11 Pages«<45678>»
Apology
#101 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 11:51:18 AM

24M range rover those are 24 Mobius trucks. made right here home. invest that money with a local company, more R & D and in 10 years, Mobius would probably produce a car same level as Range Rover, but try explain that to a 'lawyer'

bure kabisa!

surely? Then what will the point be in DBK cannot 'thank himself'?

By bragging to the world? He is just like Donald Trumpamba. Real successful people do things that will change the world and will be remembered for generations to come. Anyway how you behave when you get lots of cash says a lot about you as an individual.

By buying and uploading that RR, DK has done more to the economy and society than some of you will ever do.

1) he has paid about 5m to govt as taxes 16% VAT, excise etc, and this money will be used by govt to provide services to Kenyans at national govt and counties.
2) he has contributed to the dealers RMA business and bottomline, enabled RMA to continue employing Kenyans, and this has a multiplier effect, also helping jubilee achieve target of 1m jobs per yr.
3) the purchase has given the dealers lots of publicity and advertisement, their sales are projected to go up significantly.
4) the purchase has increased our GDP by 24m.
5) the purchase reassures everyone -economists, donors, wanjiku etc that the economy is doing well, improves investor confidence.
6) the purchase motivates other Kenyans to work hard and aim for the very best in life
7) jobs benefit along the whole chain, from manufacturing factory in the UK, shipping companies, clearing and forwarding, trucks ferrying the RR form Mombasa etc.

As Obama and democrats say in the US, one of the best ways to grow the economy is to spend more since this creates jobs and gives govt more taxes. So, hongera Donald (the Kenyan one).
#102 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 12:13:23 PM

How come no one complained back in 2009 when he walked into the showroom and bought that 'old' 2009 RR Vogue HSE? But when he updates it with the 2016 model everyone goes berserk, and going as far as advising him on how he should spend his money and lecturing him on topics such as inter-generational wealth. It not the first time he is buying a brand new range rover.

urstill1
#103 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 12:16:42 PM

If you feel it is stupidity why give him audience? The tweets are yielding results, wide coverage, more loaded clients. He can then become choosy on who to serve and what to charge.
#104 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 12:21:10 PM

24M range rover those are 24 Mobius trucks. made right here home. invest that money with a local company, more R & D and in 10 years, Mobius would probably produce a car same level as Range Rover, but try explain that to a 'lawyer'

bure kabisa!

By bragging to the world? He is just like Donald Trumpamba. Real successful people do things that will change the world and will be remembered for generations to come. Anyway how you behave when you get lots of cash says a lot about you as an individual.

By buying and uploading that RR, DK has done more to the economy and society than some of you will ever do.

1) he has paid about 5m to govt as taxes 16% VAT, excise etc, and this money will be used by govt to provide services to Kenyans at national govt and counties.
2) he has contributed to the dealers RMA business and bottomline, enabled RMA to continue employing Kenyans, and this has a multiplier effect, also helping jubilee achieve target of 1m jobs per yr.
3) the purchase has given the dealers lots of publicity and advertisement, their sales are projected to go up significantly.
4) the purchase has increased our GDP by 24m.
5) the purchase reassures everyone -economists, donors, wanjiku etc that the economy is doing well, improves investor confidence.
6) the purchase motivates other Kenyans to work hard and aim for the very best in life
7) jobs benefit along the whole chain, from manufacturing factory in the UK, shipping companies, clearing and forwarding, trucks ferrying the RR form Mombasa etc.

As Obama and democrats say in the US, one of the best ways to grow the economy is to spend more since this creates jobs and gives govt more taxes. So, hongera Donald (the Kenyan one).

