NASA moves to the Supreme Court
#1061 Posted : Saturday, September 16, 2017 10:45:02 AM

kayhara wrote:
Amores wrote:

Chebukati's memo alludes that there was a problem with transmission of results.

Pray, why did the SCOK not order a recount??

I heard that there was fear of ballot stuffing

At what point would the stuffing happen? Ballot boxes were sealed and seal numbers recorded by agents.

This time stuffing would not have worked, maybe replacement to tally with announced results which is hectic, but I thought the different formats of the forms 34s was what invalidated the elections, unless, IEBC was unable to explain this, plus some forms transmitted online did not match those presented to NASA, hapa Chiloba alijichanganya, I really think he should consider resignation, Tano tena will have to happen without himsmile ,what is orengo saying about result transmission now

I foresee the same errors recurring again.POs are usually very tired at the end of excercise and it is very easy to make mistakes keying in text results

Elections has become a procurement acsh cow- Ballots printing, equipment , Communication etc and very minimal investment in staff. Clerks are temporary workers with no punishment for misdeeds.
The whole thing should be manual so in case of any issues, tunafungua dede.
#1062 Posted : Saturday, September 16, 2017 11:00:41 AM

kayhara wrote:
Amores wrote:

At what point would the stuffing happen? Ballot boxes were sealed and seal numbers recorded by agents.

This time stuffing would not have worked, maybe replacement to tally with announced results which is hectic, but I thought the different formats of the forms 34s was what invalidated the elections, unless, IEBC was unable to explain this, plus some forms transmitted online did not match those presented to NASA, hapa Chiloba alijichanganya, I really think he should consider resignation, Tano tena will have to happen without himsmile ,what is orengo saying about result transmission now

I foresee the same errors recurring again.POs are usually very tired at the end of excercise and it is very easy to make mistakes keying in text results

Much more chaos, agents refusing to sign, sabotage, and errors because of naswas irreducible minimum of sacking hard workers at iebc like chiloba, definitely an expert, for Railas sake yet again and Kenyans just keeping quite and wasting 14billion. He is immune, can call for violence, frame people at ICC, steal maize oil etc, Thanks to supreme court we are preparing for chaos, even governments have started giving travel advisories, it's no joke, there is a high risk of Kenya disintergrating, talk od seccesion, wazuans abusing each other by tribe, we will end up with a too close to call elections, boycotts, e.t.c when the winner was clear, do we then do another re-run? It's our dear immune raila and cj deciding and not my vote.
#1063 Posted : Saturday, September 16, 2017 11:14:15 AM

If the burukenge judges ordered iebc to do another election because their request on servers could not be satisfied, what will they do now that their other request to hold an elections cannot be satisfied because the system has to be upgraded to meet the their demands for scrutiny? Worse problems will arise.
#1064 Posted : Saturday, September 16, 2017 11:31:36 AM

16 days later they are still looking for reasons to justify the annulment.

limanika
#1065 Posted : Saturday, September 16, 2017 11:55:35 AM

kimanimsc wrote:
limanika wrote:
ION, murkomen says they will be comparing the ruling and naswa demands...meanwhile, one prominent naswa lawyer previoysly a permanent feature in all capaign rallies MIA, where could be holed up?

ORENGO TO LEAD 10 LAWYERS IN CHALLENGING GOVERNOR MUTUA’S WIN

The man has been very scarce. Is he the one writing?
innairobi
#1066 Posted : Saturday, September 16, 2017 12:43:16 PM

EU: Spot Checks Show Confusion, Not Conspiracy in Kenyan Election

NAIROBI — Observers found some technical problems but no evidence of vote-rigging in Kenya's presidential election last month, the European Union said on Thursday, based on random checks of tallies from polling stations.

The finding was announced as Kenya gears up for a re-run of the contest between President Uhuru Kenyatta and challenger Raila Odinga on Oct. 17, after the Supreme Court nullified Kenyatta's victory citing irregularities in the tallying process.

Credible elections would boost Kenya's role as East Africa's richest economy and a stable Western ally in a region roiled by conflict. But problems with the vote could spark unrest: 1,200 people died in violence after a disputed 2007 election.

Bolstering the Supreme Court's findings of technical irregularities, the EU said in a statement it had examined 1,558 randomly selected scanned polling station results forms from 82 constituencies. A small percentage were unreadable, others had mathematical mistakes, and others were missing data or signatures.

