed announcement
#1418 Posted : Tuesday, August 15, 2017 6:51:14 PM

But all form 34As are on the IEBC website. Also i thought on 9/8 when baba complained about "the rigging" he said he had tallied all the 34As and was leading with 8.1m vs ohurus 7.2m? Kwani what happened to his forms?

@hardwood, have you seen a hand-written one as well?
Ngalaka
#1419 Posted : Tuesday, August 15, 2017 6:53:19 PM

Shak wrote:
thuks wrote:

They did not expect such a quick rejection hence the postponed announcement

UN dealing with Raila in bare knuckles. Aibu Aibu Aibu
Mr Haq added at a press briefing that the UN will monitor Mr Odinga's expected remarks on Tuesday.
Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
#1420 Posted : Tuesday, August 15, 2017 6:54:26 PM

@hardwood, have you seen a hand-written one as well?