wazua Thu, Jun 18, 2026

15 Pages«<45678>»
Kenyatta family to build a City in Ruiri
#51 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 8:41:14 PM

Hiyo sukari ranch used to be a cattle ranch during colonial days. I understand that many people refused to be settled in those areas claiming it was too dry and unproductive. And Jomo was left witjh no option but to take the "wasteland" and settled the people elsewhere, huko "productive" nyandarua.
#52 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 9:03:28 PM

streetwise wrote:
Its all about vision. Even if all our grads were given the amount of land without a vision they will still be landless today having sold it for a song

If land is equal to riches, then luos should be the richest kenyans since their land was never taken by mzungu or "jomo". However the land rich luo are majority "landless poor" in kibera and nyalenda.
sitaki.kujulikana
#53 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 10:48:53 PM

Fyatu wrote:
Mosby wrote:
Some of our grandfathers missed the opportunities of their day...buying cheap land. There must be a present opportunity that shall be talked about in future the same way we talk about land now..Be careful lest ur grandchildren say the same of u in coming years.

From looking at large cities like Jo'berg, Lagos, Cairo etc, it is clear that any wazuan holding a clean 1/4 or 1/2 or even a 1/8 piece of land within 15 km radius of Nairobi, Mombasa or Kisumu will have done a great favour to his descendants. We learn from the mistakes of our ancestors and make corrections where they may have failed

Nairobi cbd or Nairobi county, just before I start celebrating on behalf of my descendants.
Alba
#54 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 10:56:02 PM

Hiyo sukari ranch used to be a cattle ranch during colonial days. I understand that many people refused to be settled in those areas claiming it was too dry and unproductive. And Jomo was left witjh no option but to take the "wasteland" and settled the people elsewhere, huko "productive" nyandarua.

Eti he had no option but to take
I guess Nairobi thieves have no option but to carjack people
Oh and that so called "wasteland" he supposedly had to take is conveniently located on the edge of Nairobi which makes it a very valuable piece of property.

Poor Jomo had to content himself with grabbing land on the edge of a fast growing and promising city while the peasants were relocated to Nyandarua.

So while kenyatta's family can just sit back and watch their land appreciate tenfold , the peasants had to go and toil on their so called productive land in Nyandarua digging potato tubers in the hot sun.
Alba
#55 Posted : Thursday, January 21, 2016 11:04:05 PM

Just for perspective. Mzee became president when he was 74 years old. He had very simple tastes, the man enjoyed just sitting down at lake Nakuru or Mombasa State House being entertained by Nyakinyua women dancers. Even when he was in Nairobi he lived in Gatundu and spent every night at home. I get the feeling he would have cared less about accumulating property. He however had a young wife who I hear is very business savvy. Most of the property was bought in her name. She accumulated land and was involved in ivory trade. She has only given one interview in her life when she spoke to Kameme a few years ago and in that interview she said, "Muthee agikua ndari na mbia, twendirie mugunda niguo ciana ithome" (When mzee died he did not have money, I had to sell land for the children to go to school." She said this in the same tone of voice that a woman with one acre speaks of selling a half acre of land. I think part of the reason Uhuru is so down to earth is because he probably grew up being told, "gutiri mbia." (There is no money.)

Funny how history is rewritten. Eti Jomo was broke? Eti Jomo was not money minded? If you believe this then Mama Ngina can sell you anything.

Bildad Kaggia would differ with that account. Kenyatta was dismissive of Kaggia because the latter did not use his position to enrich himself.

In fact Kaggia claimed that Kenyatta rigged him out of the MP position because Kaggia was more concerned about the landless peasants
Mike Ock
#56 Posted : Friday, January 22, 2016 2:00:01 AM

Alba wrote:
Just for perspective. Mzee became president when he was 74 years old. He had very simple tastes, the man enjoyed just sitting down at lake Nakuru or Mombasa State House being entertained by Nyakinyua women dancers. Even when he was in Nairobi he lived in Gatundu and spent every night at home. I get the feeling he would have cared less about accumulating property. He however had a young wife who I hear is very business savvy. Most of the property was bought in her name. She accumulated land and was involved in ivory trade. She has only given one interview in her life when she spoke to Kameme a few years ago and in that interview she said, "Muthee agikua ndari na mbia, twendirie mugunda niguo ciana ithome" (When mzee died he did not have money, I had to sell land for the children to go to school." She said this in the same tone of voice that a woman with one acre speaks of selling a half acre of land. I think part of the reason Uhuru is so down to earth is because he probably grew up being told, "gutiri mbia." (There is no money.)

