Attack at Westgate
ecstacy wrote:There was alert issued to diplomatic staff to get away from the scene and stay indoors as a second attack was anticipated.
Meanwhile, target group Kenyans wako Oktoberfest and 7s. Terrorism shouldn't stop our lives. If it does ...they have achieved their objective. Am off to donate blood...n then to 7s. “Once the last tree is cut and the last river poisoned,you will find you cannot eat your money" Traditional saying.
Magigi wrote:washiku wrote:How to donate to #Westgate victims.1) go to #Mpesa paybill menu.2) enter no 848484 .3)enter a/c no 848484 .4)send contribution @SafaricomLtd >>>Why the rush to create these numbers...The government should first step in and do what it is mandatory for it to do...Kenyans and business!!!... These are things that should come at a later date...No injured persons should be denied treatment or whatever help they need...Bure kabisa! No transaction fee. I just donated in the hope the cash raised can be used by Red Cross to continue with their wonderful rescue job.
hindi ni riu wrote:ecstacy wrote:There was alert issued to diplomatic staff to get away from the scene and stay indoors as a second attack was anticipated.
Meanwhile, target group Kenyans wako Oktoberfest and 7s. Terrorism shouldn't stop our lives. If it does ...they have achieved their objective. Am off to donate blood...n then to 7s. I agree we shouldn't stop our lives as they win. However, are you aware of any serious security precautions for large gatherings today?..
Robert A. @RobertAlai SECURITY SOURCES: Two recce squad GSU officers inside #WestgateMall were mistakenly shot dead by KDF soldiers last night. #WestgateAttack 12:26 p.m. Sun, Sep 22 maneno gani hii Think Positive Test Negative
carygoh wrote:Robert A. @RobertAlai SECURITY SOURCES: Two recce squad GSU officers inside #WestgateMall were mistakenly shot dead by KDF soldiers last night. #WestgateAttack 12:26 p.m. Sun, Sep 22
maneno gani hii Perhaps because we have different people in charge, this whole situation should have been under ATU, under one persons command, under IG. Why did he not train and equip a squad for this? It's quite a mess out there if you ask me. Seems we are to a great extent under the mercy of the terrorists. Ras Kienyeji Man
Rank: Member Joined: 8/24/2013 Posts: 185 Location: Diaspora
Much Know wrote:I am afraid i cannot agree the police have done a good job here, making excuses for them will lead us nowhere. With all due respect to the brave police who have taken risks and even lost their lives , it's a difficult job(but it's their job mind you and it comes up occasionally), problems galore, from simple stuff like cordoning off the scene (God forbid they have explosives), to handling hostages (one terrorist seems to have walked away)to the first armed people having the courage to enter the building being Indian reservist in ordinary clothes as the police in combat gear hang outside, no setting up a control center at the site and giving one intelligent person authority(is it kimaiyo?,or karangi, gsu boss,head of anti terrorist unit whom we have not seen, kimemia who is in charge, it should be kimaiyo or ATU boss), to the lack of the many simple technologies already available to carry out surveillance in the building, no press center, no specialized hostage situation team (we should be at least able to train 20 or so guys to the level of American/Israeli swat teams and this is the police boss job to ensure we train). I hate to bring the D- angle, but it seems to begin at the top! They cannot just focus on collecting bribes in new cars and when it comes to such tuko buree! That force needs an overhaul, i think former commissioner Ali was headed in the right direction. Debatable. If I remember correctly, the number of extrajudicial killings rose to its peak under his watch. Even the D-angle doesn't make sense: IG Kimaiyo was working on a PhD, many in the top echelons of the force (decision makers) have university degrees. Perhaps its the culture of mediocrity and corruption that has been embedded in the police service since independence. But at this moment, those things aren't a priority. All we want is for this situation to be ended. Those men and women, in spite of the meagre resources at their disposal, are risking their lives to help Kenyans in need. Once the terrorists are dealt with and remaining hostages freed, we can have start looking at where we went wrong.
ecstacy wrote:hindi ni riu wrote:ecstacy wrote:There was alert issued to diplomatic staff to get away from the scene and stay indoors as a second attack was anticipated.
