Jubilee Manifesto
McReggae wrote:@mawinder I didn't know all jubilants own that company unless you didn't get the gist of the post
Free solar powered laptops for class ones starting next year. Bullshit of the year. Reminds Pamba n the gang promising to insure all livestock in kenya, now this easily passed as bullshit of the century. Back to laptops for kids who cannot even write their names properly, some walk barefoot n study under trees, some walk bare butts. And a laptop is what they can think about! This alone, confirms the comedy that is UK, and the hot air he spews. Lol! I can still hear it {the bullshit} splashing in my ears! TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
How hard is it to argue based on the documents? The two manifestos 'TRANSFORMING KENYA' by the Jubilee Coalition and 'UNLEASHING KENYA POTENTIAL' by Cord should inform these arguments,critique as those are the only time we can make a sound debate.How many have even read either of these documents anyway?
Hiyo ya laptop for a class 1 kid ni upus mtupu. It is impractical too. Did anyone read Gitau Warigis article in the Sunday Nation? He nailed it!
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/28/2008 Posts: 2,276 Location: Kibish
simonkabz wrote:McReggae wrote:@mawinder I didn't know all jubilants own that company unless you didn't get the gist of the post
Free solar powered laptops for class ones starting next year. Bullshit of the year. Reminds Pamba n the gang promising to insure all livestock in kenya, now this easily passed as bullshit of the century. Back to laptops for kids who cannot even write their names properly, some walk barefoot n study under trees, some walk bare butts. And a laptop is what they can think about! This alone, confirms the comedy that is UK, and the hot air he spews. Lol! I can still hear it {the bullshit} splashing in my ears! Yaaaaawn! where is my glass of miok? Nadondosha meli kubwa seuze ngalawa!
I had in mind such an idea.Free laptops for kids. It's a project that has worked in some poor countries India and indonesia included. The purpose was to make learning more interesting and revolutionalise how children are educated in this part of the world so it's not really a Laptop project rather an educational one. EAC ADOPTS ONE LAPTOP PER CHILD INITIATIVE:2010 http://www.eala.org/media-centr...er-child-initiative.htmlThere's nothing new here if anything, we are behind things. But challenges lay ahead.In some few countries programmes failed to work requiring technicians from the supplier company to fix the problems. If that is well covered then we are talking about jobs for our youths. The other challenge is Internet. And what about the cost of implementing it? It's very expensive even though a laptop is estimated to cost apprx.$100 I would suggest that they do a pilot project first for a year and see if it will produce positive results. I am however very optimistic and believe it can work if the kids first have desks and chairs to sit on. cambodia "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
RWANDAQuote:Rwanda launched the One Laptop Per Child program (OLPC) in June 2008 and the current proposed target is to provide all students from P4 to P6 access to laptops. Pilot Project: The Government of Rwanda (GoR) in partnership with the Microsoft Corporation developed another pilot project at Inyange (APAKE) Primary School in Gicumbi District. This pilot project involved the training of teachers and local school technician, in total, 17 teachers were trained, Electrical installations in classrooms were done, Internet access set up and Content servers installed. We need to think ahead.I fully support this. Smaller countries are doing this.Kenya as usual is pessimistic. "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
One Laptop per Child targets Middle East and E Africahttp://www.bbc.co.uk/news/10091177Quote:The partnership between One Laptop per Child (OLPC) and the East African Community (EAC) aims to deliver 30 million laptops in the region by 2015.
The EAC was currently drafting a letter to US President Barack Obama to ask if the US could provide assistance to pay for the project. The countries were also exploring links with the aid community, he said.
"This is a very ambitious project for which we will have to partner with various people and institutions to mobilise and fund the resources required to meet our objectives by 2015," said Ambassador Juma Mwapachu, secretary general of the EAC.
The organisation represents the governments of Tanzania, Rwanda, Kenya, Uganda and Burundi.
Go for it.It's not really a Jubilee project but a community one. Why not support it? "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
essyk wrote:One Laptop per Child targets Middle East and E Africahttp://www.bbc.co.uk/news/10091177Quote:The partnership between One Laptop per Child (OLPC) and the East African Community (EAC) aims to deliver 30 million laptops in the region by 2015.
The EAC was currently drafting a letter to US President Barack Obama to ask if the US could provide assistance to pay for the project. The countries were also exploring links with the aid community, he said.
"This is a very ambitious project for which we will have to partner with various people and institutions to mobilise and fund the resources required to meet our objectives by 2015," said Ambassador Juma Mwapachu, secretary general of the EAC.
The organisation represents the governments of Tanzania, Rwanda, Kenya, Uganda and Burundi.
Go for it.It's not really a Jubilee project but a community one. Why not support it? Yes, why can't the government support and supplement such efforts?
