Referendum – the ambiguity of 1M signatures
kiash wrote:simonkabz wrote:2012 wrote:I hope this referendum could happen like yesterday so we can send baba into retirement again for the tenth time.  Babu is a true legend-keeps on dying and resurrecting..... I have this love-hate thing for babu......he tries too much. How I wish t his energy could be tapped into nation-building; Or that small application of "POWER QUEST" could be uninstalled then we would easily have a true statesman Why can't Babu use his much energy into building his molasses company a global company for his kids and grand kids? He would make 1000 times what he makes now as a politician. But i forgot its the word 'POWER'. He could always go to Churchill to make his jokes and vitendawillis and we shall all laugh. We all have our 'little failings' aliar's failing is that he can't stay without fermenting a crisis, even where there shouldn't be, his subconscious mind will create one! He can't help it, we can't help it. So much so that if he became PORK, he will still subconsciously brew one, maybe a brawl with UG!
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,823 Location: Nairobi
kiash wrote:washiku wrote:masukuma wrote:nakujua wrote:every registered kenyan citizen leaves behind a signature with the government, so I don't think it should be that hard to verify the authenticity of the same. since tuko kwa digital gava, iebc might just crowd source the verification process hii ndio tunaita 'overthinking'  Where do we leave the signatures? Kwa ID? Are you sure the sign in your ID is the same you would use if you were asked to sign today? Plus there are people with multiple signatures just like the way the have multiple handles on Wazua. I don't know why people are afraid of this thing. My only problem with it is that it will waste money that could have been used otherwise. Politically, I bet it will leave CORD more divided than it is if it ever happens.  This reminds me of a guy isaw pale Coop building think it was 12th floor. The guy had gone to reclaim his check for shares but he had forgotten his signature so the lady had given him a paper to try redesigning but when i got there the page was full na response from the lady, bado sio hiyo jaribu tena. same to me... niko na mingi! can never seem to get it right! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:kiash wrote:washiku wrote:masukuma wrote:nakujua wrote:every registered kenyan citizen leaves behind a signature with the government, so I don't think it should be that hard to verify the authenticity of the same. since tuko kwa digital gava, iebc might just crowd source the verification process hii ndio tunaita 'overthinking'  Where do we leave the signatures? Kwa ID? Are you sure the sign in your ID is the same you would use if you were asked to sign today? Plus there are people with multiple signatures just like the way the have multiple handles on Wazua. I don't know why people are afraid of this thing. My only problem with it is that it will waste money that could have been used otherwise. Politically, I bet it will leave CORD more divided than it is if it ever happens.  This reminds me of a guy isaw pale Coop building think it was 12th floor. The guy had gone to reclaim his check for shares but he had forgotten his signature so the lady had given him a paper to try redesigning but when i got there the page was full na response from the lady, bado sio hiyo jaribu tena. same to me... niko na mingi! can never seem to get it right!  Happened to my bro once and the lady told him to go verify his signature with the manager. He told the lady he knew his signature she is the one who did not know and so she is the one who should go to verify with the manager not him. And if she wanted to serve anyone else, she'd better be on her way to the manager. That came a week after a similar incidence with the same lady... the only problem was that he'd not put a dot at some place.... To the manager she went, and she came back and gave him his money...
