wazua Wed, Jun 24, 2026

70 Pages«<56789>»
Lamu/Mpeketoni
#61 Posted : Monday, June 16, 2014 10:00:27 AM

"The attack occurred on Sunday night when eight gunmen hijacked two vans at Witu and commandeered the driver to Mpeketoni where they opened fire indiscriminately at anyone they came across.

It is believed they were joined by their accomplices who were already in the town because witnesses said they saw more than 50 attackers."

Mpeketoni is a very small town, 50 heavily armed gunmen could easily have wiped out kila mtu including the police officers in the town. I'll repeat again, we need to deploy KDF ASAP!

@Swenani....Tribal cleansing??? Are you serious! I doubt those gunmen asked their victims to produce ID cards before opening fire.

Yes am so serious, Can you imagine over 50 people coming to a small town unnoticed?

Somebody knew about them.Maybe the 50 people are part of the villagers.Why would 8 gunmen hijack a van yet they already had their people(42) in Mpeketoni?

Taz, you should go to Lame west to hear of these tensions
#62 Posted : Monday, June 16, 2014 10:01:13 AM

"The attack occurred on Sunday night when eight gunmen hijacked two vans at Witu and commandeered the driver to Mpeketoni where they opened fire indiscriminately at anyone they came across.

It is believed they were joined by their accomplices who were already in the town because witnesses said they saw more than 50 attackers."

Mpeketoni is a very small town, 50 heavily armed gunmen could easily have wiped out kila mtu including the police officers in the town. I'll repeat again, we need to deploy KDF ASAP!

@Swenani....Tribal cleansing??? Are you serious! I doubt those gunmen asked their victims to produce ID cards before opening fire.

@TAZ, you rule that out: It looks more like MRC than Al Shabaab and a Kenyan affiar the 'Modus operandi' points at MRC; if it's true that they were separating men from women and then massacaring them them it's surely not an alshabaab thing!!!
#63 Posted : Monday, June 16, 2014 10:02:09 AM

Mtafiti wrote:
GOK, please tell us Kenyans what is happening, and tell us the truth!!!!

Dont worry, they will tell you its all about @storm!

They have 3 threads running around here talking about Storms.

@Alma hata wewe, kwani its the govt that starts threads in Wazua? @Mtafiti asks a question to GOK, you say "they" have threads running. As if govt is run from Wazua. Surely, you can do better.

Washiku, second time I'm telling you to smell the coffee. Ni hayo tu.

I wish Wazua had inbox facility. Seems there is a lot I don't know.
#64 Posted : Monday, June 16, 2014 10:03:06 AM

Apologies to the affected families and victims of this senselessness

after lots of soul searching spare a thought for them graphic as the images may be

let the #MpeketoniAttack story be told peupe and ashame the devil Sad

#65 Posted : Monday, June 16, 2014 10:04:36 AM

Victims were asked to recite the Shahada!

Soft targets in a remote area... Classic Boko Haram tactics Pray
Ole Lenku
#66 Posted : Monday, June 16, 2014 10:04:39 AM

Mtafiti wrote:

@Alma hata wewe, kwani its the govt that starts threads in Wazua? @Mtafiti asks a question to GOK, you say "they" have threads running. As if govt is run from Wazua. Surely, you can do better.

You are not seriously defending this incompetence. About 12 hours have passed since this attack began.The minister and if possible the PORK needs to get to the scene immediately. A press statement should have been released on what exactly took place. This should be followed by an assurance that people should be calm and steps are being taken to keep residents safe and to arrest the suspects. Keeping quiet when almost 50 Kenyans have been slaughtered only makes the government look weak and indecisive.
PeterReborn
#67 Posted: : Monday, June 16, 2014 10:04:40 AM

PeterReborn wrote:
innairobi wrote:
Some reports say KCB and Coop were also damaged. We wont know I guess until credible info crystallizes in coming hours or days.

holycow wrote:
But this attack is suspicious How did the attackers move within town freely killing people or did they start by attack the police station to immobilize the police?

Al shabaab; we are not responsible

Why Mpeketoni and not Mukowe? Is it because they want to chase "these people" from Mpeketoni since above 70% of the population are "these people"?

You seem to know the area well. Some claim Equity bank was torched while KCB wasn't touched. Also wondering why KDF didn't respond yet they have a base very close.

Where was our NIS?Di the UK consulate know of this attack before closing shop?If the alshaabab did not carry out these attacks then who did?Pray Pray Pray

I dont see how an attack in a remote town 300Kms away from Mombasa would have forced the UK to close its consulate in Mombasa.

Maybe this is just a tip of the iceberg.It could be a start of violent attacks in this country.I think we need these CCTV cameras soonest possible
Consistency is better than intensity
innairobi
#68 Posted : Monday, June 16, 2014 10:06:02 AM

Given government's total incompetence on security matters, I guess we need to start having conversations on allowing private security guards to bear arms. Uganda does that and seems just fine. There will be incidences here and there of abuse but overall, could be for the greater good. Black market guns are easily available anyway for anyone intent on crime. There will be some modicum of peace due to low level 'mutually assured destruction'.
All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
#69 Posted : Monday, June 16, 2014 10:08:14 AM

Ole Lenku wrote:
Mtafiti wrote:

You are not seriously defending this incompetence. About 12 hours have passed since this attack began.The minister and if possible the PORK needs to get to the scene immediately. A press statement should have been released on what exactly took place. This should be followed by an assurance that people should be calm and steps are being taken to keep residents safe and to arrest the suspects. Keeping quiet when almost 50 Kenyans have been slaughtered only makes the government look weak and indecisive.

Haiya, Are you high or something? Where did I support the incompetence? Some times it pays to think deeper before accusing, just a little bit deeper.
#70 Posted : Monday, June 16, 2014 10:10:06 AM

PeterReborn wrote:
I think we need these CCTV cameras soonest possible

How does CCTCV help with this??

70 Pages«<56789>»