I don't think she identifies herself as a MAN - no, she identifies herself as a woman but has very masculine features. to know whether she identifies as a girl or not - ASK HER! She has never said she is a dude! Intersex is not as straight forward as we think... it's like 30 conditions... 30!!! and they sometimes occur in collabo. So i am not even sure how many permutations of intersex they are. Where I stand... niko na @hardwood, I say look at the external... and ask... WEWE NI MALE or FEMALE? ama chungulia nini iko huko chini... kama it's straight forward - weka in obvious categories. hii mambo ya internal this and internal that.. how does one know they are missing a womb when they are growing up and identifying as a girl? ama internal testes. Caster is female since she identifies as female (not that she acts as female but because she identifies as such). Akiambiwa aandike jina anaandika Caster... akiambiwa aandike Gender - anaweka 'FEMALE'. everything else is other people labling her as otherwise.
OK let me rephrase. She does not identify as a man. But she behaves like a man. She dresses like a man. She talks like a man. Her own father says she always behaved like a boy when young. Her childhood friends also say she only wanted to play football and play with boys as a youngster.
And I disagree that people should simply be asked "Wewe ni female". I say let the medical experts decide. They know better than the rest of us. And last I checked, they decided Semenya was not female.