BOYCOTT THREAT

Odinga alleged that the original vote was marred by fraud and is threatening to boycott the re-run unless some demands are met, including the resignation of key election board officials.

But the EU said it did not find anything indicating deliberate manipulation of the vote in the forms it examined. "There was little variation in the patterns of anomalies ... and no obvious advantage to one camp or another."

However, the observers noted that more than a quarter of polling stations were severely late in posting their manually completed tallying sheets online. In some cases they only did so after the legal deadline for the opposition to mount court challenges to the results had passed, they noted.

The EU urged the election commission to use standardized forms with security features like serial numbers to reduce the opportunities for confusion in the upcoming polls.

It said the electoral board must do a better job of publicly explaining the processes it would follow in tallying the vote.

In a separate development on Thursday, ruling party lawmaker Ngunjiri Wambugu filed a court petition seeking to have Chief Justice David Maraga removed for gross misconduct in connection with the annulment of the election.

"Chief Justice Maraga needs to be censured, I believe he has participated in gross misconduct, which is unprofessional. I believe that gross misconduct is trying to influence a presidential election," Wambugu told reporters.

https://www.nytimes.com/...a-election.html?mcubz=3
All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
innairobi
#1067 Posted : Saturday, September 16, 2017 1:15:47 PM

Audit shows no hacking of Kenya vote system: French firm
By AFP
PUBLISHED: 17:26 BST, 15 September 2017 | UPDATED: 20:01 BST, 15 September 2017

An audit of the electronic system used to tally votes in Kenya's cancelled presidential poll showed no manipulation of data, the French biometrics firm that supplied the system told AFP Friday.

Opposition leader Raila Odinga has accused the company, OT-Morpho, of being complicit in alleged rigging of the election, which was declared null and void by the country's Supreme Court due to "irregularities and illegalities" in the transmission of results.

While the court has yet to deliver its final judgement detailing what went wrong, OT-Morpho said an "in-depth audit" of the system showed the opposition's claims about hacking to be untrue.

In a letter to the French government, Odinga accused OT-Morpho of allowing unauthorised access to its servers and manipulating the transmission of results.

The company's chief operating officer Frederic Beylier told AFP the audit, undertaken with help from external experts from security software companies, had shown the system "in no way suffered manipulation of data, attacks, attempts to penetrate the system or anything of that kind."

OT-Morpho supplied the 45,000 tablets used to identify voters biometrically and an associated system used to transmit the results of votes counted by electoral officials as well as a photograph of the paper form 34A on which votes were tallied.

Delays in the scanning of these forms -- which OT-Morpho put down to lack of 3G coverage in some parts of Kenya -- were among the problems raised by the opposition.

The opposition had also claimed an algorithm was introduced into the system to manipulate the results as they streamed in.

"We obviously checked if there could have been questionable manipulations by any authorised or unauthorised persons and can confirm there was no manipulation of data that could raise questions," said Beylier.

The company said it had transmitted all its logs to the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission, and was willing to participate in another external audit under the IEBC's authority.

In court, the opposition argued that many forms 34A, once received, were unsigned, lacked the requisite security features or contained irregularities.

However without the full ruling from the court, it is unclear to what extent this influenced the outcome of the election.

Incumbent President Uhuru Kenyatta was ascribed 54 percent of the vote before being stripped of his victory.

It also remains unclear whether the results could have been manipulated before being entered into the electronic transmissions system, analysts said.

Beylier slammed a campaign of threats and intimidation against the company and its employees, insisting it had carried out its job in "complete political neutrality".

"Some people are trying to make us the scapegoat of the political situation in Kenya and we don't intend to play that role," he said.

He referred questions on whether the company's systems would be used in fresh elections planned for October 17 to the IEBC.

http://www.dailymail.co....a-vote-French-firm.html
All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
#1068 Posted : Saturday, September 16, 2017 1:29:33 PM

16 days later they are still looking for reasons to justify the annulment.

The ruling is next Tuesday
It had better by good!
Jump-steady
#1069 Posted : Saturday, September 16, 2017 1:35:20 PM

Gathige wrote:
kayhara wrote:
Amores wrote:

Elections has become a procurement acsh cow- Ballots printing, equipment , Communication etc and very minimal investment in staff. Clerks are temporary workers with no punishment for misdeeds.

@Gathige, our elections are manual.

In fact I expected the judge to order a recount from where we put our ballot papers.

As you can expect, not all counties will have a smooth transmission and the court therefore must not nullify the whole election again.

