SME
Marketing
safaricom die hard section.
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,097 Location: Nairobi
Would you own a huge chunk of any firm & trust GoK to run it??? NO... KLM has control over CEO & CFO appointments at KQ... Vodafone has control over CEO & CFO appointments at Safaricom... Baraclays & StanChart do the same... KCB which still has significant government control lags BBK or SCBK... Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
mozenrat wrote:@Sela...
2. If I were Vodaphone, Safcom would be getting the 32.6%.. After all Vodaphone owns the MPesa IP and hosts the MPesa platform(servers, network connections etc) in UK or Germany. .. u said it all...I own everything and I end up getting 32.6%!!..S.com is the winner here.. Now Moze & Sela... I have 25k imelala kwa account and I wanna grab this S.com thing..when do u think it will click 6/= or atleat 5.50? Ni Uhuru wa Mbesha...Niguo kana tiguo?
"The problem with Africa is that we usually send political representatives who have absolutely no depth or insight on the relevant agenda to negotiate with young ambitious western representatives and history has showed us that usually the representatives will be sleeping in a 5 star hotel,have 2 hours of breakfast then send them to the negotiating table and we honestly expect a fair result! NO!!" - Jakayo Kikwete during the world economic forum on Africa. The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/13/2009 Posts: 1,950 Location: in kenya
VituVingiSana wrote:@selah - If you own 40% of the shares... you get 40% of the dividends... I didnt mean they are not entitled to the dividends the issue is if you own a business why would you charge for something the company has innovated as well as for being associated with you (MPESA & vodafone sarl). My argument is IF I control the budget as well as the business plan of a company it will be out of order for me to charge an innovation that was generated by the company I invested in. Its like Britak or Mwangi charging Equity bank for the Mkesho solution. '......to the acknowledgment of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ; 3 In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.' Colossians 2:2-3
Sms cost cut by 94% http://goo.gl/6vUD'......to the acknowledgment of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ; 3 In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.' Colossians 2:2-3
selah wrote:VituVingiSana wrote:@selah - If you own 40% of the shares... you get 40% of the dividends... I didnt mean they are not entitled to the dividends the issue is if you own a business why would you charge for something the company has innovated as well as for being associated with you (MPESA & vodafone sarl). My argument is IF I control the budget as well as the business plan of a company it will be out of order for me to charge an innovation that was generated by the company I invested in. Its like Britak or Mwangi charging Equity bank for the Mkesho solution. That's called good business... Wacha hiyo ya two different organisations charging each other, I have worked for companies where DEPARTMENTS charge each other rent, labour etc... and you know what, it works wonders... especially when you need to cut out the fat, you can immediately tell which areas are least efficient, which areas can be outsourced..(and I believe that's what management accounting teaches us). I've seen this even with families.. Those parents who teach their kids about compensation.. (pay your kids a salary when they work at your shop na akitaka kuanzisha biashara with your money, charge interest) those kids end up more business savvy and successful than those who are just handed over cash.. (NB// lakini I disagree with those who pay them for making their own beds or for doing household chores which everyone is doing).. That comparison btw Mkesho/Equity doesn't hold any water. Mwangi is an employee of Equity so he can't charge them for the use of Mkesho.. His payment (for any contribution to the development of the platform) is his Salary. Mkesho is owned by either Equity or Safcom so again Britak has no say in it..
@kyukkamba...
I keep my sentiments about a company and about the stock separate...
With regards to Safcom... I have been so lucky.. bought at 5 and again at 3. and again at 2.90.. sold at 5.90...
Now have none... hoping and praying that the fickle shareholders of Kenya panic and it dips to 3.00 again then I dive in.
My problem is and will remain this victimhood attitude people have. Yaani rather than a guy evaluating Safcom objectively, they'll always find a way to find issue.. and its not just Safcom, any company or person that makes it legitimately..
