wazua Wed, Mar 18, 2026

7 Pages«<4567>
Konza City - is it a good investment
sereearth
#76 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2018 1:11:28 AM

With all the analysis, i'd agree with what many of you have said. Getting the right location is the Key to a superior investment, followed by involvement of right people who setup the project strategically. @Country Girl, allow me to give you some critical input, in regard to Konza City and surrounding area (such as Kisaju).

First: Follow the money
Approx KES 40 billion has been agreed to be financed by an Italian financial company for phase 1 of Konza city, and the construction has already commenced by an Italian contractor on 3rd August 2018. I am not sure how the recent rejection of the National Budget bill 2018/19 affects the Konza city. In short this is a boost to the project.

Second: Due diligence
sparkly mentioned something very important, that is:
check the master plan of the area ... zoning and density restrictions, main infrastructure works, public utilities etc

There is no point of buying a land where land is located under the agricultural zone and then expecting to get a change of use to Commercial/residence! It will just not work out for you in terms of future productivity/price appreciation.

Third: Be careful of the hype
Konza may have distorted the local prices, so go somewhere close by, like the nearest town such as Isinya or Kisaju! It's in between Nairobi & Konza. As Hardwood wrote:
Most of the small towns are deficient in good housing. You can get an acre or 2 at a good price and build a "residential estate"

I suggest buying a 1/8 or 1/4 plot in, for example Kisaju Town, provided it is under the right zoning for future productivity. The key word here is Town (Location Location Location!) This is because if you want to collect about 1m in rent each month after the next 15 years, try finding a potential economic hub now! In short, don't be completely dependent on Konza, it will move at it's own phase. This is best put by sqft who wrote:
His point was that you can never go wrong investing in land within the city and suburbs when you are young since the city will continue growing exponentially

Fourth: Best use of the Land
There is nothing to add here because Angelica _ann explains it better:
We must start seeing land as a factor of production and stop focusing on this 40 by 80 speculation plots crazy *curse word' that is the fixation of majority middle class in Nairobi.

Get a 50x100 plot, but you must think beyond speculation. For example can you build a 4 storey building on it immediately if you wished (of course you would build it 8 years to come). Moreover, Kate_Mbarire mentioned
West Suites is Nairobi’s answer to the affordable living concept in the heart of Nairobi West. The project has 168 modern, self contained studio apartments on 13 floors.
I would agree to her to a certain extant, but these homes of about the 250sqft or 25sqm is just not what a growing family wants!! A growing family will need a much bigger spaces and at the same time affordable and near an economic activity. So, in this case Konza sounds nice, but not reliable until things speed up exponentially, thus making places such as Kisaju/Isinya (Nearest growing towns near Konza) appropriate.

SOLUTION & Existing Projects @Country Girl:

For example Sere park is an entertainment zone with mix residence for middle class income owners/families and a great spot for premium & affordable apartments for professionals looking to buy their first property. The location details of the project are:
· Project site is on Tarmac of Namanga Road, in Kisaju town. Kisaju is 15Km ahead of Kintengela Town.
· Approx. 27Km to Konza City.
· Approx. 20Km Proximity to new proposed Nairobi-Mombasa Express highway in Dec 2018.
· Approx. 5km Proximity to new Isinya - Ngong road (This road helps in Avoiding Mombasa road traffic during peak hours in the future).
· Approx. 35km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport.
· Approx. 50Km from Nairobi CBD.
· Less congestion and affordable land prices relatively compared to Nairobi CBD.
· Proposed cities coming up nearby in a 55Km radius includes; Konza Technology City in 5000 acres, Green Isinya city in 1000 acres & Newtown city in 1000 acres.
· With 3 Universities nearby, including RAF International University, KAG university Kenya & The East African University

And here is sere park's official facebook group for latest updates. They are still on the planning phase and require some feedback from the public: https://www.facebook.com/groups/484313738656031/

Most importantly @Country Girl, if you are looking to buy a small plot i.e. like 50x100ft in a controlled estate in a strategic location, with the purpose to build in the future, near sere park in Kisaju town, you can email their team on sereparkkenya@gmail.com for more info
MugundaMan
#77 Posted : Monday, September 17, 2018 8:24:37 AM

sereearth wrote:
With all the analysis, i'd agree with what many of you have said. Getting the right location is the Key to a superior investment, followed by involvement of right people who setup the project strategically. @Country Girl, allow me to give you some critical input, in regard to Konza City and surrounding area (such as Kisaju).

