wazua Sat, Mar 1, 2025

9 Pages«<56789>
CITIZEN GETS IT ALL WRONG!!!
#121 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 6:20:54 PM

Is there anybody else still insisting on 13..? or we have now created a contest within our own heads...?

Every body seems to be in agreement its 17..
120 posts and still rolling

I think we @14, are being intentionally marginalized! Tunaomba serikali......

#122 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 6:21:06 PM

quicksand wrote:
popat wrote:
So where are we on this one.Me this 13 is the collect answer.Whichever way u look at it.

Type 21-3×2+4÷2 exactly as is into the Google search box, hit Enter ...
Alternatively type =21-3*2+4/2 into the Excel expression bar (with the equals sign)
Both evaluate to 17.
Not convinced? Enter the expression in WolframAlpha
http://www.wolframalpha.com
the site ran by Wolfram Research, the guy who invented Mathematica.
To those who insist 13, the people who programmed Excel and Google are brighter than you, and Wolfram is a certified Mathematical genius, I am not saying I am at par with them, far from it but at least I can evaluate this equation correctly ...
17 is the answer ..end of story.

If a certified mathematical genius makes a statement, then that statement is true.

Wolfram states that 21-6+2= 17. And Wolfram is a mathematical genius.

Therefore the statement 21-6+2= 17 is true.

Clearly this proof is not relying on mathematics. It relies on social postulates, that is on our judgment on a person as a mathematical genius or that he scored an A in his exams.

This argument still holds for any program made by humans.

But in essence it cannot be a proof. I say the answer is 17 because it is the consequence of a simple and 'natural' ordering procedure and as beings with limited rationality we 'should' always seek to simplify. That is conform as much as possible, with 'nature'.

I don't know where you get this social postulates stuff from,..and Wolfram didn't directly state that 21-6+2= 17 ... he made an inference engine in which the left to right rule is clearly apparent. As is also the case with Excel and Google. What I have done is similar to an author of a paper referencing a more detailed, expert focused paper. I am saying, look at these guys, and their expertise and work, and they do it this way, and their claim is probably more correct as opposed to your BODMAS theory from lower primary school. It is in essence proof. It is normal to defer to people who know more than you, esp in a scientific issues because there is a systematic way of establishing theories and proofs,...invoking tired predicates becomes unnecessary, the credentials speak loud enough.
In any case, if I was a total moron in maths and you placed a maths professor and some guy who works as a lawyer or real state agent to puzzle a maths equation, I would probably believe the professor.

You are right up to the point of maintaining a status quo. But a status quo is social. And its values are questionable. Example: 'Professor' is a social symbol, 'P' is an abstract symbol that can be used in mathematics.
pleasecallme
#123 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 6:25:22 PM

Surely how can it be 13???... 21-6+2. 21 is positive (+21), 6 is negative (-6), 2 is positive (+2). Having said that +/- have same precedence and shud be performed from left to right. That means you get same answer even after rearranging.

21-6+2 = +21-6+2 = -6+21+2 = +21+2-6 = +2-6+21.....

hata ukioba serikari iingirie..the ans is 17
You kill bird...bird dead snake come.
#124 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 7:13:18 PM

Citizen did not want such kind of debate that is why they chose a neutral answer; 20. I will go with that

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause reminds me of Marende's solomoronic rulings
#125 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 7:15:28 PM

Is there anybody else still insisting on 13..? or we have now created a contest within our own heads...?

Every body seems to be in agreement its 17..
120 posts and still rolling

OK. The ans is 17!

But if your 10year old son asks, it's 13!Otherwise he'll fail his maths paper for overthinking!
#126 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 7:17:02 PM

Gadaffi wrote:
Hehehe...i placed this ques to colleagues in th office n surprisingly all th ladies said th ans is 17 while all th men thot the ans is 13..thats wierd

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I asked some ladies and they gave 13 as the ans. Those workmates of yours are wazuans
#127 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 8:26:02 PM

Haha, hii BODMAS imekuwa BADMATH. I don't know how I missed this thread. 17.
#128 Posted : Monday, October 29, 2012 9:22:54 PM

Citizen did not want such kind of debate that is why they chose a neutral answer; 20. I will go with that

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Applause Applause reminds me of Marende's solomoronicrulings

#129 Posted : Wednesday, October 31, 2012 3:29:58 PM

Numbers standing alone by themselves are totally meaningless!

Some one asks you to work out 21-3×2+4÷2

Before you take out your calc, you should ask to be told:

21 what?

3 what?

2 what?

4 what?

2 what?

That is the only way you can get to the correct answer.

Otherwise, I will ask what is BODMAS, who invented it and why?

After all; didn't John Wheeler say that you should never do a calculation unless you know the answer?
specky
#130 Posted : Wednesday, October 31, 2012 4:47:21 PM

from the thread kumbe si mimi nilipata E peke yangu,but it all depends on who was right after all....
#131 Posted : Wednesday, October 31, 2012 4:54:20 PM

The post should now read "WAZUANS GOT IT ALL WRONG"

#132 Posted : Wednesday, October 31, 2012 5:05:21 PM

I have not even tried to try it.
#133 Posted : Wednesday, October 31, 2012 5:25:04 PM

mukiha wrote:
Numbers standing alone by themselves are totally meaningless!

Some one asks you to work out 21-3×2+4÷2

Before you take out your calc, you should ask to be told:

21 what?

3 what?

2 what?

4 what?

2 what?

That is the only way you can get to the correct answer.

Otherwise, I will ask what is BODMAS, who invented it and why?

After all; didn't John Wheeler say that you should never do a calculation unless you know the answer?

John Wheeler what?

#134 Posted : Wednesday, October 31, 2012 6:23:52 PM

maths is a hard nut to crack....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vU5LoCLGMdQ
#135 Posted : Wednesday, October 31, 2012 6:34:21 PM

[quote=kingfisher]maths is a hard nut to crack....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vU5LoCLGMdQ[/quote]
Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Broken ribs.
#136 Posted : Wednesday, October 31, 2012 8:47:50 PM

PROMANETT
#137 Posted : Wednesday, October 31, 2012 10:12:53 PM

21-3x2+4/2

BODMAS

21-(3x2)+ 4/2

21-6+(4/2)

21-6+2

15 + 2 =? or

21+2-6 =!!!

Maths is fun
Wealth, like happiness, is never attained when sought after directly. It comes as a by-product of providing a useful service - Henry Ford
#138 Posted : Wednesday, October 31, 2012 10:37:34 PM

138 posts and still going strong....

"Dear Maths.
Please grow up and solve your own problems!!"
on a Tee-shirt
#139 Posted : Wednesday, October 31, 2012 11:02:27 PM

#140 Posted : Thursday, November 01, 2012 3:30:00 AM

One forte