@ moze, i dont think they made it legit, this guys are cons, i bought my modem at 10k. What do you call that? And they still want a refund 4 3G licence? They should also refund me! LOVE WHAT YOU DO, DO WHAT YOU LOVE.
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,097 Location: Nairobi
@kyt - Well... the issue for Safaricom's 3G license is that it is not fair! The 'spectrum' is not manufactured or costs less when manufactured in bulk! I bought a modem for 12,500/- (yes...) but it is like my phone! The phone I paid 25,000/- now costs 5,000/-... technology! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
my friend do you think were it not 4 orange they would have lowered? Dont think so! This guys r cons man! Even orange, its only that orange is the least conning of the 4 datawise. LOVE WHAT YOU DO, DO WHAT YOU LOVE.
Offer being valid from 24 Aug to 23 Sept could anyone be in light as to what tarrif will apply kesho??
Soma gazeti, offer extended to 21st November, They are still waiting for Bart's reaction!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/7/2010 Posts: 2,148 Location: elderville
They renewed it or something. Check the Safaricom die hard thread there may be info there. He who can express in words the ardour of his love, has but little love to express. - Petrach, Son. (That men by various ways arrive at the same end. - Montaigne, The Essays of.)
Zain started an sms smear campaign yesterday today safaricom used the same smear campaign to its advantage.Thats smart thinking on safaricom marketing guys.CASE CLOSED. '......to the acknowledgment of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ; 3 In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.' Colossians 2:2-3
selah wrote:Zain started an sms smear campaign yesterday today safaricom used the same smear campaign to its advantage.Thats smart thinking on safaricom marketing guys.CASE CLOSED. Which smear? He who can express in words the ardour of his love, has but little love to express. - Petrach, Son. (That men by various ways arrive at the same end. - Montaigne, The Essays of.)
The be the judge advert. '......to the acknowledgment of the mystery of God, and of the Father, and of Christ; 3 In whom are hid all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge.' Colossians 2:2-3
Don't know about the smears but indeed the case is closed. Safaricom is lying to Kenyans. Their SMS charges are more expensive than Zain's. There gimmick of buy X number of SMS for 10/20 etc bob chargeable per day only applies to Safaricom to Safaricom SMS. And Zain has a cheaper one there too coz for 20 bob you send virtually unlimited SMS to Zain. So your so called 'smart thinking' is a lie and can only persuade the gullible. He who can express in words the ardour of his love, has but little love to express. - Petrach, Son. (That men by various ways arrive at the same end. - Montaigne, The Essays of.)
Elder wrote:Don't know about the smears but indeed the case is closed. Safaricom is lying to Kenyans. Their SMS charges are more expensive than Zain's. There gimmick of buy X number of SMS for 10/20 etc bob chargeable per day only applies to Safaricom to Safaricom SMS. And Zain has a cheaper one there too coz for 20 bob you send virtually unlimited SMS to Zain. So your so called 'smart thinking' is a lie and can only persuade the gullible. Not so if 80 per cent of my phonebook is still Safcom. Like it or not, safcom is not going away any time soon...
kyt wrote:my friend do you think were it not 4 orange they would have lowered? Dont think so! This guys r cons man! Even orange, its only that orange is the least conning of the 4 datawise. Boss, refer to VVS posts... I remember buying floppy disks at 250 shillings when they first landed here. Sasa I don't even own a gadget that would run them. Its called Technology and its called business. Rest assured Orange would have done the same if they landed here first. and by the way... so much for your beloved Orange... See this quote from wikipedia "On 21 March 2007 Watchdog, a television series by the BBC focusing on consumer protection, published the results from a Broadband survey they held. According to the survey Orange is the worst ISP in the UK. 68% of Orange customers that took part in the survey said they were unsatisfied with Orange's Customer Service, it was voted as the most unreliable broadband provider, and it had the highest number of dissatisfied customers. Two thirds of Orange customers experienced problems cancelling their Orange broadband.[15]" There's even a site : - www.OrangeProblems.co.uk
SME
Marketing
safaricom die hard section.