First: Follow the money
Approx KES 40 billion has been agreed to be financed by an Italian financial company for phase 1 of Konza city, and the construction has already commenced by an Italian contractor on 3rd August 2018. I am not sure how the recent rejection of the National Budget bill 2018/19 affects the Konza city. In short this is a boost to the project.

Second: Due diligence
sparkly mentioned something very important, that is:
check the master plan of the area ... zoning and density restrictions, main infrastructure works, public utilities etc

There is no point of buying a land where land is located under the agricultural zone and then expecting to get a change of use to Commercial/residence! It will just not work out for you in terms of future productivity/price appreciation.

Third: Be careful of the hype
Konza may have distorted the local prices, so go somewhere close by, like the nearest town such as Isinya or Kisaju! It's in between Nairobi & Konza. As Hardwood wrote:
Most of the small towns are deficient in good housing. You can get an acre or 2 at a good price and build a "residential estate"

I suggest buying a 1/8 or 1/4 plot in, for example Kisaju Town, provided it is under the right zoning for future productivity. The key word here is Town (Location Location Location!) This is because if you want to collect about 1m in rent each month after the next 15 years, try finding a potential economic hub now! In short, don't be completely dependent on Konza, it will move at it's own phase. This is best put by sqft who wrote:
His point was that you can never go wrong investing in land within the city and suburbs when you are young since the city will continue growing exponentially

Fourth: Best use of the Land
There is nothing to add here because Angelica _ann explains it better:
We must start seeing land as a factor of production and stop focusing on this 40 by 80 speculation plots crazy *curse word' that is the fixation of majority middle class in Nairobi.

Get a 50x100 plot, but you must think beyond speculation. For example can you build a 4 storey building on it immediately if you wished (of course you would build it 8 years to come). Moreover, Kate_Mbarire mentioned
West Suites is Nairobi’s answer to the affordable living concept in the heart of Nairobi West. The project has 168 modern, self contained studio apartments on 13 floors.
I would agree to her to a certain extant, but these homes of about the 250sqft or 25sqm is just not what a growing family wants!! A growing family will need a much bigger spaces and at the same time affordable and near an economic activity. So, in this case Konza sounds nice, but not reliable until things speed up exponentially, thus making places such as Kisaju/Isinya (Nearest growing towns near Konza) appropriate.

SOLUTION & Existing Projects @Country Girl:

For example Sere park is an entertainment zone with mix residence for middle class income owners/families and a great spot for premium & affordable apartments for professionals looking to buy their first property. The location details of the project are:
· Project site is on Tarmac of Namanga Road, in Kisaju town. Kisaju is 15Km ahead of Kintengela Town.
· Approx. 27Km to Konza City.
· Approx. 20Km Proximity to new proposed Nairobi-Mombasa Express highway in Dec 2018.
· Approx. 5km Proximity to new Isinya - Ngong road (This road helps in Avoiding Mombasa road traffic during peak hours in the future).
· Approx. 35km from Jomo Kenyatta International Airport.
· Approx. 50Km from Nairobi CBD.
· Less congestion and affordable land prices relatively compared to Nairobi CBD.
· Proposed cities coming up nearby in a 55Km radius includes; Konza Technology City in 5000 acres, Green Isinya city in 1000 acres & Newtown city in 1000 acres.
· With 3 Universities nearby, including RAF International University, KAG university Kenya & The East African University

And here is sere park's official facebook group for latest updates. They are still on the planning phase and require some feedback from the public: https://www.facebook.com/groups/484313738656031/

Most importantly @Country Girl, if you are looking to buy a small plot i.e. like 50x100ft in a controlled estate in a strategic location, with the purpose to build in the future, near sere park in Kisaju town, you can email their team on sereparkkenya@gmail.com for more info

hehehe all roads lead to marketing serepark I see. But that is your right. I disagree with you on investing in urban areas only. That is a huge fallacy. Kisaju shopping centre and Isinya town are not exactly anything to write home about and if the poor planning continues they will mushroom into eyesore towns that will soon have massive slums (like the ones I am seeing mushrooming on the outskirts of Isinya town on the road towards Konza. At least in the hinterlands it is mostly controlled residential estates and farms, unspoiled with almost zero chance of slums developing around them (for now)
#78 Posted : Wednesday, November 21, 2018 4:28:12 PM

Ericsson wrote:
Konza is becoming reality soon

This one died a long time ago

1. One thing I have learnt about government projects... The move slowly but surely. If GOK says it will build a pipeline, be sure it will.

