wazua Tue, Nov 19, 2024

10 Pages«<56789>»
Impact of 30% rental income tax on housing development in Kenya
#121 Posted : Saturday, June 16, 2012 10:23:15 PM

Let me call a spade a spade.

A lot of us as Kenyans love complaining all the time. The roads in Eastleigh are the worst in the world but you know they deserve it. They don't pay any taxes. See a thread here on someone using one of those walalo tax avoiding shipping companies.

I hate gov't but I have seen what good governance can do.

Gov't starts with me, the citizen. If I continuously complain about gov't resources and pay no tax, I'm basically a thief. Stealing from all the hard working Kenyans who get salaries deducted income tax every month....you know, your tenant. Robbery without violence....

That's one of the reasons I felt nothing for the paper thieves who got their mansions destroyed in Syokimau. They knew what they were getting themselves into but they thought they were cleverer than the whole world.

That unfortunately is a moral topic which I'm not qualified to discuss.

However, I can discuss my experience and facts.

Someone here is claiming that big gov't is bad for the economy. Then has the audacity of quoting the USA.

So let me give you a few economics facts

When the great depression happened because of greedy speculators, the saviour was gov't. It taxed and got everyone back to work building roads and the infrastructure we care about.

There was bigger gov't.

When Regan, the republican Jesus, saw the economy floundering, he increased gov't spending. More tax...shhhh it's a secret.

When George Bush Senior saw the economy floundering, he increased taxes..Again more jobs

When George Bush Jnr went with this smaller gov't stuff....we are still paying for it.

The history is clear. When the economy is burnt up and can't create jobs organically, you need to have more gov't spending on crazy things like the us super highways, going to the moon....things like Thika road!

All the rest is hogwash politics.

Now the problem in Kenya is not bigger gov't or more taxes.

It's you fools electing the wrong leaders. Unfortunately if you elect Kisia, Waititu and expect them to understand what the last budget was about, you are mad.

When I ask guys what does Raila stand for in terms of my tax or Uhuru, or Ruto, I'm told stupid things like jaruos will never rule. Kumbe wewe ndio KUBAFU. Pay the 30% and shut up.

There is nothing wrong with the tax regime. If you elect bad leaders who eat your money, please don't blame taxes....Blame yourself for electing a fool for a leader....Making you a bigger fool.

So my stand in this is very clear.

I want no taxes at all.

But I've seen enough in my life to know that some people are eating what they don't deserve.
Ali Baba
#122 Posted : Sunday, June 17, 2012 2:48:37 AM

ALMA>>>Those are the greatest words of wisdom I have read in Wazua in a longtime.Kubafus elect waititu and Sonko who are deficient of any intellectual content except brawls and then complain about the government??? Wake up,Wazua kubafus and smell the coffee.
Gadaffi
#123 Posted : Sunday, June 17, 2012 1:38:52 PM

Let me call a spade a spade.

A lot of us as Kenyans love complaining all the time. The roads in Eastleigh are the worst in the world but you know they deserve it. They don't pay any taxes. See a thread here on someone using one of those walalo tax avoiding shipping companies.

I hate gov't but I have seen what good governance can do.

Gov't starts with me, the citizen. If I continuously complain about gov't resources and pay no tax, I'm basically a thief. Stealing from all the hard working Kenyans who get salaries deducted income tax every month....you know, your tenant. Robbery without violence....

That's one of the reasons I felt nothing for the paper thieves who got their mansions destroyed in Syokimau. They knew what they were getting themselves into but they thought they were cleverer than the whole world.

That unfortunately is a moral topic which I'm not qualified to discuss.

However, I can discuss my experience and facts.

Someone here is claiming that big gov't is bad for the economy. Then has the audacity of quoting the USA.

So let me give you a few economics facts

When the great depression happened because of greedy speculators, the saviour was gov't. It taxed and got everyone back to work building roads and the infrastructure we care about.

There was bigger gov't.

When Regan, the republican Jesus, saw the economy floundering, he increased gov't spending. More tax...shhhh it's a secret.

When George Bush Senior saw the economy floundering, he increased taxes..Again more jobs

When George Bush Jnr went with this smaller gov't stuff....we are still paying for it.

The history is clear. When the economy is burnt up and can't create jobs organically, you need to have more gov't spending on crazy things like the us super highways, going to the moon....things like Thika road!

All the rest is hogwash politics.

Now the problem in Kenya is not bigger gov't or more taxes.

It's you fools electing the wrong leaders. Unfortunately if you elect Kisia, Waititu and expect them to understand what the last budget was about, you are mad.

When I ask guys what does Raila stand for in terms of my tax or Uhuru, or Ruto, I'm told stupid things like jaruos will never rule. Kumbe wewe ndio KUBAFU. Pay the 30% and shut up.

There is nothing wrong with the tax regime. If you elect bad leaders who eat your money, please don't blame taxes....Blame yourself for electing a fool for a leader....Making you a bigger fool.

