wazua Wed, Mar 18, 2026

75 Pages«<6869707172>»
Safaricom 2019/2020
Ericsson
#691 Posted : Tuesday, March 22, 2022 2:27:33 PM

My 2 cents wrote:
What a strange market we have.

Safaricom - In the news, Govt to reduce MPESA charges - stock price rises.
Equity - In the news, bumber profits - stock price shrugs it off. Unchanged.

Safaricom rising due to the positive news they are bringing on their venture to Ethiopia.

Equity share price unmoved-the dividend payout below the expectations and promise they made to investors.
Profits have been boosted by clawing back provisions made in FY2020,equity is the highest so far of all banks that have reported FY results.
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#692 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2022 9:22:53 AM

My 2 cents wrote:
Instead of reducing taxes on M-Pesa charges, GoK wants Safaricom to lower M-Pesa charges.

If taxes are a % of the levies, doesn't the reduction in MPESA charges translate to decreased collected taxes.

Do you trust GoK not to increase the excise taxes on the lower charges?
Winner: GoK

Lower charges may spur more volumes but lower margins for Safcom. GoK ends up with the same amount.
Loser: Safcom shareholders
#693 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2022 9:32:00 AM

My 2 cents wrote:

There are many factors that go into share prices on a particular day and time. This is why some folks love technical trading and others like me find it gobbledygook.

I would rather buy for fundamentals and enjoy a drink!

I really like Equity for the future growth at a reasonable price.
Saf can really grow in Ethiopia but the pricing is high and when the Ethiopians see the profits they will find ways of taxing Saf.
Ericsson
#694 Posted : Friday, March 25, 2022 11:26:39 PM

My 2 cents wrote:

There are many factors that go into share prices on a particular day and time. This is why some folks love technical trading and others like me find it gobbledygook.

Saf can really grow in Ethiopia but the pricing is high and when the Ethiopians see the profits they will find ways of taxing Saf.

Ksh.25bn pre tax profit is not too much to ask or that will raise eyebrows from Ethiopians.
#695 Posted : Saturday, March 26, 2022 11:54:19 AM

Ericsson wrote:
My 2 cents wrote:

Ksh.25bn pre tax profit is not too much to ask or that will raise eyebrows from Ethiopians.
Good luck when the Ethiopians see Saf making 20% ROI in $.
Ericsson
#696 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2022 4:09:36 PM

Safaricom & Gulf African Bank launch Halal Pesa, a Shari’ah-compliant mobile financing solution. Customers accessing financing through the service will receive the amount requested in full with a repayment period of 30 days at a 5% commodity Murabaha margin.
Ericsson
#697 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2022 4:10:46 PM

Safaricom voice market share now at 70.4% . It's users called for over 14.5 billion minutes
Ericsson
#698 Posted : Monday, April 11, 2022 12:31:55 AM

https://www.businessdail...or-ethiopia-unit-3775072
Ericsson
#699 Posted : Thursday, April 21, 2022 12:29:49 PM

https://www.businessdail...ethiopian-rival-3787830
Safaricom will access the giant network of Ethiopian State monopoly Ethio Telecom allowing the telco to roll out its services across the vast Horn of Africa nation.

This follows an Ethiopian government-backed deal that paves the way for Safaricom to start commercial operations in the market of 110 million people, Safaricom Ethiopia officials now say.

“The deal is very important and critical for our commercial viability and launch. Hopefully (we will launch) soon but we don’t have a date yet,” Safaricom chairman Michael Joseph told the Business Daily.

Under the deal, whose financial terms are yet to be publicly revealed, Ethio Telecom will provide Safaricom Ethiopia with access to cell sites, masts and other active elements such as network roaming.

Local reports said under the agreement Safaricom will use both the US dollar and Ethiopian local currency the Birr as payment currencies for infrastructure access.

“The ratio can be 70/30 for certain infrastructure leases, while it can be 40/60 for others. The main objective is to make certain a return on investment from the infrastructure built with public money,” Mr Balcha said.
#700 Posted : Friday, April 22, 2022 10:20:27 AM

Ericsson wrote:
Safaricom & Gulf African Bank launch Halal Pesa, a Shari’ah-compliant mobile financing solution. Customers accessing financing through the service will receive the amount requested in full with a repayment period of 30 days at a 5% commodity Murabaha margin.
Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Fuliza tu with a different name.
5% for 30 days even if not compounded is 60%/year
75 Pages«<6869707172>»