10 Pages«<56789>»
IMF: Kenya's economy self reliant, don't need EU
#121 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 9:39:42 AM

^^^^^^
Quicksand, there are no lies in mathematics.

Its so good to see people approach this issue with statistics, rather than tribal goggles.

China has 250M, yes 250 million people BELOW the poverty line. A country that cannot feed its own is going to come feed you??

Numbers dont lie....indeed the west does need us...so those dreaming of sanctions should snap out of it

How about FDI?

http://www.businessdaily.../-/1lnvlmz/-/index.html

These childish amounts is what you are calling "numbers"??

120billion may look like a lot to us Africans but trust you me a single American company makes 150billion PROFIT in just 3months!

#122 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 9:41:21 AM

Guru, if i bring cows to your father today, what signal will i be sending? (will be back,wacha nilale)
mkeiyd
#123 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 9:51:02 AM

Nabwire wrote:
Mkeiyd after rereading your post, I can conclude that you are a defeatist. You are running scared coz of what the west will do to Kenya, yet the west has repeatedly said they will uphold elections results if they are free and fair. What you are basically asking us, is to accept neocolonialism, in a gracious manner. I will let you know that the west has never acted out of generosity, if they act, its because it serves their interests. So saying that western companies in Kenya are basically there because they are benevolent is a bit of a stretch. Im curious to see a factual case of how " Kenya benefits more from BAT than shareholders"? Corporations only set up shop to maximize profits, if there are no profits, they close shop. Its in Kenya's best interests to have friendly relations with the west, but it is in the west's interests even more to retain Kenya as an ally. Kenya is strategically located and the West is doing everything in its power to ensure that Kenya does not forge lasting ties with China. Also Kenya just discovered oil, it would be unwise of the west to cut ties with Kenya, coz even though they may not need the oil, they wouldnt want China to have a controlling stake of it. We are in arguably the contemporary form of gold rush, with China and the US fighting over African resources, but Africans have no clue of the power they hold, and would rather dance along to yester years propaganda. The world has moved on, its time our thinking also moved on. Unless you are asking us to accept the position of always being a recepient, your argument makes no sense. We have begged for aid all these years, yet the common man's life has not improved, now you are asking us not to anger the west, just so we can continue getting aid. Please read Dead Aid, and then contemplate on the fact that oil has been discovered in Kenya. Why beg for breadcrumbs when you can now bake your own bread?

http://www.cbc.ca/passio...day/feature_171207.html

http://www.google.com/ur...3VQExB5gAJKRTAvWfNfyMOQ

@Nabwire, You have a tendency of throwing words to fellow wazuans,like "village mad woman" and now i'm defeatist.Whatever keeps your kite high up.

Back to your response of my post,where did i talk of AID in my post? Please highlight it for me. I talked business. The four FACTORS OF PRODUCTION. Usually, profits from most of the multinationals are not more than 25% of total revenue.
Tell me @Nabwire,where does the other 75% go to? It's rewards to the other 3 factors which more often than not,are local.Talking numbers,the country where 75% is spend BENEFITS more than shareholders who get 25%.Tumeelewana?

Where did i say foreign companies are here because they are benevolent? WHERE? I said they don't milk us, they are investor just like us,the locals. Should i say us the locals go into business for profits? just to clear the air.
The business of business is business. It doesn't matter who's doing it.

Did you read the last part i did i green?
I said if we use our brains,build our economy,in 30 years or so,we can be punching with the heavy weights.
Tell me @ Nabwire,where/how did you get that DEFEATIST feel on my post?

As @simonkabz Asked, what freedom are we getting by voting the suspects? What will Kenya be able to do,by voting suspects,that we CAN'T do now?
How free are the Merus whose miraa got banned in the Holland? Lacking market for your produce/products/service is NOT FREEDOM. If one has a textiles factory in our EPZs and the US de
lists Kenya from Agoa benefits,how FREE will the apparel's dealer be?
We cannot belittle a huge word like FREEDOM, to mean "electing suspects".