Wendz wrote:masukuma wrote:kiash wrote:washiku wrote:masukuma wrote:nakujua wrote:every registered kenyan citizen leaves behind a signature with the government, so I don't think it should be that hard to verify the authenticity of the same. since tuko kwa digital gava, iebc might just crowd source the verification process hii ndio tunaita 'overthinking'  Where do we leave the signatures? Kwa ID? Are you sure the sign in your ID is the same you would use if you were asked to sign today? Plus there are people with multiple signatures just like the way the have multiple handles on Wazua. I don't know why people are afraid of this thing. My only problem with it is that it will waste money that could have been used otherwise. Politically, I bet it will leave CORD more divided than it is if it ever happens.  This reminds me of a guy isaw pale Coop building think it was 12th floor. The guy had gone to reclaim his check for shares but he had forgotten his signature so the lady had given him a paper to try redesigning but when i got there the page was full na response from the lady, bado sio hiyo jaribu tena. same to me... niko na mingi! can never seem to get it right!  Happened to my bro once and the lady told him to go verify his signature with the manager. He told the lady he knew his signature she is the one who did not know and so she is the one who should go to verify with the manager not him. And if she wanted to serve anyone else, she'd better be on her way to the manager. That came a week after a similar incidence with the same lady... the only problem was that he'd not put a dot at some place.... To the manager she went, and she came back and gave him his money... they once had to call my phone to confirm its me All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:washiku wrote:limanika wrote:masukuma wrote:limanika wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Part of the secretariat collecting signatures. 1 M tutapata. Kiambu alone will generate over 200k! Accuracy is on name/ID no/Voters card no full stop. Hapa hakuna BVR kit! If it is that simple any mole in IEBC can generate 1 million names with ID numbers within hours and print out. But pliz explain the process of verifying the signatures, that is subject of the thread i have already told you how it will play out Quote: 1) CORD will 'collect' these signatures. 2) They will be handed over to IEBC, IEBC will pokea them and 'trust' that the party that submitted them is telling the truth and kick of the process. in the same manner to supporters of presidential candidates (2k for each county for atleast half of the counties). 3) Ukitaka kustop process unakimbia kortini ukisema - these are fake voters. the court asks the IEBC - did you verify... the IEBC says it does not have a budget to hire data entry operators and the thing is stuck in limbo. 4) The court will ask IEBC to verify 5) once they verify that it's not 1m actual people (sijui signatures wata verify aje - i have a story to tell on that one but not for this forum) CORD gets called in and is accused of attempted fraud! in the same way some people presented fake voter registration slips worth 5/=
when you go to a gava office with your id - they don't call ole lenku to verify that you are actually having a real card - they 'trust' that you know that you will be prosecuted for fraud if you are caught having presented fraudulent papers. same thing with degree , KCSE cert or stuff from EACC or CID. they take it and 'file it'. When a challenge comes - the claims are examined. Maybe, maybe not. Katiba Clause 257 sub-section 4&5 – it states that IEBC shall verify and satisfy itself that the initiative is supported by 1 Million registered voters before transmitting to the counties. By IEBC taking the bill to various counties for approval, that in itself is confirmation that they have verified the signatures …and are satisfied. If a challenge later comes up in court and it comes to light that they did not verify, they will be guilty of violating the constitution…and that will not be a good place for IEBC to be…the court can order them to verify, an impossible task…they are then unable to verify or end up taking tooooo long.. and ‘people’ get impatient and end up accusing IEBC of incompetence…holding daily demos in protest , civil disobedience, etc anything really to make IEBC commissioners bow out of office even on own volition…This could all be part of the ‘grand plan’…Aliar is like a juggler really , you never quite know how it will end up… The issue is that they verified and they were satisfied. If someone later claims the signatures were not genuine, then its the case of that person who presented the fake signature to answer in court. IEBC will just say they were not able to verify that it was fake. That way IEBC will actually be the ones aggrieved because someone "conned" them through a fake signature. Kwani how did they verify the signatures that the presidential candidates presented? Hapa hakuna case. Wacha Referendum ifanywe. Might be in 2015, maybe in 2016. Then 2017 we go to elections. Sijui how long it will take to "Okoa Kenya" through a referendum. Unless the referendum will be done this year. Why OKOA Kenya in 2016 through a referendum when the following year you can okoa it through the presidential ballot? Its just another way of starting campaigns early enough. exactly my point! the papers were accepted and FILED. Nomination of president candidate- Katiba…only says that candidate should be nominated by not less than 2000 voters in majority of counties, no ‘hard’ or ‘clear cut’ requirement 4 verification, no requirement for signatures…So, someone can actually go to the courts to challenge IEBC to proof that a certain candidate was actually nominated as required. I do not remember seeing or hearing of queues of voters nominating presidential candidates. I think if you followed the law to the letter, no one would have qualified for PORK last elections. But all were candidates and partners in ‘partaking from the cookie jar’!!!!!
