18 Pages«<56789>»
CECAFA CUP 2013
Alba
#121 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 4:06:43 PM

Machakos matches moved to City and Afraha stadia!

Yes, say why also..it's "due to the continued heavy rains" in Machakos. That pitch become almost unplayable last game. Makes sense. It shall host many games in future.

Kwani what kind of turf do premier league teams use for their stadiums?hata ikinyesha aje its still playable...no pudddles of water...hakuna matope...

I suppose they artificial turf like the one at City Stadium.

But to me the solution seems simple. When heavy rains are coming, just put a plastic tarp on top pf the grass to prevent excess rain from soaking the playing surface. Its cheaper than installing French drains.
Alba
#122 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 5:27:28 PM

[quote=maka][quote=InnovateGuy][quote=safariant]

Kahata reminds me in a way of John "Mo" Muiruri. Best creatives we've had.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ......It's amazing why this two have never thought of trying their luck in netball or any other game played in skirts.Talking of creative midfielders (We have had none worth talking of in the last 15 years although i would rate Charles Kimuyu,formely of Maziwa,Eldoret KCC and Mumias Sugar,very highly),there has been none better than Allan Thigo and Tim Ayieko. The duo,backed by Sammy Owino "Kempes",were,without doubt, a joy to watch and the engine behind the success of K'ogalo in late 70s and early 80s......Hii ingine yote ni malenge tuu.Sad

As with most of those days events, not much on film record to refer to for comparative analysis. Maybe they were.

KBC actually has these videos but they are just stitting on them. Recently I found a very brief video of Abbas Magongo scoring against Esperance of Tunisia. See below.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IuQKUutwEI4

Magongo had so much class. I wish KBC would share more of these videos so people can see that today's players are jokers compared to kina Magongo, Mulamba, Charles Otieno, Zangi ........
#123 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 9:19:20 PM

Alba wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ......It's amazing why this two have never thought of trying their luck in netball or any other game played in skirts.Talking of creative midfielders (We have had none worth talking of in the last 15 years although i would rate Charles Kimuyu,formely of Maziwa,Eldoret KCC and Mumias Sugar,very highly),there has been none better than Allan Thigo and Tim Ayieko. The duo,backed by Sammy Owino "Kempes",were,without doubt, a joy to watch and the engine behind the success of K'ogalo in late 70s and early 80s......Hii ingine yote ni malenge tuu.Sad

As with most of those days events, not much on film record to refer to for comparative analysis. Maybe they were.

KBC actually has these videos but they are just stitting on them. Recently I found a very brief video of Abbas Magongo scoring against Esperance of Tunisia. See below.

Magongo had so much class. I wish KBC would share more of these videos so people can see that today's players are jokers compared to kina Magongo, Mulamba, Charles Otieno, Zangi ........

This link is to Peter Dawo's (sad) story..
Alba
#124 Posted : Monday, December 02, 2013 9:57:43 PM

Alba wrote:

This link is to Peter Dawo's (sad) story..

But there is a brief clip of Magongo scoring against Esperance in the Africa cup final played in Tunis.
#125 Posted : Tuesday, December 03, 2013 7:15:24 AM

Alba wrote:

Yes, say why also..it's "due to the continued heavy rains" in Machakos. That pitch become almost unplayable last game. Makes sense. It shall host many games in future.

Kwani what kind of turf do premier league teams use for their stadiums?hata ikinyesha aje its still playable...no pudddles of water...hakuna matope...

But to me the solution seems simple. When heavy rains are coming, just put a plastic tarp on top pf the grass to prevent excess rain from soaking the playing surface. Its cheaper than installing French drains.

Actually they use natural grass no artificial turf...

http://www.abb.co.uk/caw...fbc1257420004cfae1.aspx
Rem when we co-hosted the cricket world cup we got pro groundsmen from S.A to work on the pitch and it was superb the drainage was amazing...when we talk about creating jobs these are some of the areas young people should focus on...
#126 Posted : Tuesday, December 03, 2013 12:55:57 PM

[quote=ecstacy][quote=McReggae]

I think the Machakos stadium's grass was grown on top of firm ground without due consideration of drainage. I think the only pitch in Kenya which has a deliberate and top class underground drainage is Mumias Complex
InnovateGuy
#127 Posted : Tuesday, December 03, 2013 2:03:25 PM

This Afraha pitch.Is it any better? Far from it.
Live Full Die Empty - Les Brown.
#128 Posted : Tuesday, December 03, 2013 3:16:55 PM

InnovateGuy wrote:

It aint that bad...a bit bumpy but better that Mayakos...Ethiopia 1 S.Sudan 0 Yussuf Yassin the assassin...
InnovateGuy
#129 Posted : Tuesday, December 03, 2013 3:52:46 PM

InnovateGuy wrote:

It aint that bad...a bit bumpy but better that Mayakos...Ethiopia 1 S.Sudan 0 Yussuf Yassin the assassin...

