Wakanyugi
#101 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 3:32:41 PM

Euge wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:
quicksand wrote:
kivairu wrote:
quicksand wrote:
finished my first 21km... kumbe ni mbali hiyo...

Apparently had not read the map too well, so coming up, ..is it Aerodrome Road? I see people coming down the other way to check into the stadium, and I think....just a few metres...Ole! Kumbe there is the corner and dropping to Msa road and back up, my psyche got smashed up like a cheap glass...-hauling ass to the finish line from that point was great torture Sad
All the same, good run.

@ Quicksand. Running shouldn't be experienced as 'torture'. you shud actually enjoy running! congrats!

Thanks man smile ...mental strength is important in these things.
In other news, my feet really hurt. I am limping slightly today. I am used to grass and dirt trails. Tarmac is a killer!

@quicksand true running on tarmac has great effect on feet magoti na other joints. you must have good sports shoes(nice sole) to absorb the shock. running on rugged terrain,treadmill,track,tarmac are all different

Are there specific running shoes?
I am told there is need to consider the shape of one's foot when buying. Are there shoes advisors?

Yes there are.

The choice of shoe depends mostly on the shape of your foot and pronation (how it strikes the ground). There are normally three classes of running shoe - motion control, stability and neutral ( although a new class of minimalist shoe, in the class of Vibram four fingers has recently emerged).

See some useful information here
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#102 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 6:05:18 PM

still recovering..
#103 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 6:14:45 PM

still recovering..

I didn't see you - ulienda gani?
#104 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 6:47:40 PM

I ran a good part of the race with 3 street boys Kevin ,Collins and I forget the name of the third.they set the pace for me as we engaged on a talk.

if you were keen you must have seen me as the chakoras did not have stanchart tshirts.(21km).they had just joined the fun in their attires.

each told me his story at a time. one sounded honest
the other not so honest and the third was very reserved.

these boys really encouraged me but they couldn't take it for long. you can't run on an empty stomach.

they told me that their base is outside nakumatt moi avenue.

chokora ni binadamu pia.

I wanted to buy them lunch after the race but they fizzled on the way.

will try to look for them
Mpenzi
#105 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 6:58:57 PM

Mo wrote:
Naaaa....did akina ZZE123, McReggae, Euge, Mo, Gekko etc survive the challenge? They haven't been seen around here after marathon...

hey guys, congrats to the club 42, that's a feat!! I survived 21, had aimed to stop the clock under 2 and was working fine until the last mile. i came down the NIC hill full speed aiming for the gates only to realise that there was an extra loop to the roundabout and back, that part was a mental torture! i just took water and walked-run-walked and stopped at 2.09

MO

That is exactly my story. Has also planned to do a sub 2 hrs but when I realised we were not getting into Nyayo straight and that there was still the Nairobi West loop that just killed my spirit. Ran-walked rest of the way and finished same time as you. 2.09. But all the same it was a great run. And kudos to all my fellow Urban Swaras - you rock !!!
Mpenzi
#106 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 7:03:14 PM

A few lessons I learnt:

1. Mental energy is as important as the physical energy. The kind of 'self-motivation' you have to do to yourself is too much. Same reason I think those loops should be done away with. They totally kill the mental strength.

2. On physical energy, it may be too much to run for 42kms purely on water. One needs some energy boosters along the way. I realized Urban Swaras had placed guys strategically along the way to serve their members with energy drinks. That must have made their journey much easier.

@Washiku, you should join Urban Swaras - then you won't have to run to Githurai and back alone 😃😀

3. Train hard, win easy. One must have trained thoroughly well to have it easy for this thing. I was able to run for about 30kms non-stop(didnt stop even at water points, took water as I continued). That means had I been on the 21kms, I would have done the whole journey non-stop. But the moment you start stopping, the body starts shouting to you on the pain you are feeling and the rest of the journey is nothing but torture.

4. The best strategy would be identifying a speed you are comfortable at and maintain it for very long, instead of running too fast at the beginning only to run out of energy too soon.

5. A pace setter can help you go places. If you identify a guy who can help you overcome the temptation to slow down, one who can help you push yourself just a little bit to maintain the speed identified above, one can win easier. I realised once you stop even for 2mins the guys you were with leaves you very far back and its almost impossible to catch up again.

#107 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 7:19:07 PM

still recovering..