I have always looked at the "I have paid my taxes" or "I am willing to pay my taxes" groups suspiciously, Do you ever hear that from mainstream/norm groups? for example - Do you hear that from Carpenters or Masons or Butchers? Do you hear it from Matatus? We always hear it from Alcohol sellers, Prostitutes, Drug lords i.e. People seeking to push their types of frowned upon businesses and practices into the mainline via taxation. Kuna mtu amenunua maLorry mingi leo and considers that tax a nuisance. LandLords don't want to pay taxes... everyone else hates paying taxes.
#105 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 12:37:07 PM

"personally think I am in Camp 2 - one that believes in delaying gratification and getting pushing the celebration of their success perpetually into the future. But i think I am also not fooled into thinking it's easy"

Masukuma, how long should the delay be? We don't know how long he has delayed to buy that car, do we? I guess you also drive a car as we speak. To other people, you are extravagant. You should have delayed that gratification and invested that money for your future generations. No?
#106 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 1:15:12 PM

"personally think I am in Camp 2 - one that believes in delaying gratification and getting pushing the celebration of their success perpetually into the future. But i think I am also not fooled into thinking it's easy"

Masukuma, how long should the delay be? We don't know how long he has delayed to buy that car, do we? I guess you also drive a car as we speak. To other people, you are extravagant. You should have delayed that gratification and invested that money for your future generations. No?

unauliza msafiri kama wewe juu ya destination. If I could help it... I would be the guy who is very content in my skin. Fly coach for the sake of it and not show people where I have been. Act like "been there - done that", Let all these things fall off my shoulders and not lie to myself. Walk around in flipflops and shorts and in really small white nondescript cars. But that is me. If I could aspire to be anything - that would be it!
Maybe the Donald's kids will not have the same needs (itches) he has. coz an itch needs to be scratched - the question is when it's scratched and for how long - but sina answers to that. I may think i may have an answer but I am not that arrogant - I know if I am thrown in to the context I may not do what I know I should. We are all work in progress. Perhaps the "old money" cultures fix the causal factors of these itches. Perhaps their itches are different. In primary school we used to school with Asian kids - their itch was to play with us and our itch was to have those sharpeners that had two pictures revealing themselves depending on how you looked at it. They wanted to come play hide and seek and we wanted Hero pens and HB pencils. it's about the itch. We wanted to eat chicken and chapo daily!! I remember once they needed to fit in so much they joined some "CRE" classes that were not really CRE classes but evangelism classes. Kids would toa ushuhuda and alter calls would be made. I remember some giving their lives to christ like on second day. Every man is a junkie for something, find it, find him. Anyway - Perhaps the mark of a great culture is defining and injecting pseudo-achievable itches (itches that come asymptotically close to being achieved but are in reality in-achievable) into their followers. Maybe? That explains the drive of people like akina Gates - wanting to maliza all diseases. Are bucket lists - windows into what itches individuals? My wife told me Michael Phelps (Who only 39 countries out of the 206 countries have more gold than him) had psychological issues in 2014. Drug use, being nabbed by e.t.c. Once you have achieved what you wanted to accomplish - who do you become? He was given Rick Warren's purpose driven life book and he reset his purpose. Perhaps the battle with Self (as my grand father once learnt - JISHINDE USHINDE ) is one of these lofty itches. but who knows - these are rumbling of a fellow msafiri like you.

But pesa ni yake! sisi ni machura tunaona na tunaDiscuss ngombe akinywa maji.
#107 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 1:48:35 PM

Personally I don't think there is anything wrong with this debate. my analysis is that we have 3 types of camps here
1) Camp 1 - that does not see anything wrong with - kufuta jasho after a hard day of work. they ask - nani alikuwa anatafutiwa anyway? Kujilipa
2) Camp 2 - that has book knowledge of how to spend money... large amounts of money wisely. discussing how to spend money here are actually regurgitating principles they have learnt but not tested.
3) Camp 3 - a subset of Camp 1 that think everyone in Camp 2 is a hater! has Kiwaru! A school of thought where they are an important part of the universe and there are roving green eyes looking at their every move. Most of them being imaginary. Sorry, you are not that important.

