wazua Wed, Jun 17, 2026

8 Pages«<45678>
Waitiki land saga..
Museveni
#51 Posted : Friday, November 20, 2015 2:01:14 PM

wazuaguest wrote:
Waitiki checked into statehouse casually with a kofia and a short sleeved shirt.Pesa ni mzuri.

That is Waitiki

Smart fellow staying in the shadows!
The other fellow ( Mwahima ) looks like D. Itumbi's relative.smile
Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
Outvestor
#52 Posted : Friday, November 20, 2015 3:44:03 PM

Just to clear the mixup on who Waitiki is...

¡ʇɹoɟɟǝ ƃuıɟɟǝ ǝɥʇ ɹoɟ ɥɔnɯ os ؛uıɐʌ uı ɔıqɐɹɐ ƃuıuɹɐǝן pǝıɹʇ ı
#53 Posted : Friday, November 20, 2015 3:47:21 PM

Outvestor wrote:

Yani watu hawajui Muheshimiwa aka mping smile
#54 Posted : Friday, November 20, 2015 6:12:22 PM

Outvestor wrote:

Yani watu hawajui Muheshimiwa aka mping smile

Former Mombasa Mayor
Fyatu
#55 Posted : Friday, November 20, 2015 6:32:59 PM

A story is told of how a Kenyan man went to Japan and became an expatriate working in the then nascent geothermal power production sector in the 1960's. He made lots of money and legally bought land in Mombasa Likoni area. Fast forward to 1997, Kaya Bombo militia evicted him despite there being the law and a government in place to uphold the law. I'am happy that an amicable solution has been reached to settle this innocent and intellectually (expat in Japan 1967) gifted man.

For a moment, i paused and thought it can happen to anyone. It can happen to one Onyango who worked hard and innocently but legally bought almost the same size of land in Malindi or a Kamau who ate chapati karara for eons while earning honest pay and acquired almost the same size in loitoktok or to Nzioka who started a small business in Mombasa and now owns lots of property outside his ancestral Ukambani.

Moral of the story is let justice prevail...sasa Waitiki ni ahame akanunue shamba Indonesia(huko they encourage you to bring your money and they will protect you and your wealth) and he looks for a ndogo ndogo to assist him eat the sweat of his youth

Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
#56 Posted : Friday, November 20, 2015 7:39:20 PM

Fyatu wrote:
A story is told of how a Kenyan man went to Japan and became an expatriate working in the then nascent geothermal power production sector in the 1960's. He made lots of money and legally bought land in Mombasa Likoni area. Fast forward to 1997, Kaya Bombo militia evicted him despite there being the law and a government in place to uphold the law. I'am happy that an amicable solution has been reached to settle this innocent and intellectually (expat in Japan 1967) gifted man.

For a moment, i paused and thought it can happen to anyone. It can happen to one Onyango who worked hard and innocently but legally bought almost the same size of land in Malindi or a Kamau who ate chapati karara for eons while earning honest pay and acquired almost the same size in loitoktok or to Nzioka who started a small business in Mombasa and now owns lots of property outside his ancestral Ukambani.

Moral of the story is let justice prevail...sasa Waitiki ni ahame akanunue shamba Indonesia(huko they encourage you to bring your money and they will protect you and your wealth) and he looks for a ndogo ndogo to assist him eat the sweat of his youth

Good he lived to fight for what he legally acquired. Many have lost their property the same way and they either died or fell ill while at it.
kiash
#57 Posted : Saturday, November 21, 2015 4:16:21 PM

@Kusadikika You need to stop being emotive and look at the land matter in a more clear way. There is a class of people who call themselves "poor" "squatters" who are land grabbers by profession and they are out to blackmail people using politics. I will give you an example. I grew up in SouthB. Railway quarters to be exact. I saw part of Golden gate being constructed and Riverbank phase I and II.

The slum called Mukuru was non-existent, the river bank land there was bare just grass, you could see industrial area from RTI. When Riverbank Phase II was under construction, we noticed some mabati structures that we all assumed belonged to the workers building the houses, so it was ignored. With time the structures grew...all were on the other side of the river (bordering Industrial area), then came Hazina and the structures just blew out.

Now, if you've entered the houses at River bank, the front gate and living room faces Mukuru, the squatters have encroached and have built their Kiosks to the gates of the residents, forcing them to remodel their houses to accommodate this. The city council demolished the kiosks but Sonko gave them money to rebuild, which they did. Where were these squatters from? Tell me why the govt shouldn't compensate the Riverbank Home owners?

Am glad you raise this issue. You acknowledge there is a problem but in your case the only aggrieved party are the residents of Riverbank. All Mukuru slum dwellers are land grabbers and we should bring a bulldozer and clear them out. Now this becomes more complicated because since the original slum dwellers settled there they have had children who know no other home other than Mukuru, where should these go? Are they also professional land grabbers? The government should be as concerned about the plight of Mukuru's slum dwellers as much as Riverbank home owners.

Reforms in settlement of slum dwellers and all landless people are not just a problem for the slum dwellers but also for all who have land. Watu wa Riverbank should be the biggest supporters of any projects that seek a long term solution for Mukuru people.

Stop asking a bad question Laughing out loudly the kids should ask their fathers/mothers/drand fathers /grandmothers where they came from. I do not see why the gava should compensate someone just because they have been living there for the past ten yrs or so.This should stop. The same is happening to kibera and to add more there are houses being built by KR for railway enclotchers whoom we do not know where they came from.The problem is the politicians , mbona Sonko did not give them enough money to build several mansions? ama ni mabati tu.
I say too they are land grabbers and they should go.
#58 Posted : Monday, January 11, 2016 1:28:06 PM

Ngong wrote:
@Kusadikika you are misreporting the facts, Mr. Waitiki took a loan plus his savings to purchase the land and as we all agree that was alot of cash then.
He occupied the land and was doing very well till the tribal crashes started and the farm was invaded.
To say that its the coast people who did that ni owongo.
I worked in that area for 12 years and I can tell you for a fact that the so called watu wa bala did it together with some wadigo, it was free for all and the majority occupiers are luo and waluya who disguise themselves as digo.

Kumbe. Hmmmm.
#59 Posted : Monday, January 11, 2016 1:32:58 PM

Have the "squatters" started selling? How much is the land going for? I want to buy some to put up a flat hapo karibu na ferry, with great views of the ocean.
#60 Posted : Monday, January 11, 2016 1:49:30 PM

Now asking a hapless squatter to pay 5K monthy for 3 years for the title dead is a joke...these are guys who mostly lived on a dime a day!

And the plots are not freehold plus they attract an annual land rates.

This will be @RAO's fodder when the compaign for 2017 is on!

8 Pages«<45678>