So my stand in this is very clear.

I want no taxes at all.

But I've seen enough in my life to know that some people are eating what they don't deserve.

The issue at hand is what the tax money does in terms of service provision. Most people are aggitated since the are currently paying some other form form of tax-PAYE, VAT- yet there is no equivalent form of service provision. I wld personally not object to a 50% tax rate if the services I am to receive are equivalent to what I am PAYING. So I agree with u on the issue of selecting our leaders who are responsible in managing our taxes/resources.
#124 Posted : Sunday, June 17, 2012 3:10:50 PM

@ Alma,

You have spoken! We deserve the leaders we elect. MPs are a reflection of the Kenyan society. If we want responsible leaders to use the taxes wisely, they we have to elect such leaders.
#125 Posted : Sunday, June 17, 2012 6:43:43 PM

[quote=Ali Baba]ALMA>>>Those are the greatest words of wisdom I have read in Wazua in a longtime.Kubafus elect waititu and Sonko who are deficient of any intellectual content except brawls and then complain about the government??? Wake up,Wazua kubafus and smell the coffee

test your popularity by vying against waititu.waititu may be the one to manage the 500b budget for nairobi and deal with local & foreign investors,diplomats,and other vips.
luttz
#126 Posted : Sunday, June 17, 2012 7:13:50 PM

@ Alma, spot on; our problems starts and ends with wrong leadership. We will only move forward as a country once we elect the right people.
"You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."
bird_man
#127 Posted : Monday, June 18, 2012 12:54:11 AM

I thought this thread was about the impact of the tax on housing development i.e mortgages,loans,planned estates etc....its slowly turning into moral/ethical/political issues.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
Horton
#128 Posted : Monday, June 18, 2012 2:25:48 AM

bird_man wrote:
I thought this thread was about the impact of the tax on housing development i.e mortgages,loans,planned estates etc....its slowly turning into moral/ethical/political issues.

Funny u should say that. It is typical Kenyan to turn anything into siasa. Was watching euro 2012. N some how the conversation turned to politics out of the blue
Ali Baba
#129 Posted : Monday, June 18, 2012 3:03:07 AM

MAWINDER:>>I don't have any interest in vying for a political seat-either now or in future.Well,if he becomes the Nairobi governor,that solidifies our argument.And before you vote for him,please note that he is gifted in brawls,but not brains.
#130 Posted : Monday, June 18, 2012 10:39:08 AM

so if you earn from 2 employers, u r taxed cummulatively and get only 1 relief? is this not unyanyasaji?
Bachuma Gate
#131 Posted : Monday, June 18, 2012 4:30:18 PM

Horton. That is why the wazua veterans like njunge, kularaha, pondi, mukiha slowed or gave up contributing to threads. Some of us want to contribute from an investment perspective but others want to grind their axes and settle scores. We wont get any value with this kind of atitude.
DOH
GGK
#132 Posted : Monday, June 18, 2012 6:47:11 PM

Bachuma Gate wrote:
Horton. That is why the wazua veterans like njunge, kularaha, pondi, mukiha slowed or gave up contributing to threads. Some of us want to contribute from an investment perspective but others want to grind their axes and settle scores. We wont get any value with this kind of atitude.

I agree, we probably need some form of moderation into these threads. Any post that is out of context should be removed
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
Ali Baba
#133 Posted : Monday, June 18, 2012 8:01:35 PM

I tend to disagree.In this day and age,we can't engage in some kind of censorship.The world has become more open.Let us not be like China.If someone goes out of topic,just ignore his/her views.But you guys need to note that even Business Daily do write some politics.You can't engage in economic activities without keeping an eye on politics.They are interrelated.That's why its Githae the politician who introduced some taxes and compliance of returns on investment.And you want to turn a blind eye to that??If you guys want to turn Wazua into an elite club of people who talk business statistics all the time,you will push this site the way of the dinosar.
Bachuma Gate
#134 Posted : Monday, June 18, 2012 10:28:52 PM

A section was created for politics. Initially we had one section for everything and some of us got feed up with ndomo ndomo leading to no where. That is why SK decided to segregate. The section for tantrums and politics is called Club SK.
DOH
Ali Baba
#135 Posted : Tuesday, June 19, 2012 1:09:20 AM

Even here we have a lot of NDOMO.This site is supposed to be for investors.But some people engage in arguments on types of investments they don't invest in.We have many "armchair" investors.Not only do they give misleading advice,but their views are not in tune with the investing world.If you are a ndomo investor,watch your tongue.Only true investors are wanted.
#136 Posted : Tuesday, June 19, 2012 5:00:30 AM

Bachuma Gate wrote:
Time will tell whether this will have a negative impact on housing development in Kenya. I personally think it will.