I personally think I am in Camp 2 - one that believes in delaying gratification and getting pushing the celebration of their success perpetually into the future. But i think I am also not fooled into thinking it's easy! coming across cash will test you proper! just because you know it's supposed to be done does not make it easy to do! SIMPLE things are not to be confused with EASY! that is where culture comes in. what is your social currency? - what is valued by yourself and your circle of friends. <-- culture plays a big role in defining this. That is why I asked you to examine the communities who do well. As part of their culture they sort this out. They build character in the midst of wealth. Most (not I said Most not All) sports people come from poor backgrounds and their talent puts them where their character cannot uphold them. Sometimes you have really wealthy people who seem to have it honed. Akina steve jobs - they were net successful but grew up poor(ish). Utaona private jet or yule jamaa wa Oracle! if you look at the jewish lot. Akina Zuckerberg, Larry Page e.t.c. they are happy to ride economy. Gates used to do coach as well. Mimi? hehehe... sitaRide coach nikipata nafasi.
It's true that old money does not do these things unless they want to impress their friends who are not in old money circles. I guess it depends on what your social currency is it's possible that people who have grown without worries don't feel obliged to spend especially if they are surrounded by people who also grew up in those circles. if they are striving to impress (social currency as well) everyone - they put up photos of their toys on social networks. It's the same for people who put their clothes they have, cars they have, food they are eating, places they have eaten been to, every seemingly clever/witty/hiraous thing that comes to mind , people who feel obliged to tell us where they have traveled to (duniani) e.t.c. No one is perfect ( think i am in the last two)
But hey - these are just my opinions. but i think money (and power) magnifies attributes of an individual.

there is camp 4. one that don't care whether he buys a range or a jet or a mobius. one that just finds the flouting chavvy.
#108 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 1:52:15 PM

mkenyan wrote:
Personally I don't think there is anything wrong with this debate. my analysis is that we have 3 types of camps here
1) Camp 1 - that does not see anything wrong with - kufuta jasho after a hard day of work. they ask - nani alikuwa anatafutiwa anyway? Kujilipa
2) Camp 2 - that has book knowledge of how to spend money... large amounts of money wisely. discussing how to spend money here are actually regurgitating principles they have learnt but not tested.
3) Camp 3 - a subset of Camp 1 that think everyone in Camp 2 is a hater! has Kiwaru! A school of thought where they are an important part of the universe and there are roving green eyes looking at their every move. Most of them being imaginary. Sorry, you are not that important.

I personally think I am in Camp 2 - one that believes in delaying gratification and getting pushing the celebration of their success perpetually into the future. But i think I am also not fooled into thinking it's easy! coming across cash will test you proper! just because you know it's supposed to be done does not make it easy to do! SIMPLE things are not to be confused with EASY! that is where culture comes in. what is your social currency? - what is valued by yourself and your circle of friends. <-- culture plays a big role in defining this. That is why I asked you to examine the communities who do well. As part of their culture they sort this out. They build character in the midst of wealth. Most (not I said Most not All) sports people come from poor backgrounds and their talent puts them where their character cannot uphold them. Sometimes you have really wealthy people who seem to have it honed. Akina steve jobs - they were net successful but grew up poor(ish). Utaona private jet or yule jamaa wa Oracle! if you look at the jewish lot. Akina Zuckerberg, Larry Page e.t.c. they are happy to ride economy. Gates used to do coach as well. Mimi? hehehe... sitaRide coach nikipata nafasi.
It's true that old money does not do these things unless they want to impress their friends who are not in old money circles. I guess it depends on what your social currency is it's possible that people who have grown without worries don't feel obliged to spend especially if they are surrounded by people who also grew up in those circles. if they are striving to impress (social currency as well) everyone - they put up photos of their toys on social networks. It's the same for people who put their clothes they have, cars they have, food they are eating, places they have eaten been to, every seemingly clever/witty/hiraous thing that comes to mind , people who feel obliged to tell us where they have traveled to (duniani) e.t.c. No one is perfect ( think i am in the last two)
But hey - these are just my opinions. but i think money (and power) magnifies attributes of an individual.

there is camp 4. one that don't care whether he buys a range or a jet or a mobius. one that just finds the flouting chavvy.

camp 4 is a subset of camp 2...ish
#109 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 2:02:41 PM

bure kabisa!