Just did the 10KM - with zero training hence the thigh buldge manenoz smile the idea was just participation by walk - with the missus pals, lakini kufika hapo running was more natural. Done in 60min.

For sisi amateurs, that last roundabout was a killer, you think you turning for the return back to Nyayo, wapi? Neenda right zaidi! lol. The organizers could have done better placing more signs/ushers on that turn. Some sorry 10km jamaz ended up taking the wrong turn and continuing with the 21km guys!! haha

That Nyayo Stadium hill headed to the finish was a killer, almost walked on reaching the apex. Miguu kwisha. All in all, a wonderful experience.
#108 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 7:30:49 PM

Mo wrote:
Naaaa....did akina ZZE123, McReggae, Euge, Mo, Gekko etc survive the challenge? They haven't been seen around here after marathon...

hey guys, congrats to the club 42, that's a feat!! I survived 21, had aimed to stop the clock under 2 and was working fine until the last mile. i came down the NIC hill full speed aiming for the gates only to realise that there was an extra loop to the roundabout and back, that part was a mental torture! i just took water and walked-run-walked and stopped at 2.09

that part seems to have killed most of us.... roundabout from westi rounda to nyayo and back then the sliproad and back into the stadium was the killer.

The same stretch did me in last year, it's the toughest part of finishing the half marathon!!!....@masukuma, did you manage sub 3hrs?

Oh yes....i did it in 2hrs 20 mins. I could have done much better considering I did my last 2kms in 10:44mins per km and 8:40 mins per km respectively. I think my 13km run on monday last week malizad me... I could have done better but isorite... happy I run the race.

Applause Applause
#109 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 7:42:20 PM

carygoh wrote:
Kwani nilikuwa 10KM pekee yangu?Drool
Applause Applause Applause kwa kumaliza

smile tulikuwa excess!! Hongera to other 10km peeps - running, walking or crawling! #ParticipationIsParticipation Applause
#110 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 7:54:45 PM

Mpenzi wrote:
A few lessons I learnt:

1. Mental energy is as important as the physical energy. The kind of 'self-motivation' you have to do to yourself is too much. Same reason I think those loops should be done away with. They totally kill the mental strength.

2. On physical energy, it may be too much to run for 42kms purely on water. One needs some energy boosters along the way. I realized Urban Swaras had placed guys strategically along the way to serve their members with energy drinks. That must have made their journey much easier.

@Washiku, you should join Urban Swaras - then you won't have to run to Githurai and back alone 😃😀

3. Train hard, win easy. One must have trained thoroughly well to have it easy for this thing. I was able to run for about 30kms non-stop(didnt stop even at water points, took water as I continued). That means had I been on the 21kms, I would have done the whole journey non-stop. But the moment you start stopping, the body starts shouting to you on the pain you are feeling and the rest of the journey is nothing but torture.

4. The best strategy would be identifying a speed you are comfortable at and maintain it for very long, instead of running too fast at the beginning only to run out of energy too soon.

5. A pace setter can help you go places. If you identify a guy who can help you overcome the temptation to slow down, one who can help you push yourself just a little bit to maintain the speed identified above, one can win easier. I realised once you stop even for 2mins the guys you were with leaves you very far back and its almost impossible to catch up again.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I will. I must prepare better for next year.
rryyzz
#111 Posted : Tuesday, October 28, 2014 10:16:13 AM

I survived...

You did it Applause Applause Applause
Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
#112 Posted : Tuesday, October 28, 2014 1:51:41 PM

still recovering..

Just did the 10KM - with zero training hence the thigh buldge manenoz smile the idea was just participation by walk - with the missus pals, lakini kufika hapo running was more natural. Done in 60min.

For sisi amateurs, that last roundabout was a killer, you think you turning for the return back to Nyayo, wapi? Neenda right zaidi! lol. The organizers could have done better placing more signs/ushers on that turn. Some sorry 10km jamaz ended up taking the wrong turn and continuing with the 21km guys!! haha

That Nyayo Stadium hill headed to the finish was a killer, almost walked on reaching the apex. Miguu kwisha. All in all, a wonderful experience.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly good job!!! it's a great thing to maliza. and you did it in great time as well Applause Applause Applause Applause .
#113 Posted : Tuesday, October 28, 2014 9:58:49 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
Euge wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:
quicksand wrote:
kivairu wrote:
quicksand wrote:
finished my first 21km... kumbe ni mbali hiyo...

