wazua Sat, Jun 29, 2024

14 Pages«<45678>»
Stanlib I-reit IPO @20/- per unit
whiteowl
#101 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 8:30:10 PM

Aguytrying wrote:
Lisa_Girl wrote:
I will be back on this thread after the listing to see if y'all will have the decency to admit how wrong your predictions were.

Welcome to wazua. I will be the first to admit. I'm estimating below 10.00 in the next 12 months

or even 5/=
#102 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 9:38:28 PM

I remember begging for this darn REITs years ago. Sasa after 'wazee wamekula', Wanjiku is being baited. Let the bear takes its toll a good one.
Mseto binti
#103 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 9:40:13 PM

"PREIT is transparent,guarentees returns"....The East African pg 23..They are headed to Uganda,then Rwanda..ahem!Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sickquot;
I found meaningful work🤓
enyands
#104 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 10:32:31 PM

Mseto binti wrote:
"PREIT is transparent,guarentees returns"....The East African pg 23..They are headed to Uganda,then Rwanda..ahem!Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sickquot;

I aint touching this gal.hata kwa dawa.let it hit the market then we see how it fairs but trust me this is a piecemeal for the bear. first of all 20 is too much for a unit, never seen a unit being sold for that much during the ipo. someone wants to make money .pelekea Ugandans and Rwandese .maybe the don't have bear there
Museveni
#105 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2015 7:44:26 AM

moneydust wrote:
Muthawamunene wrote:
muganda wrote:
My main issue with the REIT is that we decided to go with an investment instead of development:

An investment REIT adds no new stock to the real estate market but instead does what I prefer to call a wealth transfer activity where nothing new is created just a change of guard.

A development REIT on the other end is the creation of wealth in that the resultant product looks nothing like the parts that went into its creation. Land, professional skills, artisan skills, stones, mortar and many other components, that benefit many people in diverse professions and businesses, are put together to create a building.

The properties being procured are not prime neither in location nor in current or future returns while the amounts being paid do not seem to have been arrived at in a scientific method.

I totally agree. This is air being pumped into the property bubble. An exit strategy. Eti "free up money for other developments".

I would throw every dime I have were it a development REIT.

Development REIT would be more risky ..it would be similar to Home Africa,with I-REIT the returns will be steady and consistent if they buy into the right properties at the right price.
The big question is 'How good are they at buying good properties'.The jury is out on this and that's why I would keep off.

@moneydust hope you dont mind your money turning into dust then. Actually the development reit offers better prospect than this one. Consider that for a property purchase it is bought at a premium. Developing from bare land offers an added value on the land once the works start. Even if by chance one project is not completed, then the land and developments can be sold at a premium as to the likes of fahari stanlib.

Consider that the development reit will build the targeted investments by these i-reit. Minimal returns if any. D-reits / original owners cashing out. Think about the targeted purchases. Who owns them ?
Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
moneydust
#106 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2015 8:48:15 AM

Museveni wrote:
moneydust wrote:
Muthawamunene wrote:
muganda wrote:
My main issue with the REIT is that we decided to go with an investment instead of development:

An investment REIT adds no new stock to the real estate market but instead does what I prefer to call a wealth transfer activity where nothing new is created just a change of guard.

A development REIT on the other end is the creation of wealth in that the resultant product looks nothing like the parts that went into its creation. Land, professional skills, artisan skills, stones, mortar and many other components, that benefit many people in diverse professions and businesses, are put together to create a building.

The properties being procured are not prime neither in location nor in current or future returns while the amounts being paid do not seem to have been arrived at in a scientific method.

I totally agree. This is air being pumped into the property bubble. An exit strategy. Eti "free up money for other developments".

Development REIT would be more risky ..it would be similar to Home Africa,with I-REIT the returns will be steady and consistent if they buy into the right properties at the right price.
The big question is 'How good are they at buying good properties'.The jury is out on this and that's why I would keep off.

