wazua Sat, Mar 28, 2026

6 Pages«<456
Analysis of Safaricom FY 2011 results
The Merchant
#51 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 2:53:37 PM

16th JUNE 2011 11:11AM, SAFARICOM SHARES. Bid Quantity 2,542,800; Ask Quantity 11,291,900; Trade Quantity 1,120,400.

This means safcom might be trading at 3.95 today, but, in 2weeks time, it will be at 4.50+. BUY!!!!!!!!!!!!

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
#52 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 3:01:22 PM

16th JUNE 2011 11:11AM, SAFARICOM SHARES. Bid Quantity 2,542,800; Ask Quantity 11,291,900; Trade Quantity 1,120,400.

This means safcom might be trading at 3.95 today, but, in 2weeks time, it will be at 4.50+. BUY!!!!!!!!!!!!

I think there's a certain amount an investors will be willing to buy SCOM. 4.50/- is too much, you'll probably see that level maybe in Nov when book closure nears but for now I see no reason for someone to tie in their money here while there's better quality fish in this ocean.

Genghis Khan
#53 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 4:08:15 PM

@drake - I spoke to a very senior chap at Safaricom. It cannot 'earn' interest from M-Pesa cash as Safaricom... [Well, directly anyway!]

I am told by a friend who is safcom staff that the MPesa float is exclusively at CBA (who can obviously lend at 14%plus).

In return Safcom have a deal where CBA lends to Safcom staff at the low single digit %rates... I hear even better rates than CBA staff.

Also they get working capital CHEAP just so CBA can hold the MPesa!

Anyone with info to corroborate / dispute this SMART-WORKAROUND?
"I'd rather be lucky than clever... every time!" - ME
"The problem is not what we don't know... it's what we know for sure that just ain't!" - MARK TWAIN
"Space we can recover... time never!" - NAPOLEON BONAPARTE
#54 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 4:17:38 PM

Am also told that safcon intend to persuade its staff to buy (increase) their shares. Maybe the CBA thing is true. Why should a commercial bank lend at single digits percentage in KENYA!

6 Pages«<456