What will you gain to be remembered after you have gone?
You toil your entire poor life so that you will be remembered once departed?
Make no sense to me.

#110 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 2:03:40 PM

Lanes. Kila mtu akae lane yake. And stop hating on those on the 24m RR lane. Know your place.
#111 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 2:15:01 PM

bure kabisa!

Make no sense to me.

As I hinted... it's about "CULTURE". to some this is important. Has anyone visited the Pyramids, their story is fascinating (depending on who you ask of course). These people were obsessed with death! Building burial chambers for i don't know how long. The Japanese are obsessed with "honor" and would perform "harakiri" to ensure it. Some would sell their mothers down the river to protect their lives. To me all humans are mostly almost the same (except some superficial phenotypical differences) but the human species has not changed fundamentally in like 150-200k days. - what makes a group of people seem "better" than others is CULTURE. CULTURE defines who you are, your worldview, your place in the universe e.t.c. so it's pretty understandable for something like "how one will be remembered" to make sense to one person and make no sense to another.
#112 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 2:31:38 PM

bure kabisa!

@harrydre, this Mobius truck is sh1M? And I wanted to acquire one for some small errands? Sad Sad Sad
#113 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 2:41:04 PM

bure kabisa!

Make no sense to me.

As I hinted... it's about "CULTURE". to some this is important. Has anyone visited the Pyramids, their story is fascinating (depending on who you ask of course). These people were obsessed with death! Building burial chambers for i don't know how long. The Japanese are obsessed with "honor" and would perform "harakiri" to ensure it. Some would sell their mothers down the river to protect their lives. To me all humans are mostly almost the same (except some superficial phenotypical differences) but the human species has not changed fundamentally in like 150-200k days. - what makes a group of people seem "better" than others is CULTURE. CULTURE defines who you are, your worldview, your place in the universe e.t.c. so it's pretty understandable for something like "how one will be remembered" to make sense to one person and make no sense to another.

@masukums has talked some sense!

We have different racing/strivings - to different motives. Some people do one job, another does another different type/path job.

We are all born as little "innocent" babies, and then we are brought up in different environments and cultures. Then we are shattered into pieces - different paths.

People have different or diverse aims in life for which they strive. One might be talking of the pleasures of this world while another may be mindful of what he will leave after his death. No one lives aimlessly, but we should be careful of the way in which we use our "blessings" and powers in order to understand if it is for good or vain.
Taurrus
#114 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 4:56:41 PM

Wacha nikatafute bandos!
#115 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 5:05:00 PM

bure kabisa!

@harrydre, this Mobius truck is sh1M? And I wanted to acquire one for some small errands? Sad Sad Sad

Bro Alph ...you already have a 110 defender or what was it again in other news DBK failed to pay kanjo fees...Sad
#116 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 5:30:22 PM

bure kabisa!

Bro Alph ...you already have a 110 defender or what was it again in other news DBK failed to pay kanjo fees...Sad

#117 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 5:53:20 PM

bure kabisa!

Make no sense to me.

Really, someone like @Gerishon Kirima (RIP) who toiled whole his life, died at relatively older age but did not "enjoy" fully his weolth as we know it...but people now talk of him "NICELY" as a hard working man who left immense weolth with little formal schooling...now how is this "nice" talking helping him while in sayuni?

Taurrus
#118 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 6:38:43 PM

Nimepata bandos! sasa hio merc ni ya mboch kununua mboga na kadhalika!
#119 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 6:56:29 PM

Really, someone like @Gerishon Kirima (RIP) who toiled whole his life, died at relatively older age but did not "enjoy" fully his weolth as we know it...but people now talk of him "NICELY" as a hard working man who left immense weolth with little formal schooling...now how is this "nice" talking helping him while in sayuni?