@moneydust hope you dont mind your money turning into dust then. Actually the development reit offers better prospect than this one. Consider that for a property purchase it is bought at a premium. Developing from bare land offers an added value on the land once the works start. Even if by chance one project is not completed, then the land and developments can be sold at a premium as to the likes of fahari stanlib.

Consider that the development reit will build the targeted investments by these i-reit. Minimal returns if any. D-reits / original owners cashing out. Think about the targeted purchases. Who owns them ?

Development REIT might present higher returns but it also comes with higher risk,as they are too many variables at play such as sales&cashflow, project completion,regulatory approvals etc.That's why Home Africa in its first year of listing declared hundred of millions in profits but today it is declaring losses in the same magnitude.
To know if a property has been bought at a premium you need to look at the rental yields.A property giving rental yields of above 15% is a good property,and I think i read somewhere they are targeting a yield of 14% which is not too bad if achieved.
At the end of it all an investor seeks to strike a balance between risk and return.An I-REIT if properly managed can give annual income above that of a Treasury bond,and to cap it all we have capital gains on the properties.
Anybody wishing to get into the real estate in the future for a steady stream of annual income and does not have the resources (time and money) and knowledge ought to have a keen look at I-REIT's
Museveni
#107 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2015 9:45:39 AM

moneydust wrote:
Museveni wrote:
moneydust wrote:
Muthawamunene wrote:
muganda wrote:

Development REIT might present higher returns but it also comes with higher risk,as they are too many variables at play such as sales&cashflow, project completion,regulatory approvals etc.That's why Home Africa in its first year of listing declared hundred of millions in profits but today it is declaring losses in the same magnitude.
To know if a property has been bought at a premium you need to look at the rental yields.A property giving rental yields of above 15% is a good property,and I think i read somewhere they are targeting a yield of 14% which is not too bad if achieved.
At the end of it all an investor seeks to strike a balance between risk and return.An I-REIT if properly managed can give annual income above that of a Treasury bond,and to cap it all we have capital gains on the properties.
Anybody wishing to get into the real estate in the future for a steady stream of annual income and does not have the resources (time and money) and knowledge ought to have a keen look at I-REIT's

This does not compare with Home Africa listing. That was a real IPO. Share sales. Not pooling of resources/money to fund specific real estate investments - which reits do.
The HAL listing was well discussed here see @PesaNane, @mwekez@ji et al posts
Very different investments.
In summary, the main issue with HAL was how the owners 'valued' their company. Non-existent revenue. Hence overpriced shares. The ideas though were good.
Back to this stanlib reit. 14% returns on rentals really feasible ? And of the 14% there are other expenses before the distribution of income to investors - target is 80% of the 14%!
On this, will be on the bench watching the unfolding slide once listed. BTW see my sentiments on HAL. Same scenario.
Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
Pesa Nane
#108 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2015 6:05:16 PM

D&B Coverage:

Fahari I-REIT: Pioneering East Africa’s REIT Structure
Ahead of the Initial Public Offer and listing of Stanlib’s Fahari Income-REIT, we wish to answer key questions on the Scheme’s operations.
Based on our fair value of KES 22.34, we issue a Buy on the Fahari I-REIT units.
Addressing Key Questions

1. What is the STANLIB Fahari I-REIT?
The STANLIB Fahari I-REIT Scheme aims to provide investors with a steady stream of income and capital growth by investing at least 75% of its Total Asset Value (TAV) in real estate, 25% cap investment in cash investments or cash-like instruments.
The STANLIB Fahari I-REIT will be a closed ended fund, therefore prospective investors can only exit via sale of Units on the NSE, based on market value per Unit. The REIT Scheme will have a maximum life of 80 years, subject to the Trust Deed.
The REIT Units will be listed on the NSE under the Unrestricted Main Investment Market Segment.

