wazua Wed, Jun 24, 2026

20 Pages«<45678>»
Uhuru Kenyatta Tell's Off West
#51 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 4:25:30 PM

I would love to know from the Coast hotels how come I pay more to stay there than my friends do when they travel down from the UK?

You will be surprised that an all inclusive 7day holiday package at Mombasa - for a tourist from the UK - costs about 100k including flight and hotel.

If it was you, you'd pay 15k a night totaling 105k for hotel alone (note return flight to london is 100k).

Happened to me in December, and I was very upset. The hotel could not explain it, and blamed Thomson, the same fellows who are withdrawing from Kenya right now.

Stupid Kenyan hotels, they never learn, do they?

P.s. My pal payed GBP400 for a deluxe room,incl. flight + transfers, while I was footing 16k for a superior double. Had to pay for my own flight and transfers.
Nandwa
#52 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 4:27:58 PM

Everybody in Wazua understands that you can never replace the international tourist with local tourist.

Everything else is just sycophancy.

No need to argue with them.
Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic
vky
#53 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 4:28:16 PM

I would love to know from the Coast hotels how come I pay more to stay there than my friends do when they travel down from the UK?

They must be booking with travel agents who have lower rates and they probably book and pay many months before the travel!!!

just thinking out loud here, for those in the industry, how easy or hard would it be for a kenyan to book a holiday using a UK tour agent say thompson to book a kenyan holiday so as to enjoy the seemingly low rates that foreigners enjoy
'One headache for famous medieval holy people was that someone might murder you to acquire your body parts for the relics trade'
#54 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 4:39:18 PM

Keyboard12 wrote:
local tourism is a good idea. we ourselves have not been able to go round the country in praise of its glory. I will start touring soon.

How much is this much talked about local tourism worth by the way?

Kenya itself has no saving culture so I dont how people can give precise estimates on this local tourism.

Taking school children and low class families free of charge to game parks does not constitute "local tourism"...these type of tourist will only be able to buy some ice cream worth 20 bob at the entrace of the parks.

Even if you shove 10 million Kenyans into parks and reserves they still wont come close to a tenth of Western tourism worth.

We talk of guys who will sleep in those bush hotels and lodges for up to 2 weeks on average sio watu who after watching Lions will head back to sleep in Kibera and Langata...

And by the way its much difficult to develop local tourism...For instance what will make Kamau to spend 20K to go hike the top of mount Kenya when he was born in Nanyuki and see nothing new in that trip? Plus he will say that the place is near so one day he will make the trip anyway!

I have never set foot in Tsavo yet I pass right trough it by car/flight 10 times a year and i have money to do so...I keep on saying one day I will visit, no hurry since the place si ni hapa hapa tu!!!

While in China I met chiners porters on the foot of the Greatwall who has never visited the Greatwall themselves yet I was there visiting it for the second time in my visit to China.

Wachaneni na ujinga mwingi.

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

Well putApplause

Kwani where do all the middo crass and upper class driving range rovers, mercs, etc go on holiday? If each one of them took 2 holidays a year, at coast, mara, samburu etc it would be a big boost for local tourism.

They go to Dubai and Zanzibar, and we need to ask ourselves why?

You cant plan to visit a place you pass-by daily. It will never cross your mind.
You plan to visit places far away from where you were born...overseas!

How many Luhyas have vistied the crying rock?
How many Ruos have visited Kit Mikayi?
How many Kambas have visited that place with negative gravity?
How mnay kiuks have visited 14-falls?
How many Giriamas have visited kaya forest?
How many Kaleos have visited Fort Ternan, the place where the original Arap Samoie killed a whiteman? (wachana na huyu wa Hague)
How many Tesos have visited Mt Elgon caves?
How many Kibera residents have visited jaramogi Ajuma Odinga Oginga's mausoleum in Bondo?
How many Kisii's knows Kuja hills?
How many Merus have visited the Njuri cheke shrines?
How many BIG mouthed wazuans have ever visited the Dedan Kimathi statue near Kimathi house?

Please let us not support UK coz ni wa kabila yetu tu.
When Kenya economy will go to the dogs those cousins of yours washing kundu za wazungu huko Mombasa will come and rape your sons and donkeys...

Think wide.

#55 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 4:42:58 PM

Keyboard12 wrote:
local tourism is a good idea. we ourselves have not been able to go round the country in praise of its glory. I will start touring soon.

Kenya itself has no saving culture so I dont how people can give precise estimates on this local tourism.

Taking school children and low class families free of charge to game parks does not constitute "local tourism"...these type of tourist will only be able to buy some ice cream worth 20 bob at the entrace of the parks.

Even if you shove 10 million Kenyans into parks and reserves they still wont come close to a tenth of Western tourism worth.

We talk of guys who will sleep in those bush hotels and lodges for up to 2 weeks on average sio watu who after watching Lions will head back to sleep in Kibera and Langata...

And by the way its much difficult to develop local tourism...For instance what will make Kamau to spend 20K to go hike the top of mount Kenya when he was born in Nanyuki and see nothing new in that trip? Plus he will say that the place is near so one day he will make the trip anyway!