Apparently had not read the map too well, so coming up, ..is it Aerodrome Road? I see people coming down the other way to check into the stadium, and I think....just a few metres...Ole! Kumbe there is the corner and dropping to Msa road and back up, my psyche got smashed up like a cheap glass...-hauling ass to the finish line from that point was great torture Sad
All the same, good run.

@ Quicksand. Running shouldn't be experienced as 'torture'. you shud actually enjoy running! congrats!

Thanks man smile ...mental strength is important in these things.
In other news, my feet really hurt. I am limping slightly today. I am used to grass and dirt trails. Tarmac is a killer!

@quicksand true running on tarmac has great effect on feet magoti na other joints. you must have good sports shoes(nice sole) to absorb the shock. running on rugged terrain,treadmill,track,tarmac are all different

Are there specific running shoes?
I am told there is need to consider the shape of one's foot when buying. Are there shoes advisors?

Yes there are.

The choice of shoe depends mostly on the shape of your foot and pronation (how it strikes the ground). There are normally three classes of running shoe - motion control, stability and neutral ( although a new class of minimalist shoe, in the class of Vibram four fingers has recently emerged).

See some useful information here

Great info Wakanyugi. Thanks!
#114 Posted : Tuesday, October 28, 2014 11:40:52 PM

Mpenzi wrote:
A few lessons I learnt:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I will. I must prepare better for next year.

You run, you sweat=loss of Sodium. Hence the need to supplement with energy drinks.
Drinking alot of water while running can be dangerous

As for type of shoes, barefoot is best!!! Or a flat (no sole) shoe. As long as you work on the correct running technique.

It's interesting people will go to school for years, to acquire skills like making money etc... But assume on other skills, much more important ones. Read and learn about running and nutrition pertaining to it, before undertaking it. As with all other things.

#115 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 12:13:56 AM

C&P

I never rant on facebook but today I absolutely have to. The day started perfectly for Anthony Mundia a standard eight pupil at Joytown Primary School for kids with Physical disabilities, we had registered him to participate in the prestigious Standard Chartered Nairobi Marathon.. Anthony had been training for more than two months and was excited to see how good he was.

He arrived early, started the race and to his surprise he was leading after 300 meters or so, he held his lead all through and finished first in the 21km wheelchair category by a huge margin. He was even handed the number one tag, as we celebrated on the phone with my colleague who had accompanied him, someone from a leading association for people with disabilities came and took his tag by force. When my colleague went to inquire why they took his tag he was told that Anthony won the race but would not get any recognition because he did not use a wheelchair from that association. My colleague tried to follow it up but to no avail.

The association claims that there was a briefing meeting yesterday where all wheelchair users were explained to that they were to use the association's wheelchair. No one told us that there would be such a meeting and we have gone through the booklets and all the other material issued on registration and there is no mention of wheelchair participants using any special wheelchair or going for any meeting yesterday. I would think that if the requirement for registration was to use products from that association then the information should have been communicated on registration and that the wheelchair should have been made available (possibly even for free on registration). Anthony lined up at the start of the race, race officials inspected his registration and gave him his participation number, no one told him that his chair was the "wrong one".

However that is besides the point. the whole situation stinks, Anthony used a standard sports wheelchair, nothing fancy about it, it is just lighter and more comfortable. Just like your average sports shoe. The wheelchairs from that association are not sports wheelchairs, they are heavy and not meant for racing. Choosing to use a sports wheelchair for a wheelchair race is as simple as me and you choosing to use a sports shoe instead of office shoe for a race. How would you or i entered the race a won and then a office shoe manufacturer came to you asking you to forfeit your position because you did not use their office shoe, and yet they had not told you before to use their shoe for the race.

What message are we sending Anthony, are we telling him that his hard work doesn't matter, are we telling him that in Kenya rules do not matter and someone can change rules at thel last minute to meet their own selfish needs? And someone from that association has the audacity to say to Anthony's face that he was doing it "just for fun" I am so angry. The whole event is to support young people like Anthony who have to face more challenges in life than we do how can you raise money for someone with preventable blindness by crushing the hopes of a young man with paraplegia who is not asking for handouts but for his efforts to be recognized.

Anthony's race number is 2424 Citizen TV Kenya please look through your footage of the event and confirm that Anthony won, he rode in right after the gentleman who won the 21K race, I watched on Citizen as he was given a tag by one of the stewards. Standard Chartered Marathon Please tell where the fairness is here. Who will be Anthony's voice, Who will fight for him someone give me a number for someone who can help. This is really unfair. You should see the look on Anthony’s face, where there should have been pride for being the best in Kenya, there is now only disgust, anger and disappointment.