2. What is the business scope of the STANLIB Fahari I-REIT scheme?
i. The acquisition, for long-term investment, of income generating eligible real estate and eligible investments including, but not limited to
ď‚· Housing
ď‚· Commercial
ď‚· Industrial
ď‚· Other real estate segments
ď‚· Marketing and sale of real estate assets
ii. Retention and management of the real estate assets of the trust with the objective of earning income from the assets
iii. The undertaking of incidental and connected activities and activities related to the assets of the trust
iv. Undertaking of such development and construction activities as may be permitted by the Act and the Regulations for an Income REIT
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
Pesa Nane
#109 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2015 6:10:55 PM

D&B Coverage: cont

3. What is the Asset allocation profile of STANLIB’s Fahari I-REIT asset base?
At least 75% of the REIT Scheme’s Total Asset Value (TAV) may be invested in eligible real estate, while a maximum of 25% of the REIT Scheme’s TAV may be invested in eligible cash investments.
Of the eligible real estate allocation, investments shall be principally in the following sub sectors:
ď‚· Mixed-use developments
ď‚· Retail (shopping centres)
ď‚· Commercial (offices)
ď‚· Industrial (warehousing and logistics)
ď‚· Hospitality (hotel and resorts)
ď‚· Residential
ď‚· Specialised buildings (student accommodation, schools, manufacturing facilities or hospitals)
ď‚· Land assembly for eligible real estate

The sector allocation for the 75% to 100% of eligible real estate should not exceed the following bands:
ď‚· Retail: 30% to 75% of TAV
ď‚· Office: 30% to 75% of TAV
ď‚· Industrial: 0% to 15% of TAV
ď‚· Hospitality: 0% to 15% of TAV
ď‚· Other: 0% to 15% of TAV

4. What is the criteria for eligible cash and real estate assets?

Eligible real estate assets include, but are not limited to:
Strategic real estate in Kenya, via the following investment instruments;
o Land Title (direct ownership of the property asset), including leases with minimum 25 years remaining
o 100% ownership of any Company that owns the property asset with the property asset being transferred directly into the REIT Scheme if deemed necessary by the REIT Manager and Trustee in order to access fiscal benefit
o 100% beneficial interest in an Investee Trust

Eligible cash investments include:
ď‚· Cash & deposits
ď‚· Bonds
ď‚· Securities
ď‚· Money market instruments
Pesa Nane
#110 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2015 6:31:14 PM

5. What other criteria applies to STANLIB’s Fahari I-REIT’s real estate asset eligibility?

ď‚· As a requirement, 75% of the Total Asset Value of the REIT Scheme must be income producing real estate.
ď‚· The target Internal Rate of Return (IRR) at property level and before REIT expenses is 14% per annum.

6. How will STANLIB’s Fahari I-REIT Scheme use proceeds from IPO?

Immediately after completion of the Offer, the entire net proceeds will be invested in cash, deposits, bonds, securities or money market instruments. In line with the scheme’s target of reducing the percentage of TAV invested in cash investments to a maximum of 25% of TAV, the scheme will then purchase eligible assets within 24 months.
These purchases will include the Seed Properties that are proposed to be acquired and vested in the Trust and for which all legal registration requirements will have been completed within 180 days of the closing of the Offer.
After expiry of two years from authorisation of the REIT Scheme, no more than 25% of TAV will be invested in cash investments.

Of the total KES 12.5bn to be raised, allocation to prospective projects will be as below:
ď‚· Seed Properties: 20.0%
ď‚· Pipeline Properties: 56.0%
ď‚· Prospective properties: 24.0%

7. What Seed properties are to be acquired by the STANLIB Fahari I-REIT within the first 6 months of listing?
Bay Holdings Limited: Owns a 9 acre commercial property located in industrial area, Nairobi. Purchase price is stated at KES 213.1m and is estimated to attract a rental yield of 8.4%.
Signature International Limited: Owns Highway House. Purchase price is stated at KES 108.1m and is estimated to attract a rental yield of 9.8%.
Greenspan Mall Limited: Owns Greenspan Mall. Purchase price is stated at KES
2.1bn and is estimated to attract a rental yield of 8.1%.
Pesa Nane
#111 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2015 6:49:40 PM

8. Will unit holders receive dividends going forward?
Given that the main source of income is net rental earnings from rentals from eligible real estate investments owned directly by the STANLIB Fahari I-REIT and dividend income from wholly-owned subsidiary companies that own eligible real estate investments, the steady stream of cash inflows guarantees investors of dividends going forward.
The minimum distribution shall be 80% of the profit after tax excluding unrealised fair value gains.