limanika wrote:masukuma wrote:washiku wrote:limanika wrote:masukuma wrote:limanika wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Part of the secretariat collecting signatures. 1 M tutapata. Kiambu alone will generate over 200k! Accuracy is on name/ID no/Voters card no full stop. Hapa hakuna BVR kit! If it is that simple any mole in IEBC can generate 1 million names with ID numbers within hours and print out. But pliz explain the process of verifying the signatures, that is subject of the thread i have already told you how it will play out Quote: 1) CORD will 'collect' these signatures. 2) They will be handed over to IEBC, IEBC will pokea them and 'trust' that the party that submitted them is telling the truth and kick of the process. in the same manner to supporters of presidential candidates (2k for each county for atleast half of the counties). 3) Ukitaka kustop process unakimbia kortini ukisema - these are fake voters. the court asks the IEBC - did you verify... the IEBC says it does not have a budget to hire data entry operators and the thing is stuck in limbo. 4) The court will ask IEBC to verify 5) once they verify that it's not 1m actual people (sijui signatures wata verify aje - i have a story to tell on that one but not for this forum) CORD gets called in and is accused of attempted fraud! in the same way some people presented fake voter registration slips worth 5/=
when you go to a gava office with your id - they don't call ole lenku to verify that you are actually having a real card - they 'trust' that you know that you will be prosecuted for fraud if you are caught having presented fraudulent papers. same thing with degree , KCSE cert or stuff from EACC or CID. they take it and 'file it'. When a challenge comes - the claims are examined. Maybe, maybe not. Katiba Clause 257 sub-section 4&5 – it states that IEBC shall verify and satisfy itself that the initiative is supported by 1 Million registered voters before transmitting to the counties. By IEBC taking the bill to various counties for approval, that in itself is confirmation that they have verified the signatures …and are satisfied. If a challenge later comes up in court and it comes to light that they did not verify, they will be guilty of violating the constitution…and that will not be a good place for IEBC to be…the court can order them to verify, an impossible task…they are then unable to verify or end up taking tooooo long.. and ‘people’ get impatient and end up accusing IEBC of incompetence…holding daily demos in protest , civil disobedience, etc anything really to make IEBC commissioners bow out of office even on own volition…This could all be part of the ‘grand plan’…Aliar is like a juggler really , you never quite know how it will end up… The issue is that they verified and they were satisfied. If someone later claims the signatures were not genuine, then its the case of that person who presented the fake signature to answer in court. IEBC will just say they were not able to verify that it was fake. That way IEBC will actually be the ones aggrieved because someone "conned" them through a fake signature. Kwani how did they verify the signatures that the presidential candidates presented? Hapa hakuna case. Wacha Referendum ifanywe. Might be in 2015, maybe in 2016. Then 2017 we go to elections. Sijui how long it will take to "Okoa Kenya" through a referendum. Unless the referendum will be done this year. Why OKOA Kenya in 2016 through a referendum when the following year you can okoa it through the presidential ballot? Its just another way of starting campaigns early enough. exactly my point! the papers were accepted and FILED. Nomination of president candidate- Katiba…only says that candidate should be nominated by not less than 2000 voters in majority of counties, no ‘hard’ or ‘clear cut’ requirement 4 verification, no requirement for signatures…So, someone can actually go to the courts to challenge IEBC to proof that a certain candidate was actually nominated as required. I do not remember seeing or hearing of queues of voters nominating presidential candidates. I think if you followed the law to the letter, no one would have qualified for PORK last elections. But all were candidates and partners in ‘partaking from the cookie jar’!!!!! thus my story to tell but i digress. the IEBC stipulated that they bring the same in A4 blah blah blah - signed. Zikachukuliwa and I remember the chairman just accepting them and they were 'Filed' just incase a random guy goes and shouts 'so and so never met the requirements' All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:limanika wrote:masukuma wrote:washiku wrote:limanika wrote:masukuma wrote:limanika wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Part of the secretariat collecting signatures. 