2. One thing I have learnt about projects generally... Infrastructure follows the people, not the other way around. GOK will not build a road, connect power, water and wifi to a remote place to encourage settlement. However, if you build your settlement in a remote place, GOK will build a road, connect power, water and wifi to your remote Kibanda. Same thing with Konza. Once investors who are allocated parcels start constructing, Project will move at un-imaginable speed.

3. A good example is upperhill. 15 years ago, upperhill was just KASNEB, Rahimtulla and a few residential buildings (some converted into restaurants) with just one street through to KNG. Right now Upperhill is a highrise city within a city with an excellent road power and water network.

expound on what excellent is? Upperhill is f***ed up. How can you spend more than 2 hrs to exit upperhill?

Roads are good, traffic is bad.

Coca Cola, EU mission abandon Upperhill. What's the future of upperhill as the choice office location?

https://www.businessdail...38246-htvv7r/index.html

https://www.nation.co.ke...0324-c196u9z/index.html

wukan
#79 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2018 11:52:54 AM

Ericsson wrote:

1. One thing I have learnt about government projects... The move slowly but surely. If GOK says it will build a pipeline, be sure it will.

2. One thing I have learnt about projects generally... Infrastructure follows the people, not the other way around. GOK will not build a road, connect power, water and wifi to a remote place to encourage settlement. However, if you build your settlement in a remote place, GOK will build a road, connect power, water and wifi to your remote Kibanda. Same thing with Konza. Once investors who are allocated parcels start constructing, Project will move at un-imaginable speed.

3. A good example is upperhill. 15 years ago, upperhill was just KASNEB, Rahimtulla and a few residential buildings (some converted into restaurants) with just one street through to KNG. Right now Upperhill is a highrise city within a city with an excellent road power and water network.

expound on what excellent is? Upperhill is f***ed up. How can you spend more than 2 hrs to exit upperhill?

Coca Cola, EU mission abandon Upperhill. What's the future of upperhill as the choice office location?

The way workers rush out of upperhill to CBD from 5-7pm should tell you it's not an ideal office location. The place has zero funk. Weekends it resembles a ghost town.
Ericsson
#80 Posted : Thursday, November 22, 2018 12:15:24 PM

wukan wrote:
Ericsson wrote:

The way workers rush out of upperhill to CBD from 5-7pm should tell you it's not an ideal office location. The place has zero funk. Weekends it resembles a ghost town.

Upper hill is an extension of CBD and is ideal for government offices and companies that deal directly with members of the public
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
tedx
#81 Posted : Wednesday, November 28, 2018 11:42:19 AM

Am headed to Konza, will be requesting an allocation of at least 1000 acres and am sure it will be approved, am mostly investing in start ups but we have a great advantage and will be kicking off with some of the biggest brands and names in technology and investment globally. As for speculating in mburotis around, this
is difficult to say. But we shall be giving several technology startups an easy through pass, think of investing with the firms that will move there.

More details over the next few weeks.

Am sorry it doesn't work like that.

What do you know about technology? Well am the one saying what i want there, keep it here and see who will rule the day, this is about vision, not silly arguments.

I do not know you.

I currently work in one of the technology cities in the world right now.

And when i tell you it doesn't work like that I know what am talking about but I will not argue with you.

Good, don't just argue ovyo ovyo, give your points, some have said this is a white elephant, some think it is a place for assembling samsung phones, or coding for american firms the way wahindis do, or just narrowly copying what others are doing ni kama konza ni exhibition halls zaa tom mboya street, peyana mawazo zako, and lets see if you will enter konza before me, i can bet 1 million Kes. Payable by december, put your money where your mouth is or give your opinion.

Am not arguing. I was blunt - it does not work like that. Sorry if that was very offensive. All those who you have called "some" do not know what they are talking about, but they are entitled to their opinion. Rem opinion is not fact.
There a thread on Konza here may be searching can help. Countrygal wanted to know if purchasing land would be of benefit to her that is the point of discussion right now.