The average Hong Kong citizen is more FREE than the average Kenyan even if they haven't been enjoying voting rights as we do.The average Hong Kong citizen can holiday,drive,live and enjoy life in ways the average Kenyan can only imagine.
Now that is FREEDOM

Deeds and processes that will enable me and most Kenyans to live,holiday,drive,enjoy life freely,are welcome to me.Voting suspects ISN'T.

Finally,is said voting Uhuruto won't bring sanctions,it is their failure to cooperate with ICC which will bring sanctions.You are assuming they will cooperate,i'm assuming they won't.
We are all assuming. They say they will,they said many things to Mdvd. In the spirit of freedom,i'm free to assume as i wish. Ama iko shida?

Now i'm seated here,a shipping line just decided to head to Dar Tanzania first,then come back to Mombasa,that means, loss of business for me.I'm i supposed to be feeling "MORE FREE" now? In your spirit of "doing thing on our terms" tell me how i can achieve that with the shipping lines? @ Nabwire,tell me. Kenya being VERY important to the west,why is a Netherlands vessel not respecting Mombasa and heading to Dar first?
The usual route is from X - Msa - Dar - Y.

China does not do business with the West on their terms. Have you ever been to a Chinese factory? That sort of working conditions does not come anywhere near being on chinese terms.But China is pulling itself up and in not so many years,they'll be doing things on their terms. Once they've built enough economic might. South Korea come through the same route,same as Taiwan. Now Chinese,Vietnam,Cambodia, Philipines ,Thailand etc, are doing it. BUILDING ECONOMIC MIGHT.
Kenya should do the same,build its might.We are not going to do it if we are going to ditch the West and run East. Why haven't the East Asian countries not ditched the West,for China? WHY?

When we were young,we needed to be nurtured,now that we've grown,we can fend for ourselves. Kenya is relatively young in all spheres of development,we can't grow by picking unnecessary confrontations. We need to be able to do business with everybody
mkeiyd
#124 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 10:22:34 AM

guru267 wrote:
^^^^^^

Its so good to see people approach this issue with statistics, rather than tribal goggles.

China has 250M, yes 250 million people BELOW the poverty line. A country that cannot feed its own is going to come feed you??

Numbers dont lie....indeed the west does need us...so those dreaming of sanctions should snap out of it

How about FDI?

120billion may look like a lot to us Africans but trust you me a single American company makes 150bn PROFIT in just 3 months!

@Murchr, 120bn a whole year for the whole of Africa? That is 1.4bn USD,for the whole Africa for a year. Samsung Electronics made a profit of 7.3bn usd, equiv of 620bn shillings,in 3 months.
A single company making 5 times,in 3 months what the article says was raised for the whole Africa a year and you dare say they need us. Has the word NEED gained a new meaning?
#125 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 11:04:45 AM

mkeiyd wrote:
guru267 wrote:
^^^^^^

How about FDI?

120billion may look like a lot to us Africans but trust you me a single American company makes 150bn PROFIT in just 3 months!

@Murchr, 120bn a whole year for the whole of Africa? That is 1.4bn USD,for the whole Africa for a year. Samsung Electronics made a profit of 7.3bn usd, equiv of 620bn shillings,in 3 months.
A single company making 5 times,in 3 months what the article says was raised for the whole Africa a year and you dare say they need us. Has the word NEED gained a new meaning?

Yeah they need us because we have the best national parks.

Africa control 2.36% of global GDP.. that's how relevant we are.

http://en.wikipedia.org/..._distribution_of_wealth

http://www.conference-bo.../data/globaloutlook.cfm

#126 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 11:26:52 AM

quicksand wrote:
Sad sad sad.