1 M tutapata. Kiambu alone will generate over 200k! Accuracy is on name/ID no/Voters card no full stop. Hapa hakuna BVR kit! If it is that simple any mole in IEBC can generate 1 million names with ID numbers within hours and print out. But pliz explain the process of verifying the signatures, that is subject of the thread i have already told you how it will play out Quote: 1) CORD will 'collect' these signatures. 2) They will be handed over to IEBC, IEBC will pokea them and 'trust' that the party that submitted them is telling the truth and kick of the process. in the same manner to supporters of presidential candidates (2k for each county for atleast half of the counties). 3) Ukitaka kustop process unakimbia kortini ukisema - these are fake voters. the court asks the IEBC - did you verify... the IEBC says it does not have a budget to hire data entry operators and the thing is stuck in limbo. 4) The court will ask IEBC to verify 5) once they verify that it's not 1m actual people (sijui signatures wata verify aje - i have a story to tell on that one but not for this forum) CORD gets called in and is accused of attempted fraud! in the same way some people presented fake voter registration slips worth 5/=
when you go to a gava office with your id - they don't call ole lenku to verify that you are actually having a real card - they 'trust' that you know that you will be prosecuted for fraud if you are caught having presented fraudulent papers. same thing with degree , KCSE cert or stuff from EACC or CID. they take it and 'file it'. When a challenge comes - the claims are examined. Maybe, maybe not. Katiba Clause 257 sub-section 4&5 – it states that IEBC shall verify and satisfy itself that the initiative is supported by 1 Million registered voters before transmitting to the counties. By IEBC taking the bill to various counties for approval, that in itself is confirmation that they have verified the signatures …and are satisfied. If a challenge later comes up in court and it comes to light that they did not verify, they will be guilty of violating the constitution…and that will not be a good place for IEBC to be…the court can order them to verify, an impossible task…they are then unable to verify or end up taking tooooo long.. and ‘people’ get impatient and end up accusing IEBC of incompetence…holding daily demos in protest , civil disobedience, etc anything really to make IEBC commissioners bow out of office even on own volition…This could all be part of the ‘grand plan’…Aliar is like a juggler really , you never quite know how it will end up… The issue is that they verified and they were satisfied. If someone later claims the signatures were not genuine, then its the case of that person who presented the fake signature to answer in court. IEBC will just say they were not able to verify that it was fake. That way IEBC will actually be the ones aggrieved because someone "conned" them through a fake signature. Kwani how did they verify the signatures that the presidential candidates presented? Hapa hakuna case. Wacha Referendum ifanywe. Might be in 2015, maybe in 2016. Then 2017 we go to elections. Sijui how long it will take to "Okoa Kenya" through a referendum. Unless the referendum will be done this year. Why OKOA Kenya in 2016 through a referendum when the following year you can okoa it through the presidential ballot? Its just another way of starting campaigns early enough. exactly my point! the papers were accepted and FILED. Nomination of president candidate- Katiba…only says that candidate should be nominated by not less than 2000 voters in majority of counties, no ‘hard’ or ‘clear cut’ requirement 4 verification, no requirement for signatures…So, someone can actually go to the courts to challenge IEBC to proof that a certain candidate was actually nominated as required. I do not remember seeing or hearing of queues of voters nominating presidential candidates. I think if you followed the law to the letter, no one would have qualified for PORK last elections. But all were candidates and partners in ‘partaking from the cookie jar’!!!!! thus my story to tell but i digress. the IEBC stipulated that they bring the same in A4 blah blah blah - signed. Zikachukuliwa and I remember the chairman just accepting them and they were 'Filed' just incase a random guy goes and shouts 'so and so never met the requirements' Back to my question, how shall these signatures be verified one by one???