9. What are risks specific to the STANLIB’s Fahari I-REIT Structure?
Market Risk: This is the risk that prevailing market forces of demand and supply may negatively impact the REIT Scheme’s underlying asset values and its ability to attain the projected performance. The market values of the Seed Properties and other properties that the Scheme owns may be impacted by fluctuations in supply and demand for rental
properties in Kenya.
Income Risk: Reduction in reported rental income and operating profits may arise, for example, if tenancy agreements of the underlying properties are renewed at a lower rental rate than the previous agreement or if the occupancy rate falls that in turn,
reduces property income and STANLIB Fahari I-REIT’s ability to recover certain operating costs such as service charges.

10. Are there measures taken to facilitate steady cash flow stream going forward?
Various measures have been taken to mitigate income risk. These include: income flow management; lease audit and data integrity review; vacancy management and leasing strategy; review of lease structures; and cost optimisation management.
In particular, the leasing strategy will include procuring of payment upfront and contractual lock-ins of rental rates and other clauses in tenancy agreements as well as a 6 month non-renewable lease notice.
Pesa Nane
#112 Posted : Tuesday, November 17, 2015 6:58:08 PM

11. Is the STANLIB’s Fahari I-REIT fairly valued at KES 20.00 per unit?
Based on an earnings based and NAV based multiple valuation methodology, we derive a fair value of KES 22.34, deriving an 11.7% upside to the current IPO price of KES 20.00.

FFO = Funds From Operations
enyands
#113 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 12:50:18 AM

Pesa Nane wrote:

11. Is the STANLIB’s Fahari I-REIT fairly valued at KES 20.00 per unit?
Based on an earnings based and NAV based multiple valuation methodology, we derive a fair value of KES 22.34, deriving an 11.7% upside to the current IPO price of KES 20.00.

FFO = Funds From Operations

@8c thanks so much for the info. though ill wait for it in a secondary market. still not convinced that it can sail through the bear unnoticed .
#114 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 10:46:32 PM

#115 Posted : Wednesday, November 18, 2015 10:48:04 PM

enyands
#116 Posted : Thursday, November 19, 2015 1:41:49 AM

http://www.arkconsultantsltd.com/a-review-of-stanlibs-fahari-i-reit/

interesting read

I'm not hoodwinking at all. Tukutane kwa debe yaani secondary market .
#117 Posted : Thursday, November 19, 2015 10:45:22 AM

I got in this one... Hoping to sell half my holdings @ 30 bob soon after listing!
Lisa_Girl
#118 Posted : Thursday, November 19, 2015 7:37:51 PM

whiteowl wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:
Lisa_Girl wrote:
I will be back on this thread after the listing to see if y'all will have the decency to admit how wrong your predictions were.

Welcome to wazua. I will be the first to admit. I'm estimating below 10.00 in the next 12 months

or even 5/=

sasa nimekubali. This one will be eaten alive Silenced
enyands
#119 Posted : Thursday, November 19, 2015 8:50:44 PM

Lisa_Girl wrote:
whiteowl wrote:
Aguytrying wrote:
Lisa_Girl wrote:

or even 5/=

sasa nimekubali. This one will be eaten alive Silenced

When are they listing by the way? Nvm just saw Tuesday next week . Sawa let's compare notes then .whoever wants to make 30 then sell we can still confirm notes .Tukutane kwa debe then
#120 Posted : Thursday, November 19, 2015 9:20:49 PM

Day 1 of trading price will be pushed to close at 40 bob then the sucking of Wanjiku will begin after the excitement smile