Funny how history is rewritten. Eti Jomo was broke? Eti Jomo was not money minded? If you believe this then Mama Ngina can sell you anything.

Bildad Kaggia would differ with that account. Kenyatta was dismissive of Kaggia because the latter did not use his position to enrich himself.

In fact Kaggia claimed that Kenyatta rigged him out of the MP position because Kaggia was more concerned about the landless peasants

That's the usual lame excuse trotted out by supporters of a corrupt man. "He's not bad, it's just the people around him who are bad." Danganya toto jinga!
#57 Posted : Friday, January 22, 2016 8:11:41 AM

Jomo Jomo Jomo. Jomo kila wakati. How come people never talk about Moi (& Biwott) who have huge tracts huko kabarak, laikipia, narok, mau, moiben, uasin gishu, australia, london etc. He also gave his friends and cronies all the govt houses and plots in upperhill, kilimani kileleshwa, westlands etc and all major towns turning them into instant millionaires.
#58 Posted : Friday, January 22, 2016 8:21:49 AM

Alba wrote:

Oh and that so called "wasteland" he supposedly had to take is conveniently located on the edge of Nairobi which makes it a very valuable piece of property.

Poor Jomo had to content himself with grabbing land on the edge of a fast growing and promising city while the peasants were relocated to Nyandarua.

So while kenyatta's family can just sit back and watch their land appreciate tenfold , the peasants had to go and toil on their so called productive land in Nyandarua digging potato tubers in the hot sun.

The issue shouldn't be which land he acquired but HOW it was acquired! You're oozing a drop of a point from a useless rock.

One of his right hand men, the civil service head Duncan Ndegwa records how Jomo was involved in distributing land in 1964. In one Nyandarua case when giving to the landless(he would spend the whole day there) he allocated himself some land!
Fyatu
#59 Posted : Friday, January 22, 2016 8:23:36 AM

sitaki.kujulikana wrote:
Fyatu wrote:
Mosby wrote:
Some of our grandfathers missed the opportunities of their day...buying cheap land. There must be a present opportunity that shall be talked about in future the same way we talk about land now..Be careful lest ur grandchildren say the same of u in coming years.

From looking at large cities like Jo'berg, Lagos, Cairo etc, it is clear that any wazuan holding a clean 1/4 or 1/2 or even a 1/8 piece of land within 15 km radius of Nairobi, Mombasa or Kisumu will have done a great favour to his descendants. We learn from the mistakes of our ancestors and make corrections where they may have failed

Nairobi cbd or Nairobi county, just before I start celebrating on behalf of my descendants.

Start celebrating my good friend and hold that piece forever. Wachana na wa Kenya wengine instead of doing something to help themselves in this CAPITALIST world, they are pre-occupied with what old Jomo did or did not do.It is a man shaft man society. Hata wabeberu have put cash on the ground and bought mashamba hukuo loilo (ruiru) planning to build Tatu city
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#60 Posted : Friday, January 22, 2016 8:36:19 AM

Alba wrote:

The issue shouldn't be which land he acquired but HOW it was acquired! You're oozing a drop of a point from a useless rock.

One of his right hand men, the civil service head Duncan Ndegwa records how Jomo was involved in distributing land in 1964. In one Nyandarua case when giving to the landless(he would spend the whole day there) he allocated himself some land!

Willing seller, willing buyer. For peasants (with fewer resources), they formed groups that bought the farms from departing msungus and subdivided them. But for the moneyed people like the president and cabinet members (Michuki, githunguri, koinange, moi etc), and those who had access to huge bank loans, they could afford to buy whole farms like sukari, windsor, runda, kabarak, mogotio, moiben etc.
15 Pages«<45678>»