Nimechoka na mambo ya kura!smile
Jump-steady
#1070 Posted : Saturday, September 16, 2017 1:37:01 PM

Gathige wrote:
kayhara wrote:
Amores wrote:

@Gathige, our elections are manual.

In fact I expected the judge to order a recount from where we put our ballot papers.

As you can expect, not all counties will have a smooth transmission and the court therefore must not nullify the whole election again.

Nimechoka na mambo ya kura!smile
#1071 Posted : Saturday, September 16, 2017 1:40:50 PM

Question for @masukuma and @alma.

I have seen a very interesting thing on twitter and in the era of fake news its only fair to check with you guys.

Someone claims to have discovered that the following two sites are hosted by the same guy.

https://cambridgeanalytica.org/ (54.192.219.213)
public.rts.iebc.or.ke (54.192.219.187)

The host name is Amazon technologies inc in Marseille France.

I am hoping its fake news. Because Cambridge Analytica have just accepted for the first time that they have been working for Jubilee.

innairobi
#1072 Posted : Saturday, September 16, 2017 1:45:50 PM

I'm not sure you're aware but Amazon is one of the largest and most reliable server hosts in the world. It's like saying IEBC is compromised because both Raila and Chebukati have Gmail accounts.
#1073 Posted : Saturday, September 16, 2017 1:51:25 PM

innairobi wrote:
I'm not sure you're aware but Amazon is one of the largest and most reliable server hosts in the world. It's like saying IEBC is compromised because both Raila and Chebukati have Gmail accounts.

This is not my area. Niulize mambo ya hesabu ya pesa.

That is why I am asking the rwo gurus to break it down to us.
innairobi
#1074 Posted : Saturday, September 16, 2017 2:14:32 PM

innairobi wrote:

This is not my area. Niulize mambo ya hesabu ya pesa.

That is why I am asking the rwo gurus to break it down to us.

wacha tuwangoje watueleze. this was a report early this year surveying about 1,000 enterprises on their cloud computing choices. at 57%, AWS (Amazon Web Services) was by far the most actively used followed by Microsoft's Azure with 34%.

my two cents is that sharing the same service provider especially one as gigantic as Amazon shouldn't raise eyebrows unless there is proof showing otherwise. i would presume given the nature, quality and complexity of organizations who do their business on Amazon servers, the security would be world class making it extremely difficult to manipulate another client's data.
#1075 Posted : Saturday, September 16, 2017 2:59:52 PM

Most Kenyans suffer from what is known as DELUSIONS OF GRANDUER... you collectively fail to have a sense of proportion!! I hear many people talk about some of the companies which provided support to the IEBC as if they are one man shows operating in river-road!! Sikizeni... this may come as a shock to you but... Kenya is nothing but a corrupt, poor, 3rd world country!!! No one wants to screw you out of a presidency...infact NO ONE REALLY CARES BUT YOU!! I see people asking about Amazon web services... a company owned by Jeff Bezos... the SECOND RICHEST MAN ON THE PLANET... It hosts so many things... heck even I have web services running off it as well as Azure!! We are like that guy who gets a safcom sim card and as soon as there are some problems - we think Safaricom has teamed up with your neighbor who you have a boundary dispute with to screw you... YOU ARE NOT THAT IMPORTANT!! Safaricom may tell ALL it's customers that they are important (AS A GROUP) but you individually.... sorry... not so important.
on Al Ghurair - well... if ever there was a company that is printing for almost all Election Commissions that I have worked for - thats them! not just ballot papers, OMR forms e.t.c. this is a huge global company... it was not started to screw you and your ballot papers. Mark you IEBC moved from Smith and Ouzman to al ghurair after the noise of the chicken gate scandal. Sikizeni...Al Ghurair printers is part of a 25,000 people strong conglomerate!! The group has done work on Burj Khalifa, Emirates Towers and the Dubai Metro... this is not a small company designed to screw you out of your presidency as NASA!!
SAFRAN/MORPHO/OT-Morpho whatever they call themselves next week is/was part of the french conglomerate that builds aircraft engines!! that group used to produce phones... my first phone was a SAGEM phone.... from the same group!! these are not tu-small one person shops that will screw up their reputations making "algorithms" that prejudice a RAILA presidency...

Sikizeni as I am going to say this ONCE!! you are not that important... you may feel important but that is as far as it goes!! you are dwarves at an international scale. So quickly put this election behind you and move towards doing things that will make you slightly taller.