limanika wrote:masukuma wrote:limanika wrote:masukuma wrote:washiku wrote:limanika wrote:masukuma wrote:limanika wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Part of the secretariat collecting signatures. 1 M tutapata. Kiambu alone will generate over 200k! Accuracy is on name/ID no/Voters card no full stop. Hapa hakuna BVR kit! If it is that simple any mole in IEBC can generate 1 million names with ID numbers within hours and print out. But pliz explain the process of verifying the signatures, that is subject of the thread i have already told you how it will play out Quote: 1) CORD will 'collect' these signatures. 2) They will be handed over to IEBC, IEBC will pokea them and 'trust' that the party that submitted them is telling the truth and kick of the process. in the same manner to supporters of presidential candidates (2k for each county for atleast half of the counties). 3) Ukitaka kustop process unakimbia kortini ukisema - these are fake voters. the court asks the IEBC - did you verify... the IEBC says it does not have a budget to hire data entry operators and the thing is stuck in limbo. 4) The court will ask IEBC to verify 5) once they verify that it's not 1m actual people (sijui signatures wata verify aje - i have a story to tell on that one but not for this forum) CORD gets called in and is accused of attempted fraud! in the same way some people presented fake voter registration slips worth 5/=
when you go to a gava office with your id - they don't call ole lenku to verify that you are actually having a real card - they 'trust' that you know that you will be prosecuted for fraud if you are caught having presented fraudulent papers. same thing with degree , KCSE cert or stuff from EACC or CID. they take it and 'file it'. When a challenge comes - the claims are examined. Maybe, maybe not. Katiba Clause 257 sub-section 4&5 – it states that IEBC shall verify and satisfy itself that the initiative is supported by 1 Million registered voters before transmitting to the counties. By IEBC taking the bill to various counties for approval, that in itself is confirmation that they have verified the signatures …and are satisfied. If a challenge later comes up in court and it comes to light that they did not verify, they will be guilty of violating the constitution…and that will not be a good place for IEBC to be…the court can order them to verify, an impossible task…they are then unable to verify or end up taking tooooo long.. and ‘people’ get impatient and end up accusing IEBC of incompetence…holding daily demos in protest , civil disobedience, etc anything really to make IEBC commissioners bow out of office even on own volition…This could all be part of the ‘grand plan’…Aliar is like a juggler really , you never quite know how it will end up… The issue is that they verified and they were satisfied. If someone later claims the signatures were not genuine, then its the case of that person who presented the fake signature to answer in court. IEBC will just say they were not able to verify that it was fake. That way IEBC will actually be the ones aggrieved because someone "conned" them through a fake signature. Kwani how did they verify the signatures that the presidential candidates presented? Hapa hakuna case. Wacha Referendum ifanywe. Might be in 2015, maybe in 2016. Then 2017 we go to elections. Sijui how long it will take to "Okoa Kenya" through a referendum. Unless the referendum will be done this year. Why OKOA Kenya in 2016 through a referendum when the following year you can okoa it through the presidential ballot? Its just another way of starting campaigns early enough. exactly my point! the papers were accepted and FILED. Nomination of president candidate- Katiba…only says that candidate should be nominated by not less than 2000 voters in majority of counties, no ‘hard’ or ‘clear cut’ requirement 4 verification, no requirement for signatures…So, someone can actually go to the courts to challenge IEBC to proof that a certain candidate was actually nominated as required. I do not remember seeing or hearing of queues of voters nominating presidential candidates. I think if you followed the law to the letter, no one would have qualified for PORK last elections. But all were candidates and partners in ‘partaking from the cookie jar’!!!!! thus my story to tell but i digress. the IEBC stipulated that they bring the same in A4 blah blah blah - signed. Zikachukuliwa and I remember the chairman just accepting them and they were 'Filed' just incase a random guy goes and shouts 'so and so never met the requirements' Back to my question, how shall these signatures be verified one by one??? my answer - they shall not! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:limanika wrote:masukuma wrote:limanika wrote:masukuma wrote:washiku wrote:limanika wrote:masukuma wrote:limanika wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Part of the secretariat collecting signatures. 