I have never set foot in Tsavo yet I pass right trough it by car/flight 10 times a year and i have money to do so...I keep on saying one day I will visit, no hurry since the place si ni hapa hapa tu!!!

While in China I met chiners porters on the foot of the Greatwall who has never visited the Greatwall themselves yet I was there visiting it for the second time in my visit to China.

Well putApplause

Kwani where do all the middo crass and upper class driving range rovers, mercs, etc go on holiday? If each one of them took 2 holidays a year, at coast, mara, samburu etc it would be a big boost for local tourism.

have you actually read impunity's post? part of it addresses part of how domestic tourism is a hard sell even for those with money (he's seen the great wall of china but sees no reason of doing tsavo just yet).

in the current climate domestic tourism shall be a hard sell. matters being what they are currently in kenya (bombs going off every now and then; kimaiyo charging matatu crew for explosion on buses and illegally asking for the impounding of private motor vehicles even as he fights light bulbs; ole lenku...well, being ole lenku; travel advisories; evacuations of tourists etc) it would take a special type of person to go book an hotel room at the coast currently or do the kenyan tourism circuit and a negligent person to drag their family with them as well.
#56 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 4:50:45 PM

You will be surprised that an all inclusive 7day holiday package at Mombasa - for a tourist from the UK - costs about 100k including flight and hotel.

If it was you, you'd pay 15k a night totaling 105k for hotel alone (note return flight to london is 100k).

Happened to me in December, and I was very upset. The hotel could not explain it, and blamed Thomson, the same fellows who are withdrawing from Kenya right now.

Stupid Kenyan hotels, they never learn, do they?

P.s. My pal payed GBP400 for a deluxe room,incl. flight + transfers, while I was footing 16k for a superior double. Had to pay for my own flight and transfers.

Wow, thats about 56k. Assuming the airline took 30k for the return ticket that leaves the hotel with 26k for room and transfers.

I have also seen on travel forums that there are tourists from europe who only pay for flight @Ksh 30k return flight, then hire apartments @2k per day at the coast. Thus total cost for 1 week holiday will be Ksh 44k.
#57 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 4:58:20 PM

Keyboard12 wrote:

Well putApplause

You cant plan to visit a place you pass-by daily. It will never cross your mind.

How many Luhyas have vistied the crying rock?
How many Ruos have visited Kit Mikayi?

Think wide.

True, even the Frenchmen prefer to visit mombasa and not paris. But now that we have the current situation on our hands, and tourists have been evacuated, what do you suggest that we do? Give solutions please - short term and long term.
#58 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 5:09:52 PM

Keyboard12 wrote:

Well putApplause

Think wide.

True, even the Frenchmen prefer to visit mombasa and not paris. But now that we have the current situation on our hands, and tourists have been evacuated, what do you suggest that we do? Give solutions please - short term and long term.

Short term:
Tuwache ujinga
Tuwache ukabila
Tuwache kujifanya we know it all
Tuwache u-corruption
Tuwache kufikiria eti CORD are the ones bombing Gikomba
We should enhance security of the few foreign tourist left.
We should offer them better package and more enticemnets.

Long term:
Paradigm shift
Gaament change
Aggressive marketing in our traditional West market.
Look at the North Africa tigers; Algeria,Egypt,Tunisia, Libya...
Look deeper south west market like Brazil.
Aggressive marketing in the new frontiers like the East Asia Tigers.
Pray that Chinese will be spend a little more than they traditional do!
Improve economy so that Kenyans can start a culture of saving, with enough saving then tourism will be affordable.
Dont user free thinkers like me.
Nyumba kumi iongezwa ifike nyuma 20 hivi Liar

Thats me!

#59 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 5:18:47 PM

I also imagine the whole idea about tourists is not that they come to marvel at the 'crying stone' or the Lion, but the BOTTOM LINE. How much they pay to marvel at our attractions.

and this pay is what is 'Foreign cash inflow' or what it is that economists call it.

No need circulating our poverty around in the name of filling in the foreign tourists gap. Its al a matter of opportunity costs. If i am to visit Masaai Mara to feed Ole Sakina, then Njuguna should expect to see me less at his Choma joint, Unlike Mr. Highbridgetower from London bringing his pounds and spending it generously.
#60 Posted : Monday, May 19, 2014 5:18:51 PM

Who said the Chinese would love to go to a country where bombs are being thrown every Friday?

Next time you tell people how many Chinese tourists there are in the world, please don't forget to use data

KTB figures showed a decrease in the number of tourists from China as well as other source markets last year. China declined by 10.3 per cent to 37,062 visitors from 41,303 in 2012.

Next time you tell Kenyans to go sijui tour mara for 2 weeks, ensure that his taxes on bread are lowered.

Mombasa is going to be a very sad place for people this year. Even the prostitutes are running away or have buy 1 get 1 free offers.

Stop joking with Kenyans. This is a grave situation that requires serious thinking. Not this constant politiking sijui the west sijui nini.
20 Pages«<45678>»