#1076 Posted : Saturday, September 16, 2017 3:17:24 PM

Most Kenyans suffer from what is known as DELUSIONS OF GRANDUER... you collectively fail to have a sense of proportion!! I hear many people talk about some of the companies which provided support to the IEBC as if they are one man shows operating in river-road!! Sikizeni... this may come as a shock to you but... Kenya is nothing but a corrupt, poor, 3rd world country!!! No one wants to screw you out of a presidency...infact NO ONE REALLY CARES BUT YOU!! I see people asking about Amazon web services... a company owned by Jeff Bezos... the SECOND RICHEST MAN ON THE PLANET... It hosts so many things... heck even I have web services running off it as well as Azure!! We are like that guy who gets a safcom sim card and as soon as there are some problems - we think Safaricom has teamed up with your neighbor who you have a boundary dispute with to screw you... YOU ARE NOT THAT IMPORTANT!! Safaricom may tell ALL it's customers that they are important (AS A GROUP) but you individually.... sorry... not so important.
on Al Ghurair - well... if ever there was a company that is printing for almost all Election Commissions that I have worked for - thats them! not just ballot papers, OMR forms e.t.c. this is a huge global company... it was not started to screw you and your ballot papers. Mark you IEBC moved from Smith and Ouzman to al ghurair after the noise of the chicken gate scandal. Sikizeni...Al Ghurair printers is part of a 25,000 people strong conglomerate!! The group has done work on Burj Khalifa, Emirates Towers and the Dubai Metro... this is not a small company designed to screw you out of your presidency as NASA!!
SAFRAN/MORPHO/OT-Morpho whatever they call themselves next week is/was part of the french conglomerate that builds aircraft engines!! that group used to produce phones... my first phone was a SAGEM phone.... from the same group!! these are not tu-small one person shops that will screw up their reputations making "algorithms" that prejudice a RAILA presidency...

Sikizeni as I am going to say this ONCE!! you are not that important... you may feel important but that is as far as it goes!! you are dwarves at an international scale. So quickly put this election behind you and move towards doing things that will make you slightly taller.

Wewe!Tushomeshe by answering those questions asked up there in language we can understand.

Wacha kutukana sisi ati tuko Granduer.
#1077 Posted : Saturday, September 16, 2017 5:07:34 PM

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

That reporter who invited you to write an opinion piece should do the same now. Or even better appear on a TV show and shove this truth to some of these people.
ngapat
#1078 Posted : Saturday, September 16, 2017 5:15:46 PM

Justice Maraga has urged Judges and magistrates to ignore legal and procedural technicalities, and determine the electoral disputes on substantive issues. According to Mr Maraga, this was the cause that led to the erosion of public confidence in the Judiciary
“Invest in yourself. Your career is the engine of your wealth.”
#1079 Posted : Saturday, September 16, 2017 5:37:46 PM

ngapat wrote:
Justice Maraga has urged Judges and magistrates to ignore legal and procedural technicalities, and determine the electoral disputes on substantive issues. According to Mr Maraga, this was the cause that led to the erosion of public confidence in the Judiciary

That is rich....
His court invalidated the entire election on technicalities.
#1080 Posted : Saturday, September 16, 2017 5:43:25 PM

If the burukenge judges ordered iebc to do another election because their request on servers could not be satisfied, what will they do now that their other request to hold an elections cannot be satisfied because the system has to be upgraded to meet the their demands for scrutiny? Worse problems will arise.

This is why I fault IEBC!! they did not want to seem incompetent!! Let's face it... those Orders had things that NASA wanted - let me ask... who said those things existed? Each system is different! you may not have those things built in. But since IEBC had outsourced most of this work - they were clueless on whether they had these things or not. it's similar to someone asking you to give designs to the bunker in your house and tests to verify that your house has [insert here some ISO standard for bunkers] and you don't know if you have a bunker and you agree to 'comply' to give them these designs and tests! Not all systems are built the same! You should be the one to state whether something is possible or not! people cannot just google terms and drop them in a document and ask you to produce them and you have the incompetence not to say... SORRY FELLOWS... WRONG NUMBER! OUR SYSTEM DOESN'T HAVE THESE THINGS!! or we never did these things! especially if there was no law or regulation that required you to do so! Who says all systems built have "read only" access? the OS has, major databases have - the application built? its based on whether it was seen to be useful at the time. So it's all on IEBC... they were incompetent and did not want to be seen as such and started playing games.