In the meantime
KoTDA intends to allocate and lease parcels of land within a portion of the Konza Technopolis. You are invited to submit a proposal for your project to be undertaken on one or more of the over 73 parcels of land currently on offer. Your proposal should be submitted in accordance with the guidelines and requirements set forth in the Call for Applications (CFA). Investors are advised to visit the site at their own cost to familiarize themselves with the site and conditions therein. A representative from KoTDA will be available for the site visit at specific times to show the property, inquires on times should be done in writing via email on the address konza@konzacity.go.ke.

Sijui hio 1000 acres utatoa wapi. Lakini si argue na wewe

Tackle!
wukan
#82 Posted : Tuesday, December 11, 2018 1:31:53 PM

How to build pipe dreams and other short stories...yada yada yada

Labourers milled around an unfinished eight-storey building in an expansive field in Konza dotted with zebra and antelope - the only visible sign of progress in a decade-old plan to make Kenya into Africa's leading technology hub by 2030.

Grandiose plans, red tape and a lack of funding have left Konza Technopolis - the $14.5 billion new city to be built some 60 km (37 miles) southeast of Nairobi - way behind schedule on its goal of having 20,000 people on site by 2020.

"It has taken too long and I think people have moved on," said tech entrepreneur Josiah Mugambi, founder of Alba.one, a Nairobi-based software company, who was initially excited by the government's ambitious project.

Dubbed the Silicon Savannah, Konza aims to become a smart city - using tech to manage water and electricity efficiently and reduce commuting time - and a solution to the rapid, unplanned urbanisation which has plagued existing cities.
https://www.the-star.co....-savannah-city_c1864178
village_sponsor
#83 Posted : Wednesday, December 12, 2018 9:16:09 PM

Slightly related, how can I get hold of a map of Kenya showing the planned road and rail network?
rwitre
#84 Posted : Wednesday, December 12, 2018 11:22:33 PM

village_sponsor wrote:
Slightly related, how can I get hold of a map of Kenya showing the planned road and rail network?

Probably on a shelf somewhere in a cabinet secretary's office gathering dust. It will be brought out during the next election and added to the manifesto.

Ericsson
#85 Posted : Thursday, December 13, 2018 6:02:46 AM

Konza city should be classified as Vision 2050/2060
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
wukan
#86 Posted : Tuesday, August 25, 2020 6:26:45 PM

Kate_Mbarire wrote:

Hi Wukan.Thanks again for the reference.I called city view suites and the plans and the location for the ngara bedsitters is good.

However they're not disclosing who the developer is,it also seems that this is the first project for the developer....what do you think?Would you still trust such a development which it seems like this is the first development for this developer...and considering these are off plan houses?]

They got built...

winmak
#87 Posted : Tuesday, August 25, 2020 8:41:00 PM

wukan wrote:
Kate_Mbarire wrote:

Hi Wukan.Thanks again for the reference.I called city view suites and the plans and the location for the ngara bedsitters is good.

However they're not disclosing who the developer is,it also seems that this is the first project for the developer....what do you think?Would you still trust such a development which it seems like this is the first development for this developer...and considering these are off plan houses?]

They got built...

are there some units still available?
For investors as a whole, returns decrease as motion increases ~ WB
Kate_Mbarire
#88 Posted : Sunday, August 30, 2020 9:47:28 PM

winmak wrote:
wukan wrote:
Kate_Mbarire wrote:

They got built...

Whue!!! Wyman where you @ several.years later

are there some units still available?

amorphous
#89 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2020 7:15:10 AM

Sounds like Wukan was the developer smile .

https://gna.co.ke/projec...d-1-bedroom-apartments/

That area opposite Ngrogoni seems scary!
And for 3.25m for a 33 sqm (matchbox) studio it is a total ripoff. For that price one can buy a huge 1/8th in Jewel in the Crown and be halfway done with a spacious bungalow rather than a matchbox sized studio with Grogon mechanic views.
In the final analysis, it all boils down to sheer plain old hard work and dogged persistence. Nothing more, nothing less!!
amorphous
#90 Posted : Monday, August 31, 2020 7:20:35 AM

Yikes!! You would have to be packing heat (yaani deng'a, yaani thwau, yaani bunde, yaaani mchuma, yaaani mtoo, yaani ridhe, yaani pisto) just to feel safe living there Laughing out loudly
In the final analysis, it all boils down to sheer plain old hard work and dogged persistence. Nothing more, nothing less!!
7 Pages«<4567>