What the eastern propagandists haven't yet gotten is, we are not kissing mzungu's butt, and we are not begging for aid though we need it anyway, but we cannot cut off a critical market for our produce just to be FREE! FREE? In the modern world? Btw, FREE FROM WHAT? I would unequivocally state that no country is free in this planet. Listening to the chest thumpers' hubris is very interesting. One of the largest trading partners for china n BRICS is the west. If the chinese didn't cut off their ties with the west, who are we? Is Kenya greater than S. Korea? Japan, Taiwan, Indonesia, China? Cut the cheap braggadocio people, and stop twisting the truth. And if the plan by uhuruto is to isolate us from this market, then they should be jailed. But I'm sure they know better than many wazuans not to upset the master. They won't. In fact, they will be ridden like horses coz for a fact, they badly need the west, who will capitalise on their ICC woes to get what they want. Or nabwire n maji maji want to tell us uhuruto want to fail in their leadership? I don't think so.
The west largely earns kenya foreign exchange. China DRAINS it with the unfavourable balance of trade in products that eventually kill our local firms, including TOOTHPICKS!!!. Not many pple understand how the world works today it seems, and that Globalization means nyet to them chest beaters. This education system of ours needs a complete overhaul.

My final question, have these thumpers ever given zimbabwe a thought? Why are they in the doldrums? Why hadn't china or the BRICS lifted the shithole up? A section of the govt was sanctioned, and the whole country went up in flames. They seem to enjoy it though, and seemingly, educated kenyans envy them.

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause
I have some stats here from our very own Bureau of Statistics.

http://www.knbs.or.ke/trade_balance.php

In '000

In '000

______________ Exports(2010)___Imports(2010)___Balance(2010)
Canada____________1,169,832_______7,067,926______(5,898,094)
USA______________22,522,182______39,315,581_____(16,793,398)
Western Europe 100,122,690_____176,205,709_____(76,083,019)

China_____________2,511,547_____120,648,247____(118,136,700)

We exported a paltry 2.5 billion worth of Kenyan produce to our steadfast friends the Chinese Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly importing a massive 120B, resulting in a crushing 118 billion balance of trade.
The 2.5 billion export figure we achieved with the Chinese clearly is much better,..by leaps and bounds, than the 123.8 billion we managed to export to the Americas and Western Europe by some reasoning around here. Also, the 118 billion trade deficit with China alone surpasses the 98 billion deficit with the West. Isn't that awesome??

NKT. d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! Little knowledge is truly dangerous

Nice. Scary numbers right there. So, its so clear we need the west more than we need shaina, who DRAIN OUR RESERVES. Let us now sit back n listen to TNA hogwash............
a4architect.com
#127 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 11:29:50 AM

guru267 wrote:
a4architect.com wrote:
The more kenya maintains minimal contact with the west, the more our economy improves.

@wazua how may any reasonable individual respond to this statement??

What i mean is that Kenya needs to expand their market more as in the case here below stated by @RailaOdinga.

https://twitter.com/Rail...atus/255684680907649024

Raila OdingaVerified account ‏@RailaOdinga

Uganda is Kenya’s top trading partner. Exports to Uganda constitute a quarter of total earnings from our exports to other African countries

Also as stated by Michael Holman here

http://www.nation.co.ke/...2/-/2098m9/-/index.html

Diplomatic snub

It was a two-fingered diplomatic snub that doubtless sent the ambassadors into a flurry of activity, composing dispatches trying to play down such a frank dismissal. Yet the message at the heart of the State House response could not be ignored. The Kenyan worm has turned — at last.

For years the Kenya Government did the bidding of the bwanas in Britain and bosses in Washington.

Whether boycotting the 1980 Moscow Olympics or being soft on apartheid, whether making deals that turned Mombasa into a US navy facility, or allowing north-east Kenya to become a vast training ground for British troops, State House could be counted on to meekly roll over and comply with West desires.

Those days have gone. And in making it clear that Europe no longer counts in the way it once did, I suspect that State House is reflecting a widely held view.
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
erifloss
#128 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 11:43:19 AM

a4architect.com wrote:
@Quicksand..do you honestly believe the EU and USA are in this ICC hulabaloo for the good of Kenyans? If so, how come Uhuruto can command over 40% of electorate confidence? How come 40% of middle class tv voters as shown in the last presidential debate support Uhuru? This class is the most educated in Kenya.
The ICC is simply a regime change tool so as to impose leaders who will allow the country's resources to be looted. The more kenya maintains minimal contact with the west, the more our economy improves.