1 M tutapata. Kiambu alone will generate over 200k! Accuracy is on name/ID no/Voters card no full stop. Hapa hakuna BVR kit! If it is that simple any mole in IEBC can generate 1 million names with ID numbers within hours and print out. But pliz explain the process of verifying the signatures, that is subject of the thread i have already told you how it will play out Quote: 1) CORD will 'collect' these signatures. 2) They will be handed over to IEBC, IEBC will pokea them and 'trust' that the party that submitted them is telling the truth and kick of the process. in the same manner to supporters of presidential candidates (2k for each county for atleast half of the counties). 3) Ukitaka kustop process unakimbia kortini ukisema - these are fake voters. the court asks the IEBC - did you verify... the IEBC says it does not have a budget to hire data entry operators and the thing is stuck in limbo. 4) The court will ask IEBC to verify 5) once they verify that it's not 1m actual people (sijui signatures wata verify aje - i have a story to tell on that one but not for this forum) CORD gets called in and is accused of attempted fraud! in the same way some people presented fake voter registration slips worth 5/=
when you go to a gava office with your id - they don't call ole lenku to verify that you are actually having a real card - they 'trust' that you know that you will be prosecuted for fraud if you are caught having presented fraudulent papers. same thing with degree , KCSE cert or stuff from EACC or CID. they take it and 'file it'. When a challenge comes - the claims are examined. Maybe, maybe not. Katiba Clause 257 sub-section 4&5 – it states that IEBC shall verify and satisfy itself that the initiative is supported by 1 Million registered voters before transmitting to the counties. By IEBC taking the bill to various counties for approval, that in itself is confirmation that they have verified the signatures …and are satisfied. If a challenge later comes up in court and it comes to light that they did not verify, they will be guilty of violating the constitution…and that will not be a good place for IEBC to be…the court can order them to verify, an impossible task…they are then unable to verify or end up taking tooooo long.. and ‘people’ get impatient and end up accusing IEBC of incompetence…holding daily demos in protest , civil disobedience, etc anything really to make IEBC commissioners bow out of office even on own volition…This could all be part of the ‘grand plan’…Aliar is like a juggler really , you never quite know how it will end up… The issue is that they verified and they were satisfied. If someone later claims the signatures were not genuine, then its the case of that person who presented the fake signature to answer in court. IEBC will just say they were not able to verify that it was fake. That way IEBC will actually be the ones aggrieved because someone "conned" them through a fake signature. Kwani how did they verify the signatures that the presidential candidates presented? Hapa hakuna case. Wacha Referendum ifanywe. Might be in 2015, maybe in 2016. Then 2017 we go to elections. Sijui how long it will take to "Okoa Kenya" through a referendum. Unless the referendum will be done this year. Why OKOA Kenya in 2016 through a referendum when the following year you can okoa it through the presidential ballot? Its just another way of starting campaigns early enough. exactly my point! the papers were accepted and FILED. Nomination of president candidate- Katiba…only says that candidate should be nominated by not less than 2000 voters in majority of counties, no ‘hard’ or ‘clear cut’ requirement 4 verification, no requirement for signatures…So, someone can actually go to the courts to challenge IEBC to proof that a certain candidate was actually nominated as required. I do not remember seeing or hearing of queues of voters nominating presidential candidates. I think if you followed the law to the letter, no one would have qualified for PORK last elections. But all were candidates and partners in ‘partaking from the cookie jar’!!!!! thus my story to tell but i digress. the IEBC stipulated that they bring the same in A4 blah blah blah - signed. Zikachukuliwa and I remember the chairman just accepting them and they were 'Filed' just incase a random guy goes and shouts 'so and so never met the requirements' Back to my question, how shall these signatures be verified one by one??? my answer - they shall not! no point then spending billions to hold a 'potentially fake' referendum. courts only deal but with facts!
I know how CORD thinks ona hii All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Referendum – the ambiguity of 1M signatures