Here is what you don't realise - your type of thinking is what some people look at africans with and wonder - hawaoni? Hawaoni siri? We are naturally hardworking people but rarely do we work for the next generation (at least some of us). The place of the individual in the grand scheme of things is also defined by culture. Let me ask you - to what benefit is someone comitting suicide in Japanese culture?

A child is born into the world and is taught by his/her environment. So you push against society and society either responds positively or negatively or is indifferent and since we are social beings we do and enforce those things that we learnt society reacts +vely to and shun -vity. In cultures like Jewish cultures that give +ve strokes to person who leave something behind to their children and laugh (-ve strokes) at those who didn't over time have the notion of - "in order for me to be seen and remembered as a great member of society - I need to leave as much as I can to my kids and teach them how to build on it". Let me give you a local example of how our culture changed - P.S. Culture is not traditions (traditions are part of culture). In kenya a long time ago people who worked in gava and retired without stealing would be looked at like fools... it was not uncommon to say "Ona kale kajinga? Kalikuwa wapi wengine wakiJipanga?". What this communicated to people who were coming later was - if you don't want to be the laughing stock - "Jipange". In Luo Nyanza for a long time - if you wanted to be recognized as a proper member of society you needed to have higher education. Cash alone was not enough - a PhD made the society recognize you as a person who had "made it". People were proud to be associated with you. In Central (for sometime), Just having papers was not enough - People who didn't school and made money were treated better that those with papers. There is a saying "Kithomo ti thuruari". In Kikuyu culture a man is frowned upon if he is just in the house! <-- anafanya nini? A pakistani friend of mine came over and she made a note... WHAT ARE ALL THESE PEOPLE DOING OUTSIDE? Huko watu hawatoki tuu sababu ya kutoka! Anyway back to my point. How you @impunity was raised - individualistic logic informs your school of thought... NAWACHIA NANI? I SHOULD ENJOY - HAWA WAJIPANGE! and that is why i put up this video

Most people are intergenerational wealthy - passing it forward!! sisi tunachoma each and everytime, receiving very little and passing on very little. The same thing was happening to us with experience and knowledge - we did not pass it down "efficiently". so each generation relearns some of the stuff. Asians take their kids into their businesses. During holidays hakuna kukaa home - watu wanaenda duka ya baba so that they can learn the trade early. Asians are in the same economy you guys are in! they came here to build railways - not rich but their superior culture lifted their community above local communities. Sisi tunaficha and our kids don't aspire to do what their dad did or bring that education into the business - they start from scratch AGAIN and AGAIN. Each time we are restarting - that is why we are poor... it's not the government! it's because you received very little from your father and you will make it and pass on very little. Looking at it from a macro perspective you can see the wisdom of having a rich society but it does not just happen it's designed and worked at! A society that reinforces these good attributes and despises bad ones survives and becomes richer. Right now... corruption is a culture hapa... get rich or die trying if you wanted to fix it you would shun all ill gotten wealth. Think of a devil worshipper.... refuse their money, don't let your daughters get married to them. e.t.c. (by the way the role of the belief all seeing eye in the sky is important in culture).
I dare say - ALL HUMANS ARE EQUAL BUT CULTURES ARE NOT! the more prosperous a nation is the more superior their culture is (or was) coz it can change and destroy civilization - just ask the romans and the greeks.
#120 Posted : Thursday, August 11, 2016 7:20:41 PM

By the way there is an interesting book here
https://careerlanenigeri...-evans-company-2009.pdf

it has seven keys to Jewish success
1. Understand that real wealth is portable; it's knowledge
2. Take care of your own and they will take care of you
3. Successful people are professionals and entrepreneurs
4. Develop your verbal confidence
5. Be selectively extravagant but prudently frugal
6. Take pride in individuality: encourage creativity
7. Be psychologically driven to prove something

You can learn something from that text.... they are simple things but hard (Simple vis-a-vis Easy).