Rank: Veteran Joined: 5/20/2008 Posts: 1,126 Location: Nairobi
essyk wrote:RWANDAQuote:Rwanda launched the One Laptop Per Child program (OLPC) in June 2008 and the current proposed target is to provide all students from P4 to P6 access to laptops. Pilot Project: The Government of Rwanda (GoR) in partnership with the Microsoft Corporation developed another pilot project at Inyange (APAKE) Primary School in Gicumbi District. This pilot project involved the training of teachers and local school technician, in total, 17 teachers were trained, Electrical installations in classrooms were done, Internet access set up and Content servers installed. We need to think ahead.I fully support this. Smaller countries are doing this.Kenya as usual is pessimistic. Thanks for putting this up...
I believe it has shattered the pessimism from many.JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
essyk wrote:RWANDAQuote:Rwanda launched the One Laptop Per Child program (OLPC) in June 2008 and the current proposed target is to provide all students from P4 to P6 access to laptops. Pilot Project: The Government of Rwanda (GoR) in partnership with the Microsoft Corporation developed another pilot project at Inyange (APAKE) Primary School in Gicumbi District. This pilot project involved the training of teachers and local school technician, in total, 17 teachers were trained, Electrical installations in classrooms were done, Internet access set up and Content servers installed. We need to think ahead.I fully support this. Smaller countries are doing this.Kenya as usual is pessimistic. The analogue generation which still live in the hapo zamani za kale,vitendawili etc that is pessimistic otherwise the jubilants know the plan will work.
Other than the usual hot air and the abnoxious fanatics who piss all over, the event was highly organized and quite a spectacle. So well dramatized that CORD comes nowhere close. The part I loved most is "wapi nduru ya BABA YAOOOOO!" Sasa hapo, I felt niiice! Kudos to the team UK, a pat on the back for true fans, down with the crazy fanatics. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
mawinder wrote:essyk wrote:RWANDAQuote:Rwanda launched the One Laptop Per Child program (OLPC) in June 2008 and the current proposed target is to provide all students from P4 to P6 access to laptops. Pilot Project: The Government of Rwanda (GoR) in partnership with the Microsoft Corporation developed another pilot project at Inyange (APAKE) Primary School in Gicumbi District. This pilot project involved the training of teachers and local school technician, in total, 17 teachers were trained, Electrical installations in classrooms were done, Internet access set up and Content servers installed. We need to think ahead.I fully support this. Smaller countries are doing this.Kenya as usual is pessimistic. The analogue generation which still live in the hapo zamani za kale,vitendawili etc that is pessimistic otherwise the jubilants know the plan will work. Actually this is quite feasible..supplying every standard one child with this laptop would cost slightly less than a billion.. It's not hard to make decisions when you know what your values are.
This concept has been on cnn(where i first heard it years ago on ideas), newsweek, times, and generally acclaimed as an idea by leading lights such as google(major sponsors), ban ki moon.The analogue guys cannot understand it! This is simply beyond their class of politics. Theirs is how to grab and subdivide land on their terms, lets not even talk of some fringe candidates who can only think in cdf kind of box. A New Kenya
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
Sad thing is that everything Jubilee and CORD put in their manifestos are very achievable. Question is, will they see it through? I doubt. My worry with Jubilee's manifesto is it did not address the most important thing I hoped to see particularly in theirs, fighting corruption. With the two, president and vice attending the Hague and their minds in the trial, it will be a free for all for the hawks left behind. BBI will solve it :)
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/18/2008 Posts: 3,434 Location: Kerugoya
@Essky, I am proud of you. Next time you look in the mirror, wink and blow yourself a kiss for you are super woman.
Much Know wrote:This concept has been on cnn(where i first heard it years ago on ideas), newsweek, times, and generally acclaimed as an idea by leading lights such as google(major sponsors), ban ki moon.The analogue guys cannot understand it! This is simply beyond their class of politics. Theirs is how to grab and subdivide land on their terms, lets not even talk of some fringe candidates who can only think in cdf kind of box. Like we don't know. ........Keep on pissing on your prefered candidate. It's all good for us who watch from the sidelines. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
simonkabz wrote:Much Know wrote:This concept has been on cnn(where i first heard it years ago on ideas), newsweek, times, and generally acclaimed as an idea by leading lights such as google(major sponsors), ban ki moon.The analogue guys cannot understand it! This is simply beyond their class of politics. Theirs is how to grab and subdivide land on their terms, lets not even talk of some fringe candidates who can only think in cdf kind of box. Like we don't know. ........Keep on pissing on your prefered candidate. It's all good for us who watch from the sidelines. They coiled until a lday came to their rescue with a concept that is still in trial and now he comes to yap around, has he been to Rwanda to ascertain the penetration of the concept. To tell us that in March when they take power they will give solar powered laptops to every class one pupil is a big dream not achievable. There is still so much to be done in our school before we even think of this....talk of populism!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Jubilee Manifesto