Meanwhile, target group Kenyans wako Oktoberfest and 7s. Terrorism shouldn't stop our lives. If it does ...they have achieved their objective. Am off to donate blood...n then to 7s. I agree we shouldn't stop our lives as they win. However, are you aware of any serious security precautions for large gatherings today?.. yep. but by that account ...no church today.... no shopping today ..no work tomorrow..etc. Life stops coz of a couple of suckers. I either way wouldn't expect them there anyway...if they intended to.....that wd hv been their first plan this weekend. n if they show up ...well...its war! “Once the last tree is cut and the last river poisoned,you will find you cannot eat your money" Traditional saying.
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/22/2009 Posts: 2,449 Location: Africa
To our security forces, my prayer is one word: Daniel. He walked into a den of lions and came out unharmed. I pray that the same God who kept Daniel safe will do the same for you as you rescue the hostages
The Clown wrote:Much Know wrote:I am afraid i cannot agree the police have done a good job here, making excuses for them will lead us nowhere. With all due respect to the brave police who have taken risks and even lost their lives , it's a difficult job(but it's their job mind you and it comes up occasionally), problems galore, from simple stuff like cordoning off the scene (God forbid they have explosives), to handling hostages (one terrorist seems to have walked away)to the first armed people having the courage to enter the building being Indian reservist in ordinary clothes as the police in combat gear hang outside, no setting up a control center at the site and giving one intelligent person authority(is it kimaiyo?,or karangi, gsu boss,head of anti terrorist unit whom we have not seen, kimemia who is in charge, it should be kimaiyo or ATU boss), to the lack of the many simple technologies already available to carry out surveillance in the building, no press center, no specialized hostage situation team (we should be at least able to train 20 or so guys to the level of American/Israeli swat teams and this is the police boss job to ensure we train). I hate to bring the D- angle, but it seems to begin at the top! They cannot just focus on collecting bribes in new cars and when it comes to such tuko buree! That force needs an overhaul, i think former commissioner Ali was headed in the right direction. Debatable. If I remember correctly, the number of extrajudicial killings rose to its peak under his watch. Even the D-angle doesn't make sense: IG Kimaiyo was working on a PhD, many in the top echelons of the force (decision makers) have university degrees.
Perhaps its the culture of mediocrity and corruption that has been embedded in the police service since independence.But at this moment, those things aren't a priority. All we want is for this situation to be ended. Those men and women, in spite of the meagre resources at their disposal, are risking their lives to help Kenyans in need. Once the terrorists are dealt with and remaining hostages freed, we can have start looking at where we went wrong. Guess you are quite right there, i think i am also clouding objectivity with frustration. Ras Kienyeji Man
Much Know wrote:I am afraid i cannot agree the police have done a good job here, making excuses for them will lead us nowhere. With all due respect to the brave police who have taken risks and even lost their lives , it's a difficult job(but it's their job mind you and it comes up occasionally), problems galore, from simple stuff like cordoning off the scene (God forbid they have explosives), to handling hostages (one terrorist seems to have walked away)to the first armed people having the courage to enter the building being Indian reservist in ordinary clothes as the police in combat gear hang outside, no setting up a control center at the site and giving one intelligent person authority(is it kimaiyo?,or karangi, gsu boss,head of anti terrorist unit whom we have not seen, kimemia who is in charge, it should be kimaiyo or ATU boss), to the lack of the many simple technologies already available to carry out surveillance in the building, no press center, no specialized hostage situation team (we should be at least able to train 20 or so guys to the level of American/Israeli swat teams and this is the police boss job to ensure we train). I hate to bring the D- angle, but it seems to begin at the top! They cannot just focus on collecting bribes in new cars and when it comes to such tuko buree! That force needs an overhaul, i think former commissioner Ali was headed in the right direction. GO BECOME A COP AND BEHAVE LIKE JACK BAUER OR LEAVE OUR BRAVE BOYS TO DO THEIR WORK Life is an endless adventure
Attack at Westgate