wazua Fri, Jul 5, 2024

772 Pages«<6263646566>»
Kenya Airways...why ignore..
#1261 Posted : Wednesday, January 14, 2015 7:39:10 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
What further confirmation does one need that the guy is wrong for CEO?
“The board has retained the services of a financial adviser to help re-balance our demand for cash and buy us time to drive the sales we need,” Mr Ngunze said.
Should the focus be balancing books or filling seats?

Now selling land.

www.businessdailyafrica....42/-/l5qnqr/-/index.html

That is what Naikuni's financial advisor has told them to do. Business as usual. Reminds me of Gareth George at KCB.......
#1262 Posted : Wednesday, January 14, 2015 7:57:18 AM

the land was idle and highly unutilised for many years.. those who live in Nyayo Estate know what im talkin about. its good for KQ to dispose it

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#1263 Posted : Wednesday, January 14, 2015 9:09:06 AM

the land was idle and highly unutilised for many years.. those who live in Nyayo Estate know what im talkin about. its good for KQ to dispose it

No growth envisaged??? Or when that happens they will start buying land again. At what price? Are they going to get such huge tracts in that area? We are not talking about some random land in Kajiado here remember! This is land at the heart of their operations.

They are just selling for accounting purposes!!! That's sad!
derick
#1264 Posted : Wednesday, January 14, 2015 9:29:08 AM

ix
No growth envisaged??? Or when that happens they will start buying land again. At what price? Are they going to get such huge tracts in that area? We are not talking about some random land in Kajiado here remember! This is land at the heart of their operations.

Think that is the bedt way forward. Kama hiyo land is not being used imekua ni liability,It's not generating any income
Your income is directly related to your philosophy, Not the economy.-Jim Rohn
Kastone
#1265 Posted : Wednesday, January 14, 2015 10:14:39 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
What further confirmation does one need that the guy is wrong for CEO?
“The board has retained the services of a financial adviser to help re-balance our demand for cash and buy us time to drive the sales we need,” Mr Ngunze said.
Should the focus be balancing books or filling seats?

The guy is focusing on both. Look at the recent developments. I think return to profitability is coming, but not this year end.
“The beauty of success is that it doesn’t matter how many times you have failed, you only have to be right once and then everyone can tell you how lucky you are.” - Mark Cuban
#1266 Posted : Wednesday, January 14, 2015 3:07:38 PM

Selling prime land to cushion terrible results is just a bad idea!
#1267 Posted : Wednesday, January 14, 2015 3:57:25 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
This is confirmation that Ngunze was the wrong choice for KQ.
http://bit.ly/1KsdQ5i
A sales office in Tea Room, another at the Junction, talk of split personality, lakini nitakufa nayo, my average buy price is shocking.

Tema hio mate mbaya! Ngunze is a gift from God

It's the traders who requested.

Traders requested a ticketing office at Tea Room? Unless it is a cargo centre, they can't walk to Barclay's Plaza to buy a ticket? And how many traders are these to warrant an office?
Let us assume a basic office. Rent 20k, manager 100k, 3 x clerks 100k, cleaner 10k, utilities 20k, total 250k. The office needs to generate 250k per month to cover fixed costs. Kwani hawo watu wa Luthuli wanaleta nini?

Which manager will take home 100Kpm? Talk of 250K basic plus exciting allowances on the side...we are talking of monthly expenditure of 1 million and above.
Biashara ya ndege sio kama ya kuuza samaki, not my words but @Kimunya's!
Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

#1268 Posted : Wednesday, January 14, 2015 4:35:34 PM

derick wrote:
ix

Think that is the bedt way forward. Kama hiyo land is not being used imekua ni liability,It's not generating any income

How much were they paying in rates for that parcel of prime plot? And some of the warehouses appear occupied...did someone think deeply in the decision to sell he land?
They will buy the same plot 10B shilling in 3 years to come...just wait n see.

Aguytrying
#1269 Posted : Wednesday, January 14, 2015 6:24:30 PM

when mawingu was announced I was one of those who heavily criticised it.

KQ debt now stands at 130b!!!! it is the interest payments that are strangling the company and I'm sure it's the reason they are selling the land. to retire some debts.
It still will not be enough if mawingu continues as planned. I don't see any change in fortunes in the near future.
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Magnate
#1270 Posted : Wednesday, January 14, 2015 8:26:20 PM

waiting for it sub 2 we mumias it after a GOK bail out.
No diagnosis,no pragnosis,no pragnosis no profit......Jesse livermore
Gatheuzi
#1271 Posted : Wednesday, January 14, 2015 8:37:30 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
when mawingu was announced I was one of those who heavily criticised it.

KQ debt now stands at 130b!!!! it is the interest payments that are strangling the company and I'm sure it's the reason they are selling the land. to retiroe some debts.
It still will not be enough if mawingu continues as planned. I don't see any change in fortunes in the near future.

@aguy I see you hacked it! The sale is all about cashflows. When you need cash badly, it doesn't matter if your cow is just about to give birth. You only have one choice, sell it! KQ is unfortunately in an ugly financial spot and with limited choices.
Time is money, so money is time. Money saved is time gained in reverse! Money stores your life’s energy. You expend your energy, get paid money, and store that money for a future purchase made in a currency.
#1272 Posted : Wednesday, January 14, 2015 9:11:51 PM

guru267 wrote:

@Obeiro still burying his head under the sand.
#1273 Posted : Wednesday, January 14, 2015 11:24:17 PM

Magnate wrote:
waiting for it sub 2 we mumias it after a GOK bail out.

shetani ashindwe

#1274 Posted : Wednesday, January 14, 2015 11:29:35 PM

guru267 wrote:

@Obeiro still burying his head under the sand.

im loving the ride, many good things lined up for the pride of africa.. wont go into details coz its been said here before.. expect a tidy profit next year.. im still buying

streetwise
#1275 Posted : Thursday, January 15, 2015 8:34:57 AM

Any one has data on how they have managed operational costs for the last three years ( up/downn, graph etc)
#1276 Posted : Monday, January 19, 2015 11:01:50 PM

Brand New Dreamliner spotted at Heathrow hangar today. Should be in Kenya by tomorrow. Madam Koki will deliver

Ash Ock
#1277 Posted : Monday, January 19, 2015 11:15:40 PM

Brand New Dreamliner spotted at Heathrow hangar today. Should be in Kenya by tomorrow. Madam Koki will deliver

?

Next Dreamliner is 5Y-KZG, whose parts are just now arriving in Charleston for assembly.

KQ started flying the Dreamliner to London today (19.01.2015). Maybe that's the one there now, leaving back to Nairobi tonight.
Sent from my Black Nokia 3310
#1278 Posted : Monday, January 19, 2015 11:19:07 PM

Brand New Dreamliner spotted at Heathrow hangar today. Should be in Kenya by tomorrow. Madam Koki will deliver..
Meanwhile KQ staff have for the first time ever accepted a pay reduction!!!

#1279 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 1:47:44 AM

Perhaps KQ will make a Operations Profit in 2H 2014-15. The pay reduction is a good sign. Nevertheless, this doesn't mean I recommend KQ shares.
#1280 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 6:41:18 AM

Perhaps KQ will make a Operations Profit in 2H 2014-15. The pay reduction is a good sign. Nevertheless, this doesn't mean I recommend KQ shares.

No profit in h2, but a massive rebound in h1 2015