#116 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 8:25:49 AM

So where can I download my 21Km certificated'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
Boris Boyka
#117 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 9:30:02 AM

@Mukiri on shoes part you're lying, running on bare foot on field (grass/carpet) maybe ok short term but on tarmac or cross country is worst. sole is the bottom part of shoes. There're several types of soles for shoes that's why not any sports shoes is qualified. how do you run on shoes with no sole???? wacha uongo.
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
#118 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 11:18:57 AM

So where can I download my 21Km certificated'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

on http://www.nairobimarathon.com after they have been uploaded, usually a month after the event.
#119 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 11:25:19 AM

Kratos wrote:
C&P

I never rant on facebook but today I absolutely have to. The day started perfectly for Anthony Mundia a standard eight pupil at Joytown Primary School for kids with Physical disabilities, we had registered him to participate in the prestigious Standard Chartered Nairobi Marathon.. Anthony had been training for more than two months and was excited to see how good he was.

He arrived early, started the race and to his surprise he was leading after 300 meters or so, he held his lead all through and finished first in the 21km wheelchair category by a huge margin. He was even handed the number one tag, as we celebrated on the phone with my colleague who had accompanied him, someone from a leading association for people with disabilities came and took his tag by force. When my colleague went to inquire why they took his tag he was told that Anthony won the race but would not get any recognition because he did not use a wheelchair from that association. My colleague tried to follow it up but to no avail.

The association claims that there was a briefing meeting yesterday where all wheelchair users were explained to that they were to use the association's wheelchair. No one told us that there would be such a meeting and we have gone through the booklets and all the other material issued on registration and there is no mention of wheelchair participants using any special wheelchair or going for any meeting yesterday. I would think that if the requirement for registration was to use products from that association then the information should have been communicated on registration and that the wheelchair should have been made available (possibly even for free on registration). Anthony lined up at the start of the race, race officials inspected his registration and gave him his participation number, no one told him that his chair was the "wrong one".

However that is besides the point. the whole situation stinks, Anthony used a standard sports wheelchair, nothing fancy about it, it is just lighter and more comfortable. Just like your average sports shoe. The wheelchairs from that association are not sports wheelchairs, they are heavy and not meant for racing. Choosing to use a sports wheelchair for a wheelchair race is as simple as me and you choosing to use a sports shoe instead of office shoe for a race. How would you or i entered the race a won and then a office shoe manufacturer came to you asking you to forfeit your position because you did not use their office shoe, and yet they had not told you before to use their shoe for the race.

What message are we sending Anthony, are we telling him that his hard work doesn't matter, are we telling him that in Kenya rules do not matter and someone can change rules at thel last minute to meet their own selfish needs? And someone from that association has the audacity to say to Anthony's face that he was doing it "just for fun" I am so angry. The whole event is to support young people like Anthony who have to face more challenges in life than we do how can you raise money for someone with preventable blindness by crushing the hopes of a young man with paraplegia who is not asking for handouts but for his efforts to be recognized.

Anthony's race number is 2424 Citizen TV Kenya please look through your footage of the event and confirm that Anthony won, he rode in right after the gentleman who won the 21K race, I watched on Citizen as he was given a tag by one of the stewards. Standard Chartered Marathon Please tell where the fairness is here. Who will be Anthony's voice, Who will fight for him someone give me a number for someone who can help. This is really unfair. You should see the look on Anthony’s face, where there should have been pride for being the best in Kenya, there is now only disgust, anger and disappointment.

Wakanyugi
#120 Posted : Wednesday, October 29, 2014 11:30:21 AM

Boris Boyka wrote:
@Mukiri on shoes part you're lying, running on bare foot on field (grass/carpet) maybe ok short term but on tarmac or cross country is worst. sole is the bottom part of shoes. There're several types of soles for shoes that's why not any sports shoes is qualified. how do you run on shoes with no sole???? wacha uongo.

There is a lot popular 'wisdom' that insists that running barefoot is best because it forces a more natural foot impact with the ground, which reduces injuries. Personally I don't buy it but there are many who do. It would seem brother @Mukiri is a disciple. There are clearly many others who swear by barefoot running. Vibram made a lot of money selling 'barefoot' shoes, before they were hit with that class action suit.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)