@a4architect.com, tribalism is the word. People still think through their tribes.
As one politician correctly put it, "ethnicity is a disease of the elite" and i'll add "used to enhance impunity though perpetuated by the ignorant poor."
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
#129 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 11:47:03 AM

^^^^^^ hahahaha a4arch, ati kenya flexed an emaciated muscle lol! Let me wake you up! Baks maintained a tight relationship with the west, but but expanded our frontiers further to the east, a clever move. To put it crudely, he EXPANDED CHINA'S MARKET for their products n services n loans. We still begged for aid from the west and you know it. Did china give us any aid? Did they import any finished good from us other than old batteries n scrap metal that is wrecking havoc on public property in form of vandalism? I have not seen more absurd thinking since the advent of multiparty. Kwani UHURU amedanganya watu kivipi? All I see is pure madness!
a4architect.com
#130 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 11:49:07 AM

@erifloss..i doubt if tribalism alone can be the bulk support for Uhuruto. If this was the case, then Karua,Kenneth,Muite, presidential candidates from central, could also be commanding some tribal votes from the same block. A majority of uhuruto followers are due to
1.their perceived anti west policy
2. Their manifesto
a4architect.com
#131 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 11:54:18 AM

^^^^^^ hahahaha ati kenya flexed an emaciated muscle lol! Let me wake you up! Baks maintained a tight relationship with the west, but but expanded our frontiers further to the east, a clever move. To put it crudely, he EXPANDED CHINA'S MARKET for their products n services n loans. We still begged for aid from the west and you know it. Did china give us any aid? Did they import any finished good from us other than old batteries n scrap metal that is wrecking havoc on public property in form of vandalism? I have not seen more absurd thinking since the advent of multiparty. Kwani UHURU amedanganya watu kivipi? All I see is pure madness!

@Simonkabs.. I dont think being anti west means being pro china. Any bilateral agreeements that are not win win will eventually hurt the economy. Since Uganda is our largest trading partner, more emphasis should be in countries which import from us,such as Uganda, which recently overtook UK.

We mostly export cash crops to EU. The EU control the prices through auction method so we only get paid enough to keep us alive hence unfavourable trade. Thats why smart kenyans are now cutting down coffee and repacing with maize and beans. Maize and beans can be sold favorably to Uganda etc whereby we get paid the actual worth, without auctions e.t.c.
Watch this video below by Susan George,for details

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_viNHVzadeM
#132 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 12:05:35 PM

a4architect.com wrote:
@erifloss..i doubt if tribalism alone can be the bulk support for Uhuruto. If this was the case, then Karua,Kenneth,Muite, presidential candidates from central, could also be commanding some tribal votes from the same block. A majority of uhuruto followers are due to
1.their perceived anti west policy
2. Their manifesto

I doubt.

1. Tribal blocks
2. RAO phobia which I have some.
3. Sympathy over ICC.

Anti west campaigns are mere excuses to justify their tribal choices coz there is no other way of explaining themselves. How do you even begin to defend uhuru for instance? Any accompolishment in his name as MP, Minister in several portifolios, Leader of official opposition?

Manifesto? Let me not even start.

So, ill informed anti west noise makes a good scapegoat.......UK has made people unreasonably rebellious n if he is indeed like his fanatics which I doubt, he will pay dearly for it. That day, I won't sympathize.
a4architect.com
#133 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 12:12:09 PM

listen at minute 5. Susan George saysIts the Africans/South who support EU/North financially.

http://youtu.be/_viNHVzadeM?t=5m6s
#134 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 4:11:07 PM

a4architect.com wrote:
A majority of uhuruto followers are due to

1. Their manifesto

Unfortunately that manifesto is an insult to any economist alive Sad

Its like the fanatics cannot differentiate between reality & a dream!
Nabwire
#135 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 5:26:27 PM