Ethiopia 2 S.Sudan 0

Kenya will need to beat Zanzibar by three goals to nil in order to top group A. Tall order.
InnovateGuy
#130 Posted : Tuesday, December 03, 2013 4:04:36 PM

Wanga is now the Captain? WTF?! After the disappointing performance against S.Sudan? This Amrouche douche should be run out of town after we lose the CECAFA.
Alba
#131 Posted : Tuesday, December 03, 2013 4:13:13 PM

Alba wrote:

Rem when we co-hosted the cricket world cup we got pro groundsmen from S.A to work on the pitch and it was superb the drainage was amazing...when we talk about creating jobs these are some of the areas young people should focus on...

City stadium has artificial turf. See the link

http://www.standardmedia...mp;articleID=2000008526
#132 Posted : Tuesday, December 03, 2013 4:17:31 PM

InnovateGuy wrote:
Wanga is now the Captain? WTF?! After the disappointing performance against S.Sudan? This Amrouche douche should be run out of town after we lose the CECAFA.

He maybe the opposite of what you think. It'a all mental. Wanga is a senior player.. a senior player and striker. There is only one way this KPL 'top striker' can recover from his worst game ever in national colors. Score to regain confidence but to score in itself requires confidence..to do so Amrouche can be considered to have done the right thing..
bebeto
#133 Posted : Tuesday, December 03, 2013 4:30:41 PM

Carol Radull ‏@CarolRadull 5m

#HarambeeStars 1-0 Zanzibar 11 minutes gone. (Jockins Atudo penalty)

"The chief danger in life is that you may take too many precautions" - Alfred adler
#134 Posted : Tuesday, December 03, 2013 4:32:01 PM

Alba wrote:
Alba wrote:

City stadium yes was talking about EPL pitches...they are mostly natural grass...they actually have awards for groundsmen which the Arsenal guy takes almost every season....in other news Kenya 1 Zanzibar 0...Atudo penalty...Kahata is a joy to watch...
#135 Posted : Tuesday, December 03, 2013 4:39:57 PM

Alba wrote:
Alba wrote:

City stadium yes was talking about EPL pitches...they are mostly natural grass...they actually have awards for groundsmen which the Arsenal guy takes almost every season....in other news Kenya 1 Zanzibar 0...Atudo penalty...Kahata is a joy to watch...

Artificial turf was actually banned in England along time ago, the harder surface caused more injuries.
#136 Posted : Tuesday, December 03, 2013 4:42:56 PM

#Team Kenya!!!
#137 Posted : Tuesday, December 03, 2013 4:46:45 PM

#Team Kenya!!!

Nakuru governor kumbe has pledged a milli if the boyz win ndio maana leo wameweka bidii kabisa...
InnovateGuy
#138 Posted : Tuesday, December 03, 2013 4:56:43 PM

#Team Kenya!!!

Nakuru governor kumbe has pledged a milli if the boyz win ndio maana leo wameweka bidii kabisa...

Boss, stop pampering this guys. Their performance so far is very wanting.
#139 Posted : Tuesday, December 03, 2013 5:03:28 PM

InnovateGuy wrote:
#Team Kenya!!!

Wewe ulisema we were going to be the last in this group....watch as we top it!!!!
InnovateGuy
#140 Posted : Tuesday, December 03, 2013 5:08:57 PM

InnovateGuy wrote:
#Team Kenya!!!

Wewe ulisema we were going to be the last in this group....watch as we top it!!!!

Stop putting words into my mouth. That performance leaves a lot to be desired. Zanzibar was whipped 3-1 by Ethiopia. I expect nothing short of 3-0. If we finished second in the group, we might end up playing Uganda in the quarters and that's not good for anybody's health.