1. A good number of investors in this sector have bought property to rent. Imagine buying 2-2 bed flats at 9m. You get rent of 15K*2=30K less tax @30%. Is it worth investing 9million to end up with 20K per month ?. I see people rather putting their monies in other investment eg T/Bills etc where even with a rate of 9%, you are likely to end up with more than 50k pm.

Even without the income tax (which is only levied on NET INCOME after interest, maintenance, property taxes, depreciation, etc) the rental yields in many middle market areas were 6-8%.

2. People who still want to invest in properties will prefer areas where it is difficult for the tax man to touch them. So I am seeing more of mlolongo type of houses more than the elegant apartments coming up in Eastlands.

Why would it be that much more difficult for the tax man to tax mlolongo type of houses? A good register (takes time to build) of all land owned & what improvements are on it will help.

3. That rate of 30% is high. It should be graduated like PAYE but at lower rates to encouraged investment in this sector or even zoned. The pricing of flats/houses in Lavi, Kile, Runda is such that the investors may be able to pay tax but with rents of 5-28K in Eastlands, Ronga, Kitengela, Busia, Nyeri, Nakuru and other kenyan towns, I foresee alot of issues.

The tax is a percentage not a flat rate therefore a Landlord with 10 units at 5,000/- pays the same tax as another with 1 unit that yields 50,000/-. Please note I am discussing NET RENT after all allowable expenses.

4. If you borrow to buy a flat and then rent which majority do. Where does this leave you with the tax thing. The INTEREST that you pay the banks on 4.6m is well over 60K pm @20% interest. Yet your rental income is 15-18k. It is not much different when you borrow to build flat(s).

You are allowed to deduct interest from the GROSS RENT therefore you reduce your TAXABLE INCOME. Why would someone borrow at 20% to eran 15%? If they want to speculate on the rising prices then shauri yao. They should have reserves to cover the difference.

5. Most likely landlords will pass this tax to tenants. If you stay in middle class areas eg Langata, South B, Jamhuri, prepare to consider moving to Ronga, Kasarani, Eastlands, Kite etc

Supply & Demand. Landlords wil charge as much as the Market will bear. If you cannot pay the higher rent, the you will have no choice but to move. The Landlord has to find another Tenant. This is not 'free' to the Landlord. If he cannot find someone to rent at the higher rate then he will back down especially if he has interest to pay

#137 Posted : Tuesday, June 19, 2012 5:04:16 AM

Bachuma Gate wrote:
Ali Baba - My topic is not about landlords not paying the tax. It about the impact on housing development. It will help if we discuss on that line.
Investments are made based of projected returns. Currently, developers make great margins but these will drop yet the pace of development will continue.

What affects the construction industry will not be the taxes in NET RENTAL INCOME as much as interest rates (currently at 17% or higher).
#138 Posted : Tuesday, June 19, 2012 5:09:39 AM

If you pay 30k rent but you agree with the landlord that for tax purposes, the rent will be quoted at 10k or 8k [but you still pay him/her 30k] then what next? Will the government/KRA set minimum rents depending on the house?

This thing is just too easy to beat [for residential]. If a landlord gives you an option: Say you pay 30k and cough up an extra 9k in taxes or say you pay 8k and he coughs up the 2.4k taxes or you share it, which option will you take?

By the way, taxes will always be passed to the consumer!!! For those of you thinking that this burden is for the landlord, you had better think again! If you are a tenant, prepare to carry the burden or move to "vitongoji duni"! Habari ndiyo hiyo. These money is coming straight out of YOUR pocket!!!
What a smart tax man does is compare like for like. If you rent a 3-bedroom flat is for 20,000 per month in Langata, they will compare that to other (somewhat) similar flats in the area. You may be 10% 'cheaper' but at some point it looks ridiculous if your neighbour pays 40,000 pm.

In many estates, the flats are similar to each other. A wide variation may lead to an audit. Many flats/estates/compounds have 20-40 flats. A simple comparison of REPORTED rents can alert the Taxman to wide variations. It will take some time but it will happen.
#139 Posted : Tuesday, June 19, 2012 5:13:42 AM

even if they zero in using GIS technology, how will they know if the units are occupied - well they could go ahead and use some form of infrared technology to detect body movement in the individual units.

is it practical ? I don't think so.
It's a slow process but if the Taxman wants to determine how many units are rented, it will ask the landlord to certify how many units are occupied. Then it can 'raid' all the vacant properties to see if they are rented. Finally, it can access electricity & water records of each unit. If Flat A uses 1,000 KW monthly & is occupied, why is Flat B using 1,000 KW yet is unoccupied?
#140 Posted : Tuesday, June 19, 2012 5:15:14 AM

Mkimwa wrote:
Say I take a loan to finance a development, I pay interest on the loan. Will the interest be deducted first from the rent, before levying the 30%?

What about other costs - e.g. security, garbage, gardener, repairs?

If the net rental income (after deducting all related expenses) is what is going to be taxed, that is ok.
Yes, the tax is on NET RENTAL INCOME