Mkeiyd I dont even know where to begin. First for the record I am not an Uhuruto fan as you assume, I just refused to sit in silence and watch his character assassinated, while people peddle cheap rumors to instill fear and make people not vote for him. I believe in fairness, if you cant fairly beat Uhuru, dont resort to coercion and blackmail. Then onto freedom, im just baffled. After the Iraq war, it was very common for Americans to have have 'freedom is not free' stickers on their cars, just think about that for a minute. You say the Chinese, Koreans etc have freeom to vacation and enjoy life, have you ever thought of how they got to that level? Do you think by always toeing the line, you will get to their level? The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results. With your thinking, you will never be free, you will always remain subservient, but then again freedom does not mean alot to you. And what exactly do you understand by doing business on their terms? What does factory work have to do with terms? You know how many times China has been told not to do business with this or that country, but they still went ahead and did so, that the definition of doing business on your terms. You have your reasons for voting whomever will make sure those ships go to Mombasa before Dar, and someone else has their reasons for voting the opposite. Thats what free and fair elections are, may the best person win. I'm not here to make you vote in one way or another, but you have to respect the choice that the majority make, and that choice ought to be made without fear and coercion.
#136 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 6:47:23 PM

I still havent gotten an answer as to what my intentions would be if i took cows to guru's father.

The reason why the West would never leave us is because of what we have and what we are to become, its not a coincidence that they are now finding out that Kenyans (and not Tzdians or S.Africans) have the skill and expertise to run and work for their companies , they would not dare waste money on you if they dint see you as an "opportunity" because that is what Kenya/africa is. An opportunity for exploitation and an opportunity for to expand their markets.

The reality is, they are loosing ground very fast to the Chinese...as you have seen in the numbers above....and they are very aware that if/when they step out, the chings will be very fast in stepping in....Do they want this????? I doubt it. China is very aware that with its population growth and limited resources, their economy cannot sustain the momentum not unless they "co-operate" with other countries and hence their rush for resources in Latin America and Africa. They have now gone all out to the extent of starting a News channel to rival the likes of CNN and BBC and have employed a completely diff strategy, hiring locals and showing very positive news and documentaries in China about Africa. Do you think its just by coincidence that the station is in Kenya and not Nigeria?

On the balance of trade...the situation in Kenya is replicated everywhere in the world mainly because China has established itself as the worlds "mtu wa mkono"...a while back, there was an epidose on Money Matters where a Kenyan enterpreneur was making tablets (i forget his name) said that they are having them made in China, in 2012 the exports to China from the US were 110,590.1, while the imports were 425,643.6 (figures in USD Millions) this is maily because China has become the worlds workshop. Now on those complaining of having toothpicks from China...why dont you make your own, buy your own and drive the Chinese out of our shelves? How long shall you keep complaining yet you dont appreciate the local stuff and ingenuity. If am not wrong it was @Mkeiyd who said (on another thread) that Africa has no art to show off like the Monalisa etc...Why dont we appreciate Mutiso's wood carving or Onyancha's soap stone artifact?

The only way Africa will grow is not by interacting west but by being consumers of their own stuff
#137 Posted : Tuesday, February 19, 2013 7:17:48 PM

@Nabwire ...I don't think the majority here are out to assassinate their characters. Just stating facts. And the facts are these 2 have a case of crimes against humanity to answer. They were indicted. An indictment is very serious business in Criminal Law. Means enough evidence has been found to file charges and the have the accused answer them. Now, Kenya willingly signed and ratified the ICC/Rome treaty. In addition, our own parliament asserted that the PEV cases be referred to the ICC. If that does not grant legitimacy to the court I don't know what does.

Which brings me to the second point. If these 2 are innocent, the case should not stick. But why vie before clearing their names? This is not only a moral question, but also a logistical and practical one. May be you would like hazard a reply on how the duo will govern while fully occupied 9 to 5 for the foreseeable few months? The refusal to reign in their ambition until their case is dispensed with shows leaders who are selfish and who put their interests first before those of the nation. It is a disingenuous candidacy, they are not interested in leading, they are interested in power.

You have said ...
Nabwire wrote:

I just refused to sit in silence and watch his character assassinated, while people peddle cheap rumors to instill fear and make people not vote for him.

You (and others) could be accused of peddling cheap rumours as well, making this to be about freedom, when clearly it is not. It is well orchestrated propaganda, meant to tug at the nationalism of a misguided electorate.
Like @mkeiyd asked ...
What will Kenya be able to do,by voting suspects,that we CAN'T do now?
What is your understanding of being free? Do you think you can be free of macro-economic policies and laws made by your state, especially if you don't like them? Cause I am trying to understand your statement in the context of 'freedom'

With your thinking, you will never be free, you will always remain subservient, but then again freedom does not mean alot to you.

Subservient to who? We all pay taxes to KRA, are kept in good order by the Kenya Police and are adjudicated by Kenyan courts. I have never been stopped by any man, European or otherwise from personally going on about my business. This freedom argument is a fallacy. It is rhetoric. In fact, many will be perfectly free to vote uhuruto on 4th. As for trade, we have to comply to policies and terms of whoever we are trading with be it China, Uganda or the EU - ergo, we are subject to obey those policies. So, nobody is 'free' in that respect, not even the US. But then, that is not what freedom is.
You don't go about business in town in stained clothes, you clean them out first. This is what these accusations are, to use a rudimentary analogy. The conclusion of the trial should succeed or fail in removing the stains - but the cleaning is not done when the clothes are on the body. It is very simple. The duo should not have vied, and having failed that, right thinking Kenyans shouldn't vote them into power.
Nabwire
#138 Posted : Wednesday, February 20, 2013 5:51:54 AM

I really dont want to be caught up in this stuff. I do agree that Uhuru should clear his name before running for President, but contingent on Raila also being barred from running, coz we all know who the mastermind of PEV is. Get all three off the roster and your argument makes sense, otherwise its just hot air. And dont pretend like you didnt see a certain wazuan launch a very malicious, bitter and hateful campaign against Uhuruto, the lies had to be countered. I dont feel like debating your other points.
#139 Posted : Wednesday, February 20, 2013 8:25:05 AM

Nabwire wrote:
I really dont want to be caught up in this stuff. I do agree that Uhuru should clear his name before running for President, but contingent on Raila also being barred from running, coz we all know who the mastermind of PEV is. Get all three off the roster and your argument makes sense, otherwise its just hot air. And dont pretend like you didnt see a certain wazuan launch a very malicious, bitter and hateful campaign against Uhuruto, the lies had to be countered. I dont feel like debating your other points.

smile smile We joined Wazua to debate, dissent, agree and discuss ideas, therefore if you post an opinion, you will damn get a reply if I care about the subject. How insincere of you to feign disinterest at this point after posting vigorously, even addressing some very sharp remarks towards fellow posters?
Anyway, that is your choice. I will counter the points you have raised by saying this ....how are we supposed to stop RAO? He hasn't been charged with a crime and the integrity suit he was enjoined was thrown out. Opinion does not constitute a trial. These intimations of who did what concerning PEV are useless unless those accusations appear on a court charge sheet. It is hot air, to use your own words. Secondly, I haven't read this Wazuan's post who you claim launched a malicious and hateful campaign against Uhuruto. Point me in its direction so I can judge for myself. However, and I didn't assume that all are devoid of malice or ill intent; That is why I started my post with the phrase ...

...I don't think the majority here are out to assassinate their characters. Just stating facts

I presume the minority covers this wazuan you are referring to.
Please, go and gather your thoughts then resume posting, reading other people's opinion makes one an informed person Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#140 Posted : Wednesday, February 20, 2013 8:52:22 AM

Nabwire wrote:
You know how many times China has been told not to do business with this or that country, but they still went ahead and did so,

You keep ranting and raving China, china, china, china!

This is the same China that will still do whatever the USA requires..
http://www.2point6billio...-oil-imports-10808.html

China is only usually hard headed with the USA when the USA tries to influence domestic policy eg currency

But What is Kenya compared to Iran??

In Africa we have plenty of replacements for Kenya in terms of labour, resources, & the port ie Nigeria, Morocco, Egypt, Namibia, Tanzania

This makes Kenya dispensable by both the